after a few weeks, it'll slowly do gown to 18%, has the booting problem, then up to 38% again. any ideas?
Your mb/mbp battery health/problem
Jan 6 2009, 03:47 PM
7,916 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
my MBP's (bought June 2006) battery can go as low as 18% sometimes, then the notebook would have problems booting up a few times in succession (had to try like 10 times) but when it does boot up, the battery is at 38%.
after a few weeks, it'll slowly do gown to 18%, has the booting problem, then up to 38% again. any ideas? |
Feb 1 2009, 03:07 AM
cmon people, think of the magsafe adapter. it's too easy to get accidentally yanked off. imagine that happening when u dun hv ur battery in haha.
Feb 1 2009, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(FrozenFrost @ Feb 1 2009, 09:35 AM) Hahaha dude, you've know me for such a long time and you've seen my mbp running completely without battery. Hahaha lol battery is too important 4 me. i tend to move arnd my mbp a lot i guess QUOTE(civic98 @ Feb 1 2009, 10:37 AM) who? |
Feb 2 2009, 02:59 PM
mine 4583... bought 21 Jan 09 too, 9 cycles..
Nov 19 2009, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Nov 19 2009, 03:20 PM) Erm, I don't really understand. it's okaySo is that ok to plug in AC charge whenever i switch on the macbook? recently i used the MB under battery until 10% oni i plug in AC. >.< is that the wrong method? if everytime u wait until under 10% only charge, sure it wont damage the battery or anything, but u're using a lot of cycles there. the more cycles, the shorter the time the battery can power ur notebook. so u gonna have to replace the battery earlier than u should. dont be too scared about the battery lah. if got power outlet, use it. also consider the fact that ur macbook is actually slightly slower when running on battery power....u paid for that fast processor so let it perform how it should |
Nov 25 2009, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(jc79 @ Nov 21 2009, 11:56 PM) hi, just bought my first macbook white 2 days ago. apple claims that the battery life can last for 7 hours, but in my experience, my battery only last for max 5 hours... is this normal? or i should bring my mb for checking? off wifi, off bluetooth, put on lowest brightness n dont run anything thanks:) |
Nov 25 2009, 07:44 PM
Dec 4 2009, 03:22 PM
can u try to find some1 who has a macbook white as well? not the unibody model of course. borrow their battery n see if it works. also ask them to use ur battery too.
try to determine whether if ur battery is dead, or ur battery compartment got problem or not. |
Dec 9 2009, 12:52 AM
eh mine is GOOD... cycle count 154, charge remaining 4362 (out of 4385)
Dec 10 2009, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(qwertypolle @ Dec 10 2009, 11:01 PM) hi everyone..i just bought a new macbook white the health decrease lah..that's why it starts from 100% not 0%. battery loses charge over time.at first the battery health is 100% but after i calibrate the battery it became 97% i thot the health shud increase..not decrease help? |
Dec 10 2009, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(qwertypolle @ Dec 10 2009, 11:27 PM) but just bought it 2 days ago yeah calibration is to maintain health... not make the health increase... if increase then its defying physics already ;pbattery calibration shud maintain health right? my previous macbook..6 months old, battery health 96% sometimes this stuff not so accurate. how about u try check with other apps like Coconut. |
Dec 11 2009, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(preducer @ Dec 11 2009, 03:15 AM) dvlzplayground, oic, i thought he expected the health to increase above 100% i think i get it when qwertypolle said the health increases coz after calibration it will show the correct percentage of battery life. it can go up or down.. it has happened to me before.. sometimes after calibrating, it will go up from 95% to 99%, but this happened a while ago when i just got my macbook. QUOTE(qwertypolle @ Dec 10 2009, 11:01 PM) |
Dec 14 2009, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(XCool @ Dec 14 2009, 04:45 PM) i have an article which i wrote about batteries, specifically for the iPhone/iPod touch, but it applies to macs as well. I use this on my mac and so far after about 8 months of use, my MBP's battery capacity is still around 97%... mine is 11 months old... 4422 mAH 96%. how come ur mAH lower but health higher?http://www.onemoretap.com/2009/06/04/tips-...e-battery-life/ *i dont know much about batteries* |
Dec 15 2009, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(kellykulala @ Dec 15 2009, 01:55 AM) haha dvlzplayground..logically battery health cant b over 100% riiightt lol that's why qwertypolle..just calibrate the battery every 2 months.. the battery health will maintain..or worst come to worst it wont drop drastically if u still feel worried, call applecare, they'll surely help u..no worries okay? |
Jan 2 2010, 09:04 PM
Jan 4 2010, 01:01 AM
agree with crayzee. digilife u need to change ur habits ;p
QUOTE(hyumi @ Jan 3 2010, 11:49 PM) hi, go to About this Mac, More Info, n go to Power. that's where the charge cycle is ('cycle count' under health information). alternatively u can download iStat pro, iStat nano or coconut battery.I am sorry, i am new to mac as well, I have MBP 15inch and i can't seem to find the charge cycle. my battery life always show 96% eventhough i am still charging it.. Is it okay to keep charging my MBP as i always leave it at home, hence the plug is on 24/7. I do off it sometimes to drain the battery.. Hope my actions are not ruining the battery life.. another thing is, the website says battery can last up to 7hours, yet when i bring it out, it only last about 4-5hours max. my MBP is plugged in all the time when i'm using it. only when i turn if off, i disconnect the magsafe battery life heavily depends on what u're doing with the notebook (or any gadget). if u leave it idle, off wifi n bluetooth, no apps running, and off the screen, i think can go more than 7 hours ;p |
Jan 4 2010, 01:21 AM
QUOTE(digilife @ Jan 4 2010, 01:07 AM) wont tat "kill" the battery faster? yes it's different cause tat was wat happened to my acer battery last time or acer battery system is different?? This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Jan 4 2010, 01:23 AM |
Jan 4 2010, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(digilife @ Jan 4 2010, 06:25 AM) so meaning to say tat its better to plug-in to the mains and use the lappie while the switch is SWITCHED ON will actually prolong the battery life as the electric current will bypassed the battery and main power will be used? yes, better and easier. it doesn't 'prolong' the battery life (as in longer than it should), it's just how u're supposed to use it. if u keep taking out the battery, then u'll be charging it so many times n it'll die sooner than it should. |
Jan 8 2010, 04:00 AM
QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Jan 8 2010, 02:46 AM) What is the implication if i turn on my MacBook Pro 13" for hours and hours with charger on? Maybe days, because i need to burn in my headphone if u guys know what i mean. Also, what happens if we don't have AppleCare and our battery doesn't work?Can retailers help us change the battery on the spot? i leave my MBP on for days when i have something to download. doesnt seem to have any bad effects to me, juz make sure it gets adequate cooling n dont put on soft stuff like mattresses and pillows.what headphone have u got there? |
Jan 9 2010, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Jan 9 2010, 10:22 AM) Hi all . I have the 15MBP bought 2 months back. even at full charge I get about 6 hours of "projected" usable battery time. I only have finder, firefox and wifi running. the screen is down to the minimum and the keyboard lights were off. I tot it should average about 7-8 hrs of common use?? firefox quite RAM hungry, moreover if u open a website that has flash stuff. this can lower battery life[g] |
| Change to: | 0.0352sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:52 AM |