Begin Your Career As A SEAFARER, Marine Engineering, Nautical Studies,etc
SUSMarsiano
Jan 30 2009, 08:11 PM

the application is ON ?? http://www.alam.edu.my/internet/alam/alam....ecruitment-.pdfwhich means I can post the application form ?? or I wait until the SPM result is released ?
TSdestroyer
Jan 30 2009, 08:26 PM
nope.
that's the last year form.
check the date.
they normally release it after spm result is released.
wodenus
Jan 30 2009, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(destroyer @ Jan 30 2009, 07:58 PM) haha. are you former mariner before. which company are you working with back in the past? School trip. It was very educational.
TSdestroyer
Jan 30 2009, 09:18 PM
Is it a big ship that you went to?
since i've seen some picture from my senior who went onboard VLCC(very large crude carrier). the engine room is very huge. the main engine itself is 4-storey high.
wodenus
Jan 30 2009, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(destroyer @ Jan 30 2009, 09:18 PM) Is it a big ship that you went to? It was one of those at Port Klang. QUOTE(destroyer @ Jan 30 2009, 09:18 PM) since i've seen some picture from my senior who went onboard VLCC(very large crude carrier). the engine room is very huge. the main engine itself is 4-storey high. Yes I remember that.. there's a sort of pathway (it's narrow and oily and very slippery) so you can walk around it and look at all the machinery This post has been edited by wodenus: Jan 30 2009, 09:29 PM
zariqcools
Jan 30 2009, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(destroyer @ Jan 30 2009, 07:58 PM) haha. are you former mariner before. which company are you working with back in the past? go to mainlands depends on the captain permission. about tym spent onboard depends on company and rank. for my company. 4th Eng & 3rd Eng : 6month on, 3 month off. 2nd Eng: 4 month on, 3 month off. Chief Eng: 4 month on, 4 month off. man damn cool,can get up to 4 months off..btw 4 months off with or without pay?
TSdestroyer
Jan 30 2009, 09:35 PM
hrmmm...
for my company, it's without pay. other company depends.
my company pay is one of the lowest. only usd2220 for fresh grad. other pay usd3900-4800.
EquinoX
Jan 31 2009, 01:03 AM
I rejected ALAM offer last time but now think it back like jus wasted. Haha, since recession in msia, if u grad as seafarer sure no problems. Cause u don need find the job but they already give u the job with a good benefits.
Anyway, To be successful for sponsored, i have few opinions here. *Make sure u have a medical fits(Which no sickness o illness) if not harder u get in. *Is an advantage if u dont have any vision problems(Colour o vision blind) which mean perfect eyesight is preferable. *I think geography and race is one another factor which u cant ask they why. I think u will know what this mean. *And lastly, make sure u take this line as ur future, if not dont do it, once u break the contact, i think u will stay just like hell, u need pay back much more than they amount they spent on u. * And if u not the one tough and rough, which maybe u easy get sick and bored with a job, better don try ~
That my advise ^^ Good luck to all~
TSdestroyer
Jan 31 2009, 01:34 AM
yup.
If one can stand to see the same environment for whole week, it's no prob for them.
But almost the same as shore work.
both have upside and downside.
by sailing, u don't have to think about the rising fuel price. u don't have to think about food since it is provided. when coming to shore after sign off, ur wallet will be very thick. provided u're good with girls, then you'll surrounded with chick. but don't do that la.
as a seafarer, make sure you search carefully for wife. and don't fuc* around while sailing or else your wife might also look for another man.
mjjj
Jan 31 2009, 02:22 AM
it seems like ure promoting it more than advising ppl but good info u gotten there to provide ppl more info on making big bucks
well on ur last reply well earning easy big bucks sometimes comes with sacrifice some might even end up getting married really late like my father's fren which is a sailor last time
seafarer would mean an alternative for aircraft related career in some ways IMO
dun shoot me if im wrong
TSdestroyer
Jan 31 2009, 12:54 PM
Yep!
I'm promoting by the mean of introducing this career line.
Ask ur fren around. How many of them knew about marine engineering and nautical studies.
during my school tym, i know nothing about it.
and, people tends to have bad thought about mariner.
about married late, maybe they fear to leave their wife home.
dun worry, the top 2.
Chief eng/2nd eng captain/chief off
they can bring their wife and 1 son onboard.
moreover, many of malaysia ship are still operated by foreigner. lack of malaysian seafarers cause this prob. this is a good job opportunities for malaysian. that's why i'm introducing it. to help the growth of maritime industry and to help malaysian earn better living especially during this recession tym when it is hard 2 find job.
This post has been edited by destroyer: Jan 31 2009, 12:55 PM
HiddenTrap
Jan 31 2009, 04:18 PM

