Stock market V21, Huge Stimulus Age
sharesa
Feb 26 2009, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(mo_meng @ Feb 26 2009, 10:23 AM) walau cannot login to m2u again I cannot get into internet for 3 days already! Just got the line back 5 minutes ago. Streamyx is so lousy under TM. Management is so poor. They have cable problems all the time, and now is problem to login into certain websites!
sharesa
Feb 26 2009, 03:15 PM
just as the interest rates are nearing 0%, now is 2%, am wondering are you guys thinking of taking out your fixed deposit to buy shares?
sharesa
Feb 26 2009, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(kinwawa @ Feb 26 2009, 03:21 PM) emergency money no....xtra money yes.....park it in high DY or REIT...bough Uchitec recently b4 div announcement....now aiming to buy more PBBANK, PANAMY, BSTEAD keeping sapcres for now till mini-budget announcement....btw...sapcres DY also higher than FD!  yeah... even my xtra funds I'm still hesitating to pour into the market, because am concern that the next few quarters financial results may be worse than this time's. If so, the dividends received may not even be enough to cover the capital loss. Uchitec sounds good though. Added on February 26, 2009, 3:36 pmQUOTE(chyaw @ Feb 26 2009, 03:25 PM) All my reload are from my FD. Tomorrow going to bank to uplift them! That's why I said my Feb quota is used up. Mar quota is from tomorrow FD!!! very rich -lar you... This post has been edited by sharesa: Feb 26 2009, 03:36 PM
sharesa
Feb 26 2009, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 26 2009, 04:19 PM) Dividend alone surely cannot cover your capital loss if market head south. But if you are not needing those money, while the stock is fundamental sound, and ability to withstand recession impact (surely profit will drop, but at lesser degree compared to market average), then it is high chance long term future, you will be gaining. Just like you bought a stock or a reit at 1.20, dividend yield 10%. but it sink to 1.00, but your 1.20 is getting 10% yield so treat it as FD lor. Even dividend drops to 5% (expected all dividend will be lowered which mostly can't run away with it), you are still earning more than FD rate. When one day, market recover and the price goes back up to 1.20. Even at breakeven point, you are already gain more than your FD. That's major advantage of having dividend stock. Btw, I don't know Uchitec. What's the company doing then. QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 26 2009, 04:33 PM) Yup, as investors, everything is up to lot of factor uncertainty and possibility even luck play an important part. No matter how good one is, we can't deny certain bit of luck factor is always associated with it especially one able to buy at bottom. Want higher return than FD, then must take the risk. If not stick to the FD. There is nothing right or wrong. But don't fall in love with any stock or investment. They are tool to make money only, once they can't, then time to let go. Uchitec just announced 6c tax-exempt dividend. It had one dividend payment of 6c on Dec 2008. Learned this counter thru Kinwawa It manufactures controller modules for electrical goods.
sharesa
Feb 26 2009, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 26 2009, 11:15 PM) Panamy has released its lastest Q report, accumulated 3Q of EPS is 68 cents. March 31 will be its final 4th quarter, by then some dividend can be expected.  how nice... wish I had followed your footsteps when you first bought  Added on February 26, 2009, 11:49 pmQUOTE(panasonic88 @ Feb 26 2009, 05:07 PM) today bought Bstead. mainly in property + plantation quater report should be out within these few days. a good DY counter, as well.  this counter sounds like another good pick! Their financial results just released, better than last year..... dividends should be good. This post has been edited by sharesa: Feb 26 2009, 11:49 PM
sharesa
Feb 27 2009, 07:51 AM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 26 2009, 04:19 PM) Dividend alone surely cannot cover your capital loss if market head south. But if you are not needing those money, while the stock is fundamental sound, and ability to withstand recession impact (surely profit will drop, but at lesser degree compared to market average), then it is high chance long term future, you will be gaining. Just like you bought a stock or a reit at 1.20, dividend yield 10%. but it sink to 1.00, but your 1.20 is getting 10% yield so treat it as FD lor. Even dividend drops to 5% (expected all dividend will be lowered which mostly can't run away with it), you are still earning more than FD rate. When one day, market recover and the price goes back up to 1.20. Even at breakeven point, you are already gain more than your FD. That's major advantage of having dividend stock. Btw, I don't know Uchitec. What's the company doing then. QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Feb 26 2009, 10:21 PM) Definitely no at this moment, at least not this year. Most company's earning will take a beating this year, even the best company will suffer. better earn less than loss more.  whether it's time to dig out the fixed deposits for shares: 2 sides of an opinion, interesting as a food for thought This post has been edited by sharesa: Feb 27 2009, 07:54 AM
sharesa
Feb 27 2009, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(mo_meng @ Feb 27 2009, 12:34 PM) soli i going to ask again the removed question i bought knm at 0.54 .. should i sell them all and grab it back at same current price? i know i will looose out some charges but if i do this when the price up i will get profit directly else i need to wait long long for the price to go up till my 0.54 which i dont know will it happen or not any wise opinion here sifus? If you intend to buy other counters that you think may rise(no guarantee), then you should sell KNM now. But , if you sell KNM now @ 0.37, then, buy back around 0.33 - 0.37, you will lose out on commission + other charges. Unless you predict its gonna drop till 0.20, then buy back around that price if you feel it will rise back. Otherwise, hold on to it. Juz my opinion.
