Resignation Handbook, Revamp in progress 240614

Belphegor
post Jan 7 2020, 10:30 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(xinmay @ Jan 3 2020, 10:50 AM)
Hi I am unsure if this is the right channel.
Lets say if i resigned on January 3rd and I will have to serve 2 months notice till March, bonus is supposed to be out by the end of January, am I still eligible for the payout?
In common sense term; yes you are eligible for the bonus. However it is subject to your management if they want to release the bonus to you. Even if they don't give, you cannot do much as you resign before they give bonus payout. Usually is to resign after you get your bonus.
Belphegor
post Feb 6 2020, 09:47 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Feb 1 2020, 09:22 AM)
Hi guys and respected sifus,

I been offered RM x,xxx amount of on paper, however been promised additional RM x,xxx making the final amount to be 5 figures after negotiating the salary. However there were some changes internally that made the additional income promised not applicable and I end up on the losing end.

Now other company willing to offer more than double of whatever I currently make however they keen for me to start now, as in 24 hour. Latest they have the standing offer is up to 1 month time.

Problem is, I bounded for 3 months notice period upon tendering my resignation letter.

Any possibility that I can waive the 3 months notice to be 1 month?

The main reason of leaving apart from money are internal politics and discretely - racism. But as the first post mentioned, I am not keen to write that down on paper.
Thank you in advance for all the input.
current company issue
- say u got offered 9000 on paper. the additional ones was it in black and white as well? If not you cannot do much since they verbal promise you only unless you did a recording.
- what was that change that cause the additional income not applicable?

potential opportunity
- Are you still currently serving your probation in current company? If yes I believe you can try to negotiate with the current company to release you due to promises were not delivered.
- What was being written in your offer letter?
- Worst case scenario is that you walk away after 1 month and they will pursue you with 2 months salary in lieu you owe them

I reckon if they do not release you early, try to negotiate you serve 1 month notice and give 1 month salary in lieu. Fair for both sides since they cannot deliver their promise and you still respect the offer letter and they need to find your replacement.
Belphegor
post Mar 5 2020, 10:01 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(davidw89 @ Mar 3 2020, 08:54 AM)
As an expat, can I suddenly resign if it affects my well-being (toxic workplace) and leave the country (with no intention of coming back)?
Well, they have your record. I am not so sure about expats so you gotta check with proper authority on this.
Belphegor
post Apr 7 2020, 07:18 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(nothingtodohere @ Apr 2 2020, 10:36 PM)

I am planning to resign with my current company, however, on the Termination part of the contract this is what's written:

"You will provide the company with 3 months of advance notice of your resignation from employment. Nevertheless, in case you resign during the contractual period, you agree to pay the penalty of 1 month salary and all recruitment expenses".

Just want to verify if 3 months notice + 1 month salary + recruitment expenses is really allowed? coz its too much sad.gif

It's also my fault for signing too fast...

Thanks!
You already signed, meaning you agreed to the terms and condition set by them no matter how unfair or unjust to you as employee.

If you want to leave during your contract period, pls pay up the 1 month salary + recruitment expenses and serve 3 months notice period.
Belphegor
post Dec 24 2020, 10:10 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(arza04 @ Nov 26 2020, 09:33 PM)
During this work from home time, how do you guys send resignation notice letter?

Is it appropriate through email? My team, my CIO, Head HR all WFH since mco.

Also in the letter should i address to the Head HR or my CIO? Or should i prepare 2 letter address to each of them? Or 1 letter only?

Cannot tahan d, but need to serve 3 months notice zz
Your HOD no need to know about this. Just your direct report upline and HR exec/AM who does staff enrolling.

Send email to your direct report upline, CC HR only. HOD no need.
Belphegor
post Jun 2 2022, 10:08 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(awkwardsmile @ Mar 15 2022, 09:59 PM)
hello, i joined my company on October last year, with a one year bond.
just wondering if i resign on August this year+2 months notice period, does the penalty still applies?
since I would've fulfilled one year working here 🤔
Best if you can work until October then only tender resignation. Companies don't give you easy way out if you decides to resign. Better serve the whole year then throw letter and serve 2 month notice period.

QUOTE(benjaminnyl @ Mar 29 2022, 12:21 AM)
Hi ,

My notice period resignation policy is
1 month = probationary staff
3 month = permanent staff

In employee handbook, it says that I will be informed in writing upon confirmation, such absence of this communication will deem as probationary

Am I considered a permanent required to serve a 3 months notice ? I have yet to sign the confirmation letter as well so I’m not sure if this technically makes me a probationary staff and I can practice my rights to serve 1 month instead
You can prompt your HR as to why you have not sign the document yet. Without black and white, you can try to challenge since you have yet to sign the document. So legally you are not a permanent staff, yet.
Belphegor
post Jul 8 2022, 10:45 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Fantastic1218 @ Jun 24 2022, 05:01 PM)
What are the steps to tender resignation? Directly hand the resignation letter to manager or verbally inform first? So he will not be so shocked? Have signed offer letter. My colleague told me that the boss tend to purposely delay the resignation for previous staff so what I can do to prevent this?

Let's say I plan to work until 31 August, I have 2 months notice period, which date should I tender? I will be taking 4 days annual leave (still within the AL days I entitled after prorated) during my notice period to attend some personal matters.

Should I be honest about my exit reason which is I no longer interested in this field anymore and wanted to try other things?
Simple steps;

- Draft your letter, can get examples from the internet
- Have a meeting with your upline, and tell them that you wish to resign, inform them verbally that you will submit the resignation letter and when is the last working day
- Send the signed resignation letter right after the meeting

You done your part. Now wait for your upline/HR update you on your last working day, any extra claims need to deduct in the next salary cycle, exit interview etc.

If last working day is 31st August, you need to tender before 1st July. THe 4 AL are the days you take during you serving notice, thus it will not be counted.

IMO you can consider telling your upline your reasons if they are reasonable. If they known of trying to make resigned employee life hard, then no point telling them.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0505sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:39 AM