Nokia ♪♥ Nokia XpressMusic 5800 "TUBE" V6 ♪, V6 already?!?! ARE YOU KIDDING ME???
kennyboy
Jan 30 2009, 03:04 PM

QUOTE(beastwars @ Jan 30 2009, 02:55 PM) just wondering ppl.. i tried this phone at the nokia shop at gardens i find it quite difficult to type a sms how about u guys? yup...for people who like messaging in proper english, just use the alpha pad and it's fast and good....otherwise, a phone with a physical pad is probably better.
kennyboy
Jan 30 2009, 03:41 PM

QUOTE(zackloy @ Jan 30 2009, 03:34 PM) Yes I get what you mean but I'm just a curious SOB that loves this sort of useless details  even for the rest of the nokia phones also not divulged. but i can say for sure, the gps in 5800 is very good. at least in terms of lock on.
kennyboy
Jan 30 2009, 08:41 PM

QUOTE(carbonytte @ Jan 30 2009, 03:56 PM) i would say it's okay lor, not very good. reason: i'm living somewhere in teluk kumbar penang, quite remote i would say. somehow in the gps i am moving here and there (not so far la), but not static. Even though i was static on my laptop that time. lol that's just my opinion. this is the first nokia gps phone that i can receive a lock on in a house, around 3m from the nearest window. That's good enough imho.
kennyboy
Jan 30 2009, 09:16 PM

QUOTE(wypua @ Jan 30 2009, 09:09 PM) Wah... Two Days not a home from page 60 to 88 liao. Really Ong a. 88, HUAT a. Yeah. 5800 connect to gps quite instantly. I using garmin. Even b4 the screen change from "I agree" to the "menu", it already tell me "Go straight and turn right" to my previous destination. COool. Almost Instantly connected to the satellit. In house summore. But some remote places need more time. Yup...i've tried N95 8gb, 6220c, and E71, and not a single one could acquire a fix in a sheltered area before (even with AGPS)...that's why i'm quite surprised with the lock on capability of the 5800. Even my Garmin 10x standalone gpsr also cannot do it...but of course it doesn't have the AGPS capability. But it's accuracy is better than the 5800....it knows when u are stationary, but the 5800 sometimes give a small speed reading when stationary.
kennyboy
Jan 30 2009, 11:36 PM

QUOTE(zackloy @ Jan 30 2009, 09:18 PM) So are you using A-GPS to acquire the fix? Perhaps that's why you can get lock so fast. I disabled A-GPS because of the potential data costs. I've tried with and without agps with all the sets, so it's a level playing field. but agps is really cheap....so no concern.  Added on January 30, 2009, 11:37 pmQUOTE(wypua @ Jan 30 2009, 11:33 PM) Yup. Malsing and malfree actually refer to the garmin map. Like inside warcraft, u got dota map, tower defences and so on. LOLZ  Added on January 30, 2009, 11:35 pmyeah, Got people agree with me. Malsingmap abit plain while mapfree is rich in POI. Have tried using malfree and malsing map. Still feel that malfree map is more accurate. Juz my opinion. No offense  Well, why choose? Just use both the maps. This post has been edited by kennyboy: Jan 30 2009, 11:37 PM
kennyboy
Jan 31 2009, 12:06 AM

QUOTE(ace9a @ Jan 30 2009, 11:53 PM) how do you have 2 map into garmin? can merge 2 gmapsupp file? can teach ? You can have different file names for the maps. gmapprom.img gmapsupp.img gmapsup2.img Added on January 31, 2009, 12:09 amQUOTE(wypua @ Jan 30 2009, 11:44 PM) Welcome. Glad i can help @kennyboy Hehe. Even if u said use both map, while navigation u only left with a choice. Either malfree or malsing.  not really...when i use malfree, i cannot search via postal code. but when using both, i can search via postal code. but i can't really differentiate between whether the final map displayed is using either one or a mixture. when zoomed out, i can see that both maps are active via the boxes showing on the basemap. so everything is a-ok! This post has been edited by kennyboy: Jan 31 2009, 12:09 AM
kennyboy
Jan 31 2009, 12:13 AM

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 31 2009, 12:11 AM) regarding garmin emm, i wanna install the map that i dld from malfree. from the guide, need to install the mapsource 1st. but i couldnt get to install the mapsource. why ar? no need install mapsource.
kennyboy
Jan 31 2009, 12:20 AM

