Photography {▀} Panasonic Leica LX-3 King of the King: V2 {▀}, ▇ Ultimate F2.0 24mm Manual Digicam ▇

Shinichi
post Apr 29 2009, 12:28 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, newbie here.
May I know how is LX3's IQ compared to Fujifilm F200EXR? Which is better?

LX3 battery can stand around 380 shots on a single charge? Is this considered good?

Shinichi
post Apr 30 2009, 12:08 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Apr 29 2009, 09:47 AM)
IQ alone both comparable..If talk bout overall IQ...lx3 wins...coz it can take HD video and tracking focus....

Anyway... lx3, g10 , nikon p6000 , f200exr is at the same range of camera...

if f200exr sells at rm 1 k oppose to lx3 1.5 k ..

i will get f200exr for sure.
Thanks for reply. I still considering between LX3 and F200. Perhaps will check out G10, P6k too smile.gif

Added on April 30, 2009, 12:29 amJust check out G10 and P6k... not really suit me... seems like I still between F200 and LX3 sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Shinichi: Apr 30 2009, 12:29 AM
Shinichi
post May 1 2009, 01:18 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Apr 30 2009, 09:34 AM)
Hi Shinichi, long time no see, lol.

For image quality, in term of noise control, i'll said both F200 and LX3 are quite close, maybe F200 will win slightly. But what i noticed was Fuji tends to apply more noise reduction compare to LX3.
For chromatic abberation, i think both camera do quite well, i'm not so sure about the F200 but from the images and F100 history, i dun think it will be serious (as compare to F31fd).
But for lens distortion, i saw the F200 is quite bad, at 28mm, i can see barrel distortion at 28mm even on the LCD itself but the LX3 control it very well even at 24mm (thanks to Leica).\

Those are for image quality but of coz there are other factors u might need to consider.
Actually it is not wrong to add those filters to improve ur photograhy joy, just that for me, it beat the purpose of compact camera.
Coz i want my compact camera to be as portable and convenient as possible. If i want serious result, i'll use SLR.
I delay my decision so long to get LX3 also due to the size of LX3.  laugh.gif
Hi Harry, yeah long time. smile.gif You still in Penang?

So I believe you are LX3 user? Mind to tell me where you get yours and how much does it costs? Whats the package?

Physical size-wise, LX3 is about the same as F200? Pardon me for asking this as I never see both units in real before sweat.gif

Thanks smile.gif
Shinichi
post May 2 2009, 03:32 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ May 1 2009, 06:16 PM)
U can check dpreview.com for their dimensions
but suggest u go n look at the real units in shop

F200EXR
98 x 59 x 23mm
(3.8 x 2.3 x 0.9in)

LX3
109 x 60 x 27 mm
(4.3 x 2.4 x 1.1 in)
Thanks Joey smile.gif
I went to shops to check out both models yesterday. But only able to check out F200EXR silver unit. Might try other shops another day for LX3.
Price I asked for F200 is 1160 while LX3 is 1580...

QUOTE(seta_soujiro @ May 1 2009, 10:46 PM)
Shnichi, there is also a lot of interesting comparison between fuji f200 and lx3 in dpreview:

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/fujifilmf200exr/

In KL, lx3 priced around rm1600, although there are shops who sell as low as rm1500. Like joey suggested, you should go to the shops and check to see which cam suit you better.
Thanks bro. Will check them out rclxms.gif
Shinichi
post May 3 2009, 01:23 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ May 2 2009, 10:20 PM)
but then f200exr only has 8 seconds in manual mode compared to lx3 60 seconds...

8 seconds not enuff to do night sky
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ May 2 2009, 10:30 PM)
Agree, the night sky only starts to amaze you when the exposure is around 20s (assuming the camera has the sensitivity alike to LX3)
Erm pardon me, but what do you mean by 8 secs vs 60 secs exposure? Mean do take night shot need longer time to "focus"? And F200 is unable to focus beyond 8s?

QUOTE(harrychoo @ May 2 2009, 10:58 PM)
Yeah, i'm still in penang.

I'm LX3 user, being in dilemma before choosing F200 or LX3..lol

LX3 u can try get from ClickNSnap or Excel Photo both near Komtar there, RM1520 with both 4GB and case.
F200EXR cheapest i saw is Elite Photo at BJ Complex, only RM1090 with 4GB.

LX3 size is way bigger than F200. If size is ur main concern, i think u better get F200 as LX3 is quite hardly 'pocketable' especially in jeans.
Wow, 1520 for LX3 with 4GB seems like a good price. Will go there ask the price and check out real unit to see if the size is acceptable for me. After read reviews for LX3 and F200, I think will skip F200 since its battery life is not really good and IQ wise LX3 still a bit better than F200...

