Nokia N79 Thread V2, New Firmware v20

JaXoN
post Jan 24 2009, 02:55 AM

163 posts

Anyone having problem with the GPS?
Currently my bro's N79 can't lock to a satellite.
Waited so long still don't have a signal in Nokia Maps & Garmin XT.
charles_nkj
post Jan 24 2009, 07:23 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(JaXoN @ Jan 24 2009, 02:55 AM)
im just away for 1 day outstation and we have our V2....looks like im missing all the fun
register me as well whistling.gif
[charles_nkj] [12/07/2008] [ORI] [RMxxxx] [white set (covers = black, blue, brown) since its a company fone, so i dun noe the price whistling.gif ]

any1 planning to get that armband? brows.gif

n abt the satellite locking....
1. try satellite locking outdoor (preferably open field with no tall buildings)
2. turn on agps (u'll be charge for locking though)

as my unit doesn't have problem with locking, though it would take longer time to lock if u r in the basement or something similar

This post has been edited by charles_nkj: Jan 24 2009, 07:59 AM
coldfission
post Jan 24 2009, 10:18 AM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

hi guys.. how much is the arm band?? lol.. not planning to use it when i jogging.. haha.. regarding the satellite locking.. normally it will takes 1-2 mins to lock down.. try to lock few times.. then i think u can get the signal
idoblu
post Jan 24 2009, 10:34 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

boooster, how is it that N82 thread get the tag line "most powerful N series to date" and we get "most colourful" ???? user posted image
oops....looks like you just change it to "best nseries" but still how is it "best"??? user posted image

so peen sum wan..... cry.gif

This post has been edited by idoblu: Jan 24 2009, 10:44 AM
idoblu
post Jan 24 2009, 10:37 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

have you guys do a hard reset after installing the new firmware? i havent but i think im gonna too.....maybe it will solve some of the new problems.

any CNY themes you found? gonna change my cover to red today.... rclxms.gif
Underhill
post Jan 24 2009, 10:42 AM

This too shall pass
567 posts

Hmm tempting to buy, can't made up my mind between N79 & 5800
idoblu
post Jan 24 2009, 10:44 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

if you want slow, hard to sms, something black, broken earpiece problem, get the 5800 of course! rclxms.gif
zamanjaafar
post Jan 24 2009, 11:25 AM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

QUOTE(JaXoN @ Jan 24 2009, 02:55 AM)
the tip is to be static/not moving yet while the satellite is locking, and preferably somewhere with open sky

once the satelllites are green then only u can navigate and travel, by then it would stay green along the journey

Added on January 24, 2009, 11:27 am
QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 24 2009, 10:37 AM)
have you guys do a hard reset after installing the new firmware? i havent but i think im gonna too.....maybe it will solve some of the new problems.

any CNY themes you found? gonna change my cover to red today.... rclxms.gif
i did, both hard reset and restore factory settings

no problems yet, but sumtimes my music player hangs. solution : pull out the earphone for a while then put in back

This post has been edited by zamanjaafar: Jan 24 2009, 11:27 AM
idoblu
post Jan 24 2009, 11:48 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

hmmm...i just did the reset still some of my pictures still blur.

oh wait! ok already rclxms.gif
just slow a bit

This post has been edited by idoblu: Jan 24 2009, 11:49 AM
SerioseCat
post Jan 24 2009, 11:49 AM

501 posts

My white N79 plus white transparent silicone, ya the naviwheel works fine. Click image for bigger size.

user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by SerioseCat: Jan 24 2009, 12:07 PM
idoblu
post Jan 24 2009, 11:52 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

i wonder how does the naviwheel detects your movement? is it by heat or light? its definitely not a electrical contact.

aiyoh so poh pui, kena condom already poor N79
SerioseCat
post Jan 24 2009, 12:08 PM

501 posts

yalor so sayang if scratch, at least the silicone is white transparent partially can at least appreciate teh colour

This post has been edited by SerioseCat: Jan 24 2009, 12:09 PM
zamanjaafar
post Jan 24 2009, 12:17 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

maybe can update the phone price

e_trade_pj RM1450
andybravo RM1410

and add this to apps

Nokia Step Counter from Nokia Beta Labs

-can measure steps taken in a day via accelerometer, energy used in kJ, and scheduler, autostart function
coldfission
post Jan 24 2009, 12:19 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 24 2009, 11:52 AM)
i wonder how does the naviwheel detects your movement? is it by heat or light? its definitely not a electrical contact.

hmmm the hard reset is wat for? never try before.. by the way, navi wheel use the capacitive sensing concept to build it. it's similar to the ipod touch pad.. u can refer here for more info.. moreover, the naviwheel juz like the notebook touch pad..

http://electronics.howstuffworks.com/ipod4.htm
zamanjaafar
post Jan 24 2009, 12:20 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 24 2009, 11:52 AM)

i think its just pure touch as it is most sensitive at the center at the raised middle button

think of your naviwheel like a nipple and areola, the most effective and sensitive part is the nipple part. So just make circular movements around the edge of the nipple for better results.
idoblu
post Jan 24 2009, 12:22 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

thanks for the links and explanations....
wow! so erotic....
coldfission
post Jan 24 2009, 12:23 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Jan 24 2009, 12:20 PM)
i think its just pure touch as it is most sensitive at the center at the raised middle button

think of your naviwheel like a nipple and areola, the most effective and sensitive part is the nipple part.  So just make circular movements around the edge of the nipple for better results.
lol i like ur explanation.. haha.. brows.gif
zamanjaafar
post Jan 24 2009, 12:28 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

ya its quite funny and fitting that its sensitive near the raised middle part and less sensitive as u go outwards, like those ibm notebook track button(?) thing like pencil eraser thingy.

makes me think of only that one analogy....
coldfission
post Jan 24 2009, 12:34 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

this is due to the position of the capacitive sensor.. the sensor or the proper term, conductor is located near the middle part. when u touch it near to the middle button, it able to close the circuit because ur finger works as another conductor.. so whenever charges flow through a closed circuit, capacitance occured. hence, it able to sense the difference of the capacitance and u can say it's more sensitive. when ur finger place outward then there is less charges flow through ur finger..thus u say it's not tat sensitive.. actually this navi wheel is all about static charges only.. haha..
TSbooooster
post Jan 24 2009, 12:53 PM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

okay added all the new stuff and owners list updated too icon_rolleyes.gif

hope u all have a good CNY break! biggrin.gif

100 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0355sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:23 AM