Your mb/mbp battery health/problem

winmac
post Jan 5 2009, 10:33 AM

21 posts

Hi guys. I found out this forum and says that my battery cycle count is 181 and condition : check battery i am using macbook pro and it's charging while i'm viewing this. any advice?

UPDATE : I used CoconutBattery and this is what I got. Anyway I can undo this. Can the tech guys at Apple help me or simply I just need to buy a new battery? Sigh.

I am currently charging it. This is my battery.

This post has been edited by winmac: Jan 5 2009, 12:33 PM
winmac
post Jan 5 2009, 01:51 PM

21 posts

Yes, I am on ACPP for 3 years. Is there anything I can do?

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 5 2009, 12:48 PM)
winmac, ur mbp is 2 years, dunno abt u la, for me, 2 years battery still can maintain 56% very good liao
are u on ACPP?

kiancher, u used 4 hours, till got 24%, u still not happy?
winmac
post Jan 5 2009, 02:28 PM

21 posts

Yeah, just called Apple and they say that all parts of the Macbook Pro are protected under the ACPP except the battery as it is considered as consumables. I guess that's fair.

Just curious. I forgot to ask the tech support guy. When the battery is fully charged at 100%, and we still plug it in, will it affect the battery life?
Someone suggested me to remove the battery first before letting it run on power as it will affect the battery life. Any idea?

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 5 2009, 01:59 PM)
well, u can call up and ask, is there an problem with the batt
winmac
post Jan 5 2009, 10:11 PM

21 posts

@tanjq87 Thanks for the useful info.

@ghoul88 I think that is way too cool for 19 month old macbook battery. Just look at mine. 25 months and registering only 181 cycles but already left with only 53% battery life. But that's not too bad actually. I can still live with it ;-) In another 2 years, I could change to a new macbook.
winmac
post Jan 6 2009, 09:21 AM

21 posts

Hehe. Even if you run the machine without plugin in the battery, you have that gut feeling that its wrong / something could go wrong. Previously I was under the assumption that Apple will cut the supply to the battery once its full and will run the macbook on direct power instead. That's how advance I believe Apple is and that's why I never took the battery out even sitting on the computer whole day while its plugged in. I could be wrong though. Haha.

0.0342sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:44 AM