Anyway are there any other compact cam that is cheaper, smaller than LX3 or F200 but with excellent IQ? I don't think there's other alternatives right?

This post has been edited by Shinichi: May 3 2009, 01:25 AM
Shinichi
post May 3 2009, 01:50 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ May 3 2009, 01:39 AM)
smaller, cheaper and excellent IQ, i dun think such a thing exist in this world....yet  tongue.gif

Actually LX3 battery life also so-so due to the big LCD.
IQ wise, LX3 have an edge on better JPEG output and RAW option. But in term of noise control, i still think that Fuji better than LX3
I believe LX3's battery life suit me more than F200. At least it can last me a day of photo shooting.
For noise control, base on reviews I read, some occasion LX3 can be better than F200.

Oh ya, does LX3's has accurate auto mode for beginner? Is it on par with F200's EXR mode?

Added on May 3, 2009, 1:53 amHarry, you got your LX3 at 1520 right? May I know if you are paying via cash or credit card?

This post has been edited by Shinichi: May 3 2009, 01:53 AM
Shinichi
post May 3 2009, 02:16 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ May 3 2009, 02:00 AM)
The iA mode of LX3 is quite useful, dun think F200 will be better than LX3.
The thing about Fuji is they make good sensor but they can't make a camera with proper functions and design.

Pay by cash. U may try the Panasonic shop at QBM as well (near Watson and Oldtown there), someone claimed he get LX3 for only RM1490.
Haha, seems like price for LX3 is getting "cheaper". If RM1490 inclusive of 4GB card, I would say it is really good buy. I also saw another forumer mentioned this month Gurney will have Panasonic anniversary fair... not sure if we can get better price or package for LX3...

If I get LX3, I'll be using auto mode most of the time as I'm new to photography and still learning on photography terms tongue.gif

Added on May 3, 2009, 2:30 amWith this card you can transfer photos to PC directly without any cables icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Shinichi: May 3 2009, 02:30 AM
Shinichi
post May 3 2009, 02:38 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(peah9498 @ May 3 2009, 02:29 PM)
i've been using a black LX3 for about half a year now. What's the going rate for a second hand now?
I've been searching for used LX3 but do not find any yet, so not sure about the rate...
Shinichi
post May 3 2009, 03:27 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ May 3 2009, 03:10 PM)
Focus and exposing are two different things. The maximum exposure time allowed in F200EXR is limited to 8 seconds but the LX3 can take shots up to 60 seconds (starry night mode or manual/shutter priority mode). The longer you exposure, the brighter the image which allows you to spot dark features. This is useful when taking starry photos, light rays shots (using a laser pen or something equivalent to "draw") and so on.
Is it sort of like our eyes? When we go to a dark place we wont be able to see clearly, and our eyes need sometime to change and suit the dark environment so we can see clearer?

For camera, what will happen after maximum exposure time? Just curious as I never own a digital camera before sweat.gif
Shinichi
post May 4 2009, 12:40 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ May 3 2009, 03:53 PM)
Your first statement is right but the anatomy is not suitable in this case.

Long exposure shot allows you to see dark features as the incoming light (photons) is increased as the aperture of the camera is opened for a duration of time. Well, there is nothing complicated here. You just set the camera to exposure for a specific time (1/30s, 2s, 8s, 60s... at your choices), then the camera will keep its aperture open for the time you set. What will happen after the maximum exposure time? The camera simply closes the aperture after the exposure time you set is expired. For LX3, the internal processor will kick in right after the shot is done.

I hope I do make it clear for you.  tongue.gif
Thanks a lot Mr.LKM. I got the idea now notworthy.gif

QUOTE(peah9498 @ May 3 2009, 09:12 PM)
i'm contemplating of getting rid of all my converters and tubes and LX3 and also the external flash for a DSLR. but need to look around first.
Let me know if you want to let go of your LX3 before I get mine tongue.gif
Btw, where's your location?
Shinichi
post May 6 2009, 11:19 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(~*Queenie*~ @ May 6 2009, 12:27 PM)
Planned to get this camera soon...
any suggestion for a place in Penang selling with a good price? Btw, what is the pricing for the camera at the moment?

