124 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Photography {▀} Panasonic Leica LX-3 King of the King: V2 {▀}, ▇ Ultimate F2.0 24mm Manual Digicam ▇

memphis
post Apr 9 2009, 10:35 PM

135 posts

hi..sory for noob question, is it worth for me to buy LX3 or just get one decent DSLR (mb sony A200)..the price isnt so much differ....i just starting to learn photography tho...did have DC before...but just the pentax optio 3MP...huhu...
barteria
post Apr 10 2009, 10:03 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(memphis @ Apr 9 2009, 10:35 PM)
hi..sory for noob question, is it worth for me to buy LX3 or just get one decent DSLR (mb sony A200)..the price isnt so much differ....i just starting to learn photography tho...did have DC before...but just the pentax optio 3MP...huhu...
i strongly suggest u shud get the lx3 since u're just abt to start learning photography. considering an slr need a proper care than a compact. u'll be spending more if ure getting an slr for the maintenance+acessories. slr is satisfying for a photographer for its upgradable feature such as lens, speedlight etc. if u have money then go for slr. if ure on a budget but want a really good camera that is easy to care and carry anywhere, lx3 it is.

This post has been edited by barteria: Apr 10 2009, 10:10 AM
laichong
post Apr 10 2009, 01:08 PM

Da Da Da Da Da
900 posts

as barteria said, if u plan for future upgrade and dont mind carrying the extra weight then go for dSLR.

i used to have the same dilema as u, but i choose LX3 as i can bring it anywhere in a small pouch or maybe clip it on my belt.

barteria
post Apr 10 2009, 02:22 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(laichong @ Apr 10 2009, 01:08 PM)
as barteria said, if u plan for future upgrade and dont mind carrying the extra weight then go for dSLR.

i used to have the same dilema as u, but i choose LX3 as i can bring it anywhere in a small pouch or maybe clip it on my belt.
yeap, same here. used to have the same king of dilemma. between d90 and lx3. although d90 is wayyy better. i just think even if i can afford it, i dont think i could afford the maintenance+upgrade in the future. but its all up to you nod.gif
allic
post Apr 10 2009, 03:13 PM

508 posts

pc fair got alot of panasonic/lumix booth....but not all are selling lx3.... the cheapest i ask is rm 1690 + the standard package.. not that a great deal
iamsobloodysick
post Apr 10 2009, 04:33 PM

2,006 posts

the lumix prices from PC fair will never cheaper from LYN.

andrekua
post Apr 10 2009, 04:39 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Finally my UV and CPL arrive from HK. The UV filter does help with color saturation of certain color from what I tested. It does help remove a dark cast from a bright color like yellow under the sun. However for CPL, I have to learn how to fully utilise it. Right now really unable to see any difference when using CPL. I thought CPL was suppose to cut out reflection, but it seem like it was having a hard time filtering out these reflection on a tinted glass.
PCHo
post Apr 10 2009, 04:45 PM

...Otherwise known as Kevin Ho...
1,246 posts

Dun expect DSLRs to have a great advantage over the LX3 if u dun plan on getting new lenses (which cost a bomb).
You will be spending a lot of cash on DSLR accessories, while the LX3 is already a great cam without any accessories.

The LX3 IQ really is something to marvel.
And if weight + size is an issue, don't think twice, LX3 it is icon_rolleyes.gif
harrychoo
post Apr 10 2009, 04:47 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(PCHo @ Apr 10 2009, 04:45 PM)
Dun expect DSLRs to have a great advantage over the LX3 if u dun plan on getting new lenses (which cost a bomb).
You will be spending a lot of cash on DSLR accessories, while the LX3 is already a great cam without any accessories.

The LX3 IQ really is something to marvel.
And if weight + size is an issue, don't think twice, LX3 it is  icon_rolleyes.gif
erm, not really.

a DSLR with kitlens will pawned LX3 anytime in term of IQ.

weight+size, yes. i ditch my d90 for LX3 laugh.gif
PCHo
post Apr 10 2009, 04:53 PM

...Otherwise known as Kevin Ho...
1,246 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Apr 10 2009, 04:47 PM)
erm, not really.

weight+size, yes. i ditch my d90 for LX3  laugh.gif
I din say the LX3 will win la.
Of course DSLRs are better in IQ.
If not, who would want to buy a DSLR? tongue.gif

Just don't expect great leaps.
Especially if u dunno how to compose properly.
Your DSLR photos can look like nothing more than compact snap shots laugh.gif
tracie
post Apr 10 2009, 05:09 PM

I have the same dilemma before DSLR or LX3... if you have the $$$ and passion to invest into real photography then go for D90.

If you are like me, just like to point & shoot while traveling and occasion + no $$$ to invest then LX3 is the best. Moreover i just need a good quality pics. But so far no regrets having it, in fact im learning alot with this LX3. At least more ready for DSLR soon....kekekeke...

