Nokia N79 Thread V2, New Firmware v20

zamanjaafar
post Jan 23 2009, 10:33 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

good job TS, PM'ed u as one of the proud owners of this sleeper hit!!!

btw im white front

This post has been edited by zamanjaafar: Jan 23 2009, 10:35 PM
zamanjaafar
post Jan 24 2009, 11:25 AM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

QUOTE(JaXoN @ Jan 24 2009, 02:55 AM)
Anyone having problem with the GPS?
Currently my bro's N79 can't lock to a satellite.
Waited so long still don't have a signal in Nokia Maps & Garmin XT.
the tip is to be static/not moving yet while the satellite is locking, and preferably somewhere with open sky

once the satelllites are green then only u can navigate and travel, by then it would stay green along the journey

Added on January 24, 2009, 11:27 am
QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 24 2009, 10:37 AM)
have you guys do a hard reset after installing the new firmware? i havent but i think im gonna too.....maybe it will solve some of the new problems.

any CNY themes you found? gonna change my cover to red today.... rclxms.gif
i did, both hard reset and restore factory settings

no problems yet, but sumtimes my music player hangs. solution : pull out the earphone for a while then put in back

This post has been edited by zamanjaafar: Jan 24 2009, 11:27 AM
zamanjaafar
post Jan 24 2009, 12:17 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

maybe can update the phone price

e_trade_pj RM1450
andybravo RM1410

and add this to apps

Nokia Step Counter from Nokia Beta Labs

-can measure steps taken in a day via accelerometer, energy used in kJ, and scheduler, autostart function
zamanjaafar
post Jan 24 2009, 12:20 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 24 2009, 11:52 AM)
i wonder how does the naviwheel detects your movement? is it by heat or light? its definitely not a electrical contact.

aiyoh so poh pui, kena condom already poor N79
i think its just pure touch as it is most sensitive at the center at the raised middle button

think of your naviwheel like a nipple and areola, the most effective and sensitive part is the nipple part. So just make circular movements around the edge of the nipple for better results.
zamanjaafar
post Jan 24 2009, 12:28 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

ya its quite funny and fitting that its sensitive near the raised middle part and less sensitive as u go outwards, like those ibm notebook track button(?) thing like pencil eraser thingy.

makes me think of only that one analogy....
zamanjaafar
post Jan 24 2009, 01:49 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

teh covers looks nice and part of the identity of the phone but i hope thumbnail can show one full frontal of the n79 as larger part of thumbnail

btw, pls recommend recommended themes so that TS can put on OP. We need moar themes!!!!1
zamanjaafar
post Jan 24 2009, 01:56 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

current thumbnail looks nice, can keep the central large n79 front body, but anyway to include smaller pictures of the colour covers around it ?

huhu lotsa demand pula i
zamanjaafar
post Jan 24 2009, 02:15 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

ok rakan2 mahu yg mana satu?

personally like the 2, 3 , 5 one

Added on January 24, 2009, 2:15 pm4th one too big, maybe can reject

This post has been edited by zamanjaafar: Jan 24 2009, 02:15 PM
zamanjaafar
post Jan 25 2009, 05:02 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 24 2009, 10:31 PM)
may i suggest this tag line for N79 -
"N79 - Nokia's Swiss Army Knife"

last time i set my phone to say "Battery Charging" and "Battery Full" when i plug in the charger. Now i cant seem to find how to set it again. Any ideas guys? OK I found it - under Audio Themes
how abt this?

"Small - but its not the size, its how u use it"
zamanjaafar
post Jan 31 2009, 04:46 AM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

hell.

installed a theme to phone memory, suddenly freeze, hang and cannot restart and stop at nokia screen, could not progress and stay. take out and in battery few times already.

had to do hard reset

* + Green + 3 + Power

thank goddd for the memory card and i made backup before update teh firmware 2-3 weeks ago. since then not too much important additions to sms and contacts.

lessons learned
-install strange things make backup to memory card 1st
-install strange things to memory card
-even if not do much install at least do weekly backup

This post has been edited by zamanjaafar: Jan 31 2009, 04:54 AM
zamanjaafar
post Feb 19 2009, 05:26 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

just received from ebay for my N79, total rm36

This post has been edited by zamanjaafar: Feb 19 2009, 05:27 PM
zamanjaafar
post Mar 5 2009, 05:11 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

yeah, bit lonely and slow

i ordered a Krusell case for my N79, will post em up when i get it maybe 2moro or early next week
zamanjaafar
post Mar 10 2009, 04:58 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

QUOTE(chun @ Mar 10 2009, 04:48 PM)
hi everyone... thanks a lot for all the info... have learned a lot!

Am seriously considering the N79 (after reading your posts), should be getting a SG set.

Anyways, I saw in the beginning pages that the N79 supports Garmin Mobile XT rite, am wondering if you need to uninstall the current nokia maps thingy or anything (since it last for 3 months rite? have a friend using N95 ori set says that it has expired as well)
no, u dont need to uninstall nokia maps

both are diff progams that wouldnt effect the other

@vincent_5451

the N79 is rock stable, with no problems for me

zamanjaafar
post Mar 19 2009, 02:00 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

just out!

Garmin Mobile XT for Symbian S60 3rd Edition software version 5.00.40

Get it! : HERE or HERE

zamanjaafar
post Mar 22 2009, 08:21 AM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

some screenies i use

Mystic 3rd by Pizero

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

Power Orange

Personally liek the Power Orange more, but prefer Mystic's icons

This post has been edited by zamanjaafar: Mar 22 2009, 08:22 AM
zamanjaafar
post Mar 22 2009, 01:48 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

QUOTE(coldfission @ Mar 22 2009, 12:23 PM)
hi zaman... where u find the power orange theme? im interested to get it
HERE

Find something nice, do post some screenshots for the thread thumbup.gif
zamanjaafar
post Mar 27 2009, 06:11 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

N79 drop to RM1330 for Avaxx

Good news for those about to buy, bad news for 2nd hand value for those who bought months ago
zamanjaafar
post Mar 27 2009, 08:24 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Mar 27 2009, 07:18 PM)
is this the RRP or a price from a shop that u know?
its from a well-known forumer
zamanjaafar
post Mar 31 2009, 09:24 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

Got a few more nice themes too share

s60_Metal

Nice on the eyes, great mix of colours, tabs in menus are nice. I dont need wallpaper for this one.

Black HTC TouchFlo
zamanjaafar
post May 7 2009, 08:00 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

for me, activate Creatures Of The Deep....didnt regret it

BTW i got my Krusell N79 leather Case Classic Red Label

will post some pics when get hold of some batteries for cam