post Jan 30 2009, 12:25 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

no la.. all brisbane like that.. not yours only
Bonchi
post Feb 1 2009, 01:44 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

thumbup.gif good day all thumbup.gif im a KL kia residing in melaka ...also due to MMU doh.gif

did some OC on my e4300 from 1.8 to 3.22 to catch up against all the new proc speeds cry.gif no money to upgrade

OC-ing and stressing CPU doesnt really mean reducing the proc life....but instead thats all got to do with the temps...if you can OC while keeping the temps low..it wouldnt matter much

my current settings is running at the same temps when im using stock cooler + stock clocks sweat.gif running 24/7 sommore ...MMU hostel internet speeds very shyok rclxm9.gif
TSshaun3230
post Feb 1 2009, 11:15 AM

2,369 posts

True, its the temps that count, not the clocks or freq

Added on February 1, 2009, 11:15 amMy Q6600 @3.6 idles cooler than it is with stock cooler at 2.4

This post has been edited by shaun3230: Feb 1 2009, 11:15 AM
Bonchi
post Feb 1 2009, 12:57 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

say..have you guys ever face this before.....
i OCed my e4300 1.8ghz to 3.33ghz coz im just bored...then decided to test its stability...but it failed orthos and prime95 within 12 seconds
(rounding 0.5 expected 0.4)

but its been on for more than 10 hours running CPU burn smoothly

so why is it unstable in Orthos but its perfectly stable when i just stress it?
glock88
post Feb 1 2009, 05:03 PM

317 posts

sometimes i had that too.... my guess is ur rams producing errors...
Bonchi
post Feb 1 2009, 06:41 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

yea i think so too...
im using cheap rams atm..DDR2 667...value kingston

sigh...i think this is the sweet spot for this proc already...almost 85% OC

should start to consider a better proc liao...e4300 days are over (maybe QX6800 kot)
glock88
post Feb 1 2009, 08:13 PM

317 posts

hahaha yea.... should get something like that... change better rams too... hehe
Bonchi
post Feb 1 2009, 09:59 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

ah gave up on stabilizing the 3.33ghz...found a sweet spot with the voltage settings at 3.25ghz orthos 1hour stable..lower FSB....

i think it is the RAM limiting my OC....coz i get BSOD if i do stress test that includes the RAM...oh well...time to go stygix cry.gif
TSshaun3230
post Feb 1 2009, 10:14 PM

2,369 posts

For ram or CPU?
Bonchi
post Feb 1 2009, 10:28 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

stress CPU alone...no prob...stress RAM = fail...Mix = BSOD

kingston 667 value ma...RM90 nia (2 years ago)

Added on February 1, 2009, 10:35 pmai..now damn bored..almost all my OC kaki in MMU melaka all went down to cyber dy...nobody to discuss with anymore ><....only ignorant users who only had 'asus' and 'nvidia' in their entire knowledge about PC hardware

btw...regarding PC shops...have anyone went to the one beside Yuek Cheng kopitiam at bukit beruang? opposite of petronas (with acer logo)

the staffs are really friendly (especially the girl...forgot the name tho)...most of the time if i go there...i end up chatting with them doh.gif ....however..not many stocks and most stuffs are required to order...but the price offered are rather good..a friend of mine bought a samsung syncmaster 2053 for RM800 ....5 months ago when LCDs are still expensive icon_rolleyes.gif

however regarding service..i dont know...coz i usually do the servicing myself..and ive never warranty with them before...but i had bad experience with stygix sweat.gif (as expected?)

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Feb 1 2009, 10:45 PM
OC4/3
post Feb 1 2009, 11:01 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 1 2009, 12:57 PM)
say..have you guys ever face this before.....
i OCed my e4300 1.8ghz to 3.33ghz coz im just bored...then decided to test its stability...but it failed orthos and prime95 within 12 seconds
(rounding 0.5 expected 0.4)

but its been on for more than 10 hours running CPU burn smoothly

so why is it unstable in Orthos but its perfectly stable when i just stress it?
Try 5:6 divider 1.85v or so 5-5-5-12 smile.gif
Bonchi
post Feb 2 2009, 12:21 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

hmm ....but then my ram will be 888mhz and it shouldnt be able to post...tried that before...with 286 FSB on 2:3 ratio

FYI..my rams are kingston value ram 667 1gbX2 with super loose latencies cry.gif...

but well an advice is an advice...its worth to try..thnx anyways

Added on February 2, 2009, 12:43 amuuh failed to post..as expected oh well...im planning to go to stygix later today anyways...for zalman VF900....maybe goanna get ram at the same time

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Feb 2 2009, 12:43 AM
TSshaun3230
post Feb 3 2009, 03:56 PM