Again the skills that count not the machine. tongue.gif I think most of us like LX3 because it's convenient enuff to carry around and produce good pics. My 2 cents.

IF you are loaded then buy both lor... icon_rolleyes.gif
babydory
post Apr 10 2009, 05:37 PM

seems alot ppl have same dilemma on dslr or lx3...same to me. overall 2 criteria need to think, which are cash and size. cash to upgrade with more accessories while size does matter when need to bring bulky stuff al the time.
tracie
post Apr 10 2009, 06:05 PM

QUOTE(andrekua @ Apr 10 2009, 04:39 PM)
Finally my UV and CPL arrive from HK. The UV filter does help with color saturation of certain color from what I tested. It does help remove a dark cast from a bright color like yellow under the sun. However for CPL, I have to learn how to fully utilise it. Right now really unable to see any difference when using CPL. I thought CPL was suppose to cut out reflection, but it seem like it was having a hard time filtering out these reflection on a tinted glass.
andrekua...how much you bought it? I found it on ebay US$19.99. Free Shipping, seller from HK too... worth buying? hmm.gif
barteria
post Apr 10 2009, 07:35 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Apr 10 2009, 04:47 PM)
erm, not really.

weight+size, yes. i ditch my d90 for LX3  laugh.gif
one thing that beats the kit lens of a dslr is the wide angle feature of lx3's lens. plus at has a nice range of apperture too. thumbup.gif

a wide angle lens for dslr costs too much. can keluar one national car with downpayment. laugh.gif

QUOTE(tracie @ Apr 10 2009, 05:09 PM)
I have the same dilemma before DSLR or LX3... if you have the $$$ and passion to invest into real photography then go for D90.

If you are like me, just like to point & shoot while traveling and occasion + no $$$ to invest then LX3 is the best. Moreover i just need a good quality pics. But so far no regrets having it, in fact im learning alot with this LX3. At least more ready for DSLR soon....kekekeke...

Again the skills that count not the machine. tongue.gif I think most of us like LX3 because it's convenient enuff to carry around and produce good pics. My 2 cents.

IF you are loaded then buy both lor...  icon_rolleyes.gif
yeap, i second that. learning many new stuff time to time with lx3 and by the time i have the money n ready to go for dslr, i might have almost enough knowledge on handling a camera nod.gif

This post has been edited by barteria: Apr 10 2009, 07:42 PM
andrekua
post Apr 10 2009, 07:42 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Well, it cost me around RM185.

USD 13 for Kenko Pro1D UV
USD 28 for Hoya Pro1D CPL
USD 8 for shipping

Worth or not up to you personally. I just uploaded the pics onto my pc and seem like my earlier comment is not true. These filter does make a different but it may seem I was expecting more. I was hoping the CPL would eliminate reflection totally but it wasnt. The reflection is reduced by a lot but not completely removed. Maybe the sun reflection on car paint is too much. The initial impression of UV filter seem better because the filter does change how some color is being taken. It also seem able to remove some minor glare from bright color which result in those color being taken without a dark cast which appear when not using UV filter.
harrychoo
post Apr 10 2009, 09:09 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(barteria @ Apr 10 2009, 07:35 PM)
one thing that beats the kit lens of a dslr is the wide angle feature of lx3's lens. plus at has a nice range of apperture too. thumbup.gif

a wide angle lens for dslr costs too much. can keluar one national car with downpayment. laugh.gif
nice range of aperture in term of light availability or DOF? if light availability then yes.

wide angle lens around 1.5k-1.8k can get already..lol
barteria
post Apr 10 2009, 09:18 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Apr 10 2009, 09:09 PM)
nice range of aperture in term of light availability or DOF? if light availability then yes.

wide angle lens around 1.5k-1.8k can get already..lol
LOL. of course in term of light availability. DOF still cannot beat dslr one.

ya lar, 1.5-1.8k for wide angle lens = one LX3 also can pay car downpayment right? maybe a viva. laugh.gif
Riuken
post Apr 10 2009, 09:27 PM

84 posts

I have a question on the warranty - hopefully the LX3 owners can help answer this question.

I saw some ppl selling with 1 year local warranty and some selling with 2 year local warranty+1 year international warranty.

Why are there different sets with different warranty? Which one is the authentic one? tongue.gif.
nutella
post Apr 10 2009, 09:29 PM

121 posts

Can somebody pls show me a video taken by LX3?
barteria
post Apr 10 2009, 09:37 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(nutella @ Apr 10 2009, 09:29 PM)
Can somebody pls show me a video taken by LX3?
http://www.lx3-photography.com/search/label/LX3%20VIDEOS

got many videos taken with lx3 there, enjoy it. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by barteria: Apr 10 2009, 09:38 PM

124 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:47 PM