Stock market V21, Huge Stimulus Age

cherroy
post Mar 2 2009, 04:33 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 2 2009, 04:26 PM)
the advantage of reits - super defensive biggrin.gif

drag its pants oso dun wan to come down, lol
You don't pull other pant down one. You make them drop on its own. brows.gif laugh.gif

Joking only.

Above scenario is true on reit stock and defensive dividend stocks like BAT, Guiness, the amount of DPU/dividend is the ultimate factor dictate its movement. Low DPU or low dividend, then its pant drop down itself (like Carlsberg). biggrin.gif
cherroy
post Mar 2 2009, 04:41 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Mar 2 2009, 04:34 PM)
The stimulus pack no matter how big it ise, it will become like what the previous stimulus pack did... hot air...

Its meassure r either too protective of local industries, if it does put monies in the Rakyat's pocket would only encourage people to save rather than to spend.

if its directed at local industries, the companies would still continue to lay off workers or use whatever means to reduce cost and use gov stimulus to keep the company profitable.

besides most of this stimulus pack wont be felt instantly, but will help in terms of how fast we r able to get out of a recession compared to our neighbours.

Added on March 2, 2009, 4:36 pm

would be sexy though having the 4 woman in army n police pose with rocket launchers? Sexy !  drool.gif
Whether stimulus work or not or effective or not, depends on how it is carried out. Often we heard federal gov at higher rank has released the money, but those money is "stuck' in between lower gov department which involved directly or hand to hand with the project. So any delay will result in non-effectiveness of the project.
cherroy
post Mar 2 2009, 04:45 PM

25,802 posts

Actually the right issue of TMI and Maybank (both could total up 10 billion) can do a lot of damage to the market, that's the fear of current market.
Because imagine those 10 billion which initially can be used to buy share in the market or being spent on consumer market out there which can make an impact for the market, instead now all being channelled into the company coffer for their capital raising.

cherroy
post Mar 2 2009, 08:59 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Mar 2 2009, 05:44 PM)
got RM500mil meh?

some joker go to buy 10lots at RM4.96 maybank  doh.gif

Actually i wonder what is the difference between old system and the current system as u still can see ppl buying 10 lots to push up the price?
Those some joker doesn't understand the system, wasting their brokerage fee only.

Once TCP is set, then you only can buy and sell at one price only. If really want to influence the TCP, then should put in the Q before it computed the TCP, not after.

Once TCP is set, no matter you throw 1 lot of 10000 lot also make no different in the KLCI index computation or closing price (I reckon most are done in KLCI components stock that I can see)

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 2 2009, 09:00 PM
cherroy
post Mar 3 2009, 10:15 AM

25,802 posts

Technical rebound is on the way and can be expected. KLCI dropped the least so will bound the least as well.
If not yesterday last minute rise of KLCI, today should be little red only.

Even tonight DJ might have a rally of 200 points as well, market is a bit oversold.
cherroy
post Mar 3 2009, 10:17 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(andy888 @ Mar 3 2009, 08:54 AM)
share mana boleh beli now . haiz...........
Actually I like more people come out with this statement. The more people lose hope on the market, the chance you are getting at the bottom is high. No offence. icon_rolleyes.gif

cherroy
post Mar 3 2009, 10:46 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Mar 3 2009, 10:30 AM)
i beg to differ wait for my plantation counter kick in and send the index flying south..

CPO market opens in 1 min
I am more refer to worldwide equities. As said KLCI dropped the least lately so bound also the least.

We could see STI turn into green, if nothing major news around today and DJ to bound 3 digit tonight.

Don't overly pessimistic about the market, market has room to the south but it is not the end of the world.

May be 5 years later, we could say haiz how can I miss the boat at that time.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 3 2009, 10:48 AM
cherroy
post Mar 3 2009, 09:38 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Mar 3 2009, 09:31 PM)
I don't understand why Perak issue still drag for so long. Why don't they call a fresh election and settle it fast fast! People already boring hearing Perak issue!
This issue is doing not good to the stock market at all.

FF will shy away any countries with some chaotic political situation.
cherroy
post Mar 4 2009, 12:59 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(fergie1100 @ Mar 4 2009, 09:29 AM)
but i guess it's not just us that's sliding against the USD...... everybody else is falling in line also rite?
anyway, r we going to peg our currency against USD again @3.8? <hopefully not> tongue.gif
It is just in-line with most currency movement. USD is rising quite dramatically across vs almost all currencies.

