Nokia ♪♥ Nokia XpressMusic 5800 "TUBE" V6 ♪, V6 already?!?! ARE YOU KIDDING ME???

zackloy
post Jan 29 2009, 03:40 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jan 29 2009, 03:36 PM)
I wanna get IS but until today still no stock. haha
Order directly from supplier website? I heard Singapore selling too, maybe can get someone to get from there
zackloy
post Jan 29 2009, 04:41 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Jan 29 2009, 04:38 PM)
Can I open windows live messenger on 5800? is it possible to dl ?

if can, may i know wherE?
Please read the first page.

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 29 2009, 04:42 PM
zackloy
post Jan 29 2009, 05:02 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 29 2009, 04:53 PM)
lol should i say congratulations laugh.gif

hey hestia, try DIY, it is not that difficult, be bold!

and yay, i am back from CNY holiday, and i am soooooo lazy to read the whole thread, grrr!!!!
Welcome back Pana! I'm already back at work.....soooooo boring, more than half not around, so just spending time on LYN.
zackloy
post Jan 29 2009, 05:17 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 29 2009, 05:14 PM)
sharing some food photos, crave for it!  drool.gif

i did not bother to use my DC even tho i bring it out.

Nokia 5800 XM is more than enough, yay!

fresh chicken & cheesey salad

germany sausages with bacon and mashed potatoes

indian fried mee!
"boss, please add ALOT of chillies!"

indian rojak...okok lar.
Wahhhh make me very hungry! drool.gif
zackloy
post Jan 29 2009, 05:18 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(hellwaker @ Jan 29 2009, 05:12 PM)
after i buy tube, no more money to invest already. sad.gif
Hahaha I understand how you feel, I bought the tube so it can perform GPS duty also.
zackloy
post Jan 30 2009, 08:57 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Jan 30 2009, 01:47 AM)
Been using this phone for 2 days now. So far no major problem.

No problem with Celcom 3G setting (can play youtube video), acceptable image quality and nice large 640 x 360 touch screen  thumbup.gif .

I tried only a few applications and no problem so far except for those that need certificate (still don't know how to get it  icon_question.gif ). I found that Nokia Handwriting Calculator is a very good app but I still searching for workable opera browser as I prefer Opera than the built in browser. Also tried MyPhone but not my taste, better use Handy Shell.

Previously I used MeGui as my video converter but so far can't get any converted video worked on my red tube with this app. So, I try Handbrake like in the tutorial from the first page and it works  thumbup.gif ! Already converted and played my Finding Nemo on 5800 (converted from 720p to 5800 compatible). Now still searching for the best setting to get a good size and quality ratio.

Guys need help here, how to change folder icon? I create a few folder and they look ugly when you see the folder icon.

Minor problem:
My PC Suite can't detect the phone when I connect using pc front panel usb port. The connection wizard stucked at connect to handphone screen. But after change to other usb port (back), it works perfectly.
That could be your USB port problem. Is the front port an extension? Meaning it actually is feeding of a root USB port to split into 2 front ports for example, or is it a true port? I found that sometimes for USB connection to external devices, using a root USB port is the best. Dunno why but that's how it works.

Added on January 30, 2009, 9:14 am
QUOTE(skyer @ Jan 30 2009, 12:53 AM)
Well, my tube is with me for almost 8 hours. Now, I still can't go online although I have ordered settings from Maxis itself.

I could go online using my W810i effortlessly. 3G is enabled for my SIM also...just dunno why...Packet Data Connection Unavailable...
Have you solved the 3G thinghy yet. I had the same problem and as advised by others here what I did was:

SETTING>CONNECTION>APN CONTROL>PRESS OPTION>CHOOSE DEACTIVATE RESTRICTIONS. Use PIN2 code to deacivate it, maxis default PIN2 is 1234 - courtesy of tanseehua

After that everything ok.

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 30 2009, 09:14 AM
zackloy
post Jan 30 2009, 10:12 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jan 30 2009, 09:45 AM)

Anyone else faced this before, the screen changes colour abruptly?
Check your firmware version. I've read that in earlier versions there were instances where the 5800 colors abruptly changes for no apparent reason. Anyway it's definitely a software issue so don't worry about it. I'm sure the firmware will be updated in due time and the platform should stabilise in the near future.
zackloy
post Jan 30 2009, 10:31 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jan 30 2009, 10:17 AM)
I already have 11.0.0.8, the latest, or is it?
It's ok if it's software, thx.  smile.gif
Yup, your firmware is the latest. Dun worry, my phone also sometimes a bit funny, usually if that happens I switch off then swicth on back i.e. reset, then it's ok again. smile.gif
zackloy
post Jan 30 2009, 10:35 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(awe_ploon @ Jan 30 2009, 10:16 AM)
mine is still v10 but never face that problem...thank to god...  sweat.gif
You're lucky. Anyway it is still recommended for you to update your firmware to v11 as v10 has lots of little bugs.
zackloy
post Jan 30 2009, 10:40 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(AsuKi @ Jan 30 2009, 10:38 AM)
haih got one more tube (blue) for my little brother biggrin.gif RM1350 ori set with unstamp purchcs date at warantty card. *wink*
Wahhh so good one......I wish I was your brother too! laugh.gif Well tell your brother to join us here when he can!
zackloy
post Jan 30 2009, 10:48 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jan 30 2009, 10:44 AM)
more to monotonous flat 3d sound. not that sharp & crisp.

