88 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Call of Duty : Modern Warfare 2, Autumn '09

Falk
post Nov 12 2009, 01:11 PM

QUOTE(Xonius @ Nov 12 2009, 10:43 AM)
Ok guys, i just had a test run on the MP, and i'm quite surprised that it is actually playable even at 1 bar, i managed to even snipe, just that you might need to estimate or "predict" 1/2 a second in advance on where your enemy might be going.
I'm pretty sure the hit-reg is calculated for the snap you fired the bullet at. You shoot directly at the guy, and the server just registers the hit later.

You have no idea how ridiculously hard compensating for even 200ms is without that feature would make the game. (I do - the original Team Fortress's sniper class and 300-600 pings back in 1996/1997. Not fun at all)

This post has been edited by Falk: Nov 12 2009, 01:12 PM
MYNAMEISJASON
post Nov 12 2009, 01:16 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Falk @ Nov 12 2009, 01:11 PM)
I'm pretty sure the hit-reg is calculated for the snap you fired the bullet at. You shoot directly at the guy, and the server just registers the hit later.

You have no idea how ridiculously hard compensating for even 200ms is without that feature would make the game. (I do - the original Team Fortress's sniper class and 300-600 pings back in 1996/1997. Not fun at all)
Falk, can you post your video on youtube?
Falk
post Nov 12 2009, 01:19 PM

Which vid? The one I did on how gameplay was like at 3 bars? Luftwacko already uploaded it to youtube (albeit without the captions on what exactly is wrong)

Or did you want a video of the hit-reg thing? I can do that, but I'd need to find a really laggy game first. Heh, never thought I'd say that.
MYNAMEISJASON
post Nov 12 2009, 01:22 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Falk @ Nov 12 2009, 01:19 PM)
Which vid? The one I did on how gameplay was like at 3 bars? Luftwacko already uploaded it to youtube (albeit without the captions on what exactly is wrong)

Or did you want a video of the hit-reg thing? I can do that, but I'd need to find a really laggy game first. Heh, never thought I'd say that.
Does 6 v 6 feel very underwhelming? I mean you can't really play 6 v 6 on a map with the size of creek...... right? blink.gif
Falk
post Nov 12 2009, 01:26 PM

I may be biased, but even in CoD4 I liked matches with 10-16 players, not the 24+ spamfests that were a lot of servers, so 6v6 doesn't bother me nearly as much as it should have. Still, disabling larger games, just as a cop-out fix to not having dedicated servers since large games will choke a player host, is stupid, and something I absolutely don't agree with at all.

To answer your question though, 6v6 doesn't make any map feel too large, IF at least some players know the map well enough and aren't creeping around silently the entire game. The general flowchart goes along the lines of people from either team running around in the open, someone shooting them (hence they appear on radar), people converge towards that radar blip, meet each other, more red blips on radar, etc. so you're more or less continually at least running towards the action even if not currently in combat.

This post has been edited by Falk: Nov 12 2009, 01:30 PM
MYNAMEISJASON
post Nov 12 2009, 01:33 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Falk @ Nov 12 2009, 01:26 PM)
I may be biased, but even in CoD4 I liked matches with 10-16 players, not the 24+ spamfests that were a lot of servers, so 6v6 doesn't bother me nearly as much as it should have. Still, disabling larger games, just as a cop-out fix to not having dedicated servers since large games will choke a player host, is stupid, and something I absolutely don't agree with at all.

To answer your question though, 6v6 doesn't make any map feel too large, IF at least some players know the map well enough and aren't creeping around silently the entire game. The general flowchart goes along the lines of people from either team running around in the open, someone shooting them (hence they appear on radar), people converge towards that radar blip, meet each other, more red blips on radar, etc. so you're more or less continually at least running towards the action even if not currently in combat.
Is there a hardcore mode in MW2? I mean was so used to playing without the radar, it simply felt like cheating when I went back to the standard mode. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Nov 12 2009, 01:33 PM
Xonius
post Nov 12 2009, 01:36 PM

Y U NO MAD???
1,113 posts

QUOTE(Falk @ Nov 12 2009, 01:11 PM)

Most of the games that i've played are decent, even ones with 1 bar. Its all about estimation. Also, there are alot of noobs so they tend not to move that much, LOL. laugh.gif
Luftwacko
post Nov 12 2009, 01:36 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(Falk @ Nov 12 2009, 01:19 PM)
(albeit without the captions on what exactly is wrong)
doh.gif will go add it now...

