QuackSilver
post Apr 3 2009, 06:18 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(Kenny4820 @ Apr 3 2009, 11:12 AM)
where are u working back in malaysia? so, any job offer for u so far?
i'm actually back in Brisbane looking for jobs. applied for PR in Jan. just attended my first job interview earlier today smile.gif

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Apr 3 2009, 05:37 PM)
can i drive in oz??if i have international license?where can i apply it??
if you're under student visa yes you can drive in Aus. all you need to do is to get a translation for the license. NAATI's a good place to start off with.

the downside i see for an international driving license obtained from AAM is that it lasts a year and it costs RM 150 (last i checked). however with your student visa your Malaysia driving license is valid until the date of expiry, just that you'll need a translation

QuackSilver
post Apr 3 2009, 06:34 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(Kenny4820 @ Apr 3 2009, 08:28 PM)
how much u paid for PR? hmmm, like the life over brisbane?
the PR application fees cost $2150. the medical check up fees around $280. then you have your Australian Federal Police check, around $43. then you have your skills assessment, that one varies depending on the assessing body. mine was done by Engineers Australia, costs $110. you'll also need a Sijil Kelakuan Baik from the M'sian government, that one costs RM 20. last but not least you'll need to sit for IELTS. $280 but UQ pays for the test fee if you're taking it in your final semester so you can claim back the test fee AFTER you've gotten your results.

i like it here. nice and easy going lifestyle suits me
QuackSilver
post Apr 3 2009, 08:46 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 3 2009, 09:51 PM)
how long the process for PR?
n after you applied,is not 100% u can get PR rite?
i have no idea how long the process is. could be months. and yea its not 100% that i can get PR.

QUOTE(Kenny4820 @ Apr 3 2009, 10:13 PM)
yup, thtas what im trying to ask as well, hmmm.. once u manage to archive the minimum marks requirement, u are able to get a PR for sure?
like what i said earlier, nope not for sure

QuackSilver
post Apr 3 2009, 09:21 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 3 2009, 11:14 PM)
then the application fees also cant return back?
nope. this isn't like in the supermarket where you can just simply go back and ask for a refund
QuackSilver
post Apr 3 2009, 10:07 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 3 2009, 11:27 PM)
Waiting 6 months before your PR application result is not unheard off.

Also, one thing that many overlook, is that if by finding a 2 year course with the intention of getting then 18 month bridging visa, the bridging visa has the condition that you stay in Australia for that 18 months. Leave the country, and it will be canceled.

I will not get into the debate on the whole immigration system, but suffice to say, the road to a Australian PR is long, hard, expensive, and not guaranteed.
yea i know. i know of a guy who waited for a year. but doesn't matter now cause the main problem now is getting a job.

the 18 month bridging visa you talk about, you referring to the graduate visa?
QuackSilver
post Apr 5 2009, 11:43 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 5 2009, 01:34 PM)
btw is OSHC card cover the fee when i look for doctor or buy medic?
yes. for private hospitals however you there's only a certain amount that they cover. for medicine, the amount that OSHC covers per type of medicine is between $30 and $50. that is for OSHC worldcare. not sure on those with medibank's OSHC coverage

does your uni have a clinic on campus? if it does than i'm probably sure that it'll be easier since they can check your OSHC cover straight away
QuackSilver
post Apr 10 2009, 01:13 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ Apr 10 2009, 02:39 PM)
My wife got an offer from UQ for PhD level.How to apply Visa to Australia?Can she apply Visa for the whole family if she bring the whole family together?Sorry for noob question. sweat.gif
yes she can. Seen lots of it

QuackSilver
post Apr 12 2009, 11:46 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(wengjoe @ Apr 12 2009, 12:59 PM)
i have a question about the extended visa (not sure what you call it)

where i can get 18 months of visa extensions after staying at australia for 2 years

my question is:

1) how much is the visa cost ?

2) must i stay throught out the whole 18 months in order to be eligable for the visa ?
what is this visa you're talking about? the Graduate visa?
QuackSilver
post Apr 12 2009, 09:17 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(wengjoe @ Apr 12 2009, 10:53 PM)
yeah,i'll be graduating this end of july

including this semester,i have ngam ngam stay for 2 years
do you meet the requirements for PR? if yes, why don't you straight away apply for PR since at the end of the Graduate visa you would still have to apply for PR
QuackSilver
post Apr 12 2009, 10:00 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(wengjoe @ Apr 12 2009, 11:46 PM)
to be honest,don't think i meet the 120 point requirement with only bachelor degree.

but i should have about 100 - 110 point at the moment

i really don't know my course - international business fall into which category under the "Skilled Occupation List".

what i hear is that,after graduating and upon staying at least 2 years,i can apply for a 18 month visa extension.
ah. try and get into honours. you'll get extra points. the graduate visa isnt exactly considered an extension, it's main role is to help you secure the points needed for PR, like working one year in a field related to your degree so you can get the extra points needed for your PR
QuackSilver
post Apr 15 2009, 08:10 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(FoxNope @ Apr 15 2009, 02:20 PM)
Ur degree = 60 points
ur Age ? 18~29 = 30 points
English Level: ILETS band 7+ = 25, Band 5 ~ Band 6.5 = 15
Australian Qualification = 15

