Good 4x4 pickup truck to consider, Pls give comment and advice

TSmutt
post Feb 5 2009, 02:06 PM, updated 17y ago

please pronounce my nick as 'mood/mut' not 'mud/mat
1,288 posts

almost 1 year i asked for pick up truck for long distance commutation and for site visit purpose, at last my boss willing to spend on a SECOND HAND pick up truck (ok la rather than nothing) sweat.gif

he asked me to quote him with the price for each pick up truck available on Malaysian road but he never mention bout the max budget, but i do think the allow budget will be only around RM40K to RM60K. if possible state also the price (and promotion available) for the new pickup for my revision.maybe my boss might consider a new one if i racun him bout high maintenance cost for secondhand car. below i list some of pick up that available here, so pls help me to suggest the best secondhand pickup. at least 2004 and above,

mistubishi triton
mitsubishi storm
toyolta hilux
nissan frontier
nissan navara (in my dream tongue.gif )
isuzu dmax
ford ranger

if there are more model, do tell me but no TATA pls (2003 secondhand can get for RM15k, must be the worst pickup ever sweat.gif laugh.gif )

as for me, i will choose mitsubishi triton (pls dont suggest triton lite) if within the budget.

CooShyRee
post Feb 5 2009, 02:27 PM

The mad italian scorpions!!
3,806 posts

well, the best of the pick in that list of urs is the navara.. but i dont think u can get 2nd hand one at ur budget at the moment.. its still very new..
ah liew
post Feb 5 2009, 02:30 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

Toyota Hilux
alpha0201
post Feb 5 2009, 02:50 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

Considering the budget of max 60k, The only second hand model around the price range;

Toyota Hilux year 2001 or older
Nissan Frontier
Ford Ranger 1st or 2nd gen
Mitsubishi L200 (Storm).

You could get a 4x2 pickup for that price brand new.
Toyota Hilux
Mitsubishi Storm
Isuzu Dmax

This post has been edited by alpha0201: Feb 5 2009, 02:50 PM
RCrex
post Feb 5 2009, 03:05 PM

The man who turn impossible to possible...
2,251 posts

ISUZE DMAX forever!!!~~~
CooShyRee
post Feb 5 2009, 03:23 PM

3,806 posts

for 60k u can get quite a lot of option..

a yr 0203 mistu storm u can get around 40k..

the new shape hilux is still quite pricey n out of ur budget.. but the previous shape one yr 03-04 u can get bout 40-50k..

the frontier's a good buy too.. its a really gud pickup truck n a yr 04-05 model is bout 50k now..

2 be honest, gettin any 2nd hand one of those is ok.. coz these cars r made 2 last anyway, theyre made like a brick, literally.. tongue.gif

SUSceo684
post Feb 5 2009, 03:59 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Basically either Dmax or Hilux. In east msia there are only 2 brands of OLD OLD pickup.. isuzu n toyota. tongue.gif

However considering that the hilux always change owners too often (stolen) laugh.gif take the Dmax lor. New one ~75k. Used one cheaper.

Long distance? Checked.
- Just drove from KL-Juru and back to KL single driver 2 days ago, no problem. Seats are hard enough macam mercedez. 2.5L average 120kmh about 60 bucks diesel per way at 1.70/L. If u drive ard 80-90 much better consumption lah
JtuneD
post Feb 5 2009, 04:28 PM

<<< Trance Addict >>>
548 posts

Get the Toyota Hilux SR Turbo or Ford Ranger Extreme, try not to get the Storm Evolution as i heard from my frens got many problems with it...

Juz my 2 cent tongue.gif
TSmutt
post Feb 5 2009, 06:46 PM

please pronounce my nick as 'mood/mut' not 'mud/mat
1,288 posts

i drove latest hilux and ranger xlt before. both 2.5 and turbo. i found that ranger got more torque but slower pickup. but when ady at 80km/h, accel to 160km/h is lightning fast! hilux is so so only. just decent acceleration.

how bout mazda fighter? juz came to my mind bout this pickup. not so popular, later im afraid maintenance cost will be crazy. but in the end, it's the company who will pay for the maintenance and petrol. i juz want a decent pickup with good torque cos most likely i will speedy on highway ( at least once a week need to commute KL-JB, who can tahan to drive slowly sweat.gif )

ah, i heard that triton is the most comfort pickup? i read bout navara is comfort also but then definitely will be rejected by my boss since the price is 100k.

