U-mobile Thread!, 9cents/30secs

wcypierre
post Jan 14 2012, 03:18 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

One question, for the 5cent per mb pay per use, if I use less than 1mb and disconnected it, will it eat 5 cent or what?
wcypierre
post Jan 14 2012, 04:29 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Jan 14 2012, 03:42 PM)
yes, will still cost 5 sen
oh okay, thanks for the clarification.

Another question, if the place no umobile's coverage then it'll use celcom's coverage right? Is there any additional charges for that? For voice, data and sms?
wcypierre
post Jan 14 2012, 10:11 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Jan 14 2012, 08:13 PM)
no additional charges, but the data speed will be much slower under Celcom

the discounted IDD rates under IDD 1310 can only be used on Umobile 3G network too
Thanks, just scared that later not in coverage then cannot call other people doh.gif

QUOTE(Gmruleme @ Jan 14 2012, 10:10 PM)
wah U-mobile network is really that lousy meh?

so this what you get for what you pay....

+.+ u28 really damm worth it but if the network speed really that sucks... then,..... nevermind sad.gif not getting it anymore
Where did you see it saying that it sucks? source please brows.gif
wcypierre
post Jan 16 2012, 09:38 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jan 16 2012, 08:55 AM)
Thinking of getting a prepaid U-mobile, but after reading the above posts, scared already.  Better go for DiGi.

Those posts above... you didn't read?  Network problems.
Well, DiGi at KL also not that good actually....... it kinda sucks sometimes doh.gif

I did read. But not all of it at KL area what
wcypierre
post Feb 13 2013, 09:06 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Feb 13 2013, 08:54 PM)
erm, nope i don't think so.  so far as i know, once you subscribe to umi28 you're basically stuck with it for a month,  and all you can do is cancel the auto-renewal so you can subscribe the new plan upon expiry the one month.  at least, that was my experience with U Mobile's broadband options.  got any sifu here know differently??
You can resubscribe though within the month of the subscription itself, but you will lose your free sms, call etc if you're not subscribing to the same plan(UMI28 must resubscribe UMI28, if you subscribe to UMI48 then you will lose your free calls and sms).

There are no rollover of data quota I believe as there's this one month that I didn't used up all my data, but the next month the apps reported that it has reached 500mb then my speed become........ sweat.gif tongue.gif

The validity period is 30 days from activation. On its expiry, your subscription will be automatically rolled-over only if you have a credit balance of at least RM18 for UMI 18, RM28 for UMI 28 and RM48 for UMI 48 Any unused minutes and SMS will be rolled over for use if you purchase the same plan. (UMI 18 repurchase UMI 18, UMI 28 repurchase UMI 28 and UMI 48 repurchase UMI 48).

http://u.com.my/prepaid/umi_tnc

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Feb 13 2013, 09:07 PM
wcypierre
post Feb 14 2013, 02:50 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(justaregularjoe @ Feb 14 2013, 02:29 AM)
just went to one of the umobile booth in lowyat, the seller said that if i buy now i am entittled to a special promotion which postpaid can be used like prepaid reload via reload card, and there is no termination and registration fee and contract. She also said that prepaid highest speed is 126 kbps and 3.6 mbps for postpaid.
IS that TRUE??

can anyone confirm this? i tried to call the service center which is a mobile number 018xxxxxxx, but it says no such number lOL.

postpaid umi28=1gb
prepaid umi28 =500mb....
erm...... one response by me: doh.gif doh.gif

when do you see postpaid users go and buy reload cards? sweat.gif

well, for the no termination, registration fee and contract, that's true though.

For the speed, another doh.gif . I'm using the umi28 prepaid and I can easily get 1-2mbps at my home(the H only got two bar only sweat.gif ) and 3-6mbps(4 - 5 bar of signal) at my college

If you've used up all your quota, then your speed will be throttled to 64kbps(can whatsapp but surfing? shakehead.gif ). No additional charges. If you auto-debit, you can get 250mb extra.
wcypierre
post Feb 14 2013, 03:19 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(justaregularjoe @ Feb 14 2013, 03:13 AM)
lol she's saying about the speed, but postpaid need to pay rm45 first two months for umi28, so the umi28 prepaid is only 500mb? maybe tomorrow i'll try to call their service center and reconfirm.
no, I mean she said that the highest speed for prepaid is "126" kbps(I can get at least 1mbps at my area) so ....... shakehead.gif doh.gif

