sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 02:55 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(5za9 @ Feb 12 2009, 02:44 PM)
Photo spam.. tongue.gif

PP using picasa. C&C are welcome.. sweat.gif  biggrin.gif
wow...how you do that effect? what issit called? i tried searching on google but was unable to find it.. sad.gif

QUOTE(kysham @ Feb 12 2009, 02:46 PM)
Yes, that is one hidden advantage of having a bigger aperture lens mounted on your camera. You will notice that your camera will actually focus more accurately and locks on faster. Why? Because a bigger aperture lens will let in more light (remember the aperture is kept at the fully opened position during focusing, until you fire the shutter where it momentarily closes to your set aperture before opening back up ready for the next shot). More light will enable the AF system in the camera to work better (can "see" better mah....). And on the A700 & A900, the use of a lens with max aperture of f2.8 or more will also enable to camera to use the ultra-sensitive double cross AF sensor in the middle to even faster & more accurate AF.  thumbup.gif

But it is not true that is you have an f2.8 lens, you will never ever need a tripod. that is pure wishful thinking lah. you would probably need LESS use of the tripod, but definitely still want to bring a tripod along for night shots.
thx bro, very very informative...but any idea what determines the filter size? i mean like tammy 1750 is a 67mm filter but a siggy 1770 is a 72mm filter...both also f2.8...any idea?

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Feb 12 2009, 02:47 PM)
Not really, if you are shooting night landscape, you definitely gonna need a tripod as when you lower your aperture, you'll get very very low shutterspeed and you'll get blurry shots if you handheld smile.gif
but tripods are so expensive...i really dun know what justifies the price...it is after all a device to mount your camera on that is all... hmm.gif hmm.gif
jsc_tidus
post Feb 12 2009, 02:59 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ Feb 12 2009, 02:55 PM)
but tripods are so expensive...i really dun know what justifies the price...it is after all a device to mount your camera on that is all... hmm.gif  hmm.gif
the ballhead seems more expansive to me rather than the whole tripod.. sweat.gif
5za9
post Feb 12 2009, 03:00 PM

135 posts

sidewinderz - thanks for viewing my photo.. biggrin.gif .. try search Picasa 3 at google. u can download it for free.
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 03:01 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Feb 12 2009, 02:59 PM)
the ballhead seems more expansive to me rather than the whole tripod..  sweat.gif
lol...the ballhead is the 1 that screws the camera in? smile.gif

QUOTE(5za9 @ Feb 12 2009, 03:00 PM)
sidewinderz - thanks for viewing my photo.. biggrin.gif .. try search Picasa 3 at google. u can download it for free.
oh...ok ok..will try it out now.. smile.gif
jsc_tidus
post Feb 12 2009, 03:02 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ Feb 12 2009, 03:01 PM)
lol...the ballhead is the 1 that screws the camera in? smile.gif
dont know much bout it, but ya its the whole 'kepala' of the tripod. better & studier ballhead mean can support more KG of ur gears right?
kysham
post Feb 12 2009, 03:07 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

thx bro, very very informative...but any idea what determines the filter size? i mean like tammy 1750 is a 67mm filter but a siggy 1770 is a 72mm filter...both also f2.8...any idea?
You think 72mm filter size is big? Try my Sigma 24-70mm for size..... 82mm shocking.gif

laugh.gif Actually to be honest, I'm not sure what exactly determines the final size of the filter thread at the front. I guess the internal design of the lens will more or less affects the final filter thread size? Just guessing. No idea if it was true or not. tongue.gif
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 03:08 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Feb 12 2009, 03:07 PM)
You think 72mm filter size is big? Try my Sigma 24-70mm for size..... 82mm  shocking.gif

laugh.gif Actually to be honest, I'm not sure what exactly determines the final size of the filter thread at the front. I guess the internal design of the lens will more or less affects the final filter thread size? Just guessing. No idea if it was true or not.  tongue.gif
holly crap!!! ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif is that even possible? hehe...but its damn cool...cant imagine it...my kit lens only 55mm...and here yours is 82mm!!! hehe...can post a pic of it attached with your camera?
achew
post Feb 12 2009, 03:09 PM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

wow...how you do that effect? what issit called? i tried searching on google but was unable to find it.. sad.gif
selective coloring?? smile.gif
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 03:10 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Feb 12 2009, 03:02 PM)
dont know much bout it, but ya its the whole 'kepala' of the tripod. better & studier ballhead mean can support more KG of ur gears right?
true true...need tripod sifu come shade some light upon noobs like us... wink.gif
jsc_tidus
post Feb 12 2009, 03:12 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ Feb 12 2009, 03:10 PM)
true true...need tripod sifu come shade some light upon noobs like us... wink.gif
but of course, better ballhead means better & lot more papers called 'money'... laugh.gif
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 03:12 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Feb 12 2009, 03:09 PM)
selective coloring?? smile.gif
thx...got it.. smile.gif

tried picasa though (since i got nothing to do in the office...seems a lil hard though...i dun know how to make selective colouring...only got focal B&W...
jsc_tidus
post Feb 12 2009, 03:13 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ Feb 12 2009, 03:12 PM)
thx...got it.. smile.gif

tried picasa though (since i got nothing to do in the office...seems a lil hard though...i dun know how to make selective colouring...only got focal B&W...
photoshop CS2, CS3, CS4 also can
5za9
post Feb 12 2009, 03:15 PM

135 posts

sidewinderz - in picasa its very easy to do that effect. just go to - effects > soft focus > Focal B&W.....done. biggrin.gif
neo_lam
post Feb 12 2009, 03:16 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Feb 12 2009, 03:13 PM)
but CS series more complicated compare with Picasa.....
jsc_tidus
post Feb 12 2009, 03:18 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

this one is made from Photoshop Element 6, via selective coloring..

achew
post Feb 12 2009, 03:20 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Feb 12 2009, 03:13 PM)
1 of my shot went thru selective coloring with cs4 =)

5za9
post Feb 12 2009, 03:21 PM

135 posts

jsc_tidus - that cool PP man!.. rclxms.gif..
achew - i like ur picture style man!.. drool.gif

in photoshop we have more option to choose.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by 5za9: Feb 12 2009, 03:23 PM
kysham
post Feb 12 2009, 03:25 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ Feb 12 2009, 03:08 PM)
holly crap!!! ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif is that even possible? hehe...but its damn cool...cant imagine it...my kit lens only 55mm...and here yours is 82mm!!! hehe...can post a pic of it attached with your camera?
A picture of what? The filter? No need lah. It is just a regular filter. The same shape, same look, only bigger sized nia.... tongue.gif

(ok, ok, ok.. actually I'm a bit malas to take a photo of the filter! laugh.gif )
fas29
post Feb 12 2009, 03:28 PM

948 posts

how you guys do selective coloring in CS? tongue.gif
achew
post Feb 12 2009, 03:30 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(fas29 @ Feb 12 2009, 03:28 PM)
how you guys do selective coloring in CS? tongue.gif
for me..i would keep 2 layers...1st orig at the bottom(boost the color if u wan)....and 2nd the B&W layer on the top..and den just mask it =)

125 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:06 PM