^^House of Poodle ^^V6^^, Poodle Addicts Join us here

cute_boboi
post Feb 3 2009, 11:59 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Last weekend we run out of dog food sweat.gif Finally manage to buy BW5000. No more stock BW3000 small pack for sale. Try other flavour.
cute_boboi
post Feb 3 2009, 04:38 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(sinv @ Feb 3 2009, 12:03 PM)
haha. there is one holiday i brought AMos back, my mum feed Amos the meat from our soup. feed everydays sometimes 2-3times a day end uo Amos vomit and Vet told me dun ever feed again. If diarrhea then will be serious.

Added on February 3, 2009, 12:04 pm
what the difference btw BW3000 n BW5000?
When u buy BW, always check the packaging properly. check the bottom part where the bag folded. always got holes or almost tear 1. be careful when u buy. Last time i bought one got worms.
BW = Blackwood smile.gif

BW3000 = Lamb and rice
BW5000 = Catfish and something (Fish la)

We stop feeding him chicken-based since >3 years ago.

Worms ? When open can view it ? or very small and tiny until cannot see ?

cute_boboi
post Feb 3 2009, 04:45 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(sinv @ Feb 3 2009, 04:39 PM)
Ruirui small time looks lighter than cooper but now alot darker

Added on February 3, 2009, 4:41 pm
about that case, i bought it can carry all the way from chee cheong kai til almost reach my office, keep wondering how come i can smell kibbles. Gosh i saw worms when i almost reach office n it was raining. then carry all the way back to exchange, check check no hole everything fine then bring back, repack into 3 Tupperware n feeding my boy. I guess that time got the worm egg already cos the packaging is all sealed n not hole. My boy refuse to eat then i starve him. until the last tupperware i saw worms at the bottom. gosh....yiacksss.s...check back the previous 2 tupperware also got little worms at the bottom. gosh gosh..geli!!!!! ban BW forever!
How big are the worms ? like rice ? or smaller like hair-strand ?

So far, we feed BW for ~3 years, no problem. Before that we tried a few other brands. Tried orijen also, but after 2-3 weeks, refuse to eat also. Really choosy.
cute_boboi
post Feb 3 2009, 04:51 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(sinv @ Feb 3 2009, 04:47 PM)
like rice size and color white to transparent. nto easy to notice cos my tupperware same color. so u just bcareful when u buy new pack.

Added on February 3, 2009, 4:48 pm
folo the gene. parent, parent's parent, parent's grandparent all matters

Added on February 3, 2009, 4:49 pmelsie, kelven use photoshop 1. kaka
Will try to look around if got. We have the big tupperware free from Eukanuba last time. Can pour the entire 2-3kg pack into it. Poured it out few days back. All look dry and good. 1 pack can last around 2 months.
cute_boboi
post Feb 3 2009, 05:24 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

On CNY, we feed him those small 'kat' (mini sweet mandarin orange). He likes it so much, we throw one on the floor for him to play as ball, and later he can peel and eat it. Left the skin on the floor sweat.gif

This week, try the same, but he doesn't want already. Mood already past very fast doh.gif Now go back to eating papaya, but maybe for 1-2 weeks only.
cute_boboi
post Feb 3 2009, 06:21 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tRiXie @ Feb 3 2009, 05:49 PM)
lol...ur dog also got cny mood a? now no mood ade coz everyone back to work and school ade...

Added on February 3, 2009, 6:13 pmHow to get rid of "Kutu"? i think bobo has it..saw something dark gray stick at her body..! head and tummy!
Pull it out, then kill it by squashing it or cut in half.
Ask vet for medicine to drip behind its neck. Bath first (the dog), then wait 3 days. Then drip it. Then minimum 3 days cannot bath (the dog again) tongue.gif
Also, boil some hot water and use it to disinfect the places it frequent or use. E.g. cage, fence, toys, floor, etc.
cute_boboi
post Feb 4 2009, 10:33 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(elsie2602 @ Feb 3 2009, 09:17 PM)
well can say the ticks is a family of spider smile.gif they used their leg to hang on one mah
Female ticks are bigger like oatmeal flake size or this size -> smile.gif
Male ticks are smaller like this the eyes of this icon -> shocking.gif
tongue.gif
cute_boboi
post Feb 4 2009, 01:42 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Look around the neck (upper and lower), body (upper & lower), legs, front and behind the ear.
Male tick is ok, compared to female which lay eggs and more ticks doh.gif

Also, there are bath shampoo with anti-tick. Wet the dog, apply the shampoo thoroughly deep into fur/skin and let it for 5-10 minutes before wash with water.

