TSginolo
post Feb 6 2009, 06:31 PM, updated 17y ago

Bugs Bunny running over that way!
1,359 posts

FYI, im using lp custom alpine white.
I was using e.balls since i have it.
And i changed to D'addario that day.
Guess what?
i found that D'addario sounds very weird.
It gives me the feeling like "kang kang kang".
im SURE there's no problem with my strings installation.
Just wanna wonder here who tried them both b4?

And how do you rate your D'addario strings in 5?

my rating is 2.5/5
jem77fp
post Feb 6 2009, 07:13 PM

28 posts

I love d'addario's. Maybe coz i use them more often. I like the feel of the thicker strings. I used EB's before but i use d'addario's more coz the shop who sells ernie balls always tutup lol.

4.5/5
blacktrix
post Feb 6 2009, 07:30 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

You have to get them "worn in" first.
I didn't like D'addarios for my Lp-100, but I love them in my RR3.

But try Dunlop for your LP man....... to me they sound really good.
TSginolo
post Feb 6 2009, 07:34 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(jem77fp @ Feb 6 2009, 07:13 PM)
I love d'addario's. Maybe coz i use them more often. I like the feel of the thicker strings. I used EB's before but i use d'addario's more coz the shop who sells ernie balls always tutup lol.

4.5/5
Yea, the strings are thicker. so im feel weird when playing them.

Added on February 6, 2009, 7:34 pm
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Feb 6 2009, 07:30 PM)
You have to get them "worn in" first.
I didn't like D'addarios for my Lp-100, but I love them in my RR3.

But try Dunlop for your LP man....... to me they sound really good.
ya, i installed two weeks liao eh.
Dunlop? Where can i get it? never heard b4.

This post has been edited by ginolo: Feb 6 2009, 07:34 PM
enteryourusername
post Feb 6 2009, 08:56 PM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Feb 6 2009, 06:31 PM)
FYI, im using lp custom alpine white.
I was using e.balls since i have it.
And i changed to D'addario that day.
Guess what?
i found that D'addario sounds very weird.
It gives me the feeling like "kang kang kang".
im SURE there's no problem with my strings installation.
Just wanna wonder here who tried them both b4?

And how do you rate your D'addario strings in 5?

my rating is 2.5/5
i think i know wat's ur feel. i got the same problem too. doh.gif
blacktrix
post Feb 6 2009, 09:33 PM

13,063 posts

Jim Dunlop strings. Youc an find them and Bents and Guitar Collection. Around RM25 a pack.
oxalato
post Feb 6 2009, 10:13 PM

609 posts

D'Addario! cheaper tongue.gif

freakfingers12
post Feb 6 2009, 10:21 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

I like EB's but they last like toilet rolls. Although D'addario's don't sound and feel as good as EB's, at least they help me save more money.
fatboythin
post Feb 6 2009, 10:42 PM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Feb 6 2009, 10:21 PM)
I like EB's but they last like toilet rolls. Although D'addario's don't sound and feel as good as EB's, at least they help me save more money.
Totally agree with this man!
TSginolo
post Feb 6 2009, 11:00 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Feb 6 2009, 08:56 PM)
i think i know wat's ur feel. i got the same problem too.  doh.gif
Haha, its good that got ppl understands my pain.
So what are u going to do with it?
Remove them?

Added on February 6, 2009, 11:02 pm
Huh? my previous E.Balls lasts months.
My fren start using E.Balls which he installed it YEARS ago.

This post has been edited by ginolo: Feb 6 2009, 11:02 PM
chester43
post Feb 6 2009, 11:03 PM

132 posts

I used to use D'Addario 0.09-0.42 / 0.10-0.46.. But eventually,I prefer Ernie Ball 0.11-0.48 Power Slinky... It sounds warmer to me ...and it doesn't break much when i'm playing.. D'Addario always breaks especially when i am doing bendings .. flex.gif
TSginolo
post Feb 6 2009, 11:58 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(chester43 @ Feb 6 2009, 11:03 PM)
I used to use D'Addario 0.09-0.42 / 0.10-0.46.. But eventually,I prefer Ernie Ball 0.11-0.48 Power Slinky... It sounds warmer to me ...and it doesn't break much when i'm playing.. D'Addario always breaks especially when i am doing  bendings .. flex.gif
yeap.
Im thinking whether wanna remove my d'addario which installed in my lp.

