Nokia ♪♥ Nokia XpressMusic 5800 "TUBE" V6 ♪, V6 already?!?! ARE YOU KIDDING ME???

kennyboy
post Jan 23 2009, 10:33 PM

256 posts

wah...i just kenna the earpiece problem. but DIY and settled liao.

open and close 4 times due to the stupid dust.
kennyboy
post Jan 24 2009, 12:15 AM

256 posts

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
kennyboy
post Jan 24 2009, 12:19 AM

256 posts

Here's a pdf with everything you need to know about 5800

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?nyztlyzdyty

http://mediafiles.allaboutsymbian.com/pdf/....2-20090122.pdf
kennyboy
post Jan 25 2009, 01:08 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(acronyx @ Jan 25 2009, 12:58 AM)
i want import from my SE mobile, which i backup using My Phone Explorer

Added on January 25, 2009, 1:01 ami think i figured it out. i backup the contact one by one then import one by one also >.<
There's already a method to do it all at once on the older versions of this thread.
kennyboy
post Jan 25 2009, 10:10 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(-i-c-h-i-g-o- @ Jan 25 2009, 10:01 AM)
hi, i just reset my phone just like they said in this link

http://mytechnews.info/b/2009/01/what-to-d...pressmusic.html

then i tried to register to get my cert but i cant understand chinese... i'm malay...

can any1 help me?
you know, the pictures below that post come with english instructions.
kennyboy
post Jan 25 2009, 11:05 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(-i-c-h-i-g-o- @ Jan 25 2009, 10:53 AM)
thank you very much taiko2...

just send mine application n waiting 4 the cert...

how do i get the cert?
they send 2 my phone or...
you don't get any cert. Instead you upload your application to them, and they sign it instantly. then u download the signed file.

they won't notify you. just log in in a day or too and the pop up will let u know if your imei is certified already.

Added on January 25, 2009, 11:06 am
QUOTE(ggoo @ Jan 25 2009, 11:02 AM)
anyone has the latest garmin mobile xt? how big is the file? jsut wanna know..
just download it from garmin site....easy.

basic package is quite small, but need to add basemap and support files....total less than 100mb.

This post has been edited by kennyboy: Jan 25 2009, 11:06 AM
kennyboy
post Jan 25 2009, 12:57 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jan 25 2009, 11:37 AM)
just an info. garminXT has a file named cardrunner that runs automatically to run another file named TSRAutostart.exe that is linked to it. it runs when your phone is turned on..regardless of restarting

is uses battery and you can only turn it off with jbak taskman. but it will turn on again. it uses significant amount of battery without u noticing it. some report that even deleting/renaming cardrunner, the TSR will run in the background eventually. it really drains your batt.

so if you are not using GPS that much or if u care about batt life..then better not install garminXT latest version..the old version better cause the file can be deleted/turned off
doesn't seem to affect 5800 much.....battery life seems to be good even with latest version of gmxt.
kennyboy
post Jan 26 2009, 03:03 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jan 25 2009, 08:33 PM)
As long as you don't start gramin (and thus start TSRAUTOSTART.EXE, which JUST CAN'T DIE afterwards), I think everything's fine... hmm.gif

But, I havta charge my Fate-Tan on a daily basis anyhow... sweat.gif
Used garmin for a few days already, never see any difference in battery life. it appears to affect only s60v3 phones.
kennyboy
post Jan 26 2009, 10:48 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(all_creation @ Jan 26 2009, 10:41 PM)
I have problems getting certain icons to follow the theme eg, maps and application.
Any idea on what I can do to fix this?
becos those applications weren't catered for by the theme maker.

you'll have to find the app uid, submit to the theme maker, let them compile a new version....very troublesome.

so it's better to use theme with default icons, or at least new icons that look similar to the default ones, so they don't look so obviously different.
kennyboy
post Jan 26 2009, 11:18 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(all_creation @ Jan 26 2009, 11:00 PM)
But the demo page for that theme showed that they had the icons for those applications.
However after installing, those icons dun turn up. So i dun think is that they didn't make an icon for that.
different models have different uid, even for the same application. u can choose not to believe, i've used the theme maker before.

this problem is even more obvious if u use themes made for s60v3 phones.

