Weight: fluc between 58-59KG+
BF: 7-8%

This post has been edited by ahnien: Apr 23 2009, 04:09 AM
ExpZero
post Feb 14 2009, 01:54 PM

1,522 posts

hey,

Why are you doing 5X3? 5 sets with 3 repetition? Go for rippetoe instead, the program is very suitable for underweight beginner. Not all machine are isolated, it's depends on the type of exercise that you performing. List out your daily food intake here.
TSahnien
post Feb 14 2009, 02:19 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(ExpZero @ Feb 14 2009, 01:54 PM)
hey,

Why are you doing 5X3? 5 sets with 3 repetition? Go for rippetoe instead, the program is very suitable for underweight beginner. Not all machine are isolated, it's depends on the type of exercise that you performing. List out your daily food intake here.
i had been checking on some journals and post and the ripptoe link provided by darklight. will get on to work immediately.

update later smile.gif
mofonyx
post Feb 15 2009, 09:54 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

good luck with Rips, it helped me gain a lot of strength. Starter program, nothing much more.

After 3 - 4 months tops (from multiple experiences - friends, myself), you'd want to move on to something else.

Squatting 3 times a week seems like a good idea at first, but at anything above 100kg it would feel like hell.
TSahnien
post Feb 15 2009, 03:49 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Feb 15 2009, 09:54 AM)
good luck with Rips, it helped me gain a lot of strength. Starter program, nothing much more.

After 3 - 4 months tops (from multiple experiences - friends, myself), you'd want to move on to something else.

Squatting 3 times a week seems like a good idea at first, but at anything above 100kg it would feel like hell.
ABOVE 1000KG???? unsure.gif
TSahnien
post Feb 16 2009, 05:49 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

February 16, 2008, Monday

updates:
-had changed my workouts from independent/isolated to more compounds.
-done more warm ups than i use to and it really helped by giving me less pain n fatigue after workouts or the day after
-increased cardio workouts
-really felt a bit stronger - handling more weights and doing more reps

warm up:
-light stretchs
-10mins non-resistant bike
-30mins random speed threadmill (5min walk -> 5min jog -> 5min walk -> )
-light weighted isolated machine workouts

Main workouts:
-bench db row 5 x 5
-barbell row 5 x 5

-fly 3 x 3
-db bench press 5 x 5
-db bench fly 5 x 5
-incline db press 5 x 5

-bench leg raise 3 x 10
-hanging leg raise 5 x 5
-sit ups 3 x 10

hmm.... looks like i done too much today izzit rclxub.gif
2molo is rest day since i have too much class at uni.
wednesday shud doing some bb press n squat

1 thing i would like to ask is.... erm... im still not gaining weight.
intensively eating a lot of beef n meat n eggs. and eating way more than i used to eat.

moreover, after i increased my cardio exercise. in these 2 days, i've lost a few hundred grams.... instead of gaining cry.gif

i was wondering is the cardio(threadmill burning too much or something???) hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ahnien: Feb 20 2009, 01:16 AM
myvi5949
post Feb 16 2009, 06:47 PM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

1 thing i would like to ask is.... erm... im still not gaining weight.
intensively eating a lot of beef n meet n eggs. and eating way more than i used to eat.

moreover, after i increased my cardio exercise. in these 2 days, i've lost a few hundred grams.... instead of gaining cry.gif

i was wondering is the cardio(threadmill burning too much or something?

I once weigh 55kg at 169cm. Now at 66kg aiming for 70kg.

You're ectomorph. Avoid cardio at all cost. It will hurt your gains. The compound work is a good step forward. But nutrition is more important than the training.. especially for hardgainers.

registryeditor
post Feb 16 2009, 06:47 PM

Internets Super Heroes HAGAGA
1,520 posts

bro, if you wana grow, you gotta get your diet straight man! your diet sux as hell. you dont grow muscle on peanut butter patties. seriously. also, no matter what kinda weight training program you're on, you aint gonna grow without a proper diet.
TSahnien
post Feb 16 2009, 08:45 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(myvi5949 @ Feb 16 2009, 06:47 PM)
I once weigh 55kg at 169cm. Now at 66kg aiming for 70kg.