*ps* i just broke my 1st string just now when playing "smooth - santana"
enteryourusername
post Feb 7 2009, 12:05 AM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

did you wipe ur string after u play? after i hav the habit of wiping the strings each time after i play, the strings last longer.

QUOTE(ginolo @ Feb 6 2009, 11:00 PM)
Haha, its good that got ppl understands my pain.
So what are u going to do with it?
Remove them?
yup. replaced them with ernie balls regular slinky. my fav strings icon_idea.gif
jem77fp
post Feb 7 2009, 12:08 AM

28 posts

hmm, a thought. which famous guitarists use d'addario's? most are using ernie balls right? maybe i should try EB's again
TSginolo
post Feb 7 2009, 12:22 AM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Feb 7 2009, 12:05 AM)
did you wipe ur string after u play? after i hav the habit of wiping the strings each time after i play, the strings last longer.
yup. replaced them with ernie balls regular slinky. my fav strings  icon_idea.gif
the pink package?

Added on February 7, 2009, 12:23 am
QUOTE(jem77fp @ Feb 7 2009, 12:08 AM)
hmm, a thought. which famous guitarists use d'addario's? most are using ernie balls right? maybe i should try EB's again
google is the answer.

This post has been edited by ginolo: Feb 7 2009, 12:24 AM
jem77fp
post Feb 7 2009, 12:48 AM

28 posts

anyone tried ernie ball rps-10's? do they sell them here? like in bentley or something?
crazychris
post Feb 7 2009, 01:27 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

to me...

daddario (usuali the nickel wound) sounded so much warmer
EBs are brighter and it jus sounded more to ur face kinda feel

but u noe sum people's hand sweat wud kill dadd in less than a week but better with EB
and vice versa

so mus see u got "缘 faith" with it or nt haha
TSginolo
post Feb 7 2009, 02:14 AM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(crazychris @ Feb 7 2009, 01:27 AM)
but u noe sum people's hand sweat wud kill  dadd in less than a week but better with EB
and vice versa
so mus see u got "缘 faith" with it or nt haha
i seriously dont get what you mean.
[vogue]angel
post Feb 7 2009, 09:30 AM

107 posts

actually, i find tat Ernie Ball rust kinda fast. I'm using D'addario's now. Thinking of switching to GHS Boomers or Dean Markley Cool Strings.
Elixer strings are good too, but the price will kill.

but the best strings when i was starting out was those "cap Ayam" brand of strings. No matter how much u play, they dun seem to rust, although sound abit crappy at times, but it was good because i was on a budget. smile.gif
quarantined
post Feb 7 2009, 10:52 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

I try Ernies once in a while but find that I always go back to Daddarios. To me Ernie are the ones that are easier to break between the two.

For acoustics though I prefer ghs though, I don't know where to find them here.
Bassix
post Feb 7 2009, 04:00 PM

-----
1,171 posts

D'addarios for everything!!! Even flossing your teeth icon_idea.gif
Thalmes
post Feb 7 2009, 04:20 PM

Genie Pig!
1,799 posts

Between this 2 ... Which is smoother ( Won't cause so much friction to the hand ) , And sounds warmer and bassy ?

I'm considering D'Addario at first ... But now this thread shows us ... Well ?

Can introduce other type too as long as it fulfill my needs . - Smooth , Sounds Warmer and Bassy
Everdying
post Feb 7 2009, 04:26 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

weird, i find ernie balls much warmer than d'addario.
i have lots of ernie ball packs right now, power 11, regular 10 and hybrid 9 which i dont really need anymore since no guitar for it tongue.gif
the only packs of d'addario i have are for my 12-string electric and classical, cos its friggin shithard to find ernie ball ones here.

TSginolo
post Feb 7 2009, 05:10 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 7 2009, 04:26 PM)
i have lots of ernie ball packs right now, power 11, regular 10 and hybrid 9 which i dont really need anymore since no guitar for it tongue.gif
the only packs of d'addario i have are for my 12-string electric and classical, cos its friggin shithard to find ernie ball ones here.
thinking of letting them to me?lolx
enteryourusername
post Feb 7 2009, 05:39 PM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 7 2009, 04:26 PM)
same here. thumbup.gif
Thalmes
post Feb 7 2009, 07:56 PM

Genie Pig!
1,799 posts

Ernie Balls is warner than D'Addario ? But D'Addario is smoother than Ernie Balls ?
Bassix
post Feb 7 2009, 09:12 PM

-----
1,171 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Feb 7 2009, 12:56 PM)
Ernie Balls is warner than D'Addario ? But D'Addario is smoother than Ernie Balls ?
smoother in terms of "won't cause friction to the hand" depends on the windings. You can get flat wounded ones which sound different than round wounds. And then there's nickel, copper, steel windings etc....