This post has been edited by kennyboy: Jan 26 2009, 11:20 PM
kennyboy
post Jan 27 2009, 12:11 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Jan 27 2009, 12:10 PM)
I use symbiansigned.com.. You need to register, and give them your IMEI number each time. Just download whatever .sis file, then upload them when prompted to. You'll receive an e-mail when its done, usually after 5 mins.
You'll find that symbiansigned doesn't work for ahme programs....the chinese one is less restricted.
kennyboy
post Jan 27 2009, 10:20 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Kaizzya @ Jan 27 2009, 01:13 PM)
fuuuh
just try to convert a movie with SUPER
and put in tube

'the dark knight'

resolution : 640 X 368

bitrate : 624

frames : 30

format : mp4 , Xvid

audio : dual channel  , 44100k , 128kbps , aac-LC

size is around 800mb X_X

super clear...

but very slow lo when i convert
converting from dvd or bluray version? bluray version IMAX scenes will fill up the whole screen. Shiok...
kennyboy
post Jan 27 2009, 11:13 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jan 27 2009, 11:11 PM)
But storing it in your phone, shiok meh?  tongue.gif  laugh.gif
shiok...i can see it's clearer than the dvd version. and IMAX scenes a lot of difference because dvd don't have the imax scenes.
kennyboy
post Jan 27 2009, 11:56 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jan 27 2009, 11:45 PM)
But I dun have Bluray le.  blush.gif
Oh well, I can barely fit my music with 8GB(I have about 2 GB of music left not inserted in my mem card) let alone putting in a lot of movies.  laugh.gif

So far I've only converted, but not stored in phone.
got bluray rips what...but what u dun know won't hurt you. biggrin.gif No loss.
kennyboy
post Jan 28 2009, 12:42 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jan 28 2009, 12:37 AM)
Hmmm.....should I invest in the highly overpriced 16GB card then?  hmm.gif
no need lah...i convert to 1200kbps it's around 1.2gb for dark knight.

i think 1000kbps will do pretty much as well.
kennyboy
post Jan 28 2009, 12:51 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(ridzyroo @ Jan 28 2009, 12:43 AM)
i did 600 and it still turned out fine...i wonder if i leave it at 500, would it still be as good..
hehe...i'm a stickler for quality...got little difference or pixelation i can notice.

also, i mainly convert from HD sources, so it's more obvious than from dvd converts.
kennyboy
post Jan 28 2009, 02:37 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Jan 28 2009, 02:14 AM)
believe me.. this phone really meant for watching movie..  rclxms.gif

but lets keep it at 1100.. not 1200.. so that u can avoid some lagging.
i've tested several video encoders, it's not that bitrate that's a factor, more a problem of the encoder level. ScalableSimple@L1 videos can even go up to 2500+kbps bitrate and play smoothly.

But videos encoded at Simple@L3 will freeze/jerk during playback.

You can see the video encoding level with a software called MediaInfo on the pc.

Added on January 28, 2009, 2:38 am
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 28 2009, 02:32 AM)
i knew. from the pre-loaded batman trailer, already shows how good the Tube on playing videos. n web surfing on Tube really shiok.  thumbup.gif
but as for video, i js too lazy to convert.  sweat.gif  haha
Hehehe...self converted videos can look loads better than the batman trailer already inside.

Added on January 28, 2009, 2:45 amOne easy way to uninstall application/games more easily is to use the Organize option.

Select organize in the options menu, then highlight the app u wanna uninstall, press option and select Remove. Save the trouble of going to the settings screen. But themes cannot go via this way.

This post has been edited by kennyboy: Jan 28 2009, 02:45 AM
kennyboy
post Jan 28 2009, 03:15 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jan 28 2009, 03:04 PM)
where can i get the signed version of virtual key?

i believe someone had signed it and should be sharable. hehe
It must be signed to your phone's imei, you can't sign for your phone and then pass to other phone to install.
kennyboy
post Jan 30 2009, 12:58 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(skyer @ Jan 30 2009, 12:53 AM)
Well, my tube is with me for almost 8 hours. Now, I still can't go online although I have ordered settings from Maxis itself.

I could go online using my W810i effortlessly. 3G is enabled for my SIM also...just dunno why...Packet Data Connection Unavailable...
check the APN control in settings

settings->connectivity->admin setings->APN control.

is the connection restriction active?
kennyboy
post Jan 30 2009, 01:00 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(-i-c-h-i-g-o- @ Jan 30 2009, 12:56 AM)
LOL just watch this tutorial...
looks so easy to fix earpiece...
It looks easy, but do first time sure panic.

and my earpiece was very tight, to to use screw driver push a bit. put back also need some elbow grease....

and open up another 3 more times to clear dust that sneaked in.

0.0533sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:46 PM