Original Thread | V.2 thread | V.3 thread | V.4 thread | V.5 thread

===================================================
What is on?

Local DOW2 Steam Community:
Group Overseer: NameX

http://steamcommunity.com/groups/DOW2-MY

Lowyat thread member IDs on DOW2
Wait, which ID is which ID? We all know DOW2 needs steam ID log on then Windows Live ID to play DOW2... it is simple, either try it on steam else add it on Windows Live. Either way 1 should be responsive smile.gif

Lowyat ID: kianweic..................DOW2 ID:kianweic
Lowyat ID: heaven ....................DOW2 ID:heavenUtopia
Lowyat ID: Dark steno...............DOW2 ID:darksteno
Lowyat ID: Leo3010..................DOW2 ID:Vertigo3010
Lowyat ID: bryanvlo...................DOW2 ID:bryanvlo
Lowyat ID: winterfrog................DOW2 ID:winterheaven
Lowyat ID: Crazegamer ............DOW2 ID:ScaryFishy
Lowyat ID: ZomgWtfHax............DOW2 ID:Zzomgwtfhax
Lowyat ID: Yukirin......................DOW2 ID:Yuk1Rin
Lowyat ID: valho ........................DOW2 ID:valho77
Lowyat ID: radkliler....................DOW2 ID:Tetradact
Lowyat ID: Mouyaji.....................DOW2 ID:Mouyaji
Lowyat ID: fiRst Empire .............DOW2 ID:chopin89
Lowyat ID: Burn-X.......................DOW2 ID:KashouX
Lowyat ID: DarkFyre...................DOW2 ID:ravenjovo
Lowyat ID: cheong86..................DOW2 ID:Fish_Curry
Lowyat ID: evilme........................DOW2 ID:fffwarlock
Lowyat ID: bobohead1988..........DOW2 ID:oBBo
Lowyat ID: telurmasin................DOW2 ID:MeTelurmasin

This post has been edited by Waba: Apr 22 2009, 10:28 AM
bobohead1988
post Feb 6 2009, 12:48 PM

852 posts

First !

Edit : Oh great...well just pm me if u need this slot and I will re edit it

This post has been edited by bobohead1988: Feb 6 2009, 12:50 PM
TSWaba
post Feb 6 2009, 12:48 PM

64 posts

Reserved no.2
syafeerul
post Feb 6 2009, 12:53 PM

134 posts

reserved no.3
Leo3010
post Feb 6 2009, 01:04 PM

303 posts

So why are we reserving again ?

Me being new to the louyat forums.

Anyways found this on youtube for all those people who don't what kind of gameplay DOW2 is

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yD_OyVzyLSY

and yes it's not DoTA (or similar to an FPS)
strace
post Feb 6 2009, 01:17 PM

Ayy
700 posts

From that vid it feels like playing COH in futuristic settings.
Leo3010
post Feb 6 2009, 01:26 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(strace @ Feb 6 2009, 02:17 PM)
From that vid it feels like playing COH in futuristic settings.
if you check out the opinions on V5 you can see what we experience plying beta.....its faster than COH and doesnt make you build anything unlike COH. However you still have to tech up to get better units.
Overall if you like COH multiplyer then this is a good game for u.
Cheesenium
post Feb 6 2009, 01:45 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Leo3010 @ Feb 6 2009, 01:26 PM)
if you check out the opinions on V5 you can see what we experience plying beta.....its faster than COH and doesnt make you build anything unlike COH. However you still have to tech up to get better units.
Overall if you like COH multiplyer then this is a good game for u.
It's more like,if you dont like base building and likes to be in the action asap,this is the game for you.
tango25
post Feb 6 2009, 01:47 PM

205 posts

how long will the beta last??
TheNameX
post Feb 6 2009, 01:47 PM

I'm Just Notty =P
910 posts

QUOTE(syafeerul @ Feb 6 2009, 12:53 PM)
reserved no.3
Waba, next round close the topic while reserving top and 2nd post to prevent one liner moron like this. And dont forget to put up the steam group in the first post.
fujkenasai
post Feb 6 2009, 01:52 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(Waba @ Feb 5 2009, 09:36 PM)
I am referring to the speed, not his description.

