CLOSED

aiz1j
post Jan 31 2009, 11:28 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(mattzzx @ Jan 31 2009, 02:46 PM)
I'm interested to buy a plasma tv, can anyone advise which better between Hitachi P42E102A and Pioneer PDP-428XG. Where to get a good price in KL?
Pioneer plasma black level always becomes the 'reference' for other plasma and lcd. Even though 428XG is one and a half generation behind the current one, it is far ahead of the Hitachi. If they are priced similar to other plasma, Pioneer will surely dominate the flat panel market. But good things always comes at a price. brows.gif
aiz1j
post Feb 8 2009, 03:22 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(deepan2004 @ Feb 8 2009, 08:42 AM)
If Panasonic was making plasma panels for Pioneer, how come you say Pioneer has better black levels?

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.p...-on-tv-business
Panel is one thing, electronics behind it is one thing and the SOFTWARE & PROCESSOR is another thing.
aiz1j
post Feb 14 2009, 11:06 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(rinapur @ Feb 14 2009, 07:41 PM)
hi all,
newbie here..im planning to buy pana LCD tv 37" LZ800mk or Pana 42" plasma TH42PV80h. anyone hv idea which one better?
purpose is for 50% astro, 30 % dvd and 20% ps3
also looking if any forumer here that sell those model. tq biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

ps:- why 42" pv80h cheaper than 37" lcd? hmmm  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Owning both plasma Pana 42PV80H and LCD LG 32LG80. In conclusion I still prefer plasma (though not full HD compared to fullHD LCD) for DVD & BD-rip (HDMI), astro (S-video) and SDTV.
aiz1j
post Feb 16 2009, 03:41 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(deepan2004 @ Feb 15 2009, 11:29 PM)

thanks. I am quite certain of a 50 inch now. Btw, is it worth it paying more than double for a Pioneer? I always believe in getting good value for money and RM5500 for a 50 inch Panasonic seems good value. Is it worth paying RM8000 more just to get perfect black levels?
For the size, the bigger the better. Since for the same price, you can only get 42" pioneer, go for the 50" Pana. Rather than spend the extra RM8k for the 50" Pion, spend it on AV receiver/speaker/Home theater, Optoma HD projector and screen. OR instead of the projector, upgrade your TV area for better acoustic quality - laminated wood flooring, bass trap etc.

This post has been edited by aiz1j: Feb 16 2009, 03:41 PM
aiz1j
post Feb 19 2009, 12:11 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(deepan2004 @ Feb 18 2009, 11:59 PM)
To me, the above Sony looks even better than Pioneer!
Go back and look harder.... brows.gif brows.gif
aiz1j
post Feb 26 2009, 01:48 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Feb 26 2009, 09:57 AM)
Well, any feedback for LG plasma users here? Any comments?
One of my Hifi kaki told me the ranking of plasma as below:
i) Pioneer
ii) LG
iii) Panasonic
iv) ....etc...

He put LG on 2nd place....is LG better than pana? I need some guide/comments..... pls.....
(Strictly Pana PV80 vs LG PG60) Design-wise and features the LG beats Pana. However the image retention problem on PG60 is a bit obvious (disappear slowly). Whereas on the Pana the IR disapper more quickly. Also, the after-sales Pana is better than LG (based on experience with customer service). Warranty, Pana offers 5yr while LG used to offer 2-yrs but recently offered 5yr.
aiz1j
post Feb 26 2009, 02:06 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Feb 26 2009, 12:21 PM)
oh...then is pana will be in 2nd place...?
any idea what's the new model coming up to replace 42PV80H...? any new feature?  thanks.
Based on sales people, initially they planned for April, but may be delayed to June. (but with bad economic outlook, dunno when exactly) New model - less power consumption, contrast ratio double of the current one. So may be 2,000,000 : 1 CR

aiz1j
post Mar 5 2009, 05:20 PM

156 posts

Panasonic 2009 Plasma TVs are shipping now in the US.