Just start with one set of strings and everytime you change them get another set (brand, winding, material...). In less than a year you'd have covered pretty much everything. Assuming you change strings as often as i do tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Bassix: Feb 7 2009, 09:12 PM
crazychris
post Feb 8 2009, 01:51 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

ginolo: i have frens palm sweat can rust dadd in a week
most of my frens even me has find ernieball longer lasting to us

freakfingers12
post Feb 8 2009, 08:50 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Ahh, what D'Addario VS Ernie Ball. In the end, Elixers ftw! It's cheaper because I change strings every month and Elixers last me 3 months with wiping.
enteryourusername
post Feb 8 2009, 11:00 AM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Feb 8 2009, 08:50 AM)
Ahh, what D'Addario VS Ernie Ball. In the end, Elixers ftw! It's cheaper because I change strings every month and Elixers last me 3 months with wiping.
eb lasted me 3 months with wiping. tongue.gif
jem77fp
post Feb 8 2009, 07:57 PM

28 posts

question.
when your strings karat d, lets say the three thinnest ones, but the rest is still okay, do you replace all or just the three?
oxalato
post Feb 9 2009, 12:21 AM

609 posts

QUOTE(jem77fp @ Feb 8 2009, 07:57 PM)
question.
when your strings karat d, lets say the three thinnest ones, but the rest is still okay, do you replace all or just the three?
haha. i say it depends on whether you are very particular about tone or not.
for me, i will just replace the thinnest 3 strings once or twice and then only i change the whole set.

crazychris
post Feb 9 2009, 02:45 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

haha same here the skinny 1s 1st
SweetTooth
post Feb 9 2009, 03:29 PM

2,650 posts

i change the whole set. dont like having loose strings lying around
zeroglyph
post Feb 10 2009, 10:12 AM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

my 2 cents:

i was an EB user before (like a year). tried switching to d'addario because the EB i was using was out of stock. never looked back. why?

1. d'addario is somewhat more twangy when fresh. but as it stretched out, it begins to get warmer. it gets even warmer when it has aged (like a month). my NOT LP guitar can sound almost as warm as an LP. thumbup.gif
2. EB rust faster than d'addario, in my experience.
3. never owned a fixed bridge guitar, from what i read, EB is not really good on tremolo bridges.
4. d'addario is easier to find, available at almost all guitar shops.
5. colour coded ball-end. brows.gif
crazychris
post Feb 10 2009, 07:30 PM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

warmer as it aged....u mean as the brightness goes dead? tongue.gif

sumtime a string too bright may b annoying too

paulieDS1
post Feb 10 2009, 09:31 PM

33 posts

To me, Ernie Ball is better.
It's got a slightly better tone than D'Addario.
Besides, the new EB are packed much better than before, so it maintains the string quality.
crazychris
post Feb 11 2009, 01:20 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

hi5 EB!!

nw takin a break from EB,
temporary hangin on dadd
noxxing
post Feb 11 2009, 08:57 AM

114 posts

Before i was on elixir nanoweb i was on regular slinky's and it was great.I'll never touch dadd cuz they rust realllllllllly fast, like within a 3 week span.
zeroglyph
post Feb 11 2009, 10:38 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(crazychris @ Feb 10 2009, 07:30 PM)
warmer as it aged....u mean as the brightness goes dead? tongue.gif

sumtime a string too bright may b annoying too
yup. fresh, it sounds somewhat bright(not too bright). but after it has stretched out for a couple of weeks, it sounds warm.
TSginolo
post Feb 11 2009, 07:52 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Feb 10 2009, 10:12 AM)
my 2 cents:

i was an EB user before (like a year). tried switching to d'addario because the EB i was using was out of stock. never looked back. why?

