Folding Bicycle like...........Dahon?, Any Idea..??? Please contribute.. Thx

H2D
post Oct 11 2011, 03:36 PM

598 posts

price wise, not so sure,
the thing is, u can't try the bikes, so...
tern is very much like the new high end dahon model, only the joint which has improved.

if u wait for tern then decide to go dahon, mebe stock habis... for dash p18 then...??
so u hv to ask the dist if they still got enuf stock, ?

hv u seen montague bikes? also can fold, but it is full size. price not cheap smile.gif

This post has been edited by H2D: Oct 11 2011, 03:42 PM
gigigaga
post Oct 11 2011, 05:01 PM

39 posts

i try montague bikes , too big for me to carry around when going abroad, and price is on the high side, my budget 2-2.5 k only.

Added on October 11, 2011, 5:11 pmH2D, how many bike do you own? how many points do you give dash p18 (10 points full ) in overall performance ?

This post has been edited by gigigaga: Oct 11 2011, 05:11 PM
H2D
post Oct 11 2011, 05:14 PM

598 posts

looks like u will use it abroad, then size n convenient is the main point.

wah i'm not expert in bikes, i only hav d dash p18 n old lerun bike.
but u can't judge it like that i think,
u wan easy fold, smaller, cheaper then hasa can do mar,
if u like the form n style, then hv to sacrifice size lor..
all depend on how u want it....

This post has been edited by H2D: Oct 11 2011, 05:17 PM
maverickzack
post Oct 13 2011, 01:00 AM

368 posts

Hi guys,

We're selling BROOKS saddles and other products at LOW Price!
We sells San Marco, Ritchey, Crank Brothers, etc..

Brooks B17 - RM330[SIZE=7]

Visit www.facebook.com/mavebikestore to view our products and prices as well!

Thank you! :-)

H2D
post Oct 13 2011, 11:34 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(etudiant @ Oct 7 2011, 10:30 PM)
Oh and recently, I saw another folding bike brand from Taiwan, called 'Orbit'. It's quite good - the workmanship, the price is reasonable, the saddle looks good, the shifter looks unique (by Shimano) and I had a test-ride with it and boy it was quite good. As a beginner, I think it's as good as Dahon.
I really need a bike (a folding one that is) as I need to commute from home to college for my lectures.

So what say you guys, should I give the Orbit bike a go, or should I just wait for Tern bikes to come..My budget is RM1k only for the bike. Hmm.

Alright, just asking to chip in your thoughts, thanks in advance! smile.gif
a member of the folding bike group just mentioned that this Orbit bike was selling at RM 500 in one of the shops,
where as the normal price in other shop is RM 800.
it comes with mudgard and rear rack. quiet well made he said, value for money as well.

He gave the direction to the bike shop,

" The shop is at Taman Sri Sinar. You can either approach from Jalan Segambut or Jalan Lang Emas. The shop is along Jalan Lang Kuning, after the Esso Station, drive straight on for about 400m. and turn left to the row of shophouses facing Jln. Lang Kuning.

The shopowner is a Chinese but it is managed by a Bangladeshi and his wife. His name is Salam. "

Economics Crisis
post Oct 14 2011, 12:01 AM

587 posts

wao nice bike gonna have 1 soon also for myself biggrin.gif
ManutdGiggs
post Oct 14 2011, 12:34 AM

13,755 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Oct 13 2011, 11:34 PM)
a member of the folding bike group just mentioned that this Orbit bike was selling at RM 500 in one of the shops,
it comes with mudgard and rear rack. quiet well made he said, value for money as well.

" The shop is at Taman Sri Sinar.  You can either approach from Jalan Segambut or Jalan Lang Emas.  The shop is along Jalan Lang Kuning, after the Esso Station, drive straight on for about 400m. and turn left to the row of shophouses facing Jln. Lang Kuning. 

The shopowner is a Chinese but it is managed by a Bangladeshi and his wife.  His name is Salam. "
Tis shop has plenty of good bicycle. Cheaper than lots a shop out there. Quality oso very good. Bot 1 few mths back. Worth for money.

Added on October 14, 2011, 12:34 am

" The shop is at Taman Sri Sinar.  You can either approach from Jalan Segambut or Jalan Lang Emas.  The shop is along Jalan Lang Kuning, after the Esso Station, drive straight on for about 400m. and turn left to the row of shophouses facing Jln. Lang Kuning. 

The shopowner is a Chinese but it is managed by a Bangladeshi and his wife.  His name is Salam. "
Tis shop has plenty of good bicycle. Cheaper than lots a shop out there. Quality oso very good. Bot 1 few mths back. Worth for money.

This post has been edited by ManutdGiggs: Oct 14 2011, 12:34 AM
faizalmzain
post Oct 14 2011, 05:57 PM

1,416 posts

do you have the name of the shop?

Added on October 15, 2011, 10:21 pm

I actually went to ths

I actually went to this shop today. They have 2 models priced rm400 and rm500. Comes with free gifts.
They also sell hummer folding mountain bike for rm1300.

However they only accept cash.

This post has been edited by faizalmzain: Oct 15 2011, 10:21 PM
lin00b
post Oct 16 2011, 06:52 PM

nobody
3,592 posts

anyone tried the lerun aeon 20" folding bike? 6 speed for rm499. Local product though, not sure on quality. also it's part of maybankard's treatpoint offer, so those who has collected a bunch of points can get it for free
H2D
post Oct 16 2011, 06:56 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 14 2011, 05:57 PM)
do you have the name of the shop?

Added on October 15, 2011, 10:21 pm
I actually went to this shop today. They have 2 models priced rm400 and rm500. Comes with free gifts.
They also sell hummer folding mountain bike for rm1300.

