QUOTE(neo_sharky @ Mar 26 2010, 08:44 PM)
Yeah there are alot of cool stuff in N79, just need to explore or download some freewares Nokia N79 Thread V2, New Firmware v20
Nokia N79 Thread V2, New Firmware v20
Mar 31 2010, 02:02 PM
3,845 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Mar 31 2010, 11:01 PM
Apr 5 2010, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(venicelim @ Apr 2 2010, 10:08 PM) i bought n79 two weeks ago and i feel that it is superb. Even AP phone...should come with the original battery...always check before purchasing it. Yeah, go back and reclaim the battery. mine is an AP set as wellbut my battery not last very long, cz mine is AP set and the battery is not the original BL-6F battery as stated in nokia website. mine averagely last 2 days only. other else, it is a superb phone to me! and very nicely design and very light! highly recommended! Added on April 5, 2010, 11:41 pm QUOTE(november_thanatos @ Apr 2 2010, 09:27 PM) is there any better nokia phones other than this?(touchscreen phone excluded) Its all depends on your requirement, what are you specifically looking for.....the cheapest with best overall feature, would be N79...just my opinion.is it worth it if i buy this phone next month?or shud i get other model?... This post has been edited by VeeJay: Apr 5 2010, 11:41 PM |
May 15 2010, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Apr 19 2010, 08:38 PM) I just got the N79 today. Was curious to try it because it got such high ratings on gsmarena. Welcome to the club....as for navi and keypad, finger nails helps One good thing is that the phone is very light. But it seems the directional pad was designed by Satan. The Up button on the D-pad is a pain to press. |
May 15 2010, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(voscar @ Apr 20 2010, 06:50 PM) Actually I feel unsafe using N79. Yeah its difficult say about individual preference since some like it light and others heavier to feel it My previous Sony Eric P990 weights 150g and 26mm of thickness. And I used to keep P990 inside pocket everyday. So that day when I come out the phone shop, I tot my new N79 is left inside the box since I feel nothing on my pocket. But in fact it is inside my pocket, just I can't feel it, what a HUGE difference of weight and size. Now I has a bad habit of checking my pocket fr. time to time when taking public transport, scared my N79 lost without knowing it. May I suggest to get a belt pouch, so that you dont need to raba your seluar |
May 15 2010, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(voscar @ Apr 23 2010, 09:13 PM) Yeah the D-pad is really giving me headache. Always "over-pressed" the wrong button instead of the direction. Errr, that is not called "better budget" for me liao. That is really really beyond my budget. I will get a nice sound system for my pc 1st instead of spending over RM150 for an earphone. Currently my pc is using the build-in speaker (buzzer lar) of the LCD, torturing my movie enjoyment. |
Jun 30 2010, 02:46 PM
Jun 30 2010, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(smokey @ Jun 13 2010, 12:52 AM) now my gps hangs occasionally... As kae7 mentioned, I dont think its the heat from windscreen. But I suspect its your battery. The next time you run your GPS, try plugging in your cell on power (12v car outlet) and check if it still hangs?is it because i put my phone at the windscreen, hot until gila liao? my phone havent 1 year also...sad |
Jul 5 2010, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(xyrho @ Jul 2 2010, 12:09 AM) hi there, i really hope somebody could help me. lately, my phone lags a lot, i really mean it, a lot like hell. and i've done reformatting few times. plus, if wanna say cause memory too much, not really. i hardly used the memory card. so how, why??? seriously, n79 didnt give me a lot of good memories since the past one year. well its not even one year yet. Can you pin-point when it lags? Like, what were you doing, apps open, etc?Whats the memory card installed, and its class? |
Jul 24 2010, 01:16 PM
I had 2 of my phone emerge in a river, 3 times and still working. One was Nokia 3310 and the other was Nokia 6070. ANd both are still working as new!
What I did, 1) feel sad for the moment 2) get angry with the friends who did it to you 3) immediately remove the battery 4) remove any casing thats possible 5) wipe the water and drip shake it 6) Let it dry, (slow hair blower would be helpful but not too much heat) 7) normally I will let it dry for 5-7 days (just takut if there was some wet inside the phone) 8) cross fingers and fit back the whole casing and put on the battery 9) pray hard and turn on the phone...walla All the best my friend |
Jul 30 2010, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Jul 30 2010, 08:56 AM) He might want to buy a cheap housing somewhere and change the housing by himself. Its really not that hard if you refer to some video on Youtube that guide you step by step on how to install it. Yup, many are selling it now, but the rear cover doesnt come with the color identity chip, so the auto color/theme change wont function. Many care-less about it anyhow |
Oct 17 2010, 09:25 PM
Hmmm, would like to check with current/former N79 owner...to which model do you upgrade to? anyone to N8?
Just wanted to know your experience...thinking of upgrading but not sure to which model...but surely Nokia or second choice HTC HD2 probably? |
Dec 7 2010, 11:27 PM
I'm still using it bcoz I dont find any issues with it!
But just wanted a little bigger screen and latest camera now Garmin runs as charm on it. Added on December 7, 2010, 11:29 pm QUOTE(neo_sharky @ Aug 23 2010, 08:03 AM) dont know if this could be called as a 'problem' or not. recently, whenever i restart my phone, it will take longer time to reload (or settle down) compared to the early days i bought it. does formatting will solve this kind of probs? or is it the memory card problem? im using default 4Gb memory card bundled with the phone together. do advice My guess here is your memory card is fragmented.....This post has been edited by VeeJay: Dec 7 2010, 11:29 PM |
Mar 23 2011, 11:22 AM
Mar 23 2011, 11:23 AM
Nov 24 2011, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(neo_sharky @ Jul 28 2011, 12:32 AM) same as me, but only use it for GPS. now i find quite hard to use phone with normal keypad. need to use full qwerty keyboard or touchscreen phone only I'm still using it for gps, despite N8 has one as well, but it has no AV composite output; only HDMI.SO have to use N79 to output to my 7in screen in the car.... |
Nov 27 2011, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(kae7 @ Nov 25 2011, 12:40 PM) I heard the same thing as well...not sure if my setting is wrong...i used the same cable to plug to N8, and N8 complaints its non standard AV cable...so how?This post has been edited by VeeJay: Nov 27 2011, 12:25 PM |
Nov 27 2011, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(kae7 @ Nov 27 2011, 01:32 PM) sure...? Thanks for helping, i have tried checking the setting there...toggling between pal/ntsc and aspect, no difference....maybe the cable is not compatible with N8.mine working smoothly.. try to configure the setting settings -> phone -> accesories -> tv out Where did you got the cable from? |
| Change to: | 0.0215sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:37 AM |