Actually DOW2 is fast pace, but no where near the neck breaking pace as cheese describe. As of to date the most neck breaking RTS game that I ever played is still Star Craft. Every second counts in SC, be it building stuff, training man, ordering harvest and fighting. Almost all units dies in seconds in direct confrontation. What really made SC seems slower is the initial harvesting and base rape thats all.

Strangely those days no one seems to mind.

Why DOW2 seems so fast paced is that the fight is already on long before the engagement: your hero choice, the units you produce. your positioning and your strategy plus the fact they took out the base buildings and on the field reinforcement system.

Think of it, a healthy fight in DOW2 be it 3v3 or 1v1 still takes about 20 mins, about right. Considering that no more base building and stuff thats actually like "normal" pace.
Fast pace? Yeah for sure.
Too fast pace as in CS style 0.5 sec your hand slowed and got sniped and die straight? Definitely not.
I think lots of DOW players find lacking in DOW2 is that there are too much entrenchment and the map is too small. Players does not seem to be able to run around or have long range vehicle like basilisks. Instead of commanding an army they feel its just commanding a few squads as it was posted by bobo head in the previous thread.
Cheesenium
post Feb 6 2009, 01:52 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(tango25 @ Feb 6 2009, 01:47 PM)
how long will the beta last??
I think till the end of february,before the game is released.
Fatimus
post Feb 6 2009, 02:06 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
634 posts

updating the beta through steam now
Cheesenium
post Feb 6 2009, 02:12 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Feb 6 2009, 01:52 PM)
I think lots of DOW players find lacking in DOW2 is that there are too much entrenchment and the map is too small. Players does not seem to be able to run around or have long range vehicle like basilisks. Instead of commanding an army they feel its just commanding a few squads as it was posted by bobo head in the previous thread.
I think CoH player also find this game lacking because lack of supply line etc.I dont play a lot of CoH so,i dont know what is lacking for CoH players.

From a DoW player's point of view,DoW2 offers too little things compare to vanilla DoW.Im not comparing to any mods or any expansion that comes after DoW.The unit list seems smaller when you play,but i think the numbers are almost the same for each race.Also,fast attack units like Land Speeder is absent or long range units like Whirlwind are absent too.It is known that arty spam is annoying in CoH,so,i think removal of arty in DoW2 is a good move.Maps are smaller and it becomes a bit annoyance for DoW player as we are just used to big battles and large maps.It doesnt feel like controlling an army in DoW2 as you only get a handful of squads.Feels more like more like a small skirmish.

I notice most previous Relic games gamers cant really accept DoW2.It just remove too many things,rather than giving it new content.At the same time,doesnt feel like a new game.Just a combination of some of the features of CoH and DoW while some of the best are left out.

After reading an interview between Shacknews and Johnny Elbert,it feels like DoW2 is designed for those who dont like what makes a good,fun RTS in the first place.

This isnt what i want in DoW2.

Anyway,the patch is out.Might as well give it a try.
Gormaz
post Feb 6 2009, 02:13 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

I went to my usual shop in 1U and they were selling the "pre-order collector kit".

Basically inside there is a dvd with some bonus (havent check on it yet, back in office), the tickets for the life-size space marines statue contest, one postcard with some Tyranids grahic on it. Nothing much (need to check the cd content first).

Need to do full payment when you get this, but at least I am sure to have my copy asap smile.gif

Thanks for keeping the comments coming guys, I dun participate much but I read everything and I think I am not the only one tongue.gif

Edit: Maybe it's old news for some >_>

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Feb 6 2009, 02:14 PM
Cheesenium
post Feb 6 2009, 02:16 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Gormaz @ Feb 6 2009, 02:13 PM)
I went to my usual shop in 1U and they were selling the "pre-order collector kit".

