W40K: DOW series | Dawn of War 2, Official Dawn of War Msia Thread (RTS)V6

wolfx
post Feb 20 2009, 03:57 PM

93 posts

I just bought this game for my bro.....700 meg update sux. 0.o

Anyway i was wondering if the game allow me to install in both my bro computer and mine, or only limited to one comp? Any idea?

wolfx
post Feb 20 2009, 04:04 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Feb 20 2009, 04:01 PM)
I think you are able to install it on 2 computers but you cant play online with 2 computers at once one have to be offline.
Understandable....but i don't know how Steam works....i heard you need to authenticate online blabla...so does it mean if i authenticate on my pc, then later install in bro's pc, he won't be able to play it?

on patches:

Relic patches have always been dodgy. I remembered the 1st DoW game where you have to download each and every of their patches to get to the latest version. You can't download just 1 file and get it over with.
wolfx
post Feb 20 2009, 09:52 PM

93 posts

My 1st steam game....and i think something is odd....

WHY AM I DOWNLOADING THE GAME...instead of installing it from the DVD?

sigh.

i hate steam.
wolfx
post Feb 20 2009, 10:04 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(victor_code47 @ Feb 20 2009, 09:54 PM)
Downloading? Did you click install on the Autorun popup? Or did you right click install on Steam?
I didn't see such option for steam? I just select setup.exe.

QUOTE(alex82 @ Feb 20 2009, 09:57 PM)
ur actually downloading the patch not the full game..as steam + shitmyx is extremely slow in patching, that make you think ur actually downloading the full game
So the patch is downloaded 1s before the actual game installation? Because the DVD didn't run any installation wizard right after i input the cdkey. It went straight to Steam and then it shows me downloading status....which you are right...s**t slow.
wolfx
post Feb 20 2009, 10:27 PM

93 posts

yeap got from TSB this afternoon.
wolfx
post Feb 21 2009, 01:18 AM

93 posts

Got it to install and work properly on bro's comp...but guess the game can only be installed on one comp. Oh well.
wolfx
post Feb 21 2009, 01:52 AM

93 posts

i wonder if our complaint will do anything as it is beyond mr Low's responsibility. Everyone around the world is having the same infrastructure so can't be Malaysia (known for ahem games) complain THQ will change the infra. LOL.
wolfx
post Feb 21 2009, 03:08 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Feb 21 2009, 02:37 AM)
Dude stop lying to him

The guys number is obviously involved with the team that made DoW II
If not why would he post his number bluntly?
Uhh...i think TimKen is rite lah....Replay is just the distributor of the game....got nothing to do with Relic or THQ.
wolfx
post Feb 21 2009, 04:11 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(zalmerox @ Feb 21 2009, 04:05 AM)
I bought the CE  for it.

I can't seem to unlock the special stuffs.

It keep saying Invalid Code/Region..bla bla....

And yes, I can't seem to find the *Malaysia* word in the region the closest I can get is Singapore. Anyone else, suffering this peculiar problem?
Yeah...i think it has something to do with xboxlive not supported in Malaysia.....anyway I chose Singapore. I successfully retrieved the wargear stuffs. What's the issue you having?

And as for me...i having this problem due to Ultra High graphic settings. doh.gif For now they say use medium 1st while they get a fix. Zzzz.
http://community.dawnofwar2.com/viewtopic....c9ae45561554bae

And also if i use my native resolution 1920x1080, the game reso only fills up the top left corner of my screen...have to use the 1340 one instead. doh.gif Relic still has isssues with their gold releases.
wolfx
post Feb 21 2009, 02:33 PM

93 posts

Laaa....why always got these streamyx problems. So hard to connect steam. Finally connect then run in offline mode...cannot connect to windows live profile pulak. HAIH!!
wolfx
post Feb 21 2009, 02:52 PM

93 posts

I'm still stuck at logging in for my windows LIVE profile. SIEN LA. I wonder if its streamyx problem or my profile corrupted because just now my house no more power while playing the game.
wolfx
post Feb 21 2009, 10:41 PM

93 posts

I can't login to GFWL anymore (always like stuck there at CONNECTING) so i am using offline profile and playing with steam offline mode. All my troubles GONE. For now. Probably can't and won't be playing multiplayer if the game has this much problems.

=.=

wolfx
post Feb 21 2009, 10:43 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(TimKen @ Feb 21 2009, 10:41 PM)
why does the eldar farseer looks like a human chick ???
i thought they were aliens ??
Aliens cannot be humanoid meh? rolleyes.gif

Eldar look like exactly humans except they have skinny physique , and have pointy ears. (and apparently they walk with grace)
wolfx
post Feb 21 2009, 11:19 PM

93 posts

I'm playing one level above normal....i'm being overrun by nids. >_<

wolfx
post Feb 22 2009, 05:12 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(heaven @ Feb 22 2009, 04:40 AM)
Actually you can play Campaign and Multiplayer LAN offline, though the trick is to create an Offline account via [Create New Profile] tab, difference between play with LIVE and Offline account are just achievements, if you set Steam to run Offline too, then you don't have to go through validation also, technically this means DoW2 can be infiltrated into CCs brows.gif.

