A quick jacking out of the battery = reboot solved it, but before this the Music Player has gone stuck on me once before...
Firmware bug? Anybody else gone through this?
This post has been edited by Eiraku: Feb 8 2009, 06:24 PM
Nokia ♪♥ Nokia 5800 XpressMusic a.k.a "TUBE" V7 ♥♪, 15000 posts & 250 registered users
Feb 8 2009, 06:22 PM
7,037 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
My Tube just gave me some weird crap... Was playing music while screen locked in pocket, suddenly everything was all stuck and crash-like... Screen was dark, everything unresponsive, only broken, stuck music playing on the headphones...
A quick jacking out of the battery = reboot solved it, but before this the Music Player has gone stuck on me once before... Firmware bug? Anybody else gone through this? This post has been edited by Eiraku: Feb 8 2009, 06:24 PM |
Feb 8 2009, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 8 2009, 06:25 PM) Never happen to me. Only problem is when i run garmin suddenly the screen turn blank i need lock and unlock using the slider to get back screen Maybe I'm over-stressing my Fate-tan (I over-stress all my electronics one way or another), or maybe she caught my cold somehow (very not logical, but as I have a very bad cold right now...)... Other than that, everything's fine... And that Garmin blank screen thing? I've been noticing that Garmin ain't really all that stable on our tubes... It gets stuck in a number of specific situations (maybe memory overflow?)... If you can identify in which conditions the Garmin crashes and avoid it, you'll be fine though... This post has been edited by Eiraku: Feb 8 2009, 06:36 PM |
Feb 8 2009, 07:12 PM
QUOTE(echo.Garden @ Feb 8 2009, 07:02 PM) i mean... aside from the cheapo plastic, is the symbian 5th gen stable? how's the rest about the phone if let's say the phone is provided with the e71 steel... Right now in V11 it's much more stable then V10 firmware... And by much more stable I mean "death-to-WM" stable... It has it's quirks and stalls, but being a WM6 user before (on my Axim), I can say that in terms of speed and stability, this little S60v5 mobile with it's nHD (640x360) screen is much more optimised then WM is right now on similar specs... I mean, try running a 369MHz, 128MB RAM equipped VGA WM Phone? My Axim had 600++MHz, 128MB RAM AND a graphics accelerator... It's still a bit laggier in normal operations (not operations that use the GA, ie. Video) then my Fate-Tan... But I've never had a Touch HD (or researched much on it), so I can't comment... They say the X1 is terribly laggy from the box (without tweaking) though, WITH its high speed processor AND 256MBs of RAM, which is not good... But S60v5 sucks in terms of Programs available, as it's the FIRST S60 with touch implementation (WM? Meant to have touch from the beginning of time --> a HUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGE program library), and programs need to be tweaked to run well with touch... Which translates to "not so much programs usable"... YET... I fully intend to wait... With the N97 released in a month's time and the Samsung Acme (oh God Samie, you come up with a drool-worthy mobile and decide to call it what, ACME? God...) to follow suit, S60v5 app compatibility would surely boom in the next month or so... This post has been edited by Eiraku: Feb 8 2009, 07:17 PM |
Feb 8 2009, 07:28 PM
Feb 8 2009, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(blackrobin @ Feb 8 2009, 07:28 PM) i'm might go "look-look" tomoro.. i think it's a good phone overall however i don't if the unstable 3rd party softwares will fustrate me.... hmmmm Patience... The only GLARING absence in my book is the fact that there's no edit capable QuickOffice for the Tube... AND the fact that there's no playlist to speak of with the Video Player... And that the PDF support is crappy so far... Other than that, in terms of usability/stability: GarminXT - Acceptable FlyingMoney - Very Good (cosmetic problems only) S60Reader - Very Good S60Ticker - Very Good OperaMini - Acceptable, but crashes all the time (a new beta is out though) HandyTaskman - Very Good KillMe - Very Good Advanced Phone Lock - Good (cosmetic problems) Guardian-Mobile - Good (some lock problems) SportsTracker - Very Good GoogleMaps - Very Good Projekt - Good (some issues with the ui, but workable) BTSwitch - Very Good VirtualKey - Very Good Slick - Very Good Y-Browser - Very Good (no fullscreen, it crashes) SymtTorrent - Very Good BuddyCloud - Very Good BestBirthday - Very Good CCam - so, so (no AF, at least it takes pics without the sound) MobilePaint - Acceptable (a bit laggy) HandwritingCalculator - Very Good Photoflow - Very Good (if not really practical) MsDict - Very Good (no Japanese input options though... XDancery - GREAT Boom Blox - Very Good And a host of other Java programs - Okay lah (except JabpLite that crashes too often for my liking, thus the move to FlyingMoney) That's a good sampling of the things I'm running on my Fate-Tan... Now for that touch enabled office suite! This post has been edited by Eiraku: Feb 8 2009, 07:38 PM |
Feb 9 2009, 08:42 PM
The thing is, for everyone else, the LATEST Firmware is v11.0.009... That's not even available for FOTA...
BUT THIS IS THE RUMORED V20 MAN! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! Glad to see Nokia has been listening to some rantings on the net, there's an App Updater in there somewhere... Today 2x happiness for me (although the crap Flu I'm having -fun by 0.5) as I'm playing around with the RM6 per day Celcom Broadband thing + Joikuspot... Great fun! This post has been edited by Eiraku: Feb 9 2009, 08:45 PM |
Feb 9 2009, 08:50 PM
What I noticed...
1) Menu transitions are smoother. 2) New animations/icons abound 3) Some new apps (App Updater!) 4) Front Cam use allowed w/o third party software (yeehaw) 5) Some custom themes will result in a GREY Media Bar (like mine) 6) We are probably the first people ON EARTH (or amongst) to get this update... Nobody else is even TALKING ABOUT IT... |
Feb 9 2009, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(5zigen @ Feb 9 2009, 09:04 PM) So..this update just released moments ago? I got my phone back from ncc this evening and they doesn't load any new firmware for me. Don't think service centers even have it yet... Maybe tomorrow... FOR ONCE, FOTA is faster then anywhere else, even the INTERNET! QUOTE(squall_kay @ Feb 9 2009, 09:04 PM) I think Nokia doesn't even wanna try to fix that... They want to keep the 5800 slightly crippled one... Takut steal sales from camera oriented models maybe... OR, the sensor just sucks... Anyhow, Symbian-Freaks also has a post in... Someone's reporting that free ram has DECREASED to 49MB after restart (from our previous 57++MB)... I ALREADY run a lot of proggies in the background, I wonder what crappiness this will lead to... |
Feb 9 2009, 10:08 PM
Dictionary working fine for me here... Everything working fine in fact...
Organise --> got new transition effects... This post has been edited by Eiraku: Feb 9 2009, 10:09 PM |
Feb 9 2009, 10:16 PM
So, the MUCH RUMOURED V20 firmware was not just rumours after all... Gilalah the changelog... Should be really long...
Feb 9 2009, 10:16 PM
So, the MUCH RUMOURED V20 firmware was not just rumours after all... Gilalah the changelog... Should be really long...
Feb 9 2009, 11:28 PM
Aspire, do tell when V8 is ready!
Mar 7 2009, 08:43 PM
Closed due to rampant jack sparrowing/canned porking?
| Change to: | 0.0534sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:46 AM |