120~130 points there is some other point awarded which i haven listed out yet... this 4 is the main to gain ur point. tongue.gif Good Luck ... anyway is abit costly : $2.4k for apply, if fail then ur 2k gone, if pass pay another 2.5k for future process...
Check it urself here: http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-ski...e-overseas.htm#
Additional Information: While ur PR is processing, you will be granted a PR Visa(not sure what the name), which allowed you to stay as long as the PR application under process. so for another 6 to 9 months.
ah the points really depends on where your assessing body decides to throw you in. those on the demand list is 60.

pray tell what do you pay for with the 2.5k for future process?

and the temporary visa that is given to you when you apply for PR is called a Bridging Visa. usually A is given which doesn't allow you to leave the country until a decision has been made on your onshore PR application. if you need to leave you need to pay AUD 75 or 70 (can't remember the exact value) for a Bridging Visa B. Bridging Visa gives you full working rights to support yourself as well as access to Medicare whilst waiting for a decision to be made on your PR application

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 15 2009, 03:02 PM)
hmm
just curious about this..

lets say if i met all the requirements for the PR,but duwan apply for it yet coz will go back to malaysia for maybe few years after finish my visa here..then can i apply for the aus PR after few years?
you don't necessarily need to apply for PR immediately after you graduate. you can always go back and a few years down the line apply for PR via the offshore option.

QuackSilver
post Apr 29 2009, 05:07 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(SoFat @ Apr 29 2009, 01:50 AM)
lol city of the dead.. wasin perth a year ago came back to malaysia.. nice place to study and really nice place to work.. too bad only stayed 1 year there.. not enough to get my PR.. wonder how will i be able to get my PR once i come back.. i heard all the points u earn will be wipe clean once you come back.. wonder is that true.. any one have a agent who can deal or advice me on this matter?
if they wipe clean all your points, explain how does the offshore application work then lol

there's tonnes of PR agents out there. just google them. as to whether or not they are reputable, you'll have to take a chance with them i guess
QuackSilver
post Apr 30 2009, 05:59 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 30 2009, 06:06 PM)
Is it so difficult for you to go to the websites of the individual airlines? Or even walk into a travel agent?

Or you could make your way down to Singapore, where Etihad has some good deals at times. Wikipedia has a very good list of airlines who fly to SYD.

MAS is really pulling out all the stops. My flight back to Kuching is cheaper than Jetstar's BNE-DWN-SIN-KCH, plus I get food and proper service (I hope!) Not to mention none of the rubbish of checking in and out three times!
paid around RM 750 for a one way ticket from KUL to BNE. got proper food and service which i'm grateful for after suffering on D7 on the way back from OOL to KUL. i'll travel on full service airlines from now on thank you very much, no more budget airlines for these long haul trips.

nowadays when people ask for cheap, there's two ways of looking at it. you want really dirt cheap airfares with budget airlines or cheap fares with full service airlines. my suggestion is if you're looking to travel with full service airlines, look up TG. they're priced pretty competitively plus the service is top notch from what i gather

Added on April 30, 2009, 6:11 pm
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Apr 30 2009, 03:30 PM)
Guys, what are the cheap airflights to Sydney other than jetstar?
hmm this one slipped my mind when i replied earlier. this is a tricky one. where are you flying from? anyway like haya said, google up the airlines servicing SYD. wiki would be a good start

This post has been edited by QuackSilver: Apr 30 2009, 06:11 PM
QuackSilver
post May 2 2009, 05:27 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ May 1 2009, 11:43 PM)
Best of luck, you'll gonna be needing it haha !
I'm going to Sydney this coming July to watch Jay in concert, do you reckon I should go with Virgin Blue ?
To and fro would cost me ard $128, is that considered ok ?
look, VB and Jetstar each have weekly sale prices on Friday afternoon. Register to receive updates with them and check out the deals when they send out the updates around Friday arvo.

but i must say, i'll take VB anyday whistling.gif
QuackSilver
post May 2 2009, 07:43 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(haya @ May 2 2009, 12:42 PM)
Whoa! RM 750 is about A$290 at the current rates. That is a real deal! Even D7 is asking for A$310 one way OOL-KUL these days.

The thing is, Air Asia has brainwashed most people to believing that they are the cheapest. In terms of the dollar amount, that may be true, but one also has to factor in the cost of extra luggage allowance, food, and the ungodly times you take off/land. And for us in Brisbane, getting to OOL. (I am still VERY sore that D7 got Tullamarine, while we have to put up with Cooloongata.)

Sometimes, the difference is only about $100-200, small change for the much bigger benefits you'd get with a full service airline. And if people are just willing to look outside the box, sometimes taking the less beaten path may be more interesting. I once found BNE-TPE-SIN roundtrip for A$790 all in with China Airlines (not to be confused with Air China); I wouldn't mind spending some time in Taiwan.