My school counselor talked about this seafarer career. He also said it's not for everyone. Only those who are willing to sail for months leaving family at home. Not everybody wants that. I'm pretty interested in this but I don't want to do engineering. Sefarers must be marine engineers right.
About married late. No comment. Many non-seafarers also got married late.
TSdestroyer
Jan 31 2009, 04:25 PM
you can go for nautical studies.
there were 2 higher institutions that provide these course.
you can choose Diploma in Nautical Studies(navigation part, later on become captain)
1)Akademi Laut Malaysia(ALAM) 2)Sarawak Maritime Academy
for ALAM, juz apply like marine engineering. same application process. just that you have to choose nautical studies.
sarawak maritime academy i'm not sure how to apply. been looking around for the website. could not find it. some news i've read that they begin taking the first batch last year. not sure how to apply.
This post has been edited by destroyer: Jan 31 2009, 04:26 PM
HiddenTrap
Jan 31 2009, 04:48 PM

Captain. Sounds good. It's like pilot for ship rite.
i still need to consider other things like the working condition. My counselling teacher scared everyone la saying you weak guys better work in office. lol. But I always want to sail like a pirate.
When you go work for let's say 3 months. Do you stay onboard for the whole 3 months. Or do you get the chance to rest at ports.
TSdestroyer
Jan 31 2009, 05:13 PM
yep! nautical studies are conducted in the main campus in Melaka.
sometime you can go shore leave(outing) at port. depends on the captain.
don't worry too much on physical. but more on mental. think about it carefully.
some people sail to escape from problem on shore.
some people sail then committed suicide bcoz mental not strong.
but sailing is relaxing laa... you just focus on work. meal are provided. what o you need to think. every month can send famly some of ur salary. help them ease their burden. help your sibling.
this field is most suitable for people with adventure mind.
let me tell all of you my personal story. well, i come from middle-class family. during my spm, i did not do well in it. only got 5A's. my bro went to egypt for medical courses under scholarship. So, i feel like i'm burdening my parents. I cannot afford going to IPTS. if i go to IPTA, i'll still need money from my parents for my living.
i was considering for actuarial science and architecture before going to ALAM. but, i got C for add math. so i don't go for actuarial science course offered to me. I also decide not to go for architecture because i heard that this course might cost a lot of money(but with creativity tis can be reduced) for model making.
so, when i was in matric. i spent only rm3 for my meal. daily... only eat twice per day to prevent myself from asking my family for money. one day. while I was praying. handphone in my pocket vibrate. i put it in a silent mode. after finish pray. i check my phone. there is a unknown number. i decide to give it a call. later on. the voices on the other line mention that they were from ALAM. they said i got the sponsorship. suddenly it stop because my phone was running out of battery. i have to borrow my friend phone.
i was asked to go for briefing from my company. it is compulsory. my father said he will pick me up. i was in matric at that time btw. after waiting. it is already 9o'clock. briefing start at 10o'clock. i wonder why my father haven't arrive yet. so i give him a call. his tyre exploded while otw to matric. so i called for taxi. in my heart was filled with anger since i'll be late for the interview. but, i soon realise that i should be grateful since god still save my father. i almost cry that time. when i arrive. it is already 10.30 am. haha. the briefing had not started yet.
and now. here i am in ALAM. studying for marine engineering.
silverchain
Jan 31 2009, 05:30 PM
wow, thnx for sharing ur story TS
HiddenTrap
Jan 31 2009, 05:36 PM