For those wish to play with recovery and still afraid in equities, putting some FD into AUD FD could be a good bet on global economy recovery. Now around 2.35 compared to previously 2.70 or 3.10 (highest). Australia economy will benefitted from its plunging currency. Also Australia banking section is not that badly hit as compared to UK and US.

Don't mean to recommend it is good as it has fair share or exchange risk, just sharing some opinion. So invest on your own risk.

cherroy
post Mar 4 2009, 01:58 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(chyaw @ Mar 4 2009, 01:06 PM)
Are you playing with forex?
I don't trade forex. smile.gif

Just feel (my personal opinion) that moving into AUD FD at current stage (instead putting all in RM FD, for those don't consider equities and scare of it) can be as same or good bet as betting equities or world economy recovery.

Added on March 4, 2009, 1:59 pm
QUOTE(mo_meng @ Mar 4 2009, 01:57 PM)
how to put into AUS FD ha
Aiya, local bank also got lar, as same as ordinary opening account process.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 4 2009, 02:13 PM
cherroy
post Mar 4 2009, 03:46 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(eltaria @ Mar 4 2009, 03:34 PM)
China should be the one to lead us into recovery?

Their economic rescue plan seems to be working remarkably well until now.
Hope they can sustain it until the US picks up as well.
If US doesn't pick up, then who will subsitute those previous demand in the global market then? Bare in mind China economy is just 1/5 or about 1/4 of the US economy. So all eye still or will rely on how well US economy then. China can spend their way out of the recession threat, and maintain some modest growth within their county, but still until its economy become sizeable near US, it cannot stand alone. A lot of goods producing in China are meant to overseas demand.

We can analysis how much goods of Asian countries are meant for US and western countries. Until China can substitute those demand, only then we can say China can lead Asian countries out of recession, if not, still all Asian countries can't run away with US and Europe.

You know why China fast to react and want to put up trillion of stimulus package? because they knew the export shrink will cause a lot of damage to its economy, and potential catastrophere for their job market (lot of people become jobless might lead to social unrest) and health of their financial system as welll as businesses.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 4 2009, 03:49 PM
cherroy
post Mar 4 2009, 05:04 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:57 PM)
looks like today plantation is doing good.

i've KLK, IOI & Bstead in my portfolio.
Your IOI tree so fast grow liao.

The goodness of plantation company and some consumer staples related company, is that no matter how bad the economy, as long as people need to eat and consume while company is not in debt, then they highly will survive and still able to make profit out of it even the profit is little which is miles better compared to those manufacturing, construction company that might not able to survive the bad time especially those high in debt and not well managed one.
But having said, this doesn't apply across all the company in plantation stock and consumer related stocks as different company situation is different.
cherroy
post Mar 4 2009, 08:54 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Mar 4 2009, 07:30 PM)
Hello all,

Im quite new to shares..recentlty ,HSBC issued rights issue to raise funds, what does it actually mean?

Many thanks and sorry if it sounds stupid.
It means the company will issue more shares to the existing shareholders to buy aka get more extra money from shareholders so that company has enough capital/money for their company operation purposes i.e. company short of capital/cash.
cherroy
post Mar 5 2009, 01:22 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(lsmpro80 @ Mar 5 2009, 01:03 PM)
guys, what i see somebody trade at odd lots ? how that usually work ? cause the buying price can be off the radar of last price..

weird stuff.. anybody mind explaining ?
Odd lots doesn't follow the market nor has any trend. It is depended on buyer seller willingness.
cherroy
post Mar 5 2009, 03:01 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(truth_seeker_09 @ Mar 5 2009, 02:13 PM)
I'm wondering how come this Panamy still increasing nowadays? it just shut down 1 factory not long ago..(if i'm not mistake)

why 1295 Keep dropping after the distribution?
Closing down 1 factory if it is a losing business one, is not a bad news after all.

If closing 1 of the factory resulted better profitability of the company in general, it is a good news, not bad news.
Just like company retrench their employee, it doesn't mean bad for company stock price.

Stock market care about the profitability and cashflow of the company. If company downsize and financial become healthy, it should be treated as good news, not bad one. Financial situation is the ultimate factor influence the share price, not company size.

Added on March 5, 2009, 3:05 pmJust found out, Zelan has 140+ millions of cash but its has current liability/borrowing of 90+ millions. But if continous to lose money at the pace of 100 millions+, cash situation could be depleted quite fast. May be market worry about this.

Trade receivable 800+ millions, while trade payable also almost the same level.