Added on February 4, 2009, 1:43 pmOur dog always get ticks when:
1) Back from grooming
2) Go outside house, especially grass
3) When the neighbour cat jump over at night doh.gif

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Feb 4 2009, 01:43 PM
cute_boboi
post Mar 5 2009, 06:14 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(XiAoReI ^^ @ Mar 5 2009, 12:26 PM)
hey guys, long time no drop by
brandy grow into a huge poodle @ 4kg liao
and i left her body fur to grow longg longgg
the problem is since her fur is so long, it get matted very easily
any ideas on how to remove them?
Need the 2 type of brush, don't know what it is called. One is a very fine needle type brush, another is similiar like metal comb.

Need to start from short fur, before it gets long. Have to comb every day. YES, everyday. Preferably twice a day.

Use the needle brush, follow the fur direction. Keep combing non stop until you satisfy the fur are all straight and untangled. May take a few minutes to 1 hour, depending how complex.

Once satisfy, then use the comb-type-brush and go opposite fur direction to make it fluffy. This one very fast, just seconds or a few minutes only.

Even we don't have discipline to do that after so many years sweat.gif this weekend send to groom again tongue.gif about 3 months already since last official grooming.
cute_boboi
post Mar 6 2009, 10:41 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(petplayground @ Mar 5 2009, 08:08 PM)
hey, how often do you send your poodles for grooming?
About once in 3-4 months, try to delay if possible. More expensive than my hair-cut sweat.gif
cute_boboi
post Mar 6 2009, 10:46 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(XiAoReI ^^ @ Mar 5 2009, 08:45 PM)
usually brandy has short fur so hardly tangled
but recently i only send her for basic groom and leave her body fur long
so first time i experience this matting problem
she got a few tufts of fur matted together, very very hard to untangle =(
usually how do groomers untangle?
i dont want to shave her
Hold the base of the matted tuff, then use the needle-brush to comb. May need quite hard effort. You hold the base, so that when you yank hard, the fur does not pull its skin, causing pain and bark. Girls with long hair should know the similiar method.

If cannot, no choice, use cissors to cut off bit by bit... or the entire portion. Yes, it'll look ugly, but that's the way. You can try trim around the spot to make it look nicer.

cute_boboi
post Mar 6 2009, 12:14 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(huey80 @ Mar 6 2009, 10:47 AM)
Wahhh...3-4 mths is very long. How do u do that? The longest my boy can tahan is 1.5 mths. That oso all the fur ard his eyes poking into his eyes and causing 'green' discharge.

Yeah, i cut my hair every 6 mths and it is not even half of his monthly grooming expenses.  doh.gif
We always ask the groomer to cut short short. Until 1/2 or 3/4 inch only. Looks thin and ugly. Then it takes 2-3 months to get matted and long. Then we drag, delay here and there, busy... normally become 3-4 months tongue.gif

Maybe I take picture before and after groom this time rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(sinv @ Mar 6 2009, 11:56 AM)
that is call slicker comb smile.gif
tongue.gif Don't know called what. Only like a flat-brush with a handle, with L-shape tiny needle like bristles.

The other brush is like a comb, but the pins can roll one. sweat.gif
cute_boboi
post Apr 3 2009, 06:13 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

hmm.gif Ever imagine where the poodle licks before it licks your face ? whistling.gif
cute_boboi
post Apr 3 2009, 06:56 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(elsie2602 @ Apr 3 2009, 06:30 PM)
well...if need to think tht details...then i got nothing to say already smile.gif
Just the germs and disease that may spread. Ever wonder the actual reason how human got HIV ? laugh.gif
cute_boboi
post Apr 10 2009, 03:58 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(sinv @ Apr 10 2009, 03:46 PM)
below 450?u may end up getting a sick pup and lose everything.
To own a dog, u really need to be financially stable, cos u need to spend alot on their medication, food, supplement, grooming, etc etc Everything is not cheap for dog.
precious puppy,
Yes, that' about what I want to reply to precious puppy. Even if I have a free one to give to you, I need to know you have enough money and time to care and spend for the dog. This is not like vege-dog where you let it roam the porch/outside, eat leftover rice and meat from human dinner, no grooming/jabs/etc.

