Holy shit. That JGL and Wattanabe posters kick so much ass it's surreal.
Movies Inception | The Dark Knight director sci-fi pic, Warner Brothers wants Inception 2 ?
May 27 2010, 01:53 PM
12,275 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: KL |
Holy shit. That JGL and Wattanabe posters kick so much ass it's surreal.
Jul 6 2010, 08:38 AM
BUMP
First set of reviews are out. I've yet to see a negative review. Lowest score I've seen is 7/10. Highest score is 10/10. One writer calls Inception a masterpiece with DiCaprio delivering the performance of his career which is high praise considering he's acted in Aviator and Shutter Island. |
Jul 6 2010, 01:22 PM
IGN are a shit site. I wouldn't read their reviews if anyone paid me too. I like In Contention's review. And one more thing, f*** Variety. f*** them to kingdom come.
Jul 13 2010, 08:00 PM
Jul 13 2010, 08:43 PM
Jul 15 2010, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Jul 14 2010, 11:05 PM) I did.The line was all the way to Carl's Jr and that's saying quite a bit if you've been to Mid Valley. As for the movie, I don't know how to tell anything about it without spoiling the film. To anyone who's unprepared, do watch closely for the 'layers' of dreams and the ending (describes how I felt about the ending but if you click on it, you may expect what to expect already so depends on if you want to click ->) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Jul 15 2010, 03:00 PM
Well, there are a few things that I want to confirm tonight but I thought it was easy enough to follow for me. The characters always explained what they were doing before they did.
Jul 15 2010, 03:08 PM
Jul 15 2010, 03:28 PM
How did you figure it out?
This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Jul 15 2010, 03:28 PM |
Jul 15 2010, 03:52 PM
LIMBO
Jul 15 2010, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jul 15 2010, 06:55 PM) I think the film is too obsessed with plot dynamics and details, and moves at too fast a pace, it's crammed too full with cold mechanics and leaves no space for reflection and emotions. I'm afraid to say even by now only the first hour of the film really sticks in my mind, together with a few notable scenes in the second half. The plot is impeccable plotted, in a cold sense. It's so intricate that I doubt there will be any holes. I disagree. I like Nolan's clumsy action scenes. It makes it look more organic to me. But yes, I do agree the zero gravity sequence could have been one long stretch rather than having it intersect with third layer and forth layer. Joseph Gordon Levitt's physical acting sold it for me. Even Nolan fans have to admit he really isn't the best man for shooting action scenes. Face it, the shootout on the snowy mountain was quite a drag, wasn't it? Clearly inspired by James Bond, but while watching I couldn't help but notice not just how poor it was, but also how unnecessary it was. The shifting-gravity sequence though.... that was just friggin awesome (and short Not to say I dont recommend it, definitely go watch it, just saying I'm a bit disappointed. Hopefully my second viewing will be much better. Changing my mind after a few viewings isn't uncommon for me. And I have to say, I didn't feel the movie was too fast or anything. If you missed something or got confused, then obviously you need catching up to do and do your revision (re-watch This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Jul 15 2010, 09:37 PM |
Jul 15 2010, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Jul 15 2010, 10:06 PM) I don't think that is true. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « But of course, I'll need another two screenings to digest everything as well |
Jul 15 2010, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jul 15 2010, 10:37 PM) Organic? Well the gravity-shifting scene was fluid. Looked really good. But that whole scene on top of the mountains? No. Perhaps he's better at doing conceptual action scenes, but he does so very suck at conventional shootouts. What was wrong with the action scene at the mountain? Admittedly, I got frustrated with the wave of enemies which made it feel like Uncharted 2 (a PS3 video game if you're not familiar) but I didn't feel like it spoilt the film. Btw, I like your ending. Interestingly, thanks to a link from mgsrulz, I found out that the music from the trailer was from Uncharted 1. If Nolan could direct an Uncharted film.... What is your ending btw? I thought you'd like this since I thought this and Shutter Island had quite a lot in common regarding what is real and not but obviously, I was wrong. |
Jul 15 2010, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(koolspyda @ Jul 15 2010, 11:44 PM) Good movie. I don't believe why some might be bothered it's too high concept. it's really fairly easy, done in Nolan's way. don't worry, It's not too complex That's still a spoiler Go ahead, it's worth the ticket. ( here me planting the the idea ) Added on July 15, 2010, 11:47 pm QUOTE(s3r^ph @ Jul 15 2010, 11:46 PM) there's one thing i dun get They didn't get (insert phrase here).» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « damn! i need to watch this again. damn farking good movie. easily takes the cake for best movie of the year and my top 10 fav movies. This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Jul 15 2010, 11:47 PM |
Jul 15 2010, 11:53 PM
Jul 16 2010, 12:02 AM
The god speaks in the form of JGL. Seems from what the cast member speaks of Nolan, he seems like the second Hitchcock. The stories they tell about him and the jokes. D: This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Jul 16 2010, 12:11 AM |
Jul 16 2010, 12:21 AM
I am not sure what you mean but if you mean by unhooking, you wake up, then I strongly believe that isn't the case.
Jul 16 2010, 01:11 AM
QUOTE(Itori @ Jul 16 2010, 01:05 AM) Sorry... used wrong term. The briefcase?» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Added on July 16, 2010, 1:06 am Yeah... it deserves a few cute scenes... The girl is too naive in someways... Hahhahaa... It's for them to share dreams. Hence why when » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « EDIT: Richard Roeper called it one of the best films of the 21st century. But he gave Eclipse A- This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Jul 16 2010, 01:20 AM |
Jul 16 2010, 01:31 AM
So according to you, why or how did they wake up? Sorry but I have no idea what you're trying to say. Perhaps if you could give your own interpretation on the ending?
*Sorry but I love the film to bits. It's been the first film in a long while that has engaged me enough to discuss the film across SEVEN movie forum sites.* |
Jul 16 2010, 03:39 AM
QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jul 16 2010, 01:40 AM) For Shutter Island (the film), it's not ambiguous at all. The 'is it better to be live a monster or die a good man' was a key give away. And if that is not enough, on the BD version, Scorsese and DiCaprio SAID the same thing on the extra. |
| Change to: | 0.0462sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:54 PM |