The Honda City Connection Club (HC³), Our New Home. http://www.HC3Msia.com

foocy2001
post Jan 20 2009, 01:50 AM

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Jan 20 2009, 12:03 AM)
Hmmm... it's a bit quiet here in this section.
Many of us are still waiting for our rides!! Wait till the rides come off the trailers and people actually get their hands on them, then the mayhem begins here. Ha ha ha... rclxm9.gif
foocy2001
post Feb 5 2009, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(sebaver @ Feb 3 2009, 07:57 PM)
Sigh car still so brand new.. Sure sayang la... But pricey though..

Wonder if there's any other way to protect from stone chipping, etc etc..
Sure got! Keep the car at home and not drive it! That way confirm no stone chips. Stone chips are a part of driving and almost unavoidable, unless you have the dough to splash on Scotchgard. And if god forbid, the car gets into an accident (major or minor) on the bumper, have to peel off the Scotchgard or else cannot paint over them. After that, apply another layer of Scotchgard again ah? Lots of money spent, ain't it?

I think all of us sayang our new cars but I think we also shouldn't go overboard. Let's just enjoy the ride that our new cars will provide us and take good care of them.
foocy2001
post Feb 6 2009, 06:41 PM

QUOTE(sysh @ Feb 5 2009, 04:58 PM)
Well, I don't think it's overboard. Spending on bodykits and rims or induction / exhaust mods will cost more than this Scotchgard. At the end of the day, I guess it's an individual preference. Some prefer a nice clean and polished stock look, that's why people put PPS or wax their car often and perhaps Scotchgard it.  nod.gif

Added on February 6, 2009, 2:40 pm

Hi guys.. just wondering whether anybody is interested in getting some UR strut bars for your NHC?
I'm thinking of getting the 2 Point Front Strut Bar and maybe the Lower Arm Bar. So, if anybody is interested,
do let me know 'cos we can get a Group Discount if we buy more. smile.gif
Where you getting the UR bars? Got price indication and expected group discounts ah?
foocy2001
post Feb 9 2009, 10:22 PM

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Feb 9 2009, 07:59 PM)
There's actually one bad thing about the 3M scotchgard or clear bra. If you go near the car, the protection film is quite obvious.

Also don't waste time with 2 point strut bar, want to do then do 4 point and make sure your car boot has a bar installed too. I think you can also go for 19mm instead of 16mm ARB, better handling. It's best to do this one month after you've gotten your car, that way you will feel the difference immediately.
I understand the front strut bar and lower arm bar but the rear strut bar I don't quite understand. The rear strut bar is fitted in the boot right? Wouldn't it block space meant for luggage/storage? Can be quite inconvenient right? Never seen it before, so don't know what it looks like fitted.
foocy2001
post Feb 11 2009, 12:40 AM

QUOTE(Mr Cola @ Feb 11 2009, 12:33 AM)
Most probably I'll miss the 1st TT as my NHC haven't arrive yet. I'll join you guys after I get my baby.  biggrin.gif  Good luck in the first TT yah, guys.  rclxms.gif
Aiyah Cola, not received the car still can come and join the TT mah...more of meeting the people behind the thread. I haven't got mine yet as well, don't worry, you got company! tongue.gif
foocy2001
post Feb 19 2009, 11:11 AM

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Feb 19 2009, 11:01 AM)
Most of us are strangers to each other in real life. Hehe...
I don't own a City, but I still join.
No worries, this club doesn't limit you to be a City owner to join TT.
Also, it does not mean you have not received your ride you can't come. It's for all NHC owners, present and future. And also those undecided to get one but want to see it anyway. rclxm9.gif
foocy2001
post Feb 22 2009, 01:44 AM

Just something to share with all of you...

Went to Klang to install a brake pedal lock today. Long story short, found exactly what I was looking for. It's called Aorto Lock and it's from Thailand. It uses a double lock system with triple locking mechanism. Comes with Y-splitter socket for disabling ignition (no wire cutting). Also comes with multi-color LED when lock is engaged to alert that the lock is ON. Got it for RM450. Thought this might interest some of you here.

Sits neatly beneath the steering.

You can see the double lock barrel here. The lever that you pull the lock falls back into place, so nothing juts out. The pedal lock is spring loaded, so it bounces back when unlock.

