bro, what did u do to get no gap? u done lapping edi?
Heatsink Lapping Tutorial+Pics(added 6600) lapped , Discussion and How-To's
May 9 2008, 10:26 AM
6,583 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
bro, what did u do to get no gap? u done lapping edi?
May 9 2008, 10:35 AM
okay... i get it edi... i thought its ur reading
actually for me its nothing wrong though... maybe u could taking it out and install it back... but i doubt it will make any difference but no harm trying... u also can try lapping ur HSF first like mfcm said before lapping ur proc... maybe its due to the uneven of ur HSF base... |
May 9 2008, 11:05 AM
then u lap edi only see how is the result lo.. i guess that's the only choice u have now.. good luck bro
May 10 2008, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ May 9 2008, 05:04 PM) i think u can start off with 1000grid if u think ur base is quite flat... or maybe 800grid if u prefer.... then continue with 1000, 1500... lastly if u want mirror finish then use 2000grid... note that mirror finish or not the most importance of lapping is to ensure u get a flat surface...anyways, i believe there is guide in the first page of this thread... Added on May 10, 2008, 1:52 pm QUOTE(busta_dude @ May 9 2008, 11:13 AM) will be waiting for ur result bro This post has been edited by ham_revilo: May 10 2008, 01:52 PM |
May 13 2008, 01:22 AM
QUOTE(busta_dude @ May 12 2008, 06:36 PM) at least u found out what was the cause of the problem. if u didnt lap then there will be 2 possibility. anyways glad u did lap ur cooler but y no pics of lapping? manage to get mirror finish??This post has been edited by ham_revilo: May 13 2008, 01:34 AM |
May 17 2008, 04:06 AM
May 18 2008, 05:58 PM
actually my friend once mention that method but i never seen ppl use it before. u can find a block (totally flat) as big as a berus for washing clothes then try wrapping it with sand paper properly and u can start lapping like u cuci baju... anyways just an opinion and im not sure it will work or not...
This post has been edited by ham_revilo: May 18 2008, 06:02 PM |
May 30 2008, 01:37 AM
QUOTE(unpronounciable @ May 27 2008, 11:47 PM) lapping s1283 is dangerous as u might lap a hole and crack the whole pipe. but imho it does provide some improvement and if u start off with higher grid sand paper (more fine) i dont think it will cause anything but better surface.This post has been edited by ham_revilo: May 30 2008, 01:41 AM |
Jun 1 2008, 02:51 AM
QUOTE(unpronounciable @ May 31 2008, 05:49 PM) are heatpipes that thin? mirror finish doesnt affect the performance. flatness does. anyways when i lap my s1283, 2-6c different. and i dont think HDT mirror surface will be easy as i find it hard to get a mirror finish.hmm i dunno dont dare to try it but really curious to know if anyone had lapped s1283 coz i think s1283 surface is really gritty wonder how much °C can be shaved off by making it a mirror surface and wonder how nice the HDT mirror surface would be |
Jun 2 2008, 01:58 AM
QUOTE(User_Xp @ Jun 1 2008, 02:17 PM) bro..u lapping ur s1283?any risk should i now?coz i juz buy s1283 and it`s great even without lapping i have already laped and to know more result, pls look at this http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/652536/+500 and about risk, just dont use too low grid (more coarse). anyway i start off with 1000, 1500 and finish with 2000 grit. during the process i dont get any complication. so i guess its kinda safe as long u dont start with high grit like 400grit. happy lapping mate This post has been edited by ham_revilo: Jun 2 2008, 02:07 AM |
Jun 2 2008, 02:22 AM
