Guitars D'addario VS Ernie Balls., strings fighter

Everdying
post Feb 7 2009, 04:26 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

weird, i find ernie balls much warmer than d'addario.
i have lots of ernie ball packs right now, power 11, regular 10 and hybrid 9 which i dont really need anymore since no guitar for it tongue.gif
the only packs of d'addario i have are for my 12-string electric and classical, cos its friggin shithard to find ernie ball ones here.

Everdying
post Feb 11 2009, 08:10 PM

30,735 posts

i have never had a EB string break on me, but that could be cos i used to use 11's alot...now using more 10's...yet they dont break.

i would guess the breakage is due to something not filed down properly on the lp-100?

Everdying
post Feb 12 2009, 04:43 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Feb 12 2009, 10:09 AM)
1. i guess this point depends on guitars and pickups. my guitar and pickup is pretty rare.
if ur talking bout the guitar i sold u...
iirc i strung it with EB 10 gauge, cos that guitar is a 24.75" scale tongue.gif
Everdying
post Feb 12 2009, 10:42 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Feb 12 2009, 05:28 PM)
haha....it's still the same guitar. the eq5 is pretty sweet and versatile. i'm happy with my d'addario .009 at the moment. any particular reason why a 24.75" scale needs to be strung with 0.010 strings? i'm just too lazy to reset the bridge.
cos 24.75" with 009 just feels bad.
its like using 008 on a 25.5" scale.

i dunno why ppl are scared to go 10?
i had a friend who was using 9 for so long, i convinced him to go 10.
his first comment, not much difference in tension, but more sustain and tone.
that was also on a 24.75" floating bridge guitar.

yea, i got something for those short scale floating bridge guitars, still looking for the right one.
i just realised kerry king signature, the highest end one he uses is short scale, while the lower ones are 25.5.

and his new warlock signature is very tempting tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Feb 12 2009, 10:44 PM
Everdying
post Feb 13 2009, 04:10 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Feb 13 2009, 01:08 AM)
i think either u or myself is getting mixed up. that shadow is 25.5"(more common FR guitar) similar to RGs IIRC(i remember measuring it at some point). i've never played a 24.75" guitar before. 24.75" is your FR kramer, right? i also remember asking u what difference does a 24.75" scale makes.  rclxub.gif
u sure its 25.5? hmm i think that was my old charvel then.
maybe thats why i also got rid of the shadow tongue.gif

some 80s kramers and charvels (both US and jap) had 24.75" scale, just not easy to find nowadays.
and of cos the dimebag and now i know the kerry king, just shitass expensive.

floyd rose and 24.75" - the way its meant to be tongue.gif

and makes a big big difference in feel and tone.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Feb 13 2009, 04:12 AM
Everdying
post Feb 14 2009, 04:50 AM

30,735 posts

the WD in WD40 means water displacement.

so water displacement on the fretboard means...? tongue.gif
Everdying
post Feb 23 2009, 05:04 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(ArtcoreWarlock @ Feb 23 2009, 05:00 PM)
i use daddario for rec for countless time..give me the tone i want...ernie ball is just as good bcoz for me...when we enter the real "industry" in m'sia...for example when we do gig/concert/rec no matter how good you are it always come out "average" bcoz sometime the engineer/technician/p.a equipment will spoil you...listen to performance/rec in malaysia...the sound is just average no matter who play..same also for recording...
but if you talking about the real art of playing guitar...i still prefer d'addario bcoz when it's new it's "kang kang kang" can give my picking tone more audible-no need to pick hard...but to set the sound it's more tricky lah...heheh...u put a good topic here...
that is why bands need to have their own soundman.

0.0176sec    1.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:10 AM