saikomatic
post May 24 2009, 03:13 PM

66 posts

hi everyone..

just want to ask u guys...

ALAM is haunted...

is that true?..heard from seniors before..

well u see the location of ALAM itself...

at the right and left side of ALAM is graveyard...and at the back is only sea.

anyhow for the new comers just get prepared by mental, physical and spiritually..

unexplainable supernatural welcomes you...

saikomatic
post May 24 2009, 04:16 PM

66 posts

hey sacai...

u seems dun believe it at all...

theres a case a cadet talk nonsense being slapped by them...

and being sent off half way of program due to unconsciousness...

such many creepy things happen there.

so then its up to u then..hope u will try to challenge them once you reach there...

good luck dude...

saikomatic
post May 24 2009, 04:59 PM

66 posts

hi vinothen...

im the former ALAM student.... i have studied few months there for bridging course..even in a short time, lots of things happen dude..cant imagine stay there for 3 years..

my advice once you reach there please careful for what u guys say and behaved well..be strong and enjoy of the tiredness and tremendous packed schedule..that's what we called cadets life..

saikomatic
post May 24 2009, 08:50 PM

66 posts

depends dude...better get one...
saikomatic
post May 24 2009, 08:53 PM

66 posts

so when u guys goin to report in?

Added on May 24, 2009, 8:59 pm
QUOTE(vinothen @ May 24 2009, 08:50 PM)
huh?
omg...okk...

Added on May 24, 2009, 8:51 pmi'm going to terengganu...not melaka...which one is haunted?
only in malacca...terengganu clear

This post has been edited by saikomatic: May 24 2009, 08:59 PM
saikomatic
post May 24 2009, 09:08 PM

66 posts

erm..maybe in end of june after gone thru med-check...

after completing dis course...u goin to b rich my man...

saikomatic
post May 24 2009, 09:14 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(vinothen @ May 24 2009, 09:00 PM)
lol...i am doing DME ...so terengganu...
but induction is in melaka....

Added on May 24, 2009, 9:00 pmi am not sure when reporting in...

Added on May 24, 2009, 9:02 pmi want to ask whether they teach us to swim..because i can't swim...so shy...!!!
first they ll forced u to b independent..ask u guys to swim from the start to the end of lane 15ft..
scarey huh?

myb later on they also throw you in the sea and ask u to swim back...

saikomatic
post May 29 2009, 06:40 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(vinothen @ May 29 2009, 01:57 PM)
no...only medical i guess...because we are suppose to wear tie...and i don't think that we have to to do 50 pumping....lol biggrin.gif
The pjysical test only started when u reach ALAM... cool2.gif

you have to pass this test :

+run/jog for 2.5km in below 12minutes duration. sweat.gif

+ pumping 40 times in 2minutes. sweat.gif

+sit - up 40times in 2minutes(im forgotten for dis) sweat.gif

so feel free to exercise from now...

all the best! thumbup.gif
saikomatic
post May 31 2009, 08:40 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(madfella @ May 31 2009, 04:29 PM)
Hey destroyer and everyone.. I wanna ask u la.. I was selected to the interview and did quite well..
But, i haven,t received any call from ALAM yet.. Am i rejected??? My academic and sports are well but WHY i am not selected? I scored 8A 2B in my SPM and state athletic as well..
PLEASE!! Help me list any other company which are sponsoring sea cadet and is there any other marine ins other than alam,sma,puo????.. I really want to be a seaman!
GOD HELP ME

Added on May 31, 2009, 4:32 pmi am willing to be a seafarer.. hey how much is the cost if i selfpaid and study at ALAM?? and Am i dijamin a work??
thank a lot.........................................................
kindly refer to this link..

http://www.reti.edu.my/

it might be helpful... icon_rolleyes.gif
saikomatic
post Jun 1 2009, 06:16 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(madfella @ Jun 1 2009, 05:57 PM)
yeah oredi vinothen.. but i failed!! Arghh!! i,m 18 tis year..spm 2008.
yeah no other choice la..maybe the ranaco group can help me...
hey, is DIP IN MARINE TECH ENG same as the alam?? Am i able to be a seafarer..
thanks destroyer, saikomatic and sudubengkok 4 your moral support!!
Thanks............................
at the same time stay alert for the 2nd intake..
theres always numbers of chosen candidates reject this offer..
try to call the ALAM management ask them when is the 2nd intake schedule.

and you really keen to pursue this program, try a follow up call to misc or alaml and ask for your application status.

all the best! thumbup.gif

saikomatic
post Jun 1 2009, 06:56 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(madfella @ Jun 1 2009, 06:24 PM)
Hey, why the diploma in marine tech eng at ranaco is very cheap?? only rm 15000.. can any1 tell me why this is much differ compared to at alam??