Jtuned, me oso if possible wanna avoid storm since the look is a bit ugly to me laugh.gif

maybe i will go for 4x2 if the price of is a lot cheaper than 4x4
kai_rel
post Feb 5 2009, 10:29 PM

142 posts

mazda fighter is a direct copy of ford ranger except they rebadged is as mazda.

are you working in a construction company? do you have to venture into site medium deep into the jungle?

just get a 4x2 pickup truck if ur main road are tarmac and a bit of laterite. if 5 ton lorries can pass through it, a 4x2 can too. (lil rough road only need a higher vehicle clearance)

plus a 4x2 is ligther than a 4x4 because no transfer case thus more fuel
saving and cheaper maintanence.

fyi, my relative bought a 2nd hand ford ranger xlt year 2002 back in 2007 for RM41 000 at selayang kl there.

This post has been edited by kai_rel: Feb 5 2009, 10:31 PM
V12Kompressor
post Feb 5 2009, 10:41 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

Want to be speedy, then you have to forget getting the Hilux and D-Max already. Have to consider the Ranger/Fighter or Frontier already.
BeastX
post Feb 5 2009, 10:48 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

Structurally cabin safety the Tritons is the best of the lot in Malaysia... worst/bad would be the D-Max in your list..
CooShyRee
post Feb 5 2009, 11:10 PM

3,806 posts

drove the frontier b4 from melaka --> terengganu --> melaka recently, quite good performance.. on the straights i was doin 140 most of the time, doesnt feel underpowered or strained.. FC's very good too..

if u drive fast, gotta consider the frontier as well..
imperialrealcs
post Feb 5 2009, 11:12 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

i heard triton cabin is the biggest in its class?
should be comfier when u travel long distance
CooShyRee
post Feb 5 2009, 11:19 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Feb 5 2009, 11:12 PM)
i heard triton cabin is the biggest in its class?
should be comfier when u travel long distance
2 be perfectly honest.. none of these pickups r comfortable enough 4 long journeys.. i have sat in lots of pickups over the yrs on long journeys, n i hated every single one of em.. true that the newer ones r better these days.. but given the choice, i wouldnt wanna take either for long journeys sweat.gif
joseph lim
post Feb 5 2009, 11:22 PM

84 posts

Bro , Toyota Hilux is the best .

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
EyraYus
post Feb 6 2009, 10:06 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

QUOTE(mutt @ Feb 5 2009, 02:06 PM)
mistubishi triton
mitsubishi storm
toyolta hilux
nissan frontier
nissan navara (in my dream  tongue.gif )
isuzu dmax
ford ranger
i dont know bout the price..so I will just give my comment coz I`ve just finished scouting around for a 4WD

Triton is very nice, do u do off road? If not just take the Lite version, suite ur budget, but I dont pick it coz its to futuristic... and I need bigger flat bed..
Storm, AVOID IT AT ALL COST!
Hilux, i`m really surprise how well this car behave laugh.gif And to top if off I got a secondhand unit, just driven for 3100KM, plet number WRT629 for 80K rclxms.gif
Frontier, I heard that this thing sux in climbing hill
Navara my dream too..but too pricey
DMax actually is my main target but that 2nd hand Hilux is really...
Ranger, in my target too but actually beaten by DMax, got the highest BHP/TORQUE figure...
pornstar
post Feb 6 2009, 10:14 PM

All.night.long.
798 posts

if you want it to last, then get the hilux or the ford ranger. comfort the triton. If you masuk hutan i suggest you hilux or ford ranger. most natives in sarawak own the hilux so they can balik kampung.
kompressor
post Feb 6 2009, 10:52 PM

why dont u buy a mitsubishi pajero 2.5 diesel turbo??my dad use it now and it is quit a good car..for now,for 2001 year,u can get it around 50k only..i think it is better than pickup,coz the rear is is more comfort.pickup,the rear seat is so straight..sit for long distance,patah pinggang woo..if pickup,u can try sangyongactyon sports..very nice n powerful car..use merz engine and most of the car are from merz..price also affordable if new..
bobbychin
post Feb 7 2009, 12:36 AM

605 posts

anyone can comment on the triton lite? from the spec sheet,the power is lesser than dmax 2.5. Dmax's pickup is so slow,that even an iswara is much faster...

but the sad story is that i have these 2 to consider as it fits my purpose and budget. btw, this triton lite can fix bigger rims and tyres ar?small tyres look weird la.

0.0224sec    1.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:00 PM