Nokia ☜♥☞ Nokia XpressMusic 5800 "TUBE" V4, VACANCY FOR THREAD STARTER V5, PM me!!

zackloy
post Jan 12 2009, 04:41 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(alextee1881 @ Jan 12 2009, 04:39 PM)
red...i will test out the earpiece problem later.
The earpiece problem can happen anytime so very hard to test. It may be fine for a week or like mine last a day and then got problem, or like some here no problem so far. At least you know Nokia will do something about it as it is under warranty.
zackloy
post Jan 12 2009, 05:14 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(gaigene @ Jan 12 2009, 04:51 PM)
I'm just wondering if I should go and get the earpiece problem fixed even though I dun think I have a problem with it  hmm.gif also how do I check my phone's firmware ...
*#0000#
zackloy
post Jan 12 2009, 09:38 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(reevephon @ Jan 12 2009, 08:54 PM)
can some one guide me on how to install the talking dictionary? bz there is a lot of files after i extract the winrar file, or we only need yo copy the .sis file and put inside our phone? the rest no need?
Here you go, the guide how to install: its actually in the readme file:

Nokia 5800 XpressMusic - Talking Dictionary Installation Steps
1. Download the file (TalkingDict.zip) to your PC.
2. Unzip the file and then copy all content to memory card, i.e. copy “Data”, “private”, “resource”, “sys” and “TalkingDictionary_S60_SA_siged.sis” to memory card’s ROOT. (Please refer to diagram below)
3. On handset, please press menu button and go to Application > File Manager > Memory card. Click Talking Dictionary_S60_SA_siged.sis to start installation.

zackloy
post Jan 12 2009, 09:40 PM

557 posts

[quote=zackloy,Jan 12 2009, 09:38 PM]
Here you go, the guide how to install: its actually in the readme file:

Nokia 5800 XpressMusic - Talking Dictionary Installation Steps
1. Download the file (TalkingDict.zip) to your PC.
2. Unzip the file and then copy all content to memory card, i.e. copy “Data”, “private”, “resource”, “sys” and “TalkingDictionary_S60_SA_siged.sis” to memory card’s ROOT - This mean drive E:
3. On handset, please press menu button and go to Application > File Manager > Memory card. Click Talking Dictionary_S60_SA_siged.sis to start installation.

Follow instructions and don't worry when you get warnings of existing folders, just say yes.

zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 09:06 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(heartofjoy @ Jan 13 2009, 02:11 AM)
Haha...yes, u are right. Didn't think of that.  smile.gif
But I guess if one really wants to check and read emails, an s60 device probably not as good as WinMo6 or iPhone
Haven't tried the iPhone but I never really liked surfing with a mobile device, no matter how good I'd rather use a netbook at the least. Nevertheless, it's great to have that ability. I feel the 5800 browser has much room to improve, albeit I say this with my limited experience of using mobile browser.

As for e-mails: same thing but great we have the capability.

Added on January 13, 2009, 9:11 am
QUOTE(ne3ro @ Jan 13 2009, 08:49 AM)
i got a dead pixel on my screen. a bright red one, huhu. really spoil my mood la. Can i claim waranty from nokia?
I think you can. No harm trying anyway.

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 13 2009, 09:11 AM
zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 10:07 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(deejay73 @ Jan 13 2009, 10:00 AM)
5800 Wi-Fi Bug??

Hi all, I think there's a bug in the 5800 wifi's connection. After I connected to an access point, it seems that I am unable to disconnect from it, even though the access point is already out of range (few kilometres away!!).

The Connectivity menu still showed "Connected" status. Selecting "Disconnect WLAN" from the Options menu does not have any effect whatsoever. If i tried to connect to another access point, the phone will give error message saying "WLAN connection already active. Close it and try again".

(I think i have the latest firmware e.g. v11.0.008 dated 09/12/08).

So far the only solution is to reboot the phone. Anyone experiencing the same situation? Anyone knows how to hard-killed the wifi connection?

Cheers
Happened to me only once. After that I've so far have had no problems with disconnecting the wi-fi, instead I discovered that the 5800 will automatically disconnect if you connect through an app. It's only when you connect Wi-fi by itself when the disconnection is needed.

Added on January 13, 2009, 10:10 am
QUOTE(eg_9525 @ Jan 13 2009, 10:02 AM)
wow.. so many bugs... i thought of getting this phone today.... urrr...
Most of the bugs are firmware issues that should be fixed in due course. Don't worry about it. The 5800 remains as one of the most compelling touch screen phone right now because of the price/value/features. The more owners would mean better suppport and eventually a large number of 3rd party software. So just get the phone! Join us. nod.gif

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 13 2009, 10:10 AM
zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 10:46 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(deejay73 @ Jan 13 2009, 10:30 AM)
May I know which firmware version are u guys on? Same or diff from mine?

