HP Mini-note 2140, Atomic Computing

paskal
post Jan 6 2009, 04:31 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(rapeace @ Jan 6 2009, 04:07 PM)
I sincerely think is a waste of your money !!! You can easily get a compaq laptop with intel core duo at RM1900 then spending RM1400 on small screen and slow proccesing
yeah, and i find that i oftenly wanna leave my laptop at home when i travel just because that brick is a pain to carry. rclxub.gif

when you travel a lot, a 2kg brick laptop weights more like 10kg. and a 1kg lappy weights like 100g.
not everyone needs a large screen a high performance GC. because not everyone game on their lappy.

Added on January 6, 2009, 4:35 pm
QUOTE(Voxe @ Jan 6 2009, 04:21 PM)
Its all about the portability, my friend.How about those guys who bought the ASUS N10J-A1 netbook for RM2700 for the 9600GT card in it? That's even more insane. This is just bordering it.
the Asus N10J is my first choice if it weren't for the weight. it's a wee bit more than 1.5kg and goes over 1.6kg with the adapter and mouse and yada yada.
this new Mini 2140 is perfect (or near perfect) for me. need to know if there's 6 cell available for it. hopefully won't be as heavy as the N10J.

This post has been edited by paskal: Jan 6 2009, 04:35 PM
paskal
post Jan 6 2009, 04:42 PM

2,801 posts

the official HP site for the Mini 2140

looks very nice. thumbup.gif
paskal
post Jan 6 2009, 05:11 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(UnUsUaL @ Jan 6 2009, 05:00 PM)
Hope it will be here soon, i'm sold for this baby  laugh.gif
LoL
this baby trumps everything including the NC10. rclxms.gif
paskal
post Jan 6 2009, 05:28 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(UnUsUaL @ Jan 6 2009, 05:20 PM)
Wait a minute, no BT module?

Added on January 6, 2009, 5:22 pmMy bad, Bluetooth 2.0 is optional.

you use BT a lot? i don't. heck i've never used BT for anything. it only sucks battery in my laptop. laugh.gif
i've once tried BT wireless mouse. my butt-o-meter says it sucks battery faster. so switched to normal RF wireless mouse and lose one usb port. never used the BT for anything ever again. biggrin.gif
paskal
post Jan 6 2009, 08:51 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Enigmare @ Jan 6 2009, 05:39 PM)
You're not insane enough... I spent 7k to buy a Lenovo UMPC, the Ideapad U110... Though it doesn't run on Atom (it runs on Intel Core 2 @ 1.60GHz)...
you guys are not insane. you guys are just.. erm.... rich.
tongue.gif
paskal
post Jan 7 2009, 01:12 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Enigmare @ Jan 7 2009, 08:35 AM)
Lawl, newer and better stuff are bound to be released into the market... After you buy this mininote, the next one's gonna tempt you, and that's within 6-9months...
with the current technology? i don't think a better replacement would come that fast.
there's a benchmark that i've read somewhere putting the new dual core atom (4 virtual cores with HT) against this N270 single core atom (2 virtual core with HT). not much performance increase with 25% less battery time. even intel admitted for people to expect that it sucks 25% more battery. and the new dual core atom losses in office benchmark.

the newer N530 uses max 2W of power. N270 uses max 2.5W. the newer Poulsbo US15W chipset (that does HD decoding on chip) doesn't support 2GB ram and is limited to PATA interface.

so something better than a magnesium alloy cased 2140 with 16:9 wider screen? could be. definitely. but not with the upcoming models that i've read about.
paskal
post Jan 8 2009, 08:54 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(shadiee @ Jan 8 2009, 02:07 PM)
Sony Vaio P Series also looking good

8 inch 1600x768 screen
1.33GHz Z530 Intel Atom Z520
2GB RAM
60GB (standard), 64GB and 128GB SSD options
802.11n Wi-Fi, GPS, and Bluetooth
2 USB ports, headphone,
included dongle adds connectivity for VGA,
Ethernet, and additional USB
SD, MS, webcam
4 hours with standard battery, 8 with high cap
9.6 x 4.7 x 0.78 inches ( 243 x 120 x 20mm )
1.4 pounds ( 635g )
Starting at $899

more

more
high resolution on an 8" screen. sweat.gif
10" is the bare minimum that my eyes could accept. and since i really need to type on the netbook, the keyboard and key location has utmost importance.

