CLOSED

DigitalKL
post Feb 1 2009, 08:43 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 1 2009, 04:44 PM)
yeah tough choice between a 1366x768 50incher and a 428XG.. if same price range..
i would go for the bigger screen....more bang rclxms.gif

btw i was showing off my tiny koleksi of 1080 movies to my bil via WDTV. niamah! the whole night he was concentrating on the fine details that he can see, like someone's hair, water stains, etc instead of on the movie itself. too much definition could be a bad thing....kekeke laugh.gif

This post has been edited by DigitalKL: Feb 1 2009, 08:47 PM
DigitalKL
post Feb 1 2009, 09:36 PM

1,360 posts

yup all played well except my rattatule didnt start at the beginning.

well i played celine for him (just a bit) then casino royale (he said he never notice how exciting it was even though he had seen it before. also shakira....blade runner....just here and there.

thats the thing, even with my HD Ready plasma pun ok ma....we were just sitting like a few feet away.

ar188 dunno got new stuff or not leh? *hint* *hint* (btw im downloading piratesx part 2 HD wan)
DigitalKL
post Feb 2 2009, 12:40 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Feb 2 2009, 12:14 AM)
Panasonic anytime. Hitachi is no where near Panasonic.  LG don't talk lah.
you talk as if the hitachi compare to the panasonic is night and day only.

I am using hitachi 9500. The panasonic is good but since i couldnt compare side by side its hard to say which is better. Its definitely not night and day difference. One thing i can say is my hitachi 9500 sound beats the pv80 anytime. My bil has the pv80 and when he heard mine he thought i have a home theatre hook up to it. My bil concedes that his pv80 sound is weak when compare to mine.

Yes and it renders tv fullscreen to widescreen pretty well. No fat ppl here.

DigitalKL
post Feb 2 2009, 12:52 AM

1,360 posts

nope, no special gimmick needed.

But having said the above, if given the above choices i would pick the pv80. The current hitachi may not have the same speakers and sound setup. I prefer pv80 front hdmi, 5yr warranty. The design is nicer too.
DigitalKL
post Feb 2 2009, 11:20 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(eagle.ng @ Feb 2 2009, 09:53 AM)
Hi, for the normal dvd movie, if I use normal RGB cable vs Composite cable vs HDMI cable, will they give PQ different?
or alll will be same PQ since the dvd movie source is not good?
I will purchase Plasma TV soon....but just wonder the PQ will be better if I purchase the composite cables for my DVD player to Plasma tv or should I purchase HDMI player in future?
Need help pls!!  sad.gif
no one know? shocking.gif
just use what you already have. i dont see any point in buying a new dvd player at this point. instead go for a bluray player

Added on February 2, 2009, 11:22 am
QUOTE(eagle.ng @ Feb 2 2009, 10:05 AM)
Hi samlee860407,

Thanks. I just wonder that for the normal DVD, what is the signal output? is it 480P or 720P or other?  blush.gif
I'm using normal dvd player with component cable output available only...
so, if I use component cable, can the PQ improvement if compare with RCA cable?
thanks.
its 480. whether its interlace or progressive depends on your equipment

there is no such thing as RCA cable. Component cables uses RCA connectors. yup its good enough (what am I talking about? component is best already for analog video)
btw i use the free composite cable (yellow) with the audio (red, white) as component ....Im cheap... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by DigitalKL: Feb 2 2009, 11:25 AM
DigitalKL
post Feb 2 2009, 11:28 AM

1,360 posts

what the heck is an HDMI player? i assume you meant DVD player with HDMI out..... anyway doesnt matter, the type of connection is not going to magically turn your 480 into something spectacular
DigitalKL
post Feb 2 2009, 08:45 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ Feb 2 2009, 07:41 PM)
Yes, I know that most of PS3 games are natively rendered in 720p and even those which are 1080p are just upscaled and some games is 1080p only during pre-rendered cutscenes and will revert back to 720p during gameplay.

Hence that's the reason why I'm asking whether it's worth it to get 1080p set, with almost RM 600 difference in price, I can use that money to get more games for my PS3. tongue.gif

My viewing distance is around 6 feet. For 40" / 42" will I notice the difference between 720p and 1080p?  unsure.gif
if few hundred ringgit difference then get full HD la. didnt someone mentioned Panasonic full HD LCD TV now around 3k plus?
DigitalKL
post Feb 2 2009, 08:56 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 2 2009, 08:53 PM)
how about 23inch Full HD LCD samsung TN 6bit panel = rm700..  biggrin.gif
that one also good la.......

......for your maid's toilet laugh.gif
DigitalKL
post Feb 6 2009, 05:30 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 6 2009, 03:53 PM)
I paid 5.4K for my PV70 1 year back...not including the 5 year warranty     doh.gif  sad.gif 
You guys are LUCKY!
i paid 5k for my hitachi 5900 too. not much regret cause the current models not so good already...