Rgds
Mine v11.XXXXX
zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 10:50 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(dhillon79 @ Jan 13 2009, 10:49 AM)
a noob question... how to check the version?
*#0000#
zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 01:50 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jan 13 2009, 11:28 AM)
ya...many bugs..dun get..get Iphone... whistling.gif  whistling.gif
Hmmmm.....seems you're in the wrong forum my friend...nothing against the iPhone but it's not perfect either and costs like more than 2X more.
zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 01:52 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(wy6279 @ Jan 13 2009, 12:52 PM)
im getting my tubey real soon, just dunno which store should i go, any suggestion? tongue.gif

btw i stay in wangsa maju smile.gif
Well if you go back and read a little, there are Atlantis & Eaglecomm both at SS2, Giant Kelana Jaya Kiosk and more. Do some searching. Or call Nicky: 012-6666675, I bought mine from him. His shop is in Pudu Plaza.

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 13 2009, 01:58 PM
zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 01:56 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(dawnreaver @ Jan 13 2009, 01:52 PM)
N00B question: Is there any way to insert smilies like  laugh.gif  in a SMS?
Good question! I would like to know too icon_question.gif My old SE had that as part of the symbol set.

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 13 2009, 01:59 PM
zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 02:08 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(dawnreaver @ Jan 13 2009, 02:05 PM)
My 5610 (S40 I think) also had those.

Mebbe S60v5 in our 5800 needs an upgrade.  laugh.gif
Yeah...agreed brows.gif
zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 02:22 PM

557 posts

I've been experimenting with bluetooth file transfers and I discovered that I cannot send a very large file via bluetooth, dunno if that's a file size limit imposed or is part of the bluetooth technology limitations. At first I was thinking because I set my messages to save in the Phone Memory as normally files transferred will be notified via a message, so I set it to memory card and tried again, file failed to send. BTW file size was in excess of 500MB. Hmmmm hmm.gif

Added on January 13, 2009, 2:24 pm
QUOTE(vo0de3_x | oum@n @ Jan 13 2009, 02:19 PM)
just back from sunway pyramid nokia care center .... hopefully my earpiece no more problem @.@
Good luck, should be no problem already lah, dun worry....mine is ok since Saturday after sending in at NCC Plaza Berjaya

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 13 2009, 02:24 PM
zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 03:03 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(loumou @ Jan 13 2009, 02:58 PM)
thanks a lot~wil try it out tonight~ rclxm9.gif
You can also use this software called Media Monkey to attach album art and more to your mp3s: www.mediamonkey.com
zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 03:05 PM

557 posts

Found a useful application for our 5800, especially those frequent flyers, it's called WorldMate - has weather, currency, time and flight information if you buy the Pro license, get it here:

http://www.symbian-freak.com/downloads/fre...c/WorldMate.zip

Added on January 13, 2009, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(mrhenree @ Jan 13 2009, 03:04 PM)
huh, i rarely hear people like plastic as the material, bro.  blink.gif
Yup, me too....most people would prefer metal or leather materials for the classy feeling.

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 13 2009, 03:06 PM
zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 03:28 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 13 2009, 03:11 PM)
is it a freeware?
Free unless you need the flight information functions, other than that all else works.

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 13 2009, 03:29 PM
zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 03:34 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 13 2009, 03:31 PM)
it doesnt require keygen or whatsoever rite?

if yes, it is safe to be placed in front page then.
Yup, no need for keygen or whatsoever. Here's the original developer website homepage:
http://www.mobimate.com/

And the review article at symbianfreak:

http://www.symbian-freak.com/downloads/fre...reeware_5th.htm

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 13 2009, 03:37 PM
zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 03:48 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(leongtat @ Jan 13 2009, 03:40 PM)
use avatar sms....it is possible.
Yup I know AvatarSMS can do it but that's if the other party also has the application too right?
zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 05:20 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jan 13 2009, 04:57 PM)
H...yr phone memory is far less than 500mb..U set yr sms to save in phone memory. Sure it cannot go in. logically.

I would suggest use sync cable or card reader for this kind of task. It is more reliable and faster.
Agreed but there should not be any file size transfer limitation theoretically. If the limitation is the phone memory, then when we set message memory to the memory card, the limit should be the free space the memory card has. Unfortunately that does not work too. So it should be a system issue, maybe Nokia developers overlooked this as they do not expect people to normally transfer huge files via bluetooth. Why I tested this is in the cases where we do not have a card reader or a USB cable available, bluetooth is the only other option, therefore if it has limitations then the utility of the bluetooth is reduced.

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 13 2009, 05:37 PM
zackloy
post Jan 13 2009, 05:39 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(ho-ll @ Jan 13 2009, 05:19 PM)
Weird, mine also have no sound even tho video quality is great.. haiz.....  cry.gif
What did you do? I tried to convert MKV but no output at all.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0437sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:04 AM