Note: I named my offline account as "Offline Mode", seen in the screenshot.
Yeap....that's what i did.

I use offline mode for Steam and Offline profile for GFWL. End of stupid unable to connect to steam and GFWL headaches. thumbup.gif
wolfx
post Feb 23 2009, 02:13 AM

93 posts

Was gonna fight the final ork warboss....omfg...so hard to kill him. 20,000 life if i not mistaken? Then i encounter dunno what Scar Error or something...i had to end task the game. zzzz.

Anyway i'm at day 32 , level 16...at hard difficulty...i think i kinda regret starting this game at Hard. I only got my dreadnaught 3 missions ago and i already got the Final Stand mission. So most of the missions i played without the dread or terminator armour. Life was easier after i got them. laugh.gif

The optional missions now seem impossible for me now. My wargear is pretty crappy too with not much anti-vehicle weaponry save a rocket launcher and plasma cannon. (how come i got no landraider or leman russ zzzz)
wolfx
post Feb 23 2009, 12:00 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Feb 23 2009, 10:46 AM)
Thanks, how about the Tyranid infestation?

Please answer the follow-up questions:

Thank you.

I noticed that the enemy levels up with me so that kinda sucks.
The planet is still ok if the nid infestation is full...but the ability for your shrines reduces alot. (not so sure what the shrines do other than allow more activations of your forcefield....maybe faster life regen)

I think you have to keep at least one planet from full infestation. If all 3 planets get infested, its gg for you. So try not to lose too many battles or reduce the infestations when u can.

QUOTE(Leo3010 @ Feb 23 2009, 10:49 AM)
jus a tip on how u manage squads...

Just by lookin at ur current configuration....I say your more of a kiting player.

Keep your tacs far behind your line. Then have you FC pull and your tactical support your fc...the Devs and Assault can provide fire support and additional knockback dmg. (however make sure your assault only goes in when the enemy is under supression, if not you will see lots of assault dead bodies....)

When fightin eldar make sure to look for rangers and have assaults jump them. They like to pick on devs cause they are usually out of reach when they start sniping.

And when fightin nids or orks either put them into garrison or don't bring them along (I notice that they get swarm easily if your not carefull.
I prefer the scouts over the assault as the assaults seem to die too quickly and easily even with my best armour and seals on them. Once i land i can't even drop a stun grenade before they die off. Thus i prefer to send in scouts to throw stuns or snipe the artillery units before finishing them off with my dev and tactical squads. Terminator armor for the tac and dev teams help alot.

Question to ppl who have finished the campaign:

wolfx
post Feb 23 2009, 01:38 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Feb 23 2009, 01:27 PM)
Good stuff on the write-up, Leo3010. I probably have to train a bit more often after singleplayer before I start jumping into multiplayer.

So far, I find fighting with Orks and Eldar to very a lot easier than fighting Tyranids in the single player campaign.

I think they could do something similar with the other races for the singleplayer campaign except they don't really need the voice acting for every single word. Hopefully, we'll get Chaos, Tau and Imperial Guard. The game seems to be incomplete without those three IMHO.
Im playing hard mode but finding nids to be much easier than Eldar. Eldar has their D-cannons....banshees and seer councils. >_<

Easy cheese method against nids is Scouts + Sniper rifle. Assasinate the big nids, and everything should else should be easy. Hint: Sniper aimed shot is 1 shot kill. wink.gif
wolfx
post Feb 23 2009, 03:03 PM

93 posts

I like the game as it is now. Good idea to make the scenarios and stuff smaller. Epic Warhammer ....there was a turn based video game based on epic series...forgot the name already. But they had Titans. biggrin.gif

Vortex missile in that game was hax. XD
wolfx
post Feb 23 2009, 07:44 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(victor_code47 @ Feb 23 2009, 06:40 PM)
In regards to that, Gabriel isn't the Chapter Master. He like Captain Davian Thule is just a Commander for a Company.

Often a mistake because in the UK edition of White Dwarf (issue 305? or was it 306? *fuzzy memory*), Gabriel Angelos was referred to as the Chapter Master of the Blood Ravens. However, the games, the trilogy novels, indicate that Angelos is a Captain.

Gabriel is in command of the Blood Ravens 3rd Company.

OIC. Thx for the info. wink.gif

But still being trapped in the warp is a fate worse than death. icon_question.gif

0.0608sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:58 PM