Basically inside there is a dvd with some bonus (havent check on it yet, back in office), the tickets for the life-size space marines statue contest, one postcard with some Tyranids grahic on it. Nothing much (need to check the cd content first).

Need to do full payment when you get this, but at least I am sure to have my copy asap  smile.gif

Thanks for keeping the comments coming guys, I dun participate much but I read everything and I think I am not the only one  tongue.gif

Edit: Maybe it's old news for some >_>
Which shop are you getting from?

Games Corner?

Might as well get from TSB.I never like buying games from that shop,ori or pirate cause he tend to charge more for ori games.

I stay near Sg Buloh and i still go all the way to SS2 to get my ori games.I trust TSB more.
Fatimus
post Feb 6 2009, 02:17 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
634 posts

Sm statue contest ? Let's hope it doesn't require the winner to paint and snap on it by themselves laugh.gif
Gormaz
post Feb 6 2009, 02:22 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Yar, Games Corner, I have been there for a long time now and since I am working kinda in 1U (and live in BU) I felt lazy to go to SS2 to reach TSB (which I bought from before). From my experience the price difference isnt that big, at least no jam and no time wasted driving to SS2 since I just pass by the shop everyday

The statue is a LIFE-SIZE statue, cant imagine trying to fit that somewhere in your house (gf would go on a pure rampage biggrin.gif )... or even transport it back... but you need to post the coupons to participe so it's kinda "meh"

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Feb 6 2009, 02:23 PM
redeye84
post Feb 6 2009, 02:23 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Feb 6 2009, 02:12 PM)
I think CoH player also find this game lacking because lack of supply line etc.I dont play a lot of CoH so,i dont know what is lacking for CoH players.

From a DoW player's point of view,DoW2 offers too little things compare to vanilla DoW.Im not comparing to any mods or any expansion that comes after DoW.The unit list seems smaller when you play,but i think the numbers are almost the same for each race.Also,fast attack units like Land Speeder is absent or long range units like Whirlwind are absent too.It is known that arty spam is annoying in CoH,so,i think removal of arty in DoW2 is a good move.Maps are smaller and it becomes a bit annoyance for DoW player as we are just used to big battles and large maps.It doesnt feel like controlling an army in DoW2 as you only get a handful of squads.Feels more like more like a small skirmish.

I notice most previous Relic games gamers cant really accept DoW2.It just remove too many things,rather than giving it new content.At the same time,doesnt feel like a new game.Just a combination of some of the features of CoH and DoW while some of the best are left out.

After reading an interview between Shacknews and Johnny Elbert,it feels like DoW2 is designed for those who dont like what makes a good,fun RTS in the first place.

This isnt what i want in DoW2.

Anyway,the patch is out.Might as well give it a try.
As a COH player i tell u what its lacking..

-Retreat isnt a life saver.. sometimes is control suicide

-Tank armor regardless where it hit end up as rear hit..

-The lack of Arty based unit

-battlefield is too small even to COH standard..
Fatimus
post Feb 6 2009, 02:27 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
634 posts

QUOTE(Gormaz @ Feb 6 2009, 02:22 PM)
Yar, Games Corner, I have been there for a long time now and since I am working kinda in 1U (and live in BU) I felt lazy to go to SS2 to reach TSB (which I bought from before). From my experience the price difference isnt that big, at least no jam and no time wasted driving to SS2 since I just pass by the shop everyday

The statue is a LIFE-SIZE statue, cant imagine trying to fit that somewhere in your house (gf would go on a pure rampage  biggrin.gif )... or even transport it back... but you need to post the coupons to participe so it's kinda "meh"
don't want to participate the contest so I will just wait till it's over and buy laugh.gif

125 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0164sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:37 AM