Added on June 1, 2009, 6:26 pm

thanks you saikomatic..
btw, r u alam student too?? how is the lyfe there?
maybe halfly sponsored by gov.
im not sure whether ranaco will provide job soon after you finish ur dip,but before this they setup an job open interview for electrical dip for polytechnics student nearby..
work as techician onboard with salary of 1400USD

you can try to prepare some question and call them up.
and for PUO marine student, they r facing practical onboard because no ship to sign on/attached..only TLDM,dun go there
u still have chances since u r only 18th,the age limit for being cadets is 23..5 tries to go..
so relax and just take a short cert part time course if i were you..enjoy life before being a cadet.. icon_rolleyes.gif

saikomatic
post Jun 4 2009, 01:49 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Midnightjive @ Jun 4 2009, 01:01 PM)
Think if i had a choice i would have paid for it myself. Regarding training wise, MISC is really good. They pay for everything, but then they own your sorry little ass for a long long time. However I broke my contract and left, now i'm in a legal jumble with them. But the money you earn elsewhere is good.

MISC will pay for everything, from your clothes to the food you eat. But the first few years you'll suffer. Not to mention sail and sail for a long long time. But the good thing is by the time you get back for your second round of studies, you'll be getting about 5 -7 k and they'll pay for your education for a year.

Then again if you continue in MISC, its not too bad. Easy life, easy work. Join other companies, they make you work until every penny you earn is worth it!

MISC -- Junior grads, 3rd officer to 2n officer... Start 3.5k - 7k a month.
Senior officer-- Chief Officer and Captains... Start 9k - 15k a month.
Don't be fooled by ppl qouting their salary to be more, cause they usually include leave pay. So basically thats what you earn monthly in a year.
You sail 6 months and 2 months holiday as a junior. Senior 4 months 3 month holidays.

Foreign companies
Depends how well you negotiate and what type of vessel you are from
(LNG pays the highest so far)
for instance Juniors get about 7k -9k (4 months work, 2 months holiday, year long salary)
Seniors 18 -24k (3 months work, 3 months holiday, year long salary)

And yes, you don't need to pay tax

Race isn't an issue. The problem is qualifications. Supply and demand in the industry.

If you're a Deck Cadet and want  quick money, Start researching how to get into the DP line, Dynamic Positioning. Hard life, but if you manage to get in. hmmmm lets just say in three year you'll be earning 200 - 700 us dollars a day. However most of this ships are very hard to get into and you might not get a chance to become a Captain. Some companies in malaysia that does DP, Sapuracrest, Offshore works and Petra perdana.

Take time to google like you're searching for a Job when you've graduated. Roughly you can figure out howmuch you are worth!
(i should have done this before i join, i'd know where to go and what to do !)

Some other options for you fresh school guys that are looking for good money in the offshore industry:
Remote Operation Vehicle (ROV) operator
Life support officer - these are the guys that mix the air for deep sea divers
Any jobs in the oil rig is extremely well paid.
Some ROV operator and LSO i've meet are paid about 40 - 50 k a month (with leave pay included )

Which means 20 -25k a month.

don't ask me how, google it , and research! lolz i'd never know where they got their training from.

rclxub.gif The sea life is hard, but I live a comfortable life, i've two cars , two condos, i buy all the latest gadgets i want and crave for..
I go for really long holidays. And still my bank acount is always in the 5 digits.

Basically , everyone i know back in school, (minus the rich brats) I probably earn more then them. Not bad for someone who started off with nothing in his pockets. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on June 4, 2009, 1:03 pmMISC and AET are the same company. Just different Trading name.

PETRONAS OWNS MISC AND AET!
hi bro,
thanks for the info,

i just wondering is the O&G shipping industries really effected by the global downturn, means maybe for decreasing demand and supply of gas, cos what i herad misc is cutting cost nowdays..and how about the future of this career filed in 20-30 years ahead?

saikomatic
post Jun 8 2009, 06:45 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Midnightjive @ Jun 5 2009, 06:04 AM)
I work for Maersk  thumbup.gif

vmad.gif Just for your info i never wanted to leave MISC, until they threaten me. I was onboard for 8 months ( c/o no shore leave) Imagine 8 months at sea, nvr touch land, and then after 1 week vacation they ask me to join the ship again. I refused. Second week, they tried again, threaten me on the phone. 3rd week they sent a letter, if i do not join the vessel, my salary will be stopped. (just remember, when you join MISC as a 3rd mate or junior engineer, they'll make you sign another contract, the terms and condition states , although you have leave days left, they can call you anytime, or else it'll be breach of services) Therefore, i went to the office the next day and tendered my resignation. Still they have the guts to threaten me, i'll be brought to court. When i didn't back down, they started offering more money, wanted to slow talk, etc. Its very hard to leave a company, first of all whether you have to guts or not.

I do not believe in a company that treats they staff inhumanly. Thats my opionion. shakehead.gif

When i first started to apply to other companies, i realize how in demand we actually are. I've got offers from Teekay, Shell and MOL. However i choose Maersk cause i wanted to see how the largest shipping company in the world operates.

By the way, to all you junior officers, either you leave early or leave when you got your Master/ C/E licence. I got my Masters when i was 27. Now I'm taking a MBA programme in the UK end of this year. But whatever it is, leave with dignity. Pay your dues. Don't just run away.