Btw, falk. What's your opinion about the heartbeat sensor? Overpowered?
SpikeTwo
post Nov 12 2009, 01:37 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

option for HC mode with no huge icon on top of team mates... yawn.gif
Falk
post Nov 12 2009, 01:38 PM

Yes, there's hardcore mode. You can't select Hardcore/friendly fire/etc for each game type though - instead you get more default gametypes with settings already set in stone... i.e. a choice between SnD regular and SnD Hardcore Ricochet... so you can't play SnD hardcore with non-ricochet friendly fire for example.

That's for the default matchmaking. For private games it's like stock CoD4 in terms of selecting options. Slightly better, actually, but that's because stock CoD4 had very, very limited options, and the system still is in no way or form able to hold a candle to modding the server for exact settings you want.

Heartbeat sensor isn't overpowered, really. You only see it when you're not running OR sighting down, and it pings slower than the UAV, with a shorter range. Still I guess with Bling (2 attachments) sensor + silencer would be one of the ultimate camper tools...

... till a grenade flies in.

What seems overpowered though is Bling, select SMGs Akimbo and Rapid Fire. This is so ridiculously hilarious for CQB maps.

QUOTE(Xonius @ Nov 12 2009, 01:36 PM)
Most of the games that i've played are decent, even ones with 1 bar. Its all about estimation. Also, there are alot of noobs so they tend not to move that much, LOL. laugh.gif
You're missing the point! Regardless of your ping you still put the sight directly on the player, so moving or stationary is irrelevant!

is there any lan support for mw2? if not, there wont be any lan parties?

Private matches probably would suffice, and this would probably be 13982983244% more enjoyable than random matchmaking online just due to the fact everyone has LAN pings. The only two drawbacks is that you'd absolutely need an internet connection at the LAN (problematic in places like Australia) and the inability to run mods for the LAN parties, which rules out most serious cash prize competitive tournaments (in EU) other than those sponsored by IW/Activision with their heaps of console sales earnings.

This post has been edited by Falk: Nov 12 2009, 01:45 PM
shaun5
post Nov 12 2009, 01:41 PM

249 posts

is there any lan support for mw2? if not, there wont be any lan parties?
Xonius
post Nov 12 2009, 01:53 PM

Y U NO MAD???
1,113 posts

QUOTE(Falk @ Nov 12 2009, 01:38 PM)
You're missing the point! Regardless of your ping you still put the sight directly on the player, so moving or stationary is irrelevant!
What i meant is, when an enemy starts to move, u dont aim at him directly, u aim slightly to the front (or back or wherever u think he's heading), so u compensate for the delay. Thats how i play in laggy games and it works.

And since there's alot of noobs playing, they dont move that much, so it makes your job alot easier.
krellian69
post Nov 12 2009, 01:56 PM

69 posts

Actually you sound like you're compensating for the bullet flight due to his movements in the first place.
MYNAMEISJASON
post Nov 12 2009, 01:57 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Xonius @ Nov 12 2009, 01:53 PM)
What i meant is, when an enemy starts to move, u dont aim at him directly, u aim slightly to the front (or back or wherever u think he's heading), so u compensate for the delay. Thats how i play in laggy games and it works.