http://www2.panasonic.com/consumer-electro...000000000005702

Seems that HD ready series (X1 series 720p entry level - replacing PX80 or PV80 in Malaysia) pricing is lower than prev generation. Last time they introduced 42" PX80 at USD999, now 42" X1 at USD899. Featuring 2mil:1 dynamic CR or 30,000:1 (native CR). Previously 1mil:1 dynamic or 15,000:1 native. Also offering lower power consumption and 600Hz subfield drive. I edited - X1 series doesn't offer the neo-PDP panels, only S1 and higher series.

More news and details on FullHD S1 series, G10 series

http://hdguru.com/2009-hdtvs-are-shipping-...-panasonic/392/

This post has been edited by aiz1j: Mar 5 2009, 05:35 PM
aiz1j
post Mar 5 2009, 11:04 PM

156 posts

Also note that X series has also reached UK and europe. In the UK 42" X10 costs GBP700
http://www.panasonic.co.uk/html/en_GB/3858...tsCategory.html

http://whathifi.com/Review/Panasonic-TX-P42X10B/

---------------
Suruhanjaya Tenaga Malaysia already approved new Panasonic models recently, according to their website. Models listed inc
Plasma
========
TH-P42X10S
TH-P50X10K
TH-P50X10S
TH-P42X18K
TH-P42X10K

LCD
===
TH-L37G10K

So, must be soon....

This post has been edited by aiz1j: Mar 6 2009, 12:50 AM
aiz1j
post Mar 8 2009, 07:34 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(udin_014 @ Mar 8 2009, 02:53 AM)
guys, im a bit confused right now..  icon_question.gif

today i went to Courts to check out the panny pv80 by myself, since it is highly recommended by most of forumer here..
but when i reached there, the promoter/salesmen keep telling me about the downside of plasma..

he said that its old technology la, and panasonic selling the plasma very cheap bcoz wanna clear their old stock and etc..
he also suggest me to go for lcd instead..

my question is, is it true? that plasma is nearing its extinction?
and should i go for lcd instead of plasma?  hmm.gif

btw, mostly im just using the tv to watch astro and dvd only..
In my opinion, plasma technology is still being improved and will stay for quite a while. I still prefer plasma though I also own LCD myself. Panasonic has just released neo-PDP (lower power consumption, brighter, higher contrast ratio). It'll probably reach our shore in June (based on sales info). Last week, LG announced that they will stay in plasma production despite few plasma manufacturers already gave up (pioneer and Visio). Samsung has not released any info regarding this. The fate of Pioneer's plasma technology is not known yet - whether it'll be sold to another company or etc.
But then, as majority of forumers here say, go for LCD if you play PS3, use your PC. For movies, go for plasma with the biggest size you can afford.. And if you have lotsa people at home watching TV off angle ( not directly facing TV), watching TV from dining table, you'll appreciate having a plasma despite all the latest IPS technology, X,Z series etc. But if you live alone, sit on the sofa, LCD will be fine.

This post has been edited by aiz1j: Mar 8 2009, 07:54 AM
aiz1j
post Mar 12 2009, 01:27 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Mar 12 2009, 09:20 AM)
Just bought Pionner 508 from a friend who cannot afford to make other payment. Got a 3 month old set for RM8000.

Yes I agree, Pioneer is far better in quality. Thanks everyone for all your help.
Good for you... Hope you could post some pictures here and some review in comparison to your previous HDTV.
aiz1j
post Mar 13 2009, 05:21 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(honamd77 @ Mar 13 2009, 04:22 PM)
im really dunno its the right place to ask noob question.
but i must search @ find the answer.

yesterday i go electric shop.survey new lcd (upgrade maybe).
but,the seller say,lcd sharp is the best.other statement making
me HOTTEST,sony not the best lcd.also sony dun have own lcd.
sony just TUMPANG.samsung making lcd and then put SONY tag.

biar betul nyonya nih..

p/s : im sorry biggrin.gif
Sony outsource some of their LCD panels from Taiwan manufacturers eg Qisda (BenQ) and a few others. But those are for small size LCD. IINM 37" and below (IINM bigger ones still from Japan). But PANELS only! the processor, graphic engine software, other circuitry, etc are still by Sony. So the performance is different from other brand/company buying panels from the same panel manufacturer.