sharesa
Mar 2 2009, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Mar 2 2009, 11:07 AM) Yup the 4th Q GDP are diving at a scary rate from the 3rd Q around 4% to 0.1%. This year 1st Q is definitely in negative territory. Recession is coming to town.  talking about the only 0.1% growth, I was suspecting probably 0% growth in last quarter 2008, but that will mean recession ringing in our ears in next quarter! Play with numbers.
sharesa
Mar 2 2009, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Mar 2 2009, 11:21 AM) yup, technically recession is define as two consecutive quarter of reduction in GDP. So maybe najis is playing with the nos altho the actual 4th quarter GDP already at -0.1%. So technically speaking, if the next Q is also in negative (which i think most probably will), then msia is officially in recession.  He try to buy some time. 
sharesa
Mar 2 2009, 11:46 AM
some repair on damages in progress
sharesa
Mar 4 2009, 03:46 PM
[quote=espree,Mar 4 2009, 02:20 PM] Added on March 4, 2009, 1:59 pmAiya, local bank also got lar, as same as ordinary opening account process. [/quote] I have some pounds, do you think I can open fd for my money? [/quote] you can open FD for Pounds using MYR , as the bank will do the exchange using the board rate. Not using your own Pounds directly.
sharesa
Mar 4 2009, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 4 2009, 05:26 PM) lol... i have always wanted taikor plantation in my portfolio, glad i did that. threw my O&G and swapped for plantation. good for you with successful switches,
sharesa
Mar 5 2009, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(mo_meng @ Mar 5 2009, 11:19 PM) any ideas will this counter going up? will there be any oth news on this counter in coming mths? really dont dare to go in now Added on March 5, 2009, 11:23 pmthanks to viper for alwaz sharing lots of news regarding zelan who can predict whether a counter can go up? All shares have potential to go up or down. Up to us to analyse.
sharesa
Mar 6 2009, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(kinwawa @ Mar 6 2009, 04:32 PM) just got a call by remisier.....sold all my uchi@0.90... congrats belanja, belanja......
sharesa
Mar 10 2009, 09:26 AM
Can RM50 billion ward off recession? Maybe not KUALA LUMPUR, March 10 – The Malaysian government is set to announce its largest ever stimulus package of more than RM50 billion this afternoon.
But even the administration concedes that this infusion of cash, tariff cuts, retraining grants may not be enough to stave off a recession this year.
Sources told the Malaysian Insider that in addition to the RM10 billion to be spent by the government to stimulate the economy, today’s package could also include tax and tariff cuts, suspension of employer contributions to several funds, all of which will add more than RM40 billion of liquidity to the market.
The government hopes that this stabilization package will reduce the cost of doing business and encourage employers to retrench workers only as a last resort. As many as 200,000 Malaysians are expected to be laid off work in 2009, as companies in the manufacturing and logistics sectors hit by falling demand close their shutters.
The mini-budget will be presented at a special Cabinet meeting today before Finance Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak tables it in Parliament this afternoon.
Perhaps as important as the numbers and the size of the budget will be stark scenario that Najib will sketch today. The government has maintained for months that the Malaysia will still experience growth despite the global slowdown.
As recently as a month ago, the official position was that the growth would still be around the 3.5 per cent announced by Najib when he unveiled the first RM7billion stimulus package.
But privately, Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning Unit officials have revised growth figures since January to between 0.5 per cent and 1.5 per cent on the back of worsening economic data from Malaysia’s main trading partners and export nations.
Since then, the news around the world has become worse. On Monday, the World Bank said that the world is on track to post its worst performance since the Great Depression, with developing countries bearing much of the economic pain.
“The global economy is likely to shrink this year for the first time since World War II,” the bank said, noting that global industrial production, by the middle of 2009, could be as much as 15 per cent lower than in 2008.
Based on those projections, world trade is on track to record its largest decline in 80 years, with the sharpest losses expected in East Asia.
The World Bank, which helps finance the debt of developing nations, says the financial crisis will have long-term implications for them.
“Many institutions that have provided financial intermediation for developing country clients have virtually disappeared. Developing countries that can still access financial markets face higher borrowing costs, and lower capital flows, leading to weaker investment and slower growth in the future,” the bank said.
Government sources said that the administration did not paint the worst case scenario as done by Singapore and several other countries because the structure of the Malaysian economy is different from their neighbour down south and not as exposed to the gyrations of the global economy.