Added on January 8, 2009, 9:00 pm
QUOTE(Enigmare @ Jan 8 2009, 05:09 PM)
And for reliability and customer service, I'll still stick with the HP Mininote rather than the Vaio... Lawl...
reliability? against the sony? i wouldn't really put 'HP' and 'reliability' together in the same word. 'reliability' of the new HP business laptop is somewhat degrading.

experienced it first hand with 3 of my HP 'business' laptop. maybe it's just me, but guess my friends also got unlucky too. blush.gif

This post has been edited by paskal: Jan 8 2009, 09:00 PM
paskal
post Jan 8 2009, 11:31 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(dawn152 @ Jan 8 2009, 10:50 PM)
ETA: from pics of the mininote, i can only see one audio jack. so i suppose line in & out will be shared. and the silver body & keyboard with black display is very similar to apple's new aluminium body macs. i like biggrin.gif. seriously can i have one NOW?
i'm sure i've seen separate line in and outs on the 2140. er yup, it does have a headphone jack and a mic jack.
paskal
post Jan 16 2009, 04:51 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Jan 16 2009, 03:31 PM)
wow..2 months ago?? how much u sold? i thought it only officially out this month? how do u get the stock then?
i'm sure he's referring to the Mini 2133
paskal
post Jan 22 2009, 02:10 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(usermail @ Jan 21 2009, 09:20 AM)
that's quite reasonable. considering that other netbooks are also retailing at around $450-ish.
the $499 comes with 3 cells. $529 for the 6 cells. RM1999 when it comes here?
paskal
post Feb 10 2009, 08:13 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(mfa97 @ Feb 10 2009, 08:04 AM)
Yes, it's the same size.. you may refer to this site for photo comparison http://www.hp2133guide.com/hp-2140-and-2133-comparison-pics/

There another better site comparing these 2 with detailed description, but I could manage to recall what site it was.
wow both are using the same case. even the battery is interchangeable. wub.gif
paskal
post Feb 11 2009, 01:23 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(samngcheesan @ Feb 11 2009, 12:07 PM)
wow if is the same price , i think is better to get the 2140 rite ....
ditto. i'm guessing it won't be at the same price as the Mini 1000.
paskal
post Feb 15 2009, 08:04 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(mfa97 @ Feb 15 2009, 04:04 PM)
Ahaa.. found the site with HP 2133 and 2140 compared side-by-side which I've mentioned http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles/view.php?cid=14&id=2791  smile.gif

Still no news on its availability in Malaysia for the past week.. bought my flight tickets and accommodation to the upcoming Singapore PC Show 09.. one way or another.. will get this netbook  rclxub.gif  hahaha  biggrin.gif
not feeling nice to do some bulk charity for the good of mankind? tongue.gif
paskal
post Mar 3 2009, 06:30 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Mar 3 2009, 06:07 PM)
ah..thanks! Means 1 more month to go. Will start eating bread now. Drink less starbucks/coffeebean. Each McDonald's for lunch RM5.95.
auww you would do all of that for the 2140?
very touching.. tongue.gif
paskal
post Mar 15 2009, 03:03 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Enigmare @ Mar 15 2009, 04:33 AM)
laugh.gif But then again, the new 2140 is kinda "boring" in pattern-less silver and black, don't u think so?? huh.gif
does it look so different? i thought the casing is the same or nearly the same, no?
my eyes can't differentiate any visible difference from comparison pics between the 2133 and 2140 on the net. have you even seen the 2140?
paskal
post Mar 15 2009, 11:28 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ Mar 15 2009, 11:07 PM)
2133 got imprint meh? 2133 looks exactly like 2140 except the speaker grill le or do u mean mini1000?
that's why i just don't get it. the mini 1000 has the fancy design. the 2133 has the ever boring dull brushed aluminium. and the 2140 follows the same boring dull no fancy looking brushed aluminium.

i can't see any imprint on the 2133. same ol dull brushed alu
paskal
post Mar 16 2009, 12:58 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Enigmare @ Mar 16 2009, 12:04 AM)
But is the gap between the specs huge for both though??
i guess you don't even care to find the specs for both and compare, right?
because imprint fancy design == good.
brushed alu, alu construction == not good.

if only the mini 1000 comes with the same 1.6 ghz proc and ram as in the 2140...
paskal
post Mar 16 2009, 12:49 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ Mar 16 2009, 02:15 AM)
diff is mini1000 uses 1.8" hdd and 2140 uses 2.5" hdd.. 2.5"? 500gb?
if only the mini1000 comes with the same spec as the 2140. like 1.6ghz atom proc. 1gb ram...
paskal
post Mar 24 2009, 01:44 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Mar 23 2009, 09:53 PM)
any 'proof' for the HP2140 model the one Ambank is offering?

i.e any pamphlet or brochure?
here you go.
paskal
post Apr 5 2009, 10:29 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Apr 5 2009, 12:08 PM)
can play dota on this lappy?
AFAIK, netbooks running with 1.6GHz Atom and 1GB RAM has no problem running DOTA.
i've read about it quite a lot in netbook reviews for different models all across the net

0.0387sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:08 AM