2,369 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 1 2009, 10:28 PM)
stress CPU alone...no prob...stress RAM = fail...Mix = BSOD

kingston 667 value ma...RM90 nia (2 years ago)

Added on February 1, 2009, 10:35 pmai..now damn bored..almost all my OC kaki in MMU melaka all went down to cyber dy...nobody to discuss with anymore ><....only ignorant users who only had 'asus' and 'nvidia' in their entire knowledge about PC hardware

btw...regarding PC shops...have anyone went to the one beside Yuek Cheng kopitiam at bukit beruang? opposite of petronas  (with acer logo)

the staffs are really friendly (especially the girl...forgot the name tho)...most of the time if i go there...i end up chatting with them  doh.gif ....however..not many stocks and most stuffs are required to order...but the price offered are rather good..a friend of mine bought a samsung syncmaster 2053 for RM800 ....5 months ago when LCDs are still expensive icon_rolleyes.gif

however regarding service..i dont know...coz i usually do the servicing myself..and ive never warranty with them before...but i had bad experience with stygix sweat.gif  (as expected?)
Nope, might give it a try though. Hows the pricing for other stuff?
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Feb 1 2009, 11:01 PM)
Try 5:6 divider 1.85v or so 5-5-5-12 smile.gif
For KVRs, I recommend u disable link as most of them cannot reach high freqs. So, that is why I recommend u oc the CPU first, then ram
Bonchi
post Feb 4 2009, 12:00 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

well...yes KVR cannot reach high freq...but im running on 1:1 fsb:ram already...thats the lowest i can go...and its not low enough....CPU is already overclock from 200mhz on FSB to 370mhz...im thinking the ram is limiting it already...370X2 is 740mhz whilst my ram is 667mhz swt

anyways lets forget about it already..since im buying corsair dominator soon smile.gif

about that shop....the pricing is quite cheap..tho mostly must be ordered..but at least...the staff are willing to nego..unlike those stygix personal who are rather stingy....heh
OC4/3
post Feb 4 2009, 03:20 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 4 2009, 12:00 AM)
well...yes KVR cannot reach high freq...but im running on 1:1 fsb:ram already...thats the lowest i can go...and its not low enough....CPU is already overclock from 200mhz on FSB  to 370mhz...im thinking the ram is limiting it already...370X2 is 740mhz whilst my ram is 667mhz swt

anyways lets forget about it already..since im buying corsair dominator soon smile.gif
about that shop....the pricing is quite cheap..tho mostly must be ordered..but at least...the staff are willing to nego..unlike those stygix personal who are rather stingy....heh
KVR can do 960mhz or so,tested before smile.gif
Bonchi
post Feb 4 2009, 04:22 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

my KVR is 667mhz wo...but anyways...i will be changing it already(going for 2x 2gb corsairs dominators)...

sommore...cannot boot at all if i up the voltage and set timings a little bit lower...

btw..has anyone here tried OC-ing phenom2? im interested to try it for my future rig

TSshaun3230
post Feb 4 2009, 07:45 PM

2,369 posts

My KVR 800 goes to 857 only. 1.8v or up to 2.23, same stuff, cannot oc furthur.

Some say its the various versions of the KVR
@meno
post Feb 5 2009, 05:50 PM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

QUOTE(shaun3230 @ Feb 4 2009, 07:45 PM)
My KVR 800 goes to 857 only. 1.8v or up to 2.23, same stuff, cannot oc furthur.

Some say its the various versions of the KVR
It actually depends on the ram chips which is used on the KVR not the brand or the model.
Value rams can clock well also so long as it runs on the right chips.

I've seen KVRs run as high as 1200Mhz, but of course with D9GMHs on them.
I had a pair of Team Values which hit 1200Mhz 5-5-5-18 2.1v as well, with relabeled team rams.

The essential in choosing a right pair of rams to pair with your system is to hunt by ram chips, not the brand of the rams.
If you're going for 2x1gb sticks, get something with D9G on it, not D9...Note, not all D9 are good clockers but all D9G are guaranteed clockers.

Anyway, most value rams(Be it 667 or 800) today should do 900Mhz easily.

Btw, there were some KVRs which previously was brought in by your MMU senior dblooi called the god sticks.
Those KVRs will hit 1000Mhz on stock voltage easily... brows.gif

TSshaun3230
post Feb 5 2009, 07:31 PM

2,369 posts

Im guessing I got the lowest performance chipset.

I cant go above 857. But still, I have 2x 1Gb and 2x2Gb, its enough for me even though the freqs are low
Bonchi
post Feb 5 2009, 09:36 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

huhu...my KVR is like...Epsilon chips..if i read the small tag on the chips correctly...

cant find any database on google as well...is it a good chip? or issit the crappy one...which might be the answer of those poor RAM OC results..

16 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:31 AM