The Honda City Connection Club (HC³), Our New Home. http://www.HC3Msia.com

foocy2001
post Mar 9 2009, 11:59 PM

QUOTE(sysh @ Mar 9 2009, 08:44 PM)
True, fair enough. Guess we'll let Andy settle the GPS group purchase smile.gif

P/s: We might start to refer to group purchases discussion on our portal, it'll perhaps be easier
Ha ha ha...one more time, one step faster...just bought a Garmin 205W two days ago. Yes, it's nice and pretty useful if you go traveling and adventuring to unknown places. Got an original unit from Garmin at The Curve. Don't ask the price as it's more expensive than your upcoming GB. laugh.gif

Used it for a day and went and gotten the Malsingmaps...
foocy2001
post Mar 10 2009, 01:54 AM

QUOTE(sharinganez @ Mar 10 2009, 01:14 AM)
It might sound sound on a price point but trust me, Garmin is the way to go. Well supported, easily available maps, maps frequently updated and reliable. The 205W is a nice piece of hardware. Of course, I'll love the 265W or 880W more but then it's more expensive and have features I can live without.

About your question on inviting thieves...well, just don't leave your Garmin unit in the car and the suction cup holder on the windscreen la. Easy.
foocy2001
post Mar 10 2009, 12:18 PM

QUOTE(-7- @ Mar 10 2009, 12:09 PM)
wat do u mean by sewing & without sewing?
erm if buy in group will get cheaper?
does the carpet fit perfectly?
Bro, what he meant was...the sides. Look at the picture and you will see the sides are stiched up and have seams sewn. It's either this or none at all. None means just cut from the roll and put into car. You choose.
foocy2001
post Mar 13 2009, 03:16 PM

QUOTE(michael_ckh @ Mar 13 2009, 01:08 PM)
thanks, but where its actually acquiring the signal from ?  sweat.gif
From the sky! thumbup.gif

There's a group of 24 satellites orbiting above your head. These satellites covers the entire surface of the earth. You only need a minimum of 3 satellites to lock on to ascertain your exact position (called triangulation). Your GPS unit is accurate to within 10m, plus minus.

No subscription. Free 24/7!
foocy2001
post Mar 13 2009, 06:49 PM

QUOTE(cppau @ Mar 13 2009, 06:08 PM)
Speed trap warning fake, road block fake.  tongue.gif

My friend me another cheapest way to track your car. Buy cheap phone and subscribe Friend finder, when your car got stolen. You can check your car location by text. Easy?  rclxms.gif
Let me clarify regarding the speed trap warning and road block warnings on the Garmin nuvi GPS unit.

These warnings are included into the Malsingmaps and Malfreemaps. (standard Garmin maps don't have such warnings) They are custom POIs contributed by members of both map communities. When you reach and area that usually has a speed trap or roadblock, the GPS will beep signalling you to be cautious when approaching the area. It does not detect speed traps or warn you on incoming road blocks.

It also beeps to warn you to slow down if the stretch of road is indicated to be a certain speed and you're going above it, say 80km/h and you're driving at 110km/h.

Agreed that FriendFinder is a cheap way to track it but telecommunication towers only give you an approximate location. Better than nothing I guess. Captor GPS tracking system can track your car to within 5 meters of it's location. Downside is if car is in tunnel, basement carpark, covered area, container, then it will not be able to track. GPS signal needs 'line-of-sight', meaning the GPS receiver can see the satellites up in the sky. That's why Captor RF is a better bet if you are interested in higher chances of recovery. Of course Captor RF/GPS is the ultimate la, both systems in one but mahal nak mampus!

This post has been edited by foocy2001: Mar 13 2009, 06:51 PM
foocy2001
post Mar 14 2009, 02:33 AM

QUOTE(Mr Cola @ Mar 14 2009, 01:50 AM)
Hi all HC3 team mates. Today I received an email from Public Bank which offer Garmin Nuvi 205 Black for RM699 only. I'm not sure is it the exact same model which you guys planning to get 205W. Here is the link => http://www.pbbemall.com/mall/home.jsp <= So you guys can check it out.  biggrin.gif
The Public Bank offer is a nuvi 205. The Group Buy is a 205W, the widescreen version. It's not the same. I believe the Public Bank offer is from the old stock (most probably old operating system and no new features such as HotFix and faster processing speed). It's actually a misrepresentation on Public Banks part as the picture in their site is a 205W but you will be getting a 205 instead. Can actually sue them over it. FYI, 205 is cheaper than 205W.
foocy2001
post Mar 14 2009, 04:58 PM

QUOTE(mJ4y @ Mar 14 2009, 03:04 PM)
bro where u buy the mouting?i wanna get 1 also, how much is it
it not only can use on Garmin Nuvi rite?handphone also can use rite?
The mount in andy's pictures is the suction mount for the Garmin nuvi GPS. It does not hold handphones. You will get it in the package when you buy the GPS.
foocy2001
post Apr 4 2009, 11:17 AM

Please note that HC3 has moved to its new permanent home at www.hc3msia.com with immediate effect. See you all there!

The ProBoards forum will still be there as a reference for the time being but all threads are closed.

This post has been edited by foocy2001: Apr 4 2009, 11:19 AM

0.0949sec    0.59    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:40 PM