Seriously, how hard is it to open a new browser window these days?
it is one of the better deals i've seen yes. thing with D7, their tickets aren't THAT cheap. consider this, i bought a ticket with D7 to fly from OOL to KUL for around AUD 580. thing is, flight time was at 0900 which meant i had to take the first train out of central at 0456, arrive at Robina at 0610 and then take a cab to OOL. total cost for that pre-flight trip was AUD 28 as i was on concession price plus off peak plus i shared a cab with a friend.

a couple of days after i bought the D7 ticket, i went over to MH's site to have a peek. i could have gotten a MH flight on the same day for AUD 650. never in my life have i felt more pissed. the departure time for MH was 2355 which was good as it meant i could take the airtrain out from central at normal hours instead of rushing at the wee hours in the morning.

well D7 was looking at Avalon but then the state government didn't want to fork out money for the expansion of Avalon, thus forcing the change to Tullamarine. the MEL sector is too good to give up to be honest.

but again, i shall say tak nak to D7

QuackSilver
post May 8 2009, 06:13 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ May 8 2009, 01:03 PM)
Any know preferred OSHC partner for UQ? Need to sign OSHC before or after applying visa?
OSHC Worldcare is the one UQ registers you with. they'll do the registration for you when you pay your initial deposit. all you need to do when you've paid your deposit is to update your details with OSHC Worldcare on their website once you've gotten a residential address in Australia for them to send the OSHC card to you.
QuackSilver
post May 8 2009, 11:08 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(rufryder @ May 9 2009, 12:36 AM)
does anyone know what the process of extending a student visa is like?
my 3 year student visa will expire in august, but i'll need to stay back for an extra semester which would probably require me to stay till december.
would i have to go through the entire process of applying for a new visa (health check etc.) just to stay back for 4 months?
yes you'll have to go through the entire visa application process, including the health check. i think you'll have to notify your uni that you need to extend your visa in order to complete your program, just double check with the admins in uni
QuackSilver
post May 9 2009, 06:23 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 9 2009, 01:19 AM)
i think you do not need to 'notify' the uni, they would know.........in fact, you need the uni the certify you need an extension to complete your studies, as justification for the new visa.......
you would take the extra precaution when it comes to matters like this wouldn't you? just nudge them a bit to get the ball rolling
QuackSilver
post May 22 2009, 08:37 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

as far as i'm know i've never heard of anyone getting claims for their x-rays for the medical check up.

@kurtkantoi, even if you got the x-ray with the panel of doctors that has been approved by immigration, as long as you're applying for a different type of visa (say you renewed your student visa and so you did a medical check up then. now you want to apply for PR and you want to use your old x-rays from say 5 months earlier), no you cannot reuse the x-ray. HOWEVER, if you renewed your visa and somehow or rather you need to renew it AGAIN (same subclass visa) then yes you can reuse it, you might not even need to go for the medical check up

@hihihehe. all your friend needs to do when she renews her passport back in Malaysia is to just go to the Australian High Commission at Jalan Yap Kwan Seng with the new and old passport. she then tells the person at the guard house that she would like to label your passport with a student visa and they'll let her right in after the usual security check. head up to the first floor and head towards the reception cum enquiry desk. the person in charge will then take her old and new passport to verify details and labels her new passport. won't take more than 10 mins

i did that earlier this year so i know this part is true plus i went back when my passport expiry date was just 2 months away and my student visa expiring 1 month before my passport expiry date
QuackSilver
post May 23 2009, 01:07 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ May 23 2009, 12:08 AM)
I did mine in the Aussie HiCom in Spore... The updating process was pretty quick, approx 10 minutes like you said. But the available hours there are really shit, 9am-12pm daily only. Miss it, and bye bye, come back tomorrow.

One more thing to add on, especially for those who fly SQ and go to Changi or enter Msia via the causeway/2nd link... Make sure your passport's expiry date is more than 6 months away, otherwise you won't be able to pass the immigrations and be trapped at the airport.

But if it's just for transit flight to Msia it'll be alright.

And as a reminder, make sure you bring your old one together with you when checking in at the airport counter. Sometimes they would want to see the old one as well, especially if your ticket is bought with the old one (which is usually an open ticket).
yea the hours are shitty. the High Commission in KL operates with the same hours as well.

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 23 2009, 01:07 AM)
ok..hope to hear from u soon  smile.gif
but does it apply to MAS airline too which without transit from melbourne to KL?
like i said, i went back with a passport which was about to expire in 2 months but all was good. if your passport has expired and you want to go back, you'll be at most be detained for an hour or so (or more, my grandaunt was interviewed for an hour) at the terminal in M'sia for you to explain about your situation.

QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ May 23 2009, 01:18 PM)
thanks for your info. actually, my wife is pregnent right now and x-ray exposure could be dangerous to our baby. doh.gif
ah. they have special guidelines for pregnant women don't you worry

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0431sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:31 PM