Heatsink Lapping Tutorial+Pics(added 6600) lapped , Discussion and How-To's

TSneoxz
post Nov 5 2006, 08:59 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 5 2006, 08:03 PM)
nice....

i got the same result too when i lapped my XP-120 to copper base with mirror finish. 10C drop thumbup.gif using same grit sandpaper as neoxz

and for those of you who wants to lap...just google up guides...there are tonnes of it out there.... thats exactly what i did when i wanted to lap my XP-120. i picked one and just stick with that guide thumbup.gif
Yup, true. I, myself used google for those guides, and simply pick 1 out.

QUOTE(fantagero @ Nov 5 2006, 08:10 PM)
google now is a verb..  rclxm9.gif

can i lap my stock lga775 hsink????
last time i checked,, the themal paste kinnda like rubber..
is that normal thermal paste??
i mean, the one i always see in lowyat.. the one in injection...
if i lap,, that mean i hav to buy new one rite.. ehmm..
the rubber kind are called thermal pad. works the same but not as effective.

QUOTE(elhh82 @ Nov 5 2006, 08:14 PM)
very nice job lapping.. couldn't have been easy with that heavy and huge ass ninja smile.gif
Thanks. really tested my patience

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 5 2006, 08:32 PM)
Definately u can lapped ur stok but the diff wont be as much since ninja is a high end HSF.for thermal paste get those Artic silver5 my fren will cost u a bit but its worth the buy icon_rolleyes.gif

#do u really need the piece of glass any alternative...any g power pro user here how to disassemble the fan? icon_question.gif
Yes. you'll need a piece of glass to get a flat even surface.

TSneoxz
post Nov 5 2006, 09:02 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 5 2006, 08:56 PM)
one thing is because it darn heavy whistling.gif
Actual ninja isn't that heavy. It's only 660g+, i think. The hard part is to hold it firm. and the sharp fins will cut ur hand
fantagero
post Nov 5 2006, 09:07 PM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

QUOTE(neoxz @ Nov 5 2006, 08:59 PM)
Yup, true. I, myself used google for those guides, and simply pick 1 out.
the rubber kind are called thermal pad. works the same but not as effective.
Thanks. really tested my patience
Yes. you'll need a piece of glass to get a flat even surface.
then.. how bout the suggested thermal paste... can it easy to be cleaned??
coz.. i saw in THG videos.. the pstae cair... huuhh

i mean,, balut the sand paper.. and sand it to the max??

QUOTE(neoxz @ Nov 5 2006, 09:02 PM)
Actual ninja isn't that heavy. It's only 660g+, i think. The hard part is to hold it firm. and the sharp fins will cut ur hand
ehmm.. now i know...
TSneoxz
post Nov 5 2006, 09:16 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Nov 5 2006, 09:07 PM)
then.. how bout the suggested thermal paste... can it easy to be cleaned??
coz.. i saw in THG videos.. the pstae cair... huuhh

i mean,, balut the sand paper.. and sand it to the max??
ehmm.. now i know...
Yeah. using alcohol. DONT just sand. U need to sand it with directions. I'll take some guide from a website and post it here, only if the mods allows it. Just hold ur horses tongue.gif

This post has been edited by neoxz: Nov 5 2006, 09:16 PM
styloe
post Nov 5 2006, 09:17 PM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