Postpaid UMI28:
- 1gb quota
- 100 free sms

Prepaid UMI28:
- 500mb quota
- 100 minute call
- 30 sms

But if you pay via autodebit then can get another additional 250mb.
wcypierre
post Feb 14 2013, 03:25 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(justaregularjoe @ Feb 14 2013, 03:22 AM)
ops typo, sorry i meant lying lol. yea. if no need contract and registration/termination, postpaid will worth alot
well, it depends on your usage though but still, it is worth it smile.gif

but to ease yourself, you can always drop a call to reassure about it smile.gif
wcypierre
post Feb 20 2013, 08:13 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(x.z @ Feb 20 2013, 08:07 PM)
Guys, I'm on U28 now prepaid.
can the free calls and SMS be carried forward if its unused? I read somewhere that says it is possible but I cant find back the link. icon_question.gif
free calls up to 200 minutes and free sms up to 60 sms can be carried over. It means that the max amount of free calls and free sms that you can have are 200 minutes of call and 60 sms respectively(any unused free calls and free sms are wasted)

any unused minutes and SMS must not exceed in aggregate 50 minutes and 50 SMS for UMI 18 and 200 minutes and 60 SMS for each of UMI 28 and UMI 48 at the time your subscription is rolled over. Any minutes or SMS which exceed this limit will be forfeited
http://u.com.my/prepaid/umi_tnc
wcypierre
post Mar 1 2013, 10:52 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 1 2013, 08:03 AM)
The 9 cent 30 second does it apply to postpaid too?
nope. Postpaid users have to pay more as they need to pay for the additional 6% tax

UM to UM = 0.18/min
UM to Others = 0.30/min

and I don't think many of your friends will use umobile so you can just assume 30 cent per minute for each call? sweat.gif

Source: http://u.com.my/postpaid-packages/new-postpaid-plans

If you use the low-fi version, then I think it should last for a month laugh.gif
wcypierre
post Mar 1 2013, 12:13 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Mar 1 2013, 11:09 AM)
UM to others is 20 cent per minute, 30 cent is video call...
thanks for the correction icon_rolleyes.gif
wcypierre
post Mar 1 2013, 05:52 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 1 2013, 03:49 PM)
So expensive man. Now I see why they can offer Internet cheap they cover up by charging expensive calls rate
well, there gotta to be some trade off right? personally I don't call much so I find umobile suitable for me icon_rolleyes.gif
wcypierre
post Mar 2 2013, 03:25 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Mar 2 2013, 02:48 PM)
My experience the U Mobile speed after quota is not consistent. Sometimes feels like normal speed sometimes very slow.
I feel like if you use it right after the quota has finished is okay. After you've reached a limit then they throttle you kao kao sweat.gif
wcypierre
post Mar 8 2013, 01:50 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

is it me or umobile's signal is getting weaker?

I used to full 4 - 5 bars in 2g but now I can only get 1 - 3 bars sweat.gif
wcypierre
post Mar 9 2013, 12:41 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Mar 9 2013, 12:29 AM)
dude.,.... 2g is maxis problem not umobile  blush.gif
I know. but still, I can't say that I'll complain to maxis because I'm using umobile's service(although internally umobile is using maxis's services) right? laugh.gif
wcypierre
post Mar 9 2013, 12:59 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Mar 9 2013, 12:48 AM)
erm, like this... actually u are ROAM to maxis....
of coz u can complain thru maxis if not mistaken yawn.gif
as we can check all ur number information in maxis network if u log to maxis 2g network  smile.gif
and maxis CS is way better than umobile rite?  tongue.gif
not sure. I've never contacted umobile's cs before and I've spent almost 30 minutes talking(mostly waiting) to the maxis's cs just to terminate my broadband last time sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Mar 9 2013, 12:59 AM
wcypierre
post Mar 12 2013, 09:19 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 12 2013, 08:41 AM)
How to check credit balance for prepaid?
call *118*8#

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Mar 12 2013, 09:20 AM
wcypierre
post Mar 13 2013, 12:05 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 12 2013, 11:59 PM)
And does the given quota include upload? So 250mb is upload and download or download only?
The quota is for upload/download. so when your upload + download reaches the given quota, then throttling of bandwidth will happen laugh.gif

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 12 2013, 11:26 PM)
I meant Internet usage. Like for example I took 250mb and I want to check how much I used
NOTE: It charges you 5 cent for each checking.

Download the app from https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...e.android&hl=en

Apparently, I don't know what's the ussd code for the quota balance check so you gotta download that app and use it.
wcypierre
post Mar 14 2013, 12:52 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(benrahman @ Mar 13 2013, 11:05 PM)
I kena charge rm0.50 for checking my data usage.  rclxub.gif
you mean 0.05 izzit? sweat.gif

p/s: I got charged for that amount
wcypierre
post Mar 14 2013, 06:24 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(benrahman @ Mar 14 2013, 06:14 PM)
eh sorry. 5 sen only..saw in bill stated 0.100, i thought rm1. lol
I was like shocking.gif when you said that. but nonetheless, why um didn't provide this as a free service is a sweat.gif part

0.0387sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:05 PM