Added on February 6, 2009, 5:32 pm
QUOTE(Futurama @ Feb 5 2009, 11:32 AM)
Got any other recommendations? I dont think thats a good lcd, willing to up my budget to 5k.
what makes you say that? how to determine good or not? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by DigitalKL: Feb 6 2009, 05:32 PM
DigitalKL
post Feb 6 2009, 08:18 PM

1,360 posts

go there sell backside ah?
DigitalKL
post Feb 8 2009, 11:01 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(deepan2004 @ Feb 8 2009, 08:42 AM)
If Panasonic was making plasma panels for Pioneer, how come you say Pioneer has better black levels?

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.p...-on-tv-business
1. "was making" is not correct. if i read the article correctly, it means it will do so in the future meaning current plasma TVs is made by Pioneer. Nobody knows if future Pioneer Plasma TV will maintain the same black panels
2. just because Pioneer is buying the panels from Panasonic doesnt mean they are not putting their own electronics in it. they are just buying the panel itself
3. if panasonic would be to make the whole TV for Pioneer, it would be according to Pioneer's own specs

This post has been edited by DigitalKL: Feb 8 2009, 11:06 AM
DigitalKL
post Feb 8 2009, 11:07 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(adamcooper- @ Feb 7 2009, 07:41 AM)
hey guys.
I am getting a 32"lcd tv as a present for myself;)..
Should i get a hd-ready or FHD? I will be using it for my ps3, bluray movies and pc connect movies..
As i heard around tht ppl say its better to get a hd-ready for jst a 32" small room usage?
do yourself a favor and get the sweet spot 42inch panel
32in is too small whether it is HD or FHD. You will regret soon enough
DigitalKL
post Feb 17 2009, 11:33 AM

1,360 posts

my plasma is 1024x 1080......how? smile.gif

DigitalKL
post Feb 17 2009, 08:20 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 17 2009, 08:11 PM)
I used to laugh when hitachi claims their alis is 1080. Keke.
nobody ask you....user posted image
DigitalKL
post Feb 17 2009, 11:19 PM

1,360 posts

this ar188....always makes the forum hang wan.... mad.gif
DigitalKL
post Feb 19 2009, 08:29 AM

1,360 posts

I have to admit, I too like the Z series Sony.

The first thing that I noticed that its very video like (which is not a "good" thing but I like it). The picture seems to pop out at you. Its bright, its vibrant. Ok maybe too artificial but I like it. But even though it has 200Hz motion something, some movements are still erratic.

I was at Mid Valley Sony store. They were playing BD Casino Royale on their 47in Z series. I was actually very disturbed to have seen it cause I dont like Sony and I am more in the Plasma camp.

It all depends on what you are looking for. Asking other ppl which is better is pointless. Go and compare yourself.

But if watch just Astro - why buy full HD in the first place? and Astro would look crappy on LCD

oh there is also a X series which is suppose to be better than Z? but it looks like crap! maybe because its 70inches

*gets ready to be laugh at* sweat.gif

This post has been edited by DigitalKL: Feb 19 2009, 08:37 AM
DigitalKL
post Feb 20 2009, 09:19 AM

1,360 posts

i have to disagree with you ar188.

its still very subjective. maybe less subjective than audio but still subjective. its not a 100% science that says this is good picture and that is a bad picture. yes you can more or less easily tell the difference.

also sharper doesnt mean better. if that is the case, then I should go and buy the Z series. some ppl dont like sharper. some ppl dont like a video-like image, some ppl prefer more film like. the opposite could be true too. some ppl prefer a softer image, etc...

Its just more easier to determine "what is good"

dont forget that some ppl cant tell the difference between this and that picture....they purely buy by the spec numbers alone
DigitalKL
post Feb 20 2009, 11:14 AM

1,360 posts

LOL...very difficult to argue with gadget store owners..... laugh.gif

We are not comparing 480 vs 1080, or whether it is macroblocking or not, sharp or blur. If you cant tell the difference between these then..... rolleyes.gif
The difference can be subtle. Some panels brighter, some darker. Some ppl like bright. Some they like dark. This is subjective. Its not as simple as black vs white, day vs night.
Some ppl even buy because the bezel looks nicer.....some just for the name brand. If its so clear cut, then a lot of brands also chap lup already and video magazines also chap lup once they review lets say 2009 models and declare the top 10 list.

DigitalKL
post Feb 20 2009, 11:19 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Feb 20 2009, 10:21 PM)
ar188 really does not know the meaning of the words objective and subjective. He might be good in Video stuff but he definitely does not understand the meaning of the above two words.
thank gosh at least got some people agrees. rclxms.gif tongue.gif laugh.gif nod.gif
DigitalKL
post Mar 1 2009, 07:47 PM

1,360 posts

the full HD LCD from pana not too bad. i was comparing it to the PV80 just place on top of this new LCD model at HN Sunway. Not much difference....cant say for sure which is better.

0.0286sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:48 AM