You're ectomorph.  Avoid cardio at all cost.  It will hurt your gains.  The compound work is a good step forward. But nutrition is more important than the training.. especially for hardgainers.
yo bro.... seems your body is similar to me b4 you build up.
can give me more tips on gains??

did you go for whey protein??

i've been reading a lot lately, and 1 of the article i came across mentioned that cardio is very important as well.
but since you mentioned, for MY CASE.... cardio seems burning off the stuffs i ate??
hmm... i had a bad cardio capability, thats why i was thinking of doing more.... n balancing a bit on bulk up, weight gains and cardio.

any personal workout recommendations, bro?

Added on February 16, 2009, 8:50 pm
QUOTE(registryeditor @ Feb 16 2009, 06:47 PM)
bro, if you wana grow, you gotta get your diet straight man! your diet sux as hell. you dont grow muscle on peanut butter patties. seriously. also, no matter what kinda weight training program you're on, you aint gonna grow without a proper diet.
well... i do noe that my diet sux badly.... cry.gif
not using it as a reason, but i'm living away from home sweet home...
so i get all my meals outside.

any recommendations on how to get a good proper diet for weight gains EATING OUTSIDE???
i'm starting to focus on specific types of food that i shud consume intensively....

but apparently, we dont get to eat the best proper food with all the nutriens n minerals eating outside...

This post has been edited by ahnien: Feb 16 2009, 08:50 PM
wallpaper89
post Feb 16 2009, 08:57 PM

650 posts

Just buy a lot of milk and eggs and eat at home n between your 3 main meals. If you have some extra cash, feel free to get urself a tub of Whey protein to eat during your postworkout or preworkout, or even supper.

Remember u need minimum 5 meals per day, spread evenly through out your day, and it must be good food not junk like roti canai or 3 bags of popcorn.
metalfreak
post Feb 16 2009, 09:02 PM

Working out is not my routine, it's my new lifestyle
3,300 posts

Well,

You could prepare simple food like tuna sandwich for breakfast. You can also buy KFC's Chicken breast if you can't cook your lunches or dinner.

Are you looking into supplements? But anyway your breakfast is really =.=
skip the 10 butter crackers and eat something else. Even a fried egg with 2 slices of wholemeal bread is alot better.

Check out some of the other members for their meal plans and make up your own meals. Get some idea around it.
myvi5949
post Feb 16 2009, 09:43 PM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

yo bro.... seems your body is similar to me b4 you build up.
can give me more tips on gains??

did you go for whey protein??

i've been reading a lot lately, and 1 of the article i came across mentioned that cardio is very important as well.
but since you mentioned, for MY CASE.... cardio seems burning off the stuffs i ate??
hmm... i had a bad cardio capability, thats why i was thinking of doing more.... n balancing a bit on bulk up, weight gains and cardio.

any personal workout recommendations, bro?

With the weight you are now, i would avoid cardio. You can do cardio, but not now. I am doing circuit training myself, its a form of cardio..but that's because i see my tummy growing. Most i would do is twice week on off training days, and that is only 20minutes per session.

But at your weight 55kg, i would not even bother. Gaining fat would be the least of my concern.. In fact, at 55kg..u will look better if u gain some fat. The most important thing u need to do is to increase your calories. Meaning, u have to eat more. Add some extra stuff in your diet, say for example try eating 2 whole eggs per day. Try increase the intake to 3 eggs, then 4. Then u can add more food on top of that, add tuna, beef, kidney beans, chicken... Its not easy being consistent on the diet. But if you're persistent with eating every 3 hours, you'll be in the right track. Nutrition is key.

If you consume more calories than you need, eventually u will gain weight. If you're taking less calories than what your body needs..eventually you'll loose weight. What your body needs depends on your activity level and your metabolic rate. Since cardio increases the metabolic rate, on top of the already high metabolic rate of the ectomorph; no wonder you're loosing weight. Educate yourself about the ectomorph.

Its hard to gain lean muscle mass without gaining some fat. Unless you're genetically gifted, its next to impossible. Its easier to bulk first..then cut.
The advantage of being a beginner is that you have the drive. Use that drive in planning your meals, on increasing the intensity of your workout.. Remember that nutrition comes first, training is to stimulate growth. Growth comes from resting and proper nutrition.
wallpaper89
post Feb 16 2009, 10:27 PM

650 posts

With that said, if you, an ectomorph, feel like doing cardio for the sake of general cardiovascular health, just go ahead and do it. Its fine to do cardio, as long as you don't overdo it. What is considered as overdoing depends on what you think is considered as overdoing... You'll know.
mrPOTATO
post Feb 16 2009, 10:56 PM

2,113 posts

Welcome to lowyat journal ahnien.

