Well what can you say... classic scoreline...
performance well... im gonna say the whole match is downright a borefest for a neutral, a frustrating one for the fans. All those passes going now where.. we sometimes look to counter attack, only to hesitate then pass back.. then square it.. and repeat. at one point the fans don't know what to do = almost library atmosphere. Sometimes you can't blame the crowd..this was one of those, however once we started attacking the crowd got on again.
Diaby.. just kept giving the balls away, was awful really.
RvP.. what a man.. just unlucky not to cap away that fine turn with a goal.. had couple of nice moments, worked hard. The commentators mentioned RvP really working it inside the box where he suppose to be and is doing so while Ade lazily drifted out wide out of the action. when the crosses came in ... when it mattered for ade to be in the box he was outside, .. then a nice pass to him to put him 1 v 1 right infront of goal, don't even need to run just pick a spot, and he took all the time in the world, enough for the defender to come in... how was that not a goal is so baffling.. so utterly terrible.. most strikers would have put that in.. you're not playing golf are you ade? (checks wind, looks at the ground, checks angle, plays with the rabbits..)
Bendtner, came on almost scored with his 1st touch in just 2 secs, then proceeded to give away the ball to breakdown our own attacks couple of times but got the goal that mattered, not many goals from him, but like gallas, th goals came when it mattered. Good for him to score, now stop being so shite and get back to your "potential" position again =P
Denilson, tried to play the killer pass, some with success, tried to make things work, harried around, was there to put off the bolton player enough to fire a tame shot at almunia at the end. worked hard, getting more consistent and playing decently.
Vela, again came on and his nature of taking ppl on directly helped us and "inspired" the other players if you will.. this guy should be theo's substitute while he's out now...
defense... i'll address as a whole, decent, solid, uninspiring full backs.. bolton never really came out to attack us and still managed a couple of dangerous chances.. if this was say aston villa flying out to attack us we would never come out of this with a clean sheet. defense is still a worry although toure got a nice run out, drove forward and almost scored a nice goal from one of his favourite long shots. We really lack the energy, confidence and creativity.. it was really dour really.. If confidence is the key , perhaps a new excitement of the signing may help. I think the team is also too comfortable.. i fear the slip into complacency... thankfully we still got the result today which keeps us in check.. liverpool drew meant we're back to the pre-christmas period gap.. slowly but surely.. aston villa really building on their run now..
I hope we can win convincingly even if we're away to hull.. we owe them a performance to blow them away.. liverpool soon will meet a run of interesting games with everton followed by a few more tricky fixtures, man utd's fitness levels look about the same as us even though they havent played 3 more games (as they played world club championship) this 3 extra games although in hand may come back to haunt them and we may see SAF complain about fixutures etc again.. chelsea too have some tricky games although for us, our string of tough games lies at the end of the season.. we should start building up a run now, and i hope we can start by winning convincingly away at hull next weekend, then we'll take it from there.. the lads so badly need their confidence.. it's a vicious cycle.. you need confidence to win but u need to win to get confidence.. that's where we're hanging by the moment by winning ugly, surviving injuries, hopefully signings can improve the situation.. and i hope AW settles this part right this window..
thanks for the 3 pts bolton, oh, don't forget to take the teambus with you when u get off the pitch! (although we're not helping by playing square passed going nowhere.. like i mentioned earlier.. an early goal would have opened up the game more.. but perhaps with our defense.. it may have prolly been best to nick a goal like this -pun intended- at death hehe)
Added on January 11, 2009, 7:14 amQUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jan 11 2009, 01:03 AM)
Well considering that they didn't come to play football and allowed us the ball but not the access to goal; it's expected for us to have the majority of possession.
I truly hate teams who don't even try to play football... they might as well just form a wall in front of the goal with 10 men plus the keeper, stand there for 90 minutes... like that we surely cannot score also... sibeh dulan.
Hurrah for St.Nick... Maybe he shouldn't start anymore games but come on as super duper sub to score the winners.
To be honest, there's nothing they could do really.. it had to be their game plan.. they were hit so bad their bench had only 3 players. they were stretch.. although i don't expect teams to roll over to let us win, bolton were horrible and barely could string 3 passes.. with that in mind.. we should have been able to take them apart even if they sat back.. we were equally poor in the attacking/creative department as well lets admit.. if we had meet aston villa again today we may have lost again even if they gave us space.. perhaps in perspective.. giving the defense (ours) room to breathe and nicking a goal at the end would be good. See how bolton tried to get us after the goal that almost lead to the equaliser? (granted we also then had more chances after.. but we could have easily conceded just as easily as we could have scored another tho.. )
This post has been edited by chronic_blade: Jan 11 2009, 07:14 AM