Begin Your Career As A SEAFARER, Marine Engineering, Nautical Studies,etc

saikomatic
post Apr 1 2010, 11:56 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(pd_zul @ Apr 1 2010, 11:49 PM)
lol..now im confuse .. nak terime or not..haih...confuse2
you can search for group domain I LOVE SEA STAFF n SEA STAFF ONLY in facebook and browse...u can see how the current situation and in MISC..maybe can make u decide
saikomatic
post Apr 2 2010, 12:00 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(pd_zul @ Apr 1 2010, 11:57 PM)
owh tq saikomatic...btw r u study in ALAM?
i hv been there for 6th month...bridging program only...
saikomatic
post Apr 2 2010, 12:06 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(pd_zul @ Apr 2 2010, 12:02 AM)
owh now u already sail?.
already done 2 ship,waiting for my third ship...still new,1year +
saikomatic
post Apr 2 2010, 12:17 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(pd_zul @ Apr 2 2010, 12:11 AM)
so u r under wat company?..wah..so many people fuc*ed MISC worh...
the management la problem...i also plan to leave...another 1 year+ contract...soon they hiring foreigner like what they did with AET....majority from indian country..
saikomatic
post Apr 2 2010, 12:31 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(pd_zul @ Apr 2 2010, 12:24 AM)
ooo what problem with their management?..so u will transfer to which company?
they dont bother/take care much for their sea going staff...plan to quit after contract and try secure a job platform/onshore..

your contract is 10 years right?such a long time...
saikomatic
post Apr 2 2010, 12:39 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(pd_zul @ Apr 2 2010, 12:33 AM)
hurm..5 year after get coc class 1..i dun understand...haha..but 10 years..so long la..-.-..haih..kene fikir betol2..haih..
u can ask the seniors before decide..still have time to think..dun worry..anyway congrates
saikomatic
post Apr 2 2010, 10:06 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(alibabaa @ Apr 2 2010, 12:59 AM)
is it MISC only??hOw bOut AET??
AET belongs to MISC...the management concept is same..if u you got sponsored by AET, then u need to prepare urself working with foreigner mostly from india...all the malaysian otai2 seniors trying to secure a place in MISC...MISC mostly malaysian a number of Filipinos and indonesian
saikomatic
post Apr 2 2010, 06:10 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(pd_zul @ Apr 2 2010, 05:02 PM)
they said today all department close la..try call monday..haha
today good friday
saikomatic
post Apr 2 2010, 08:03 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(pd_zul @ Apr 2 2010, 07:48 PM)
saiko have ym or msn?

Added on April 2, 2010, 7:50 pm

saiko have ym or msn?
you can pm me..i dun have any ...already left my social life....easier..haha

Added on April 2, 2010, 8:08 pm
QUOTE(alibabaa @ Apr 2 2010, 06:27 PM)
hOw much hahh  da salary for navigating officer wOrking with MISC nOw...is there any1 knOw myb...
around 4 to 5k

This post has been edited by saikomatic: Apr 2 2010, 08:08 PM
saikomatic
post Apr 2 2010, 08:34 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(devkamal @ Apr 2 2010, 08:18 PM)
fridays are good, but not today, not for me... arghhh... 2 more days 2 wait..
haha just be patient...still can appeal if not being selected..not everyone ll except the offer...no worries
saikomatic
post Apr 3 2010, 01:54 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(alibabaa @ Apr 3 2010, 12:03 AM)
????after plus wif tOtal allowances??  ohmy.gif
after u get the dip then u ll become 4th..the salary range something like that la..can do OT like cleaning the cargo or balast tank..go into the deep tank with respirator set and kikis out all the karat in there,clean all the rumpai in the balast tank..the underneath of the ship..normally cadet ll do all that..
saikomatic
post Apr 20 2010, 11:41 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 20 2010, 09:07 PM)
relax... haha. sorry for disappearing for a very long tym. those who apply gudluk. juz wanna inform u guys. starting from my batch(dme 25), seatym required is at least 12 months. so far i've completed 8 month. going to be 9 at early may.

huhu. let me tell u guys a little bit about the place i go. my ship is tanker(oil carrier) we go to US, columbia, mexico, venezuela, taiwan, australia, singapore, cape town. haha. plenty place man.