There r lots great supportive bros here & i'm sure u'll progress in time to come.

Perseverence is important.

For diet, i would like to suggest adding oat, u can take it to top up your calories, whenever ur hungry, or even mix with your drinks. Its healthy too ! Just pack some into a tupperware (with milk powder if u wan to), add water & voila - an energy drink full of fibre.
TSahnien
post Feb 17 2009, 12:01 AM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

wow... guys. thx for all the tips and comments.
i appretiate it a lot. thx notworthy.gif
a lot of things to catch up on...
starting with 5meals per day blush.gif

i've done a test @ bodybuilding.com
hmm.... the test rated me as between ecto and meso... hmm.gif

2molo is resting time smile.gif
wednesday squat n barbell workouts...

damn... i'm so addicted to this gym thingy.. drool.gif
izzit all starters oso lidat...

then people start getting lazy..... then back to square one.. ? whistling.gif

DIET RELATED QUESTION: consuming a lot of eggs lately. making a lot of Hardboiled eggs - 3-4 daily. now we all know that eggs have high protien. but the egg yolk is high cholesterol. though i like the yolk a lot, and never missed out on the yolks. but now, since i'm intensively eating 3-4 DAILY. i was wondering shud i avoid eating the yolks?? to avoid increasing my cholesterol?? example, i ate 3-4 daily, shud i skip 1-2 of the yolks??
some said, that its OK. since i'm jus at my early 20s. any recommendations on the yolk consumptions??
since i onli need the protein from the egg whites.

This post has been edited by ahnien: Feb 19 2009, 09:36 PM
TSahnien
post Feb 19 2009, 09:36 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

Wednesday - 18th February 2009

after a day rest on Tuesday
warm ups:
similar to recent warm ups.
-a lot of stretchs
-10min bike. but cut of the 30mins threadmill, since most said that cardio is not tat suitable for me.
-all light weighted warm ups with isolated machines

work out:
-squat 5 x 5
-bb bench press 3 x 5

-bb row 3 x 10
-db bench row 3 x 10

Thursday - 19th February 2009

warm ups:
-stretchs
-10min bike
-light weighted warm ups with isolated machines

work out:
-bb row 3 x 10
-db bench row 3 x 10

-db bench press 5 x 5
-db bench fly 5 x 5
-sit ups 3 x 10
-dip 1 x 10 rclxub.gif

anyone can answer my question in my previous post? bout the eggs and cholesterol?

This post has been edited by ahnien: Feb 20 2009, 01:18 AM
metalfreak
post Feb 20 2009, 01:36 AM

Working out is not my routine, it's my new lifestyle
3,300 posts

Well, if you're eating 4 eggs, probably skip 3 of the yolks and just eat 1

There was an article about eggs and yolk as well. Try googling.
iamyuanwu
post Feb 20 2009, 01:47 PM

2,425 posts

Hah hah. Very similar background.
I've been working out for some time, but no real gains due to my inconsistency and terrible diet. I wonder where is Snecx, he managed to gain weight & strength quite fast. And he has a very good diet.

3-4 eggs with yolk per day should be fine, if you work out consistently and have very active lifestyle.

1 egg is only 5g of protein. Take away the yolk and you take away half the protein, all the phospholipids, most of the minerals and all vitamins.
There are some articles around about cholesterol in eggs and its absorption. It's generally positive, so just eat.
TSahnien
post Feb 20 2009, 02:05 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Feb 20 2009, 01:47 PM)
Hah hah. Very similar background.
I've been working out for some time, but no real gains due to my inconsistency and terrible diet. I wonder where is Snecx, he managed to gain weight & strength quite fast. And he has a very good diet.

3-4 eggs with yolk per day should be fine, if you work out consistently and have very active lifestyle.

1 egg is only 5g of protein. Take away the yolk and you take away half the protein, all the phospholipids, most of the minerals and all vitamins.
There are some articles around about cholesterol in eggs and its absorption. It's generally positive, so just eat.
from this article:

The incredible, edible egg yolk!

egg yolk is very much edible biggrin.gif
silverwave
post Feb 21 2009, 02:12 PM

4,082 posts

Do Rippetoe workouts and try to eat every 2-3 hours. Remember, without proper diet, you won't grow much smile.gif

0.0254sec    0.95    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:07 AM