my hsf is nickel coated.so if i try to lap it does it effect anything?is it bad to lapp it?
TSneoxz
post Nov 5 2006, 09:23 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 5 2006, 09:17 PM)
my hsf is nickel coated.so if i try to lap it does it effect anything?is it bad to lapp it?
ooo, you'll lose the nickel coating. wat's beneath it?
styloe
post Nov 5 2006, 09:26 PM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(neoxz @ Nov 5 2006, 09:23 PM)
ooo, you'll lose the nickel coating. wat's beneath it?
Copper based nickel coated
TSneoxz
post Nov 5 2006, 09:48 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 5 2006, 09:26 PM)
Copper based nickel coated
ooo. i'm not sure if nickel are better at heat transfer. I think u should search about it 1st. smile.gif
styloe
post Nov 5 2006, 09:56 PM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(neoxz @ Nov 5 2006, 09:48 PM)
ooo. i'm not sure if nickel are better at heat transfer. I think u should search about it 1st. smile.gif
ok but dunno where to start sweat.gif maybe i'll ask around first...
LittleLinnet
post Nov 5 2006, 09:59 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 5 2006, 09:56 PM)
ok but dunno where to start sweat.gif maybe i'll ask around first...
you can lapped it to copper mirror finish.
Just like madman mentioned in the front page, the XP120 is also nikel coated copper base
styloe
post Nov 5 2006, 10:08 PM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ Nov 5 2006, 09:59 PM)
you can lapped it to copper mirror finish.
Just like madman mentioned in the front page, the XP120 is also nikel coated copper base
owh i didnt know xp120 is nickel coated based doh.gif maybe i'll try it but first have to find a glass for my project...anyone willing to gimme a hand ere tongue.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 5 2006, 10:10 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 5 2006, 08:32 PM)
any g power pro user here how to disassemble the fan? icon_question.gif
Ai bang, nak cabut kipas tu pun tak reti ke? laugh.gif

Senang je tu, kalau ada masa, datang la rumah aku, aku cabutkan... thumbup.gif
styloe
post Nov 5 2006, 10:24 PM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 5 2006, 10:10 PM)
Ai bang, nak cabut kipas tu pun tak reti ke? laugh.gif

Senang je tu, kalau ada masa, datang la rumah aku, aku cabutkan... thumbup.gif
okehh roger!!! ermmm lapping this gonna be a challenge for me as im not a very patient minded whistling.gif
seanl
post Nov 6 2006, 12:07 AM

734 posts

how do you apply your thermal paste? do you use apply very thin coatly evenly? or do you just put a rice grain size dot on the middle of your cpu?

10c is a great result! congratz.
bombman
post Nov 6 2006, 01:13 AM

Xtreme Modding™
991 posts

Wah~ dude...now pro ready in lapping. Really nice job there thumbup.gif

Act, any1 can do lapping @ home; simple but takes lotsa effort. The process is called wet-sanding

1. Get urself the grit papers frm 400 (or 320) to 2000 & some dishwashing liquid. Dont b kedekut by getting China brands. Go for Japan ones tongue.gif

2. Start by using the lowest no of grit. Wet it thoroughly & make sure place it on a flat surface. U may get a pc of glass, acrylic etc.

3. Pour minute amount of the dishwashing liquid & spread evenly throughout the grit paper.

4. Now place the heatsink (HS) on it & move frm left 2 right (or any orientation u like) gently (let it's weight do the job) 10 times. Repeat Step 2. Then turn 90°

5. Repeat the steps till complete rotation (4 times total) for each grit size

blaxez
post Nov 6 2006, 01:16 AM

Aficionado
1,885 posts

Won't the sand papers slip off when lapping with the use of dishwashing liquid?
bombman
post Nov 6 2006, 01:21 AM

Xtreme Modding™
991 posts

QUOTE(blaxez @ Nov 6 2006, 01:16 AM)
Won't the sand papers slip off when lapping with the use of dishwashing liquid?
Dishwashing liquid is 2 be put on the grit surface; not beneath the paper wink.gif
blaxez
post Nov 6 2006, 01:24 AM

Aficionado
1,885 posts

QUOTE(bombman @ Nov 6 2006, 01:21 AM)
Dishwashing liquid is 2 be put on the grit surface; not beneath the paper  wink.gif
I see, thanks for clarifying. This applies to lapping a processor's IHS as well?
bombman
post Nov 6 2006, 01:43 AM

Xtreme Modding™
991 posts

QUOTE(blaxez @ Nov 6 2006, 01:24 AM)
I see, thanks for clarifying. This applies to lapping a processor's IHS as well?
The wet paper 'll adhere nicely to the surface beneath so dont worry bout it slipping.

Yeah, can be applied to any materials.
mADmAN
post Nov 6 2006, 01:48 AM

10,530 posts

i taped my sandpaper to the glass... and i also did it under some running water...but not much water la...just open the tap slightly to have water washing away the metal particles as i lapped. also the dishwashing liquid was used.

the glass i used was actually those glass sliding door thing from one of my old cabinets biggrin.gif

40 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0147sec    0.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:43 AM