This shows the LED when the lock is engaged.

foocy2001
post Feb 22 2009, 03:04 AM

QUOTE(sysh @ Feb 22 2009, 02:32 AM)
Got a few of questions...
1) how long did it take from start to finish for this setup?
2) warranty period for the lock
3) how does it work? don't quite understand fully. will there be any free play when locked? or does it bother with ur leg when you drive?
4) any drilling or welding to attach the lock to the car?
1) It took abt 15 mins to install.
2) Warranty is one-year. But warranty card is in Thai! biggrin.gif Don't think it'll have any problems. See item 4 for the reason.
3) To lock, just pull the lever next to the lock chamber. This lifts the steel piece behind the brake paddle up into lock position. Then cannot press the brake and ignition is shut off. The lever is spring loaded, so it does not stick out and hit your leg when you get in later. There's a slight free play but cannot press brake to stop. I tried in the car park in my condo! Had to free gear and pull handbrake. He he he... Refer to pic below for visual explanation.

4) No drilling, not welding, no cutting of wires. Ignition cut is thru Y-socket. Steering column brace is screwed on. The screws are all covered/hidden when the lock is engaged. Cannot try to screw it out. Besides, the position of the lock is a little difficult for someone to try and remove the lock or saw it off.

BTW, the key is a waveblade key...like our car key!!

Hope this answers your question.

This post has been edited by foocy2001: Feb 22 2009, 03:05 AM
foocy2001
post Feb 22 2009, 04:36 PM

QUOTE(chris_x @ Feb 22 2009, 11:16 AM)
sebaver installed the same lock i think. I heard it's arnd RM400. Anyway, just hv to make sure you are still able to press the brake all the way to the end, so ABS could be triggered to not void the brake warranty. smile.gif
Tested...the brake pedal can go all the way to the end. It does not impede pedal movement.

QUOTE(yaliqiu @ Feb 22 2009, 12:46 PM)
tis lock sound good... any1 do it for bulk order?
You can start if there are people interested. Just PM me and I'll send you the contact details.

QUOTE(windchaser3526 @ Feb 22 2009, 04:28 PM)
May i know which shop in Klang u install the brake pedal lock??? Is there any others option for the kind of lock?? i quite interested to have it.......thanks
It's a shop called KTL Auto Accessories in Taman Bayu Perdana, Bukit Tinggi. You can find them here : KTL Auto Accessories map

Options? Hmmm...I don't think so, not too sure. I think there's another option without the ignition cutoff switch.

This post has been edited by foocy2001: Feb 22 2009, 04:37 PM
foocy2001
post Feb 24 2009, 12:25 AM

QUOTE(mugen_tech @ Feb 23 2009, 11:41 PM)
Reg brake lock, im queries how the installatioin, seen from pic only bind by screw. Any comment
For the benefit of everyone, I'll try to explain, since I've installed it. Please refer to the picture below. It's quite self-explanatory. Sorry for the pic quality...a bit dark but you'll get the picture (no pun intended).

Yes sysh, the screws are 'hidden' in its locked position (refer to pic above).

I'm not saying it's impossible for a determined thief to break/saw/detach it but it makes it quite difficult to do so. Besides, there's nothing that's 100% foolproof. You are buying added peace of mind and time to stall the thief. IMO, this Aorto Lock is as good as they come for pedal locks. No messy wires cutting, no obstruction to pedals, no voiding warranty. I'm satisfied with it.

This post has been edited by foocy2001: Feb 24 2009, 12:28 AM
foocy2001
post Feb 24 2009, 02:09 AM

QUOTE(sysh @ Feb 24 2009, 01:37 AM)
I see. anyway it looks sturdy to me.. just a bit pricy..hmm
btw, is it possible for you to check with the shop on whether there are group discounts?
Sure bro...I'll give them a call and let you know. I'll even check if it's possible to bring the locks to a common place in PJ for installation instead of travelling down to Klang. No promises but I'll check anyway.
foocy2001
post Feb 26 2009, 12:47 AM

Reposting info on GB for Aorto Lock due to server crash :

Just called the shop and was told that if there's 4-5 ppl ordering it, the price is RM430 per lock including installation. Slightly cheaper than the RM450 i paid for mine! Bear in mind the retail price for this is RM580, so it's okay la.

