5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Life Sciences [List] Private Medical Universities in Malaysia, *MD / MBBS / MBBChBAO (Update-17/11/14)*

cckkpr
post Mar 11 2011, 09:46 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 11 2011, 09:20 AM)
i wonder if they are not jumping from the frying pan into the fire...........

i have doubts about this noc (didn't seem to work before), and doubts about the fairness of this exam.....

will it be another clp?.........
I have my doubts on the transparency part as well. I think the NOC will be given based on the existing list of med colleges as approved; all others will be on a case by case basis ( who you know and...! ).

The sad thing would be more parents will enrol their children into dubious medical colleges overseas and when they graduate and did not make it in the competency exams will swear and curse at the gomen for putting them heavily in debt.

The local medical colleges will be the biggest beneficiary of this new change as they are not subjected to the competency exam.

Note that Perdana University has an agreement with the gomen to take up at least half of the available seats with JPA scholars AND AT DISCOUNTED RATES. Is this really what John Hopkins is about?
cckkpr
post Mar 11 2011, 10:47 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 11 2011, 10:20 AM)
it will not be a viable project without some taxpayers money........

many of the mushrooming nursing colleges exist purely because of gov. funding of students to these places....

based on yesterday's press, at 1mil for jh 4 year graduate course, and 800k for rcsi 5 year undergraduate course, wholly in msia, i see few local private takers......and fewer foreigners.....

for that kind of money, just go direct to these countries.....or imu-pms......

unless, it is easy go get entry.......which will make a mockery of all the stated vows of high standards by jh......but i suspect it will happen, just as it did for monash msia......the cut off intake is significantly LOWER than monash clayton......

the recognition of these degrees by the parent country, and elsewhere remains unknown......but following current trends, likely NOT recognised by most countries.....including Spore.....

end of the day, it's businessman trying to make money......at the expense of the medical profession, and healthcare system......

i have doubts if this project will even take off....
They are starting the first intake in Sept of this year in some refurbished lots.
cckkpr
post Mar 11 2011, 11:05 AM

4,518 posts

The runners need the cash promises asap. With the low-cost structure currently adopted, not wrong to assume that any excess of fees over what is charged by IMU/Monash will have to go to the runners.

They do not want to be caught in another "crooked" fiasco!
cckkpr
post Mar 11 2011, 02:46 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 11 2011, 12:28 PM)
I guess pharmacist will play a big role in clearing up the mess caused by the incompetent graduates from these places. Especially checking drug usage and dosage wise...........
When a pharmacist asked me to reconfirm the prescription with the Specialist, the Specialist told me to tell the Pharmacist to "Shut Up" and just follow what is written.

I walk back and told the Pharmacist, "The Doctor said it is correct."

I am a poor messenger and cant even convey a "clear message"!

Sometimes.......
cckkpr
post Apr 3 2011, 08:33 PM

4,518 posts

Some unexpected but welcomed windfall for some medical colleges.
cckkpr
post Apr 8 2011, 11:30 AM

4,518 posts

Alliance sure will appreciate the windfall.

Dont worry, if you believe Dr. Zainudddin " Our medical graduates are comparable with other world class universities.....". Maybe in terms of physical height or size!
cckkpr
post Apr 25 2011, 05:45 PM

4,518 posts

I dont see graduates from critical courses becoming jobless whether now or in the near future unless what you learn dont even meet the basic requirements to do a competent job.

There are always job openings for competent professionals.
cckkpr
post May 21 2011, 02:21 PM

4,518 posts

The other 25 students could come from Mara sponsored and other GLCs sponsored. Why should students from Middle East and India come to this uni? If they wanted John Hopkins, they would have opt for the genuine one and not this fake duplicate!
cckkpr
post May 21 2011, 03:57 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(dentalfloss @ May 21 2011, 03:26 PM)
cckpr:GLC stands for what?
Government Linked Companies like Tenaga, Telekom, Maybank, CIMB etc
cckkpr
post May 31 2011, 10:49 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(haya @ May 27 2011, 07:17 AM)
I find it VERY disturbing that people who can't understand the simple idea of a 5 year freeze on the establishment of new medical schools wanting to be a medical student.