MISC & AET, easy life but lower pay. Foreign company, plenty work but higher pay, less ppl. But better welfare and they treat you like a human being in other companies. (I've got broadband internet, satellite tv, free phone calls, etc... don't worry you won't see this in MISC/AET)

the problem with DP isn't the course, its whether a company will give you a training berth to do DP. Don't forget on these small specialize ships, there are about 100 ppl and compared to a usual vessel (20 -25 on foreign ships , 40 for MISC since they got so many ppl!). Every available cabin space on the ship is utilize for other personnel (diver, ROV, suryeyors, geologist etc) therefore to give you training is the last thing they want to do. They rather pay someone more from another company.
MISC is not a good i agree, well bro the only great obstacles for us just only the food issue, i think that's why most of us still stick to local co whereas the foreign wont provide any so called halal food...i bat no one going to work for MISC if all of the foreign supply halal food lol.. tongue.gif

saikomatic
post Jun 11 2009, 08:11 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(madfella @ Jun 11 2009, 06:54 PM)
i din make it bigguy..haha..
but, m consired to join sma...maybe la..
i sent the application form already...
waiting for their call.........
How about u big guy??????

Added on June 11, 2009, 6:54 pmhey, any1 failed the medical checkup?? juz wondering
hey..let us share about the medical check experience..i heard lately MISC revised the checking procedure to have the cadets totally naked in front of panel doc and nurse.. hmm.gif

is it true? those hv been thru the med check can share what their checking...

is it like proton company method where they ask u wear underwear and jump?
heard this from my fren la...
saikomatic
post Jun 12 2009, 06:57 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(thermo_reseat @ Jun 12 2009, 03:52 AM)
u want fully naked also can d

but basically, u can still wear underwear ...during the physical checkup the doc would check ur body fully by using hands pressing/touching against ur body parts(while the candidate is laying down on a sofa/bed)...including ur cock and testis lor...lucky he dident check anus lol

the rest is casual procedure..like urine, blood, alcohol test.
so this afternoon, i gonna call aet, see if all right or got anything wrong

so if everything okay, im goin to alam lor...

eh, when I come to ALAM, in melacca and terenganu ...remember be fren with me ah... biggrin.gif

and I heard the HR captain said, who is performing well can be sent to US for degree course lor...very interesting  drool.gif
thanks thermo, but can u explain in details how they check the cock and testis..erm what is the motive is it they want to make sure all the cadets free from siflis? confuse lol rclxub.gif
saikomatic
post Jun 13 2009, 07:02 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(vinothen @ Jun 13 2009, 06:34 PM)
that's a good info...thx...
but destroyer say no wireless? how do we access internet? cc?

Added on June 13, 2009, 6:39 pm
for nautical yes...due to the glasses...but marine engineering less...

Added on June 13, 2009, 6:41 pm
there was no such thing...!!!

Added on June 13, 2009, 6:43 pm
huh? misc did not do that..?
maybe for aet larr...

Added on June 13, 2009, 6:46 pm
the manager told us this. before explaining the contract.
hi vinothen, did u gone thru the medical checkup?
quite confusing is there any above med checking procedure?
saikomatic
post Jun 13 2009, 07:49 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(vinothen @ Jun 13 2009, 07:07 PM)
no larr...i did not go through that test...
i sms u all the test i went what...

Added on June 13, 2009, 7:08 pm
what method? like do they provide direct line or do we need to buy the celcom usb modem??
oh i see..maybe its only for MISC...

celcom got promotion until end of june...
rm100 starter for celcom broadband until rm50/mth until 2 years..
but only for gov servant name la...
any of ur family gov servant..use their name to register..

rm299 for starter and rm68/mth until 2 years <-normal rate..

both same speed
more info try call celcom center.. thumbup.gif
saikomatic
post Jun 13 2009, 08:29 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(vinothen @ Jun 13 2009, 08:06 PM)
yup...worth to subcribe..2 in 1..
saikomatic
post Jun 15 2009, 09:07 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Jun 15 2009, 09:00 PM)
computer in RC are stricted for study purpose only. internet also very2 damn slow.

math is more about integration(sem2) and differentiation(sem 1)
hi destroyer,

have u seen any bridging program student at ur campus lately?....
hmm.gif

This post has been edited by saikomatic: Jun 15 2009, 09:08 PM
saikomatic
post Jun 19 2009, 10:54 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(vinothen @ Jun 19 2009, 09:13 PM)
who is going to ALAM terengganu? DME
vinothen
thermo_reseat
D@I
anyone else?
guys be prepare for the marching and physical session...weather very hot nowdays huh...

Added on June 19, 2009, 11:02 pm
QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Jun 19 2009, 09:34 PM)
I got Nautical Science & Maritime Transportation @ UMT, Terengganu biggrin.gif

But i have no idea how do i start my career... Anybody ?
hi..
you will be working in management line...not for seastaff..
mostly they will hire hawt chicks for this position..
try misc logistic..there are searching for management traniees..
if u r hawt definately they ll take you in... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by saikomatic: Jun 19 2009, 11:02 PM

0.0542sec    1.05    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:08 AM