Sysh, I believe you'll be heading this GB right? When you get the final number of ppl committing, see if you can get it cheaper or not. The guy from the shop say it's better fitting the lock at the shop as all the tools are there. Takes about 15-20 minutes to install each lock.
foocy2001
post Feb 26 2009, 01:10 AM

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Feb 26 2009, 01:00 AM)
Actually I was refering to the E and F one but anyway since now you have pointed out the how much/long distance. I would say that is just an estimated and not to be taken 100% accurate. I tried refering to that but it keeps changing rapidly depending on how hard you press the pedal and maybe the angle of gradient(on the slope) of the car. I get frustrated whenever when I filled up, it shows I can achieve 500plus to 600plus KM but I manage to get only 420KM on my lightest pedal foot(control kao kao not to tekan at all... torture tongue.gif).
Bro, your 420km on how many liters of petrol?

alwintk...the indicator you're referring to is called Range estimation. It tells you an estimate of how many kilometers you could possibly travel with the current comsumption of fuel. This varies depending on your driving style at the time you're looking at the numbers. Not accurate...just estimate.
foocy2001
post Feb 26 2009, 01:11 AM

QUOTE(alwintwk @ Feb 26 2009, 01:06 AM)
yes...i also refering to that E and F..it will drop suddenly when u go downhill..n will rise up when u go up hills..strange..  sweat.gif
Correct me if I'm wrong but the fuel level sensor in your fuel tank is on one side (dunno which side) so, if you're on a gradient, the fuel in the tank will tilt, lower one side and higher on the other. This affects fuel level reading. Nothing to be worried about. Very normal.

This post has been edited by foocy2001: Feb 26 2009, 01:13 AM
foocy2001
post Feb 26 2009, 01:17 AM

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Feb 26 2009, 01:11 AM)
It was about 33litres plus. At that time I was using the S spec rims. Now it's E spec rims.
420/33 litres = 12.7km/liter...not too bad, just a tiny bit low. FC gets better later on, not to worry.

I put RM62.50 for 34.7 liters of fuel and it runs for 490km. Light came on at 460km but continued driving. I'm sure I could've reach 500km but not bothered to try as I reach petrol station already. When I got to the petrol station, I pumped back 34.7 liters into it.

This post has been edited by foocy2001: Feb 26 2009, 01:21 AM
foocy2001
post Mar 5 2009, 10:56 PM

QUOTE(cppau @ Mar 5 2009, 09:47 PM)
1" is not a much different, just 1/2" at the left n right. U can try to go for 14".
Just to confirm, the wiper size for NHC is 24/15, not the old City's size of 24/14.

1" might be 0.5" left and right but on the 'real estate' of our windscreen, it's quite a bit! Just get the correct size and it'll be super duper.

This post has been edited by foocy2001: Mar 5 2009, 10:57 PM
foocy2001
post Mar 6 2009, 08:18 PM

QUOTE(syncronyzer @ Mar 6 2009, 07:11 PM)
aiyakk...1 say ok...1 say not ok... how eh.. hahaha  rclxub.gif
Aiyah...no one said not okay... If you want to follow original size that came with the car, then get 15", if you want to put 14", also can.

As a matter of fact, I just bought and installed new wipers. Dyno silicone wiper. Didn't like the stock rubber wiper. Functions terribly in heavy rain. But I cannot find 15" Dyno ones, so bought 14" instead. Didn't want to spend on PIAA silicone wipers, too expensive (24" - RM130+, 15" - RM90+ @ Eneos One U)

This post has been edited by foocy2001: Mar 6 2009, 08:19 PM
foocy2001
post Mar 7 2009, 12:48 AM

Here's some photos from tonight's TT. Didn't take many...waiting for alwintwk's set. I think he's got better ones.

Looking forward to more NHC coming for the next one. Good job Scott for organising it. Lots of TeamCity folks came as well. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by foocy2001: Mar 7 2009, 12:52 AM
foocy2001
post Mar 7 2009, 01:16 AM

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Mar 7 2009, 01:15 AM)
Man, that's like gangster society gathering like that. laugh.gif
Ssshhhhh....like you will say, "Polis kata jangan!"
foocy2001
post Mar 7 2009, 12:22 PM

QUOTE(michael_ckh @ Mar 7 2009, 12:00 PM)
Is that giant car park ? aman suria got giant meh ? why got so much space ?  notworthy.gif
Yes, it's Giant but Kelana Jaya. It's mixo's (TC) idea.

0.0624sec    0.66    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:33 AM