1. d'addario is somewhat more twangy when fresh. but as it stretched out, it begins to get warmer. it gets even warmer when it has aged (like a month). my NOT LP guitar can sound almost as warm as an LP.  thumbup.gif
2. EB rust faster than d'addario, in my experience.
3. never owned a fixed bridge guitar, from what i read, EB is not really good on tremolo bridges.
4. d'addario is easier to find, available at almost all guitar shops.
5. colour coded ball-end.  brows.gif
1 - Woah, what guitar you using?
2 - D'addario rust faster according to the majority of ppl's comment in this post.
3 - My lp dont have tremolo. and i guess that you're strat user.
4 - It's because D'addario is more affordable
5 - Nth special with that, the quality of sound is more crucial.
blacktrix
post Feb 11 2009, 07:59 PM

13,063 posts

I used EBs in my early days of guitaring...... But I find that for a struggling student, EBs are BAD because they snap like dry twigs and have to keep changing them. This was back when I was using my crap strat. I switched to a few different brands, but settled down with Dunlop (They can last FOREVER and sound great) for my Fixed Bridge LPs, and D'Addarios for my Trem guitars. I find the D'As stretch better, while Dunlops have greater "meat" in them.

I WILL be switching to Dunlops for my Razorback once the current strings wears out, and judging from them now, should be anytime soon.
Everdying
post Feb 11 2009, 08:10 PM

30,735 posts

i have never had a EB string break on me, but that could be cos i used to use 11's alot...now using more 10's...yet they dont break.

i would guess the breakage is due to something not filed down properly on the lp-100?

blacktrix
post Feb 11 2009, 09:09 PM

13,063 posts

Like I said, it was on a crap strat.... but was using .009 at the time.
antonio
post Feb 11 2009, 09:24 PM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

I have three electric guitars in the past which two of them are strats copy and the other was an LP Custom...

I used to switch from one string brand to another including the stoopid non-rust colored coded ball end by a brand I also cant remember...purchase it for RM50 that time and it sucks big time....

I settled for EB 10-46 on the LP, DA 13-56 on a strat and the other one held a EB 11-56 gauges....

LP mainly use for metalling around, while the strat with EB 11 i use mainly for playing rock loves songs which involves fast action...the 13 DA i solely reserved for hendrix and SRV type songs which is not that fast but certainly needs alot of fat sound....

in my early days, i used to love 8 and 9 gauges because it was easy to play and hate them because it was easy also to break them after a month or so fitted...crazy bends are prone to be the reason behind it...
blacktrix
post Feb 11 2009, 10:05 PM

13,063 posts

Ironically, I never broke a string on my RR3, using .009 DAs........ I just change them after 3-4 month after heavy playing.....
And I really like to abuse the trem. ALOT. Still stayed in tact after that AND after alot of bends.
antonio
post Feb 12 2009, 02:55 AM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Feb 11 2009, 10:05 PM)
Ironically, I never broke a string on my RR3, using .009 DAs........ I just change them after 3-4 month after heavy playing.....
And I really like to abuse the trem. ALOT. Still stayed in tact after that AND after alot of bends.
Wahh...very surprise considering you are one heavy metal-ish bending kinda of player.... tongue.gif
enteryourusername
post Feb 12 2009, 04:55 AM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Feb 11 2009, 07:59 PM)
I used EBs in my early days of guitaring...... But I find that for a struggling student, EBs are BAD because they snap like dry twigs and have to keep changing them. This was back when I was using my crap strat. I switched to a few different brands, but settled down with Dunlop (They can last FOREVER and sound great) for my Fixed Bridge LPs, and D'Addarios for my Trem guitars. I find the D'As stretch better, while Dunlops have greater "meat" in them.

I WILL be switching to Dunlops for my Razorback once the current strings wears out, and judging from them now, should be anytime soon.
do not listen to this. he's a dunlop fanboi tongue.gif
blacktrix
post Feb 12 2009, 09:33 AM

13,063 posts

Who says Dunlop fanboy??!!!

I'm a Gibson/Epiphone, Marshall AND Dunlop fanboy!
St.Daring
post Feb 12 2009, 09:37 AM

339 posts

D'addario for me. Anyone here tried Martin strings b4?
TSginolo
post Feb 12 2009, 10:09 AM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Feb 12 2009, 09:33 AM)
Who says Dunlop fanboy??!!!