And since there's alot of noobs playing, they dont move that much, so it makes your job alot easier.
Are you trying to say that a lot of noobs bought this game biggrin.gif
Falk
post Nov 12 2009, 02:04 PM

QUOTE(Xonius @ Nov 12 2009, 01:53 PM)

That's not how it works. The net code is run on what is called 'snapshots' (my term, sorta), which is basically information on where everything is at various times in the game (Default setting for CoD4 was 20 per sec, most comp mods set it to 30 per sec - nfi what IW set it to for MW2)

When you fire a gun, you send information on what/where/which direction exactly you shot, along with the snap time of the shot. When that information arrives at the server, regardless of if its 10ms/100ms/1000ms (lol) later than when it actually happened, the server calculates hit or miss USING THE SNAP INFO OF THAT BULLET. If you're aiming ahead of someone, when you fire, the server is going to calculate that shot with the snap of the target being behind where you're shooting anyway.

To reiterate, you shoot directly at the target. The server registers the hit/miss when the information arrives, but based on how the game world was when you pulled the trigger. This means you can actually be shooting at someone, they run around a corner and die in cover, however it requires the stars aligning and a really, really absurd ping (we're talking about 'am I going to DC?' type latencies) for that to happen

This post has been edited by Falk: Nov 12 2009, 02:07 PM
Xonius
post Nov 12 2009, 02:15 PM

Y U NO MAD???
1,113 posts

QUOTE(krellian69 @ Nov 12 2009, 01:56 PM)
Actually you sound like you're compensating for the bullet flight due to his movements in the first place.
not quite, because sometimes, let's say when i snipe, i accidentally shoot next to him, and after 1-2 sec he moves, he gets hit, dun think the sniper bullet needs 1-2 seconds to travel a small distance.

QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ Nov 12 2009, 01:57 PM)
Are you trying to say that a lot of noobs bought this game  biggrin.gif
maybe the more appropriate term is newbie. yes there's alot of them.
shaun5
post Nov 12 2009, 02:17 PM

249 posts

so is there lan support?
Falk
post Nov 12 2009, 02:29 PM

To be specific, there's no "LAN play" button on the menu. You basically invite all the guys on the LAN into your party in the multiplayer menu (THROUGH STEAM LOL) and then ask IW.net to put all of you in the same room.

It's a really, really roundabout way of going about things, and like I said requires an internet connection at the LAN.
lightonokira
post Nov 12 2009, 02:30 PM

788 posts

crappy networking.. that translates everything..
H@H@
post Nov 12 2009, 02:30 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

QUOTE(Falk @ Nov 12 2009, 02:04 PM)
That's not how it works. The net code is run on what is called 'snapshots' (my term, sorta), which is basically information on where everything is at various times in the game (Default setting for CoD4 was 20 per sec, most comp mods set it to 30 per sec - nfi what IW set it to for MW2)

When you fire a gun, you send information on what/where/which direction exactly you shot, along with the snap time of the shot. When that information arrives at the server, regardless of if its 10ms/100ms/1000ms (lol) later than when it actually happened, the server calculates hit or miss USING THE SNAP INFO OF THAT BULLET. If you're aiming ahead of someone, when you fire, the server is going to calculate that shot with the snap of the target being behind where you're shooting anyway.

To reiterate, you shoot directly at the target. The server registers the hit/miss when the information arrives, but based on how the game world was when you pulled the trigger. This means you can actually be shooting at someone, they run around a corner and die in cover, however it requires the stars aligning and a really, really absurd ping (we're talking about 'am I going to DC?' type latencies) for that to happen
Are you sure that's how it works? Seems awfully susceptible to hacks if that were the case (Since the server prioritizes the client info rather than what is actually happening on its side)

Also, you have to remember, the server isn't just receiving info from you, its from everyone else. So, that explanation of how it handles information is a little one sided as it not only has to look at bullets being fired, but also at the person being hit.

PS. That whole "move out of cover, move back , die" scenario happened quite a bit with Counter Strike Source (Which till today leads ppl to believe that its hitboxes are buggered) since it used a prediction model that favored the client over the server (Your actions would always look smooth regardless of whether it was affected by lag, which made it feel smooth in laggy conditions but made it a bit hard to discern whether you're hitting stuff).

88 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:09 AM