if compare to sony, lose loh
Is speaker quality that important? For myself I normally use headphones and with the 3.5mm jack attaching external speakers would be a cinch and definitely give out better sounds. Never really bothered with built in speakers of phones as they normally fall short due to the teeny size.
zackloy
post Jan 30 2009, 11:01 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(skyer @ Jan 30 2009, 10:59 AM)
zackloy. I would like to say a big THANK YOU for your tips  notworthy.gif thumbup.gif  ! It Works!!!  rclxm9.gif  icon_idea.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

I hope this tip can be posted on the First Page...
No problems. You should thank tanseehua, he helped me out. icon_rolleyes.gif
zackloy
post Jan 30 2009, 11:45 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(synzo @ Jan 30 2009, 11:42 AM)
tried it, downloaded the signed version from symbiansigned, the file about 26.7kb

send thru bluetooth to my 5800, open up from message box, when runnin installation, still prompt "certificate expired" message,  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif

did i left out any important steps?
Nope. I think you did it correctly. When signing your sw, were you asked for your IMEI number?
zackloy
post Jan 30 2009, 02:26 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(pojam @ Jan 30 2009, 01:50 PM)
forgot to add, my nokia browser crashed the first time i wanted to post up there. This phone is cheap maybe because nokia wants to break into the touchscreen market. I bet nokia will only get serious on the n97.
Well for what it's worth, most of us who bought the phone early knew from the start that Nokia is using the 5800 as the test bed for S60v5, and yes N97 will be the polished gem that the 5800 will never be. However, because of this we get a reasonably priced phone with a rich feature set that would have most probably cost more than RM1800 if Nokia didn't adopt the market penetration strategy. I've used the phone for 3 weeks now and although it has it's faults, most of them are minor and can be overlooked if you're not that fussy. All in all I'd say that Nokia did a great job on this phone for their first foray with the S60v5 OS. The 5800 is great value no matter how you look at it. icon_rolleyes.gif
zackloy
post Jan 30 2009, 03:21 PM

557 posts

Anyone found out what GPS chipset is in our 5800? Just curious and can't seem to find anything yet from Googling.

Added on January 30, 2009, 3:23 pm
QUOTE(tabletennis @ Jan 30 2009, 03:20 PM)
i bought it for 1450 in kuantan although i found a shop seling at 1350..lol..dun laugh at me wor...
No laughing matter. It happens sometimes, at least you got ori right? If ori then no worries. As long as you enjoy your phone, don't bother if the price is slightly more. Welcome! smile.gif

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 30 2009, 03:23 PM
zackloy
post Jan 30 2009, 03:29 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(mckevin @ Jan 30 2009, 03:24 PM)
i found rm1350 also.. but next week only got stock.. then i found a shop selling rm1380 avaxx.. tomorrow can get already.. cant wait..
I understand what you mean. I "tahan" until 8 Jan, 1 day before official launch date, then decided to buy it before launch also (even though I already pre-ordered tongue.gif ), cannot wait. Was at the launch too but not participating as I was there for dinner. Anyways, RM30 is a small price to pay to have the phone in your hands NOW rather than next week! Go for it! thumbup.gif
zackloy
post Jan 30 2009, 03:32 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(tabletennis @ Jan 30 2009, 03:30 PM)
any1 noe whats "wep key for wlan" ?
WEP is an encryption protocol for secured Wireless LAN. Typically if you have a home WLAN you would set up a security passkey so that only you or people you allow have access to your network.
zackloy
post Jan 30 2009, 03:34 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Jan 30 2009, 03:30 PM)
KTS Klang-RM1330-Zitron Set
Does it matters? As long as it locks on fast and accurate,
My previous Asus P320 has a great chipset but when i use, pass a junction oredi then baru ask me to turn.........
Get what i mean....hehe
Yes I get what you mean but I'm just a curious SOB that loves this sort of useless details tongue.gif
zackloy
post Jan 30 2009, 05:15 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(dswwong @ Jan 30 2009, 05:08 PM)
Can some expert out there enlighten me on the difference between PC suite and OVI suite......they seem to be doing similar functions !
OVI Suite is the new PC connectivity software from Nokia. The additional features are ease of sharing via Web of your media i.e. photos, videos etc. which Nokia is pushing as it is their next big thing. PC Suite is still usable and in fact I use PC Suite most times.

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 30 2009, 05:16 PM
zackloy
post Jan 30 2009, 09:13 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(hellwaker @ Jan 30 2009, 06:55 PM)
is pcsuit now support firmware update?
Yes. Both OVI and PC Suite support firmware updates.

Added on January 30, 2009, 9:14 pm
QUOTE(wypua @ Jan 30 2009, 09:09 PM)
Wah... Two Days not a home from page 60 to 88 liao. Really Ong a. 88, HUAT a. Yeah. 5800 connect to gps quite instantly. I using garmin. Even b4 the screen change from "I agree" to the "menu", it already tell me "Go straight and turn right" to my previous destination. COool. Almost Instantly connected to the satellit. In house summore. But some remote places need more time.
My experience a bit different. most times I need a few minutes to lock satellites. Once in a while it is very fast.

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 30 2009, 09:14 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0536sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:44 PM