I'm a Gibson/Epiphone, Marshall AND Dunlop fanboy!
I'm a Gib and Epi supporter too =D
zeroglyph
post Feb 12 2009, 10:09 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Feb 11 2009, 07:52 PM)
1 - Woah, what guitar you using?
2 - D'addario rust faster according to the majority of ppl's comment in this post.
3 - My lp dont have tremolo. and i guess that you're strat user.
4 - It's because D'addario is more affordable
5 - Nth special with that, the quality of sound is more crucial.
1. i guess this point depends on guitars and pickups. my guitar and pickup is pretty rare.
2. this point depends on how you care for your strings and the amount of play time. mileage varies.
3. i'm using FR.
4. EB is cheaper than d'addario from my price list.
5. it's a pretty cool feature considering a lot of guitar techs recommend d'addario for FR bridges. i'd say it's a plus thumbup.gif .

This post has been edited by zeroglyph: Feb 12 2009, 10:12 AM
gapnap
post Feb 12 2009, 10:51 AM

1,782 posts

EB - RM19

D'addario - Price Hike on Feb '09 - RM23

scary lah buy EB , later kena rusted strings how ..

zeroglyph
post Feb 12 2009, 11:12 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Feb 12 2009, 10:51 AM)
EB - RM19

D'addario - Price Hike on Feb '09 - RM23

scary lah buy EB , later kena rusted strings how ..
what? you sure? no wonder i had the feeling to buy several packs of d'addario for spares last months. the new price is already in affect?
castle89
post Feb 12 2009, 04:05 PM

46 posts

how about the price for dunlop?i mean string for acoustic guitar.
Everdying
post Feb 12 2009, 04:43 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Feb 12 2009, 10:09 AM)
1. i guess this point depends on guitars and pickups. my guitar and pickup is pretty rare.
if ur talking bout the guitar i sold u...
iirc i strung it with EB 10 gauge, cos that guitar is a 24.75" scale tongue.gif
zeroglyph
post Feb 12 2009, 05:28 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 12 2009, 04:43 PM)
if ur talking bout the guitar i sold u...
iirc i strung it with EB 10 gauge, cos that guitar is a 24.75" scale tongue.gif
haha....it's still the same guitar. the eq5 is pretty sweet and versatile. i'm happy with my d'addario .009 at the moment. any particular reason why a 24.75" scale needs to be strung with 0.010 strings? i'm just too lazy to reset the bridge.
Everdying
post Feb 12 2009, 10:42 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Feb 12 2009, 05:28 PM)
haha....it's still the same guitar. the eq5 is pretty sweet and versatile. i'm happy with my d'addario .009 at the moment. any particular reason why a 24.75" scale needs to be strung with 0.010 strings? i'm just too lazy to reset the bridge.
cos 24.75" with 009 just feels bad.
its like using 008 on a 25.5" scale.

i dunno why ppl are scared to go 10?
i had a friend who was using 9 for so long, i convinced him to go 10.
his first comment, not much difference in tension, but more sustain and tone.
that was also on a 24.75" floating bridge guitar.

yea, i got something for those short scale floating bridge guitars, still looking for the right one.
i just realised kerry king signature, the highest end one he uses is short scale, while the lower ones are 25.5.

and his new warlock signature is very tempting tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Feb 12 2009, 10:44 PM
zeroglyph
post Feb 13 2009, 01:08 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 12 2009, 10:42 PM)
cos 24.75" with 009 just feels bad.
its like using 008 on a 25.5" scale.

i dunno why ppl are scared to go 10?
i had a friend who was using 9 for so long, i convinced him to go 10.
his first comment, not much difference in tension, but more sustain and tone.
that was also on a 24.75" floating bridge guitar.

yea, i got something for those short scale floating bridge guitars, still looking for the right one.
i just realised kerry king signature, the highest end one he uses is short scale, while the lower ones are 25.5.