Its not rocket science, and the media coverage on it has been quite clear. Yet the number of posts by people who go "what does 5 years medical course freeze means"  in this subforum makes me worry how low can we go.
There is also no increase in the number of medical seats currently allocated to the respective universities locally for the said period. Of course, this can be change depending on the winds of change!
cckkpr
post May 31 2011, 02:29 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ May 31 2011, 12:37 PM)
I know Taylor's only have 21 for their current batch.
It seems that the previous batch only has ONE student left! Dont know whether this is true. I thought Taylors's own degree started only this year.
cckkpr
post Jul 6 2011, 02:48 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jul 3 2011, 11:57 AM)
http://thestar.com.my/education/story.asp?...1&sec=education
... but for RM1,000,000.... i think they should do it elsewhere or just join the normal 5-years undergraduate program locally...
....... a Malaysian University....NOT a branch campus.......no need all As......flexible on requirements rclxub.gif

Added on July 6, 2011, 2:49 pm
QUOTE(Syd G @ Jul 6 2011, 10:29 AM)
The tribe tribunal has spoken:
http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles...M25_000/Article

More legal suits to follow for those who were denied places and taken for a ride.

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Jul 6 2011, 02:49 PM
cckkpr
post Sep 18 2011, 01:12 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Sep 18 2011, 10:17 AM)
News about Perdana University.
Damn... 30years old?... they start their graduate-entry medical program waaaay older than I did...  laugh.gif
But.. for RM 1 million...?
Surely make your day! Most are older than you, I think and also believe that this pioneer batch are all sponsored.
cckkpr
post Jan 1 2012, 07:31 PM

4,518 posts

The last to start business is Lincoln. Hope Abraham can guide them to the true path!
cckkpr
post Jan 1 2012, 09:15 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jan 1 2012, 08:14 PM)
Aaa... I now noticed that...

http://www.lincoln.edu.my/programmes-a-courses.html

... anymore 'post-freeze' medical colleges?

Added on January 1, 2012, 8:20 pm"Our graduates also know how to handle certain cases based on the experiences in clinical phase which are conducted for three years in Government Hospital in Sabah (Lahad Datu, Tawau, Semporna)" - Lincoln college

aaarr....???

the right way to treat pendatangs and be multilingual

cckkpr
post Jan 1 2012, 09:58 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 1 2012, 09:49 PM)
that is only because that's the minimum required by mmc....

they will be hard pressed to find students, and would prefer if the cut off is lower....more chances of finding well off parents with mediocre offsprings they envision becoming rich doctors...after all, mahsa had a head start with taking in ccc's....before mmc come and spoil the game....
Foundation is the solution and gives an early bite at the cherry.
cckkpr
post Jan 4 2012, 09:22 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jan 4 2012, 09:12 AM)
4th Jan 2012 - Update - Lincoln University College medical program added and info about Insaniah University College medical program edited (no more Yemen twinning listed in their website)

- KPJ medical school, once established, will also be added to this list~

Any useful info do add~

Thank You~

Is there a KPJ med school? I thought all licences given out are up and running.
cckkpr
post Jan 4 2012, 09:34 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jan 4 2012, 09:24 AM)
I Quote:

"KPJ has also received approval from the MOHE to establish a medical school offering Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) which it aims to start by September 2012."
- Source (below)

http://www.kpjhealth.com.my/news-detail.php?id=296

cckkpr
post Jan 4 2012, 06:50 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(cloud_nine @ Jan 4 2012, 06:23 PM)
Hey, dudes. Try UCSI University medical course lar. I think is around RM250K plus plus, but I heard that there is limited seats and they only take the cream of the cream. JPA recognise their medical course as well. Check it out la.
Cream of what cream? You are sure?
cckkpr
post Jan 6 2012, 09:25 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jan 5 2012, 10:11 PM)
Nursing and other allied health science courses are even more numerous...

If I were to list every single IPTS with a nursing course in Malaysia, I'd probably come up with at least 30 IPTS...

Too bad Ismail Merican no longer DG of Health...
Ismail Merican is in Mahsa. Let's see what changes he will bring to Mahsa and set a higher standard for other IPTS to follow.

Alliance is blowing a lot of hot air and doing massive advertising BUT it seems that only a certain community makes up the enrolment.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0401sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:08 AM