This post has been edited by aiz1j: Mar 13 2009, 05:22 PM
aiz1j
post Mar 22 2009, 08:57 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(kumanosuke @ Mar 22 2009, 03:41 AM)
today i just went to Harvey Norman in Ikano saw a Pioneer Kuro Plasma

with a price tag of RM29,999 !!! it is placed inside a small room. The

black is really black but why the contrast ratio is just 30,000:1 if i am not

mistaken compared to Panny 1,000,000:1 ?
The measuring method differs from a manufacturer to another. Based on Panny catalogue native contrast ratio for both plasma 42" PV80 (non-fullHD) and LCD 42" LZ80(fullHD) is 15,000:1. But that day I was comparing both TV playing with the same source(HD), skiing scene with lotsa snow in the background. Though LZ80 is a fullHD, the plasma PV80 managed to show better contrast, better colour gradient and more detail in bright/white areas.

The 2009 models are claimed to have infinite black with very high DYNAMIC CR of 2,000,000:1. So let's see whether our eyes can verify it

This post has been edited by aiz1j: Mar 22 2009, 09:11 PM
aiz1j
post Mar 23 2009, 08:35 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(kumanosuke @ Mar 23 2009, 01:03 AM)
Anyone here knows where i can audition 2009 Panny models ? do you think Desa home theater in Kepong has
stock because my place is just near there
This wednesday, Sunway Pyramid....

(...From The Star...)
Panasonic to unveil giant plasma TV
By RACHAEL KAM

PANASONIC Malaysia Sdn Bhd plans to launch the world’s largest plasma television (TV), at 150 inches, in Malaysia next week at its Panasonic Revolution 09 Roadshow.

Managing director Tony Endoh says the 150-inch plasma TV is one of the models in its Viera plasma series to be launched at the roadshow.

He says the five-day roadshow starting Wednesday at the Sunway Pyramid Shopping Centre in Petaling Jaya, is aimed at boosting consumer spending and the company’s sales.
Panasonic’s 150-inch plasma TV compared to a man.

Endoh says the 150-inch plasma TV will be the largest TV introduced by Panasonic in Malaysia. The 150-inch plasma TV was showcased last year at the Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas and IFA show in Berlin, Germany.

He says the giant plasma TV is expected to generate new demand from various fields such as industry for use in commercial and public facilities, and consumers for family entertainment.

At the roadshow, Endoh said Panasonic Malaysia will also showcase its ultra slim 8.8mm 50-inch Neo plasma TV and a super high-efficiency 42-inch Neo plasma TV as well as its latest audio and visual technologies and products.

(.........)

Consumers will be able to purchase products at promotional rates and receive some free gifts at the roadshow, Endoh adds.

aiz1j
post Mar 23 2009, 05:09 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Mar 23 2009, 03:06 PM)
I just check the new models....no idea which on is going to replace the PV80HM....? any idea?
Only X1 series will have the non-fullHD screen ie 1024x768 (therefore replacing PV80). However the panel will be the same as the 2008 ie. it's not the neo-PDP panel. The graphic engine is the new one, hence 2mill:1 contrast ratio. the price should be slighltly cheaper than the PV80 (when they introduced it years back)

This post has been edited by aiz1j: Mar 23 2009, 05:12 PM
aiz1j
post Mar 24 2009, 01:01 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Mar 24 2009, 10:26 AM)
X1 also better than nothing r.. I'm patiently waiting.  tongue.gif
If Panasonic Msia price the S1(fullHD) not far from X1 (in the US, they differ by US$300), S1 can sell very well as its gonna be the cheapest fullHD plasma with low power consumption (neo-PDP panel)
aiz1j
post Mar 28 2009, 10:41 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Mar 28 2009, 05:43 PM)
so bottom line is ....? Plasma better than LCD??
Setting aside pricing issues and etc, the answer is yes.. and will be yes if Panny continues improving their tech using their new engineers...