I don't study more detail into it especially whether the loss come from operational or write off etc., just take a glance of its lastest financial report at the surface, so any incorrect information,please correct me. Trade at your own risk.

Added on March 5, 2009, 3:07 pm10 billlion, market might be disappointed, instead of cheering. Market expected more.

The gov budget deficit prevent it to be more sizeable.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 5 2009, 03:07 PM
cherroy
post Mar 5 2009, 08:55 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mo_meng @ Mar 5 2009, 05:18 PM)

Added on March 5, 2009, 5:19 pm
1. EPF still got a little bit interest counter
2. EPF wanan gv some confident to others to push up back the price and sell it all  rclxm9.gif

2. Not that easy, EPF alone can't fight with the market force. EPF buying in the market, its main intention is to support and stablise and protect their portfolio. But there is no guarantee they will make money out of every investment they made. EPF also acquired a lot of Timedotcom share back when its IPO around Rm3.30. Look at Timedotcom, now how much?
Don't get me wrong, I don't say any stock is compared to TTdotcom case. Just EPF also like a lot of fund managers, they are not winning in every battle or investment they made.

If they want to dispose while FF and other funds are not in the market, they can't dispose it at all even push up the price.

QUOTE(chyaw @ Mar 5 2009, 05:32 PM)
Those that interested in Atrium REIT, take note. Maybe tomorrow is a good day to buy!

Already known mah, posted it at the reit thread already. In fact another its lease also got 1 year to expire.

Otherwise, its price won't plunge from 0.80 to now 0.63 last year. If the lease is not expiring, with 8.4 cents DPU at 13% yield, people already rush to buy already considered that FD only 2% or 2.5%.
If they can't find new tenant, its DPU will drop at least 30%.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 5 2009, 09:34 PM
cherroy
post Mar 6 2009, 11:12 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Mar 5 2009, 11:01 PM)

Use NTA per shares will show more clearly how much the stock worth after minus all the losses.
Just to remind that, in current situation, NTA is not a good gauge to determine the stock value especially/if the company is or will continue to make losses in the future.
As significant losses can easily wipe up its NTA quite fast.

So still near future financial performance of individual company is the key gauge of the stock price. smile.gif

Cheers.
cherroy
post Mar 6 2009, 03:26 PM

25,802 posts

Stimulus package, be in US one, Malaysia one, their objective is to put a stop on the vicious cycle i.e. stop the sprillaring down effect, less business so retrench worker, less people got job eventually lesser business then more job being slashed and so on and on.

It is not meant to prop up stock market, nor those stimulus package surely can put the economy growth back to normal.

It takes time to stop the vicious cycle, and slowly confidence being built back, and slowly economy start growing again. It is not a quick fix, don't hope miracle happening overnight by having stimulus package, it is unrealistic.
cherroy
post Mar 6 2009, 04:20 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Mar 6 2009, 03:31 PM)
Correcting myself...
nola just that the tendency for market to rally when stimulus packs r announced are high (according to Citi review 10 out of 11 times), after all the excitement the market will go back to its depressing mode.

Which i agree that no stimulus pack or no amount of money can turn around the world economy at the beat of a heart beat.
I understood.

But try to speculate when the market having technical rebound and trying to gain a few peanut out of it or try predict market rally with stimulus announcement or whatever is not worthwhile in this period of time. One might loss a bunch of banana trying to get a few peanut.

If one is intends to hold long term, then probably yes, current time is good time. But to speculate or swing trade in this period of time, unless one is 8/10 or 9/10 get it accurate, only then you can gain out from it, otherwise, just a simple mistake or wrong timing, all of your previous gain will be wipe out, even gain 9 peanut might not enough to cover one bunch of banana loss.

Just my 2 cents. Whatever look for long in good company. A lot of potato chips might not able to get through this time, that's what market fear and some second and third liners stocks are being sold down heavily apart potential of margin call.
cherroy
post Mar 6 2009, 04:35 PM

25,802 posts

If just mean to speculate for short term, wait until all sky is clear and market having some bull sentiment. Otherwise try to speculate in a bear market, most of the time, it is no different like playing with fire.
For speculation, it is best to sit out from the market for awhile when bear is charge unless shorting.

Bear market is for long term investors not for short term speculation.

Why we call bear market? because market is in a down trend. But you bet against it, ain't your chance of winning is low compared when in bull market?

Speculation, you must ride with the market trend, which is much much easy to win from it instead try to play against it.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0457sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:38 PM