I salute you bro  And congrats. Well I will think about this for some time. Not much people go into this field because they don't like the working condition. I also don't really know what i want to do. After watching pirates of carribean got inspired. I'm researching about this field online and will think properly. This post has been edited by HiddenTrap: Jan 31 2009, 05:37 PM
TSdestroyer
Jan 31 2009, 05:46 PM
yeah...
there is also people in my place that have harder lyf than me.
for your info. during interview. the interviewer will give good mark towards people with strong passion towards offshore job and also to people coming from hard-living family.
one more thing. if i'm not mistaken. the management once tell us that most of the student selected are the eldest son in the family or 2nd. coz they hope that we are the one to help our family.
but other people also have same chances provided that you do well in the exam. if you go just like that and doing so-so like my friend. you'll not get it. one of my friend who went on the same day for interview along with me don't get the scholarship.
fluency in english is an added advantage. basic2 also ok la. as long you can speak. no prob. haw can you work onboard ship when you can't even speak english. haha.
bring necktie along. smart haircut. since some who went for the interview have long hair(tau la baru lpas spm). i never saw them in the academy. cause they have mark for "Penampilan Diri".
I'll elaborate more if some of you got selected for the interview.
@hiddentrap
yes! you should think about it carefully. do some research. i also do some research before go. after satisfied only then i decide.
This post has been edited by destroyer: Jan 31 2009, 05:48 PM
HiddenTrap
Feb 1 2009, 09:14 PM

Been reading about seafaring. Let me share a bit. With great money comes great sacrifice (subjective). or with great sacrifice comes great money...
Advantages: - Very high starting pay. At a young age you are already rich. - Salary can be very high. Exceeding 20,000...US Dollar for high ranks like Captain. - Great prospects. - Your qualification allows you to work anywhere. Maritime is international. - Free living cost. - Travel around the world. Don't expect too much as some workers can't even leave the ship. Ships today always want to move as fast as possible. But still can see places all over the world for free. - Adventerous career
Disadvantages: - Long periods on sea. Return home one or two times a year only. - Hard work. 12 hours of work daily. On shifts. - Marine engineers work in the noisy hot engine room. - Sea storms, giant waves, seasickness - The sea is your life. You are there much longer than you are on land. - Far from family. Some wives of seafarers left their husbands. Can bring family onboard sometimes. - Risky. If anything happens you are in the middle of ocean far from any civilisation. Pirates are always watching you.
Most sefarers are happy with their job. It's not that tough, horrible and lonely after all. They must be used to it. Besides if you love seafaring like some ppl then what job is better. Should you ever feel tired of sailing. You can transfer to a shore-based career.
This post has been edited by HiddenTrap: Feb 1 2009, 10:10 PM
TSdestroyer
Feb 1 2009, 11:16 PM
tanx for the added info hiddentrap.
yep. we live in sea longer than on shore.
dun worry. there are many career on shore if you're tired of sailing.
for chief eng/captain, they work 8 hours a day. but actually they can come to work anytime and nobody will say anything. they're boss btw. but ethically, it is not right.
for chief eng/captain in my company, its 4 month on/4 month off. equal tym onboard and on shore. ever heard of FPSO?
almost like oil rig/platform. but they also need marine guy. you work 2month on/2month off. some even 2 weeks on/2weeks off.
some companies even promoted you to manager level if you performed well and loyal with them. manager only do shore based work.
i will elaborate more later on about shore based career for those who are tired of sailing.