and his new warlock signature is very tempting tongue.gif
i think either u or myself is getting mixed up. that shadow is 25.5"(more common FR guitar) similar to RGs IIRC(i remember measuring it at some point). i've never played a 24.75" guitar before. 24.75" is your FR kramer, right? i also remember asking u what difference does a 24.75" scale makes. rclxub.gif
Everdying
post Feb 13 2009, 04:10 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Feb 13 2009, 01:08 AM)
i think either u or myself is getting mixed up. that shadow is 25.5"(more common FR guitar) similar to RGs IIRC(i remember measuring it at some point). i've never played a 24.75" guitar before. 24.75" is your FR kramer, right? i also remember asking u what difference does a 24.75" scale makes.  rclxub.gif
u sure its 25.5? hmm i think that was my old charvel then.
maybe thats why i also got rid of the shadow tongue.gif

some 80s kramers and charvels (both US and jap) had 24.75" scale, just not easy to find nowadays.
and of cos the dimebag and now i know the kerry king, just shitass expensive.

floyd rose and 24.75" - the way its meant to be tongue.gif

and makes a big big difference in feel and tone.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Feb 13 2009, 04:12 AM
blacktrix
post Feb 13 2009, 11:09 AM

13,063 posts

Hehehehe...... was watching Viva Las Vegas (actually, a semi marathon of old Elvis flicks)...... and he was playing a sunburst Fender Strat......

So weird seeing Elvis with a Stratocaster tongue.gif
freakfingers12
post Feb 13 2009, 11:40 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Hmm, I read one article in UG, he said soak strings in WD40 for 30 minutes, wipe then restring. It seems that WD40 gives a coating like Elixers. Anyone wanna try? I personally don't think it's gonna be healthy for the guitar as WD40 has so much god-knows-whatever chemical stuff in it, and the chemical stuff is gonna rub into my fretboard.
zeroglyph
post Feb 13 2009, 07:06 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Feb 13 2009, 11:40 AM)
Hmm, I read one article in UG, he said soak strings in WD40 for 30 minutes, wipe then restring. It seems that WD40 gives a coating like Elixers. Anyone wanna try? I personally don't think it's gonna be healthy for the guitar as WD40 has so much god-knows-whatever chemical stuff in it, and the chemical stuff is gonna rub into my fretboard.
hmm...interesting, i agree on the chemical part though.
paulieDS1
post Feb 13 2009, 08:02 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Feb 13 2009, 11:40 AM)
Whoa. That's something else.
I'm afraid it will damage the fretboard and the pickups.
Wont give it a try. Unless someone sponsors me new pickups later on.
quarantined
post Feb 13 2009, 08:47 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Once I read that WD40 is reallly bad for guitars... not recommend to put it anywhere on your guitar. Don't remember why though.

I guess its best to avoid using it la...
Everdying
post Feb 14 2009, 04:50 AM

30,735 posts

the WD in WD40 means water displacement.

so water displacement on the fretboard means...? tongue.gif
Sadru
post Feb 14 2009, 07:12 AM

1,062 posts

more rust..? xD
ArtcoreWarlock
post Feb 23 2009, 05:00 PM

105 posts

i use daddario for rec for countless time..give me the tone i want...ernie ball is just as good bcoz for me...when we enter the real "industry" in m'sia...for example when we do gig/concert/rec no matter how good you are it always come out "average" bcoz sometime the engineer/technician/p.a equipment will spoil you...listen to performance/rec in malaysia...the sound is just average no matter who play..same also for recording...
but if you talking about the real art of playing guitar...i still prefer d'addario bcoz when it's new it's "kang kang kang" can give my picking tone more audible-no need to pick hard...but to set the sound it's more tricky lah...heheh...u put a good topic here...
Everdying
post Feb 23 2009, 05:04 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(ArtcoreWarlock @ Feb 23 2009, 05:00 PM)
i use daddario for rec for countless time..give me the tone i want...ernie ball is just as good bcoz for me...when we enter the real "industry" in m'sia...for example when we do gig/concert/rec no matter how good you are it always come out "average" bcoz sometime the engineer/technician/p.a equipment will spoil you...listen to performance/rec in malaysia...the sound is just average no matter who play..same also for recording...
but if you talking about the real art of playing guitar...i still prefer d'addario bcoz when it's new it's "kang kang kang" can give my picking tone more audible-no need to pick hard...but to set the sound it's more tricky lah...heheh...u put a good topic here...
that is why bands need to have their own soundman.

TSginolo
post Feb 24 2009, 01:46 AM

1,359 posts

OWWWw...my D'Add rust very fast ler..

i bought Jim Dunlop Zyle Waylde.
Going to replace it.

0.0347sec    1.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:48 AM