lyf onboard is gud if u're hardworking and smart. but i'll tell u one thing. before u guys go onboard, try to throw the habit of lying. onboard ship, it is ok if u're stupid. bcause when u work hard, people will teach u lot's of thing. but when u're lazy and always bullshitting, people will continuously f**k(this is normal onboard, so get use to it) u.

any questions just forward it here since i've been back in m'sia. still onboard ship. juz that my ship go to dry docking in pasir gudang. we'll be here for approximately one week.
welcome back destroyer..quite a long time din here from you my man..thell us about ur pay?the onboard crew nationality,still many malaysian on board with aet?..just story us la i know many things you want to share with us..haha..
saikomatic
post May 3 2010, 09:19 PM

66 posts

hi all,

http://chedet.co.cc/chedetblog/2010/04/mal...osity.html#more

i get this from tun's blog..mostly will also will effect us in oil & gas transportation in malaysia...just what a lost man..sad case sad.gif
saikomatic
post May 8 2010, 11:32 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(minievo @ May 8 2010, 12:09 AM)
The Marine Insurance industry, is mainly made of people from Ex-Seafarers (Master/Chief Engineer), Maritime Lawyers, Adjusters, Paralegals, Past Insurance Background and Naval Architects/Engineers.

Before I explain further, here's a quick info about the industry -

Marine Insurance is pretty similar to your car insurance. There are international regulations for vessels to purchase insurance to cover damages to their hull & machinery and also third party liability (eg collisions with other vessels, collisions with fixed object, oil spill/pollutions).

--------

My day to day job is somewhat similar to the television series CSI but instead of investigating murders,deaths,robbery etc, I would be carrying out investigations on shipping collisions or damage to vessel's hull & machinery, negotiating settlement with third party when collisions occurs etc all on behalf of insurance companies.

So like the very recent case in Australia, where I believe most of you have read in the news, about the vessel SHEN NENG 1 spilling oil into the Great Barrier Reef due to the vessel grounding. My company would be instruct by the Insured's Insurance company, to investigate the circumstances of the incident, organizing salvage companies to control/clean the pollution etc.

As all the above cost of the casualties (from fixing the vessel, cleaning the oil pollution etc) are claimable under the Insurance policy, the Insurance company would then rely on our report to reject or approve the shipowner's claim.

------------

Salary wise, I'm working in a very specialized field where in the world there are not more then 3 - 4 companies doing this. Salary wise its the safe to say its definitely very much above average.
hi minievo..

just wonder how many years of sea experience needed to get the kind of position..is there any chances for a HSE executive to enroll the marine insurans career? salary is beyond 10k?

This post has been edited by saikomatic: May 8 2010, 11:33 AM
saikomatic
post May 8 2010, 01:51 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(minievo @ May 8 2010, 12:14 PM)
saikomatic, there are quite a number of depths you can work in a Marine Insurance industry. Someone with  seafaring experience would normally work as a marine surveyor. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marine_surveyor). Surveyors are basically our eyes and ears outside the office. As we don't physically investigate the casualty, we would instruct these surveyors to attend on board the vessel to investigate the casualty etc and based on their report, this will assist us into formulating our assessment on the claim.

Working as claim executive in Marine Insurance does not necessarily requires you to have any seafaring experience (although it certainly helps you to understand and visualise things much better). I have colleagues from legal backgrounds and also previous working experience in a claims department.

If you're in HSE now and you're familiar risk management, there is a possibility of you being a Marine Surveyor.

Do a quick wiki on Marine Insurance, you will note that it mostly revolves around shipping laws/regulations etc. Let me know if you need any further information.
ok quite interesting when you talking about the wages...hope u can share your path/route of experience from begining of your career line and until today as a marine insurance..
saikomatic
post May 20 2010, 08:51 PM

66 posts

ALAM is recruiting cadets in mumbai.....frustrating to know..hopefully they are not under sponsored from local shipping co...still many malaysian wanted to take course..i dunno what is the planning...

This post has been edited by saikomatic: May 20 2010, 08:54 PM
saikomatic
post Jan 21 2011, 05:43 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(cipan82 @ Oct 25 2010, 12:49 AM)
I'm an Electrical Engineer from MISC Berhad..
Liner Fleet...
Just came back from Tokyo..
Now I'm on holiday for 4months after serving onboard ship about 8months..
My holiday is too long maa...like maternity leave..
hahaha
icon_rolleyes.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0582sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:45 PM