However they only accept cash.
did u get one?
faizalmzain
post Oct 16 2011, 07:57 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Oct 16 2011, 06:56 PM)
did u get one?
i did today.

for those interested can go to their website here http://www.2fast-4u.com/
apparently they have 3 branches.

H2D
post Oct 16 2011, 11:16 PM

598 posts

do u like the bike?

faizalmzain
post Oct 17 2011, 11:27 AM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Oct 16 2011, 11:16 PM)
do u like the bike?
first and foremost i have to admit i haven't ride a bike since i was a kid. laugh.gif
i have tried last night ride to nearby shop for dinner, so far ok but the handle feels very light. is it normal for a foldie?

no problem ride up a slope either.

This post has been edited by faizalmzain: Oct 17 2011, 11:33 AM
H2D
post Oct 17 2011, 11:35 AM

598 posts

small wheel bike is like tht, a bit twitchy , nimble , unstable if u used to ride big wheels.
lower the handle bars or raise the seat if u wana put more weight on the front.
faizalmzain
post Oct 17 2011, 11:52 AM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Oct 17 2011, 11:35 AM)
small wheel bike is like tht, a bit twitchy , nimble , unstable if u used to ride big wheels.
lower the handle bars or raise the seat if u wana put more weight on the front.
thanks for the tip.
right now i need to buy a helmet to join night ride with neighbourhood riders.
they usually ride on thursday and saturday night.

i hope their route is foldie friendly.
H2D
post Oct 17 2011, 12:00 PM

598 posts

all depends on ur leg,
yday ocbc ride even fixie can climb hill.smile.gif

This post has been edited by H2D: Oct 17 2011, 12:01 PM
dickybird
post Oct 17 2011, 03:49 PM

2,093 posts

Dahon eco C7!
gigigaga
post Oct 20 2011, 12:09 PM

39 posts

hi H2D,
i just got my dash p18 yesterday, i bought from friend bike shop,not from rodalink, i read the manual it says need to register your bike at dahon.com, i try to register but fail to enter the serial number,
Do you register your dash p18 on dahon.com?
by the way my bike shop mechanic broken the " T " tool when tighten the lockjaw hinge, just wonder why this thing happen on dahon bike, now my friend have to claim one for me instead, how about your's ?
I thought dahon will supply good quality products, what i have to say the " T "tool was rubbish.
Still haven't test run the bike yet, this few days keep raining in my area, can't wait to ride my new bike with my another new bike (hasa minimax m2) .

Added on October 20, 2011, 12:14 pmnow i have to source the folding bag for dash p18, for transport purpose on train and flight. I just bought the dahon stow bag to put my hasa minimax m2, but no luck to put the dash p18 inside the dahon stow bag. If you ever come across any good and reasonable price folding bag for dash p18, please inform me ,thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by gigigaga: Oct 20 2011, 12:14 PM
H2D
post Oct 20 2011, 12:26 PM

598 posts

hi good to hear frm u again,

yes i manage to register at dahon.com, did u manage to get the serial right?
cos it is kinda hard to make out afew numbers or alphabet.

yea i mentioned a bout the t-tool in earlier post, so ppl can be aware n not use it too much to tighten.

i already broken mine biggrin.gif n got it replaced by lerun.
the tool is made by ergologic, i emailed them to tell them that this tool is very weak at the welding joint, hope they will redesign it.

another thing i wana show about the p18 is the inner tube. wait i get the pic.....

fitting the dash p18 into a carry bag is another issue, because of the odd size..
have to find a bigger bag, not the ones for normal folding bike.

i think there are those made in china ones, which can get from taobao.com
getting it locally might be a problem.

this bike bag looks big enough, but i think it still won't fit the dash p18?

pic taken frm http://tigerkun.blogspot.com/

some bicycle carry bags on sale in rakuten.com for big wheel bikes, that i think will fit the dash p18.
there are specs n measurements below.
http://global.rakuten.com/en/store/auc-ple...5/item/db-03-1/

http://global.rakuten.com/en/store/auc-ad-...e/item/monb032/

ostrich bag
http://global.rakuten.com/en/store/bebike/item/ostrich_l100/

biologic t- tool that comes with the dahon dash p18. broken.
if you look closely, there is a manufacturing flaw.
welding is suppose to between metal and metal, but the welding on this tool is on the coating of the metal.

the schwalbe inner tube that comes with the dahon dash p18 is different than
the schwalbe tube that you purchase from bike stores, in terms of thickness.
at first i thought why is this tube so thin like a balloon??
then when i bought another new tube, the difference it obvious.

the one on the left is the original tube that comes with the dash p18.
it is very thin and easily punctured , there are already signs of crack when i fold it.

the schwalbe tube 20inch with presta valve, is rrp Rm 29 in rodalink.
you can get it for RM 21 in penang.
taiwan 20 inch tube is about Rm 15. but bike stores in klang valley will price it below RM 20.

if u like to bargain hunt and on budget, there are a lot of bicycle accessories from china that is very low priced, and " usable " ,
that you can get from taobao.com
of cos there are disadvantages of shopping in taobao.com but a lot of deals are worth it. smile.gif

This post has been edited by H2D: Oct 20 2011, 02:03 PM
gigigaga
post Oct 20 2011, 06:57 PM

39 posts

H2D,
oh man ,you really got a lot of info about dash p18, you from penang?
just too bad ,the weather in my area full of rain couple of days back, no chance to test my bike at all . do you buy anything yet from taobao ?

what cycle computer you use ? have you heard of "sunding"brand ,wireless sell for rm40, very cheap ,but no info on the quality.

About the serial number on the bike, when i try to key in the first digit number ( from 0 to 9 ) it always show error massage. i call up lerun ,they told me no need to register online.

130 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:38 AM