Thank you in advance....
Harry mentioned in previous post some shops in Komtar is selling LX3 for RM1520. I'm planning to get 1 too, but no time to check out the real unit myself yet.
Shinichi
post May 8 2009, 11:38 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(enfenete @ May 8 2009, 09:22 AM)
i bought at penang last 3 week rm1530 with 4gb silicon power micro sd, lumix pouch (kind of unsuitable for LX3), lousy screen protector and mini tripod.

also add on UV filter rm40 and 3rd party battery rm50.

Pic of LX3 & free pouch

Hi enfenete, may I know from where you get your LX3 in Penang?

This post has been edited by Shinichi: May 8 2009, 11:38 PM
Shinichi
post May 9 2009, 10:06 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(enfenete @ May 9 2009, 09:56 AM)
Thanks enfenete notworthy.gif

Got my LX3 today at 1540 with screen protector. Hope this is a reasonable price for it rclxms.gif

Added on May 9, 2009, 11:26 pmOh ya, is it we do not have any cable out of standard pack to direct charge the camera via DC?

This post has been edited by Shinichi: May 9 2009, 11:26 PM
Shinichi
post May 10 2009, 01:40 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(seta_soujiro @ May 10 2009, 09:20 AM)
That price already resonable. No they dont bundle the AC adapter to charge the camera directly from power supply.
Thanks bro. I just found out from user manual that we cannot charge the battery via the camera itself. We need to take out battery to charge. At least something new to me which is different from mobile phones tongue.gif

To owners of LX3, may I know if you leave the battery in camera or take it out when not used for long time? And I believe there is an inner built battery to sustain the clock time when we take out battery to charge right?
Shinichi
post May 11 2009, 08:56 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, can we use just any strap from handphone as camera strap? Will it be able to hold LX3's weight?

Added on May 11, 2009, 8:58 pm[quote=seta_soujiro,May 10 2009, 03:08 PM]
I prefer removing the battery if not using for sometime coz I want to avoid any battery leaks which will ruin the camera circuit. The clock time of the camera wouldnt reset even after removing the battery.

[/quote]
Thanks bro. Then I'll remove my battery when not use for long time smile.gif

[quote=enfenete,May 10 2009, 04:45 PM]
[quote=Shinichi,May 9 2009, 10:06 PM]
Got my LX3 today at 1540 with screen protector. Hope this is a reasonable price for it rclxms.gif
Shinichi welcome to the family.........did u fix the UV filter.

[/quote]
Is UV Filter = screen protector? Or you mean camera lens UV filtering?

This post has been edited by Shinichi: May 11 2009, 08:58 PM
Shinichi
post May 12 2009, 11:26 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(tarm @ May 12 2009, 05:40 PM)
Dear LX3'ians...

I just create userbar for you all to use biggrin.gif

from soon to be lx3 user
Thanks bro! Has changed mine tongue.gif

QUOTE(G|O @ May 12 2009, 07:06 PM)
thx for the siggy... luv it..

here is a pic i snap when i went to sekinchan on sunday ... thx to GOD for giving me such nice wheather during da time..
A priority
Dynamic mode
F8
ISO 100
Pardon me, how to set up LX3 to take dynamic range picture? Is it "Dynamic" option from Film Mode menu?

Anyway great photos there, hope I can take nice shots too in future.

This post has been edited by Shinichi: May 12 2009, 11:32 PM
Shinichi
post May 14 2009, 12:24 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(laichong @ May 13 2009, 06:27 PM)
just goto the link given and registered online. once u registered, u will fully enjoy the 33months warranties....

i bought mine in march, didnt filled in the warranty card, just registered online last month only. considered lucky coz that time they only offer 24months warranty on march, but i registered in april while they were having promotion on the 33mths and i'd got that  brows.gif
May I know when the 33 months warranty promotion last?
Shinichi
post May 14 2009, 07:23 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ May 14 2009, 07:15 AM)
so far i only bought leather case, normal mini tripod, gorrila joby tripod, cleaning lens kit, adaptor , camera strap
Do you have photo of your camera strap? How much you bought it?

QUOTE(aucchen @ May 14 2009, 09:06 AM)
The promotion will last until end of May.
So better register online before the chance to extend the warranty period is over.
Thanks. I'll register mine later smile.gif
Shinichi
post May 16 2009, 12:11 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

OT:
Sigma DP2... to me it seems like a LX3 copycat...

Chinese web: http://www.eprice.com.tw/dc/talk/?prod_id=407&tid=2139
Shinichi
post May 16 2009, 01:12 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ May 16 2009, 08:36 AM)
I thought Sigma DP2 is higher end than LX3
Ya i know, but the design and mechanism of DP2 reminds me of my LX3 biggrin.gif

0.0491sec    0.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:47 AM