In addition, until recently, there was little evidence that recession would visit Japan and several other markets for Malaysian goods and services so quickly and in such a devastating fashion.
And most importantly, the consensus among Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, Najib and other members of the Cabinet was that bad news should be managed well to prevent a plunge in consumer spending.
A senior government official told The Malaysian Insider: “The view was that Malaysians are by nature a pessimistic group and could overreact, making the recession a self-fulfilling prophecy.”
Not everyone in the government agreed with this approach but as long as Abdullah and Najib kept to this line, others followed suit, regardless of how ridiculous it made them sound.
Despite efforts by some bloggers to paint Najib as a renegade who has been prepared to call a spade a spade in this economic crisis, he was very much part of the team that believed in staying on message.
Only in recent weeks has he signalled a willingness to paint a dire picture of the Malaysian economy. But even then, he and other ministers have been reluctant to admit the possibility of the economy entering negative territory.
At a briefing for senior editors last night, Najib sketched a gloomy scenario for Malaysia in 2009 and said that recession was a possibility, given the waves of continuous bad news from around the world.
Today, the country’s next prime minister will paint this dark picture for the rest of the country. His job in the coming weeks and months will be to convince Malaysians that his administration has the tools and ideas to alleviate the pain and suffering on main street.
sharesa
Mar 10 2009, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(Ranny @ Mar 10 2009, 03:06 PM) tell u guys. Najib's speech is nothing. He is neither a magician nor financial expert who can make the market u-turn, although he can make u disappear..KLSE will continue to trade downward in tandem with world economy. There's no cure yet for the economy atm.. Economists(including me.. ahem..) still could not see the bottom is where.. Singapore's Lee Kuan Yew just mentioned today that their GDP may hit -10%. They have been transparent and realistic! Unlike us, -0.1% and +0.1% seems like an illusion.
sharesa
Mar 10 2009, 06:26 PM
tomorrow, Construction, plantation and property stocks should be up.
sharesa
Mar 10 2009, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(sportivo55 @ Mar 10 2009, 06:39 PM) Sentiment seems very negative.....be surprised if anything moves up much tomorrow Anyway does anyone know how to subsrice to the government bonds announced recently? Through the banks? Anyone care to share on the procedure? thanks very much they will advertise in newspapers. Recently there was a 5 year 5% goverment bond for above 50 years old.
sharesa
Mar 11 2009, 12:11 PM
Published: Wednesday March 11, 2009 MYT 11:54:00 AM KLCI rebound likely not sustainable By Fintan Ng
KUALA LUMPUR: The KLCI rebound in morning trade Wednesday may not be sustainable going forward as fundamentals are still weak despite the announcement of an RM60 billion stimulus package yesterday.
AmResearch Sdn Bhd said the stimulus package “is not likely to trigger a re-pricing of growth expectations anytime soon given elevated aversion to risk”.
It said the package would mitigate some concern over a deepening of an impending recession further out.
HwangDBS Vickers Research Sdn Bhd said the KLCI rebound “will probably be less forceful after falling less than its regional peers in recent weeks”.
It added that much would also depend on the reaction to the package, as investors digest the probable implications on individual industries such as construction, property and banking.
Meanwhile, the region’s main indices were in positive territory after a strong close on Wall Street yesterday after Citigroup Inc chief executive officer Vikram Pandit said the bank was “having its best quarter since the third quarter of 2007”.
At 11.15am, the KLCI was up 0.56% to 860.01 while Singapore’s Straits Times Index rose 1.76% to 1,511.94.
Tokyo Nikkei 225 advanced 4.01% to 7,338.16 and Hong Kong’s Hang Seng Index climbed 3.83% to 12,141.41.
Shanghai’s A share index was up 0.69% to 2,173.56 while Seoul’s Kospi Indx rose 2.81% to 1,122.86.
At Bursa Malaysia, 190 counters were up, 113 were down and 201 others were traded unchanged. There were 152.18 million shares traded with a total value of RM210.18 million.
Among active stocks, BCHB and UEM Land were unchanged at RM6.20 and 72.5 sen respectively. MRCB was up 1 sen to 84 sen while TM International rose 10 sen to RM2.65.
MISC was 20 sen higher at RM8.45 while its foreign tranche rose 10 sen to RM8.30. IJM was up 14 sen to RM3.76, Tanjong fell 20 sen to RM14.40 and United Plantation dropped 10 sen to RM10.70.
Crude palm oil 3-month futures was down RM1 per tonne to RM1,994. Nymex crude oil in electronic trade was 11 cents higher at US$45.82 per barrel.
Spot gold fell US$3.09 to US$895.06 per ounce.
The ringgit was quoted at 3.686.
sharesa
Mar 11 2009, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(Crazy88 @ Mar 11 2009, 01:46 PM) R u sure 5% interest every 3 months?  So far , the news reported yes. Be prepared to wait a long queue!