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 31 2009, 12:15 AM) oo. like that how i wanna put those malaysia maps into garmin? can teach/enlighten me? this is the 1st time for me...huhu Just download from here and run http://www.malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=893Highlight the choice and you'll see which one u need to choose. In the end a gmapsupp.img will be generated. just copy that to the garmin folder in your mem card.
kennyboy
Jan 31 2009, 12:32 AM

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 31 2009, 12:26 AM) ok. i already put the maps. now when it ask to turn on the bluetooth, i on it then it pop "no gps device found.try again"  ah...that's the step that we can't help you with. I suggest Google.
kennyboy
Jan 31 2009, 12:37 AM

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 31 2009, 12:34 AM) did i miss something actually? i dont understand the unlock thing thingy. ill try search around. The next step is ahem....so not allowed.
kennyboy
Jan 31 2009, 12:58 AM

QUOTE(ace9a @ Jan 31 2009, 12:45 AM) I renamed the new map file to gmapsup2.img but garmin doesnt seem to able to detect it (check from mapset) anything i left out? need UNL?  if the map is a locked one, then of course need the corresponding .unl file.
kennyboy
Jan 31 2009, 01:00 AM

QUOTE(X10A Freedom @ Jan 31 2009, 12:51 AM) oh, and malfreemaps is the best because it's updated more frequently compare to malsingmaps which you have to pay if you want to get the latest (and it's still not the most updated) nah...MSM isn't payware. Just that most people are too lazy to contribute to get the latest updates. but MSM does make some money licensing the map data created by the members, so that's a bit hazy.
kennyboy
Jan 31 2009, 01:06 AM

QUOTE(ace9a @ Jan 31 2009, 01:01 AM) currently i had a .unl file for my malsing map...i just wanted to add the malfreemap's *img file into my phone so i rename the file name to gmapsupp2.img and put inside garmin folder...cant be detected  try GMAPPROM.IMG GMAPSUP2.IMG GMAPSUPP.IMG
kennyboy
Jan 31 2009, 01:10 AM

QUOTE(X10A Freedom @ Jan 31 2009, 01:02 AM) v2.3 Gold is actually locked. and you have pay to get the unlock code from them if you are not contributor unless you managed to rip it from some where else which i also managed to  however, i've compare the POI of MSM and MFM, MFM is definitely better IMO (that is for Selangor area  ) Yes, that's the point, it's locked and you can get it free if you contribute. http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1345QUOTE We do not accept monetary contributions in exchange for the unlock codes
Malsingmaps can do with some extra cash. However, we don't want GPS retailers to pay us for unlock codes only to sell it back to their buyers. We will be inadvertantly adding to the cost of GPS ownership. Thus many people are lazy to contribute so cannot get the latest updates. For a paltry 2 POIs/error reports/tracks, but many people are just plain lazy. Do let us know which fool says you can pay to get the unlocked maps.
kennyboy
Jan 31 2009, 01:11 AM

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 31 2009, 01:08 AM) bro, map from malfree map do it need corresponding .unl file? or does it hv map id? malfree maps are not locked. no unl needed.
kennyboy
Jan 31 2009, 01:26 AM

QUOTE(vexus @ Jan 31 2009, 01:19 AM) anyone here tried nokia map 3.0 beta? don't think it's touch enabled.
kennyboy
Jan 31 2009, 06:40 AM

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Jan 31 2009, 06:15 AM) I just finish installing garmin and it works But it is normal to get black background? The land have black color but everything (road, river etc.) are normal. I'm using malfreemap. the colour is dependent on the time...morning will not be black liao.
kennyboy
Jan 31 2009, 02:41 PM

5800 appears to be using this GPS chip
NaviLink 5.0 GPR navigator
thought there was a guy interested to know.
kennyboy
Jan 31 2009, 04:34 PM

QUOTE(dswwong @ Jan 31 2009, 03:30 PM) I must agree that the loudspeaker is really of very high quality stuff. Am waiting for more info on reliable GPS freeware to make use of the A-GPS capability. Any advice ? Also, I heard that this phone cannot read any attachments that comes with e-mails as it does not hv and does not support quickoffice. TRUE ? Garmin....not freeware, but don't think i see anyone paying for it here.
kennyboy
Jan 31 2009, 11:59 PM

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jan 31 2009, 11:56 PM) oh ok thanks for sharing then, From what i know when a person is well equipped they have less problem he's talking about problems that appear after buying the phone that you can't find out during purchase of the phone. he definitely knows more about you in this area, so I guess some silence is in order.