Studying in Australia (V 3.0), Read front page or be prepared for warn

mrRighthand
post Feb 14 2009, 10:04 PM

437 posts

melb weather is not that cold until require gloves.
i survived the whole year with just a jumper (even in winter).
i use the winter jacket i bought as an extra blanket( i lazy wan go buy a comforter or thicker blanket/ i'm stingy).
mrRighthand
post Feb 15 2009, 10:28 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 15 2009, 03:15 AM)
ya..guess i need take all out n replace again

n my hand carry will b got 2 small bags..hope they allow
it doesn't really matter how many hand carry you're bringing. just the weight of it.
why not stuffed some of the heavier things into the laptop bag? they don't check its weight from my experience. but u cant put much things into it thou laugh.gif
mrRighthand
post Feb 15 2009, 07:32 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Feb 15 2009, 05:45 PM)
Wut course u're taking? Im a Computer Science @ RMIT, enrolment date on the 18th, nice to meet u  laugh.gif

Living at Melbourne City quite convenient, got Big W, Safeway, Target, Coles to get stuff. Makan stall also a lot, i <3 Desert House  laugh.gif
if u lik dessert house, u must try rose garden... their spicy salt chicken is the best..i'm not sure in the menu is written as what but in cantonese we call it "ciu yim kai pah fan"... it will blow your mind.. haha.. try stalactites too..
mrRighthand
post Feb 16 2009, 11:58 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(Scholomance @ Feb 16 2009, 05:58 AM)
anyone here going to handle '09 student orientation @ melbourne uni? tongue.gif
nope..i'll be arriving there on the 27th feb..
i might apply for the mid year one thou..
heard from my frens there alot of goodies given to helpers..lol
mrRighthand
post Feb 16 2009, 01:12 PM

437 posts

u can but u'll have to pay the extra 0.4 years although u are not using it.
y not get prepaid?
mrRighthand
post Feb 16 2009, 02:03 PM

437 posts

icic..
but if you are not the kind that calls/sms alot prepaid would save u more money..
since you are planning to get an iphone then different case d lo
mrRighthand
post Feb 17 2009, 01:42 AM

437 posts

if i'm not wrong, 10k isn't the limit.. you just have to declare if you are bringing over 10k...
mrRighthand
post Feb 17 2009, 07:27 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(quantum @ Feb 17 2009, 01:52 AM)
source

A resident is permissible to carry out of Malaysia, foreign currency notes counting travelers' cheques, not more than RM10, 000 per person.
icic... thx for the correction
mrRighthand
post Mar 3 2009, 07:32 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Mar 3 2009, 05:33 PM)
arrow on swanston..
i'm using the one with 10gb(on/off peak)..cant remember the speed...its the one that cost 49.90 dollars
quite fast. just an extra 10 dollars a month i think its worth it
mrRighthand
post Jun 8 2009, 03:43 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(silencio87 @ Jun 8 2009, 09:10 AM)
Owh..you guys are having exams now???
I wonder how's the exam like at UniMelb? Is it something like in Malaysia.Is the marking really strict?

I heard,you guys have lots of assignment but lil exam,is it true??Hows the assignment+ presentation like?

BTW,can anyone explain to me how does the grading work? They dont use cgpa but more to percentage.(UniMelb use percentage rite? or maybe not?? )

thanks smile.gif
I would say depends on which marker your paper land on.
depending on your subject, the amount of assignment vary from one another.
unimelb use percentage. the grading:
H1=80-100
H2A=75-79
H2B=70-74
H3=65-69(if i'm not wrong)
pass=50-64
depending on the subject, you might be required to pass the final exam to pass the subject in a whole.

This post has been edited by mrRighthand: Jun 8 2009, 03:43 PM
mrRighthand
post Jun 8 2009, 08:17 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Jun 8 2009, 07:59 PM)
Going by that, it is easier to get an H1 in Melbourne than in other unis where the highest grade is awarded for marks above 85.
you must also consider that unimelb practice scaling in grading their students.
I wouldnt comment on how scaling is practiced. I assume that you know.
mrRighthand
post Jun 8 2009, 10:49 PM

437 posts

lol.
by fixing the typo, nothing else needed to be said anymore.
mrRighthand
post Jun 13 2009, 06:53 PM

437 posts

you are allowed to bring one laptop so there's no weight issue there.
i would say get it in malaysia as you can get better deals in lowyat.

Do you really need a new phone? how long are you going to stay here? if it's just a year, get one from malaysia as buying phone outright here is quite expensive.(except for iphone which i think is quite similar if not cheaper in pricing)

@hihihehe, i'm not sure how RMIT charge their students but in unimelb they charge base on your subject
mrRighthand
post Jun 13 2009, 07:25 PM

437 posts

haha...1 subject? unless it's the only subject required for you to graduate and for a good reason, i dont think they'll let you take one subject per semester. Do they??
but i'm pretty sure they charge you base on the number of subject and what subject it is.
Do update it here when you get a confirmation, i'm pretty interested to know.
mrRighthand
post Jun 15 2009, 11:09 AM

437 posts

you know the vietnamese(i guess) asian grocery just beside vic mart that one?
i !!!!!THINK!!!!! i saw it there before.

This post has been edited by mrRighthand: Jun 15 2009, 11:09 AM
mrRighthand
post Jun 15 2009, 07:05 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(fensiang @ Jun 15 2009, 04:21 PM)
i think here almost is chinese .... rclxm9.gif
huh? why are you so happy that there is a lot of chinese here?
anyway, i can help ask around my malay friends but most of them are already settled in their place.
@hihihehe, make some for me ya if you are making kaya.. laugh.gif
mrRighthand
post Jun 16 2009, 11:29 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 16 2009, 10:38 AM)
the name is coconut house i think..is same row with mcd
what??? that one???
taste quite bad actually sweat.gif
my friends work there, so i thought ok la give face go try but turn out to be below average...hahaha
that's like a year ago so maybe it taste better now,i don't know.
mrRighthand
post Jul 8 2009, 11:12 AM

437 posts

there is pretty much nothing you can do.
it is a contract.
i suggest you find a friend that are willing to take over the remaining months of the contract
mrRighthand
post Jul 8 2009, 03:10 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(Saigo @ Jul 8 2009, 02:40 PM)
I'm just on my 3rd day here, so yeah technically first month. My mistake was rushing into this.. but then again I didn't predict that I wouldn't be able to finish my semesters here.
That's actually an idea.. gotta look for someone I guess. But since I'm on direct debit, won't it continuously debit from my bank account (which I'd be closing when I leave Australia), and not my friend's?
just transfer the account to your friend. the account will be under his name and change the billing account to his if he decide to pay using direct debit.
if he want to keep his current number, just request for his current number to be ported into the account and erase the old one. it would take a few days and no fees charged. This is according to 3 mobile sales person i talked to. i think it'll be the same with optus, telstra etc.
mrRighthand
post Jul 8 2009, 04:39 PM

437 posts

ya its called cooldown period. so saigo you can try return the phone and cancel the contract. i'm not encouraging you to lie but ya, desperate times calls for desperate measures.
i'm not sure on this but mayb you can return the phone by just saying you dont like the phone. thats why its called a cooldown period.

This post has been edited by mrRighthand: Jul 8 2009, 04:45 PM

0.0481sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:20 PM