Be prepared to fork out average RM100-150/mth non-stop for basic minimum care. If you plan for other luxuries like clothes, shoes, spa, etc. then be prepared to pay more.
cute_boboi
post Apr 14 2009, 03:02 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(spongytiff @ Apr 14 2009, 02:22 PM)
can i ask 1 question...
brendi dun bite anything in the house...
but he likes 2 lick every where...
how to stop him from doing that?
im worry that he might consume something that harmful to him....
I think is the dog curiosity, just let it be, I guess. Previously, I can't bring our poodle outside, as it will lick the pavement, bitumen road, sand doh.gif , etc. Inside the house, it'll lick and bite/swallow all sort of things available like tissue paper, plastic bags, sweets/candy wrapper, dust, socks, towel, etc. But luckily, never swallow anything harmful before, as we watch very closely and clean up the house more frequent.

After >1 years old, it stop doing it. Now only like to smell things. Maybe it has learned or experience enough. Even we feed him food, he'll bite and take it, drop it on the floor, smell and lick, then only eat it if feel safe. Last time just swallow without chewing.
cute_boboi
post Apr 15 2009, 06:05 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(spongytiff @ Apr 14 2009, 03:07 PM)
thx!
yaya..he even swallow vet's cotton...
2days back..
he vomited..some clear liquid...
i was with him the whole day to ensure he is fine..
only give his daily food...no snacks for him at all...
i suspect that he lick something harmful...
i always wanted 2 bring him out to pet frenly park to socialise..
but now i stil doubt about it....
Our poodle also vomit if eat wrong stuff. Sometimes clear liquid, sometimes white/yellowish, sometimes like cereal+milk. Initially is very scared, later got used to it, just wipe and clean up.

Unless vomit blood, then bring to vet. sweat.gif Happen once, due to dog don't want to eat, gastric burn stomach, the vet says.
cute_boboi
post Apr 20 2009, 05:05 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Michellegew,

Temporary, you may buy your own set of grooming brushes, dog nail clippers and also a pair of scissors (not those normal/human scissors). You need a pair of scissors that can handle fine-hair. Put your dog on something high like a stool/chair. Best is the shoe rack/cabinet at the car porch (easier to clean up later). Train and slowly try to cut the fur that is covering its eyes. You may also trim other parts like feet, XXX place, buttock hole, etc. When I say trim the feet, not cut deep between the toes. Just trim those that is easy to cut, not until you hurt the dog.

Also, initial few times, the dog may squirm left and right to avoid the scissors. Prepare some dog treats and be patient to train him to sit still. You may need to hold the nose/mouth though. Once you cut the dog accidentally, it will avoid the scissors like ghost for the rest of its live.

By doing this, instead of grooming every 1-2 mths, we only send to grooming every 3-4 months. A single grooming cost more than my annual hair-cut doh.gif

Added on April 20, 2009, 5:06 pmA proper full groom cost RM80-120 nowadays.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Apr 20 2009, 05:06 PM
cute_boboi
post Apr 21 2009, 12:17 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Michellegew @ Apr 20 2009, 05:13 PM)
Hi Cute_Boboi,

Thanks for the info. Guess I'll get a grooming kit soon. tongue.gif

Hmmm, tell me about the $$$ spend on our furkids. But as long as they are healthy and good looking then I guess the $$$ doesnt matter alot. smile.gif

Planning to get Bruno fish oil. Any of you feeding your furkids fish oil?
We spent very little on clothes/fashion. Maybe just 2%.

Mostly spent on regular dog food and treats. About 50%.

Proper vet & healthcare, anti-ticks drops, jabs, pills (those heartguard, virus, mosquito bite thing, etc.) about 30%

Toys about 10%, as it always bite until spoil. doh.gif

The remaining is grooming.

Average out, about RM80-130/mth

cute_boboi
post Apr 21 2009, 05:55 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Michellegew @ Apr 21 2009, 05:49 PM)
Wow! You really calculate huh?

Like Sinv, I also spend without keeping track on what I'm spending on Bruno. Haha! Bankruptcy!!  sweat.gif
Well, need to keep watch on personal finance. Got other commitments, biggest is home loan. sweat.gif

0.0486sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:36 PM