(........news cutting... before Pioneer announced to exit from plasma biz)
Combining Pioneer's technologies concerning high light-emitting efficiency, high contrast and slim panels and Matsushita's technology for high efficiency, they will endeavor to raise the image quality and lower the prices, energy consumption and environmental loads of their 40-inch and larger plasma TVs.

At the press conference, Pioneer Senior Executive Officer Susumu Otani first explained their partnership. He said the companies agreed on the comprehensive partnership.

"We both can greatly slash costs as Matsushita's technology can produce panels incorporating Pioneer's technology," he said.

The companies will each offer products that feature their proprietary image processing technology to users, he added.

Following Otani, Matsushita Managing Executive Officer Ken Morita made a speech. Matsushita has, "in one fell swoop, obtained engineers that are robust enough to accelerate development," thanks to the transfer of Pioneer engineers, he said. And he announced Matsushita will develop a 42-inch class, approximately 150W panel that can be mounted on a wall targeting 2010
aiz1j
post Apr 3 2009, 04:51 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Apr 1 2009, 04:00 PM)

LG seems to have some new models as well. Remember it is still only April.

LG is quite slow this year. Anyway they already registered with Malaysian Energy Commission their plasma TV PQ20 and PQ30 series while in Singapore, PQ60 already available. The sales at LG KLCC told me it wont be long before they release new series. Maybe June. They will lose to Panasonic again if they keep selling those downgraded versions and image retention issues not sorted out.

Samsung already registered their PS50B55OT2R (B550 series)?FullHD plasma?
aiz1j
post Apr 19 2009, 07:35 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Apr 19 2009, 05:33 PM)
I have no idea why it is said Pioneer anti reflective is so good. I got a 508 and I can assure you that the reflection is the same as any other plsma.
Can you take some photos to show the reflection? perhaps use a torch light and snap?
aiz1j
post Apr 20 2009, 10:43 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Apr 20 2009, 08:44 AM)

So, again, if they were so good, why close shop?
Pioneer exits TV production due to economic downturn. The company needs to survive. Competition is very rough from LCD products (with lower production cost and better profit margin) and other plasma makers who successfully brought down their cost. Even LG and Samsung are thinking hard on their strategy for their plasma. At one time LG was said of planning to stop their plasma line due to low profitability. Pioneer thought they could be the 'Rolls Royce of TV 'so they were slow in effort of cost reduction. Their marketing was not as good as other electronic manufacturers. As a result their profit margin for TV was relatively small. At the same time they were late in planning their fallback position which was LCD TV production (lower production cost, higher profit margin) (unlike Panasonic which is well-prepared by not neglecting LCD products from the beginning). When they launch their LCDs, it was too late, economy went down, they couldn't even 'break even' for their LCD products. At the same time Pioneer financial position was bad. They need to kill the area with low profitability. Unfortunately TV division is the one. I bet if they recover financially later, they'll bring back the TV lines cos in their statement they didn't talk about any IP/technology sell off and a long "cautionary statement"
Actually Pioneer is not alone in abandoning selective product development. Due to economic downturn B&O also abandoned their product devpt for MP3 players, mobile phones etc. BMW scraps few MPV/SUV plans. Giant car companies in the US receive 'loans' in billions US$. In fact mergers of car companies already took place during previous economic downturn. Pioneer could have sold their TV division to other companies but I think they got something up their sleeve.

0.0469sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:26 AM