QUOTE(dro @ Jun 1 2008, 01:48 PM) hey guys imo sanding block works fine but lots of ppl said it wont provide an flat surface. that the whole reason y ppl use glass coz its flat. i havent tried it before so i dont know how's the result. or maybe if u would like to give it a try. maybe u could prove me wrong i was wondering is it ok if i use a sanding block rather than tapping d sand paper to d mirror/flat surface? or would dat be risky? tqs ayyy p/s: and btw.....i have my own opipion on the pores pores and microcrevices contribute to improper heat transfer tis is due to d face dat the heat transfer will be going tru 2 medium.... 1st being air stuck in between the heatsink and processor (convection) and 2nd is the heat sink(conduction) in our case...conduction is prefered as copper has better thermal conductivity than air in manufacturing term achieving mirror finish equals to having high surface finish tis contributes to better surface contact between the heatsink and processor thus achieving optimum heat transfer tru conduction correct me if im wrong....... all my opinion are based on my understanding of heat transfer im jess a noob in tis if i have time..i will try to post how d free body diagram looks like for tis heat transfer process btw, about what u said about pores. imo if the pores difference are too small, it doesnt affect much. i mean if u use 1500grit and 2000grit, obviously 1500grit would have more coarse pores but i dont think it will affect much compare to those after using 2000grit. the affect will not differ much as both pores are almost the same. for me, i think maybe at most 0.5 or 1c difference. anyway its just my opinion. |
Jun 3 2008, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(dro @ Jun 2 2008, 10:33 AM) tqs for d sanding block advice ham_revilo no prob bro. remember show some pics of ur lapped HSF when u are done ima try lapping my hsf soon too i agree on the fact dat the final quality between 1.5 & 2k grit will not drop by much prolly around the range u mentioned too it depends on how rajin u are to spend time on lapping la mostlyy cuz i dun tink i'd achieve mirror finnish if i do lap mineeee mebe afta a couple of trial.....just "mebe" i can get dat ultimate finnish |
Jun 3 2008, 07:58 PM
no worries bro. just start off with 1000grit and everything will be fine. and remember not to put force on ur xigmatek while u lap.
Jul 9 2008, 12:57 AM
Jul 13 2008, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(xhacker @ Jul 13 2008, 01:52 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « that is quite good edi. as long its flat then its good enough. btw, did u compare the temp before and after lapping? mind to share? |
Jul 14 2008, 12:52 AM
Jul 19 2008, 02:01 AM
damn that nice bro... lagi use metal polish...
is that ur ocz vendetta cooler? the finish is like WOW... didnt know direct touch pipe can have that good finsih. anyway mind showing us some temp result? This post has been edited by ham_revilo: Jul 19 2008, 02:02 AM |
Jul 22 2008, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(ocz @ Jul 22 2008, 03:13 AM) Can i join?? sure u can » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « actually u can lap xigmatek without worry. just dont use anything below 1000 anyway nice lapping therr bro This post has been edited by ham_revilo: Jul 22 2008, 07:53 PM |
Sep 3 2008, 02:15 PM
@Daimyo68
what a good job.... i once lap my xigmatek with 1000, 1500, 2000 grit is nothing near your mirror like finish.... a very good job bro i really didnt know there is sandpaper above 3000 grit.... This post has been edited by ham_revilo: Sep 3 2008, 02:16 PM |
Sep 13 2008, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(Daimyo68 @ Sep 12 2008, 10:27 AM) Correct, you would not use any lubrication at all. Here's a link to a site that explains the general procedure: thanks for sharing bro... it really reveal the cores and it looks damn good http://forums.pureoverclock.com/showthread.php?t=874 Make sure your grounded!!! I'm tempted to do this myself. It will definately make a couple degrees difference, maybe more under load. A local supplier has the e8400 for about 150US now, so it's not a huge loss, although it would still be a loss and a lesson learned. I was recently crawling the web and seen a cpu taken all the way down to the cores. The guy did a great job, took him about 6 hours if i remember correctly. There were also other mods that needed to be done after his work because of the amount of material removed from the cpu. Clearances and heights changed. If I can find the post again, I'll link it. /D EDIT - Here's the link. make sure to scroll down to see how much material was taken off. it's a whole lot Guess it would have been good to include the link http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=576831 |
| Change to: | 0.0279sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:09 AM |