DENON AVR Discussion Thread, Lets find more about DENON Brand

neb
post Aug 7 2009, 09:39 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Aug 7 2009, 06:03 PM)
hi guy,

how much is the Denon AVR 789 and which placed in penang hifi shop that i can good price?

789 = 1909
Rm1900 at CMY audio gurney plaza
neb
post Aug 8 2009, 08:20 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 8 2009, 12:53 PM)
kenot la how can AVR 789= AVR 1909  
Q. What is the difference between the 789 and the 1909, I was looking at their specs on the Denon website and they look identical?

A: Denon puts out two parallel receiver lineups, with four-digit and three-digit model numbers. The four-digit models are generally sold by high end stereo shops and custom installers, and the three-digit models are the "consumer" version sold in retail outlets like Circuit City and Fry's.

However, there is ZERO difference in terms of power, specs, sound quality, build quality, etc. between the two lines. Denon has been doing this for years, it is exactly analagous to the Yamaha HTR and RX-V parallel receiver lines.

There will usually be one or two minor differences to differentiate the three-digit and four-digit models. There is typically a slight cosmetic difference between the two lines, and different remotes.

In the specific case of the 1909 vs. 789, the only differences (besides the cosmetics) is:

1. the 1909 includes a small, second remote intended for Zone 2 operation, and
2. the 1909 has a plug on the back labeled "RF/RC 2WAY", next to the Sirius plug. The function of this plug is to allow you to hard-wire a two-way RF remote controller (sold separately) to use in a different room. See page 20 of the manual for a detailed explanation.

In all other respects, the 1909 and 789 are IDENTICAL.
for those who are interested, 1910 vs 1909
AVR 1909 (aka 789) vs AVR 1910 (aka 790)

Comparison of 1909 vs 1910 from Denon website:
http://www.usa.denon.com/ProductDeta...mageField.y=24

1909 rear panel photo:
http://www.usa.denon.com/AVR1909_Large_Back.jpg

1910 rear panel photo:
http://www.usa.denon.com/AVR1910_Large_Back.jpg

Straight to the point:

- 1910 gets an extra HDMI input (4 vs 3), but drops some legacy inputs (only 2 component video, and only 1 s-video which can ONLY be used with Denon ipod dock control as per NOTE on pg 9 of manual)

- 1910 gets new ABT video processor which allows for HDMI > HDMI scaling up to 1080p (pg 34 of manual)... but still no OSD overlay.

- 1910 weighs 1.8 lbs less (23.6 vs 25.4)... but has identical power specs (90W x 7 @ 0.08% THD) so judgement withheld for now as to whether the 1910 has less "real" power.

- 1910 gets Dolby PLIIz with the ability to reassign the SURR.BACK to FRONT HEIGHT for alternative 7.1 setup.

That's about it! They are almost identical in most other respects.

Other relatively minor functional differences:

1. The new video processor apparently also allows the 1910 to handle 1080p component > HDMI conversion (pg 9 of the manual no longer has a footnote specifying this restriction, and even specifically references 1080p component coming out at 1080p). However, the OSD looks basically the same and the overlay restrictions (only on s-vid / composite) are unchanged; apparently you need to step up to 2310/890 level for a real GUI w/ overlay.

2. There are now SEVEN discrete video names to which you can assign inputs: DVD, HDP, TV, CBL/SAT, VCR, DVR, V-AUX (which shares front panel inputs). This means you can hook up more devices with discrete name access (no need to "stack" inputs) and actually use all six hi-def inputs (4 HDMI + 2 component) without needing to borrow the "V-AUX" name from the front panel inputs. Note, however, that there is now only one "audio only" input name (currently "CD" is the only audio only input name).

3. Dynamic EQ gets a "Reference Level Offset" which can be accessed in Surround Parameters; note that, functionally, it is identical to adjusting the "Source Level" for an input, but the easy access in "Surround Parameters" menu means you can make "bass taming" tweaks on the fly more easily.

4. HDMI Control gets a "Standby Source" setting (see pg 28) which allows you to specify which HDMI input is "passed through" to your TV. No need to remember to switch inputs before you power down!

5. The evil two-sided flip-door remote lives on  However, there is now a discrete "Source Select" button on the front (the big button under the D-Pad, used to be the "Restorer" button) which cycles through your inputs (so you don't have to go to the hidden flip door to select a source that didn't make the cut for the front panel).

6. Direct mode "purists" rejoice! You no longer have the option to use Audyssey at all with any Direct mode (regular, pure, or multich) according to the chart on pg 58 of the 1910 manual.

7. The "LPF for LFE" setting has moved from the "Crossover Freq" menu and now lives in the "Bass Setting" menu (pg 26 of manual). This should reduce some confusion (e.g. it's not a crossover!) although the wording in the Denon manual makes it sound like it's an HPF for the subwoofer, and not just the LFE channel.

8. MANUAL EQ adjustment has moved into the "Surround Parameter" menu so it can be accessed on-the-fly more easily (pg

9. The Volume Control can now be optionally set to "absolute" or "relative" value (see pg 30 of manual). So anyone who hates the "negative numbers" style of volume, you can set it to go from 0 to 99!

10. There is a "Zone Rename" function (pg 31) so you can rename "Zone 2" to say "Patio" or whatever.

11. They have apparently removed the HDMI options for "Color Space" and "RGB Range". Ostensibly these were just confusing people and it is now essentially stuck in "auto" mode for color space.

12. New, streamlined front panel layout (fewer buttons, menu/d-pad/return button cluster moves to the middle)
all quotes are from avsforum

This post has been edited by neb: Aug 8 2009, 08:26 PM
neb
post Aug 8 2009, 10:37 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Aug 8 2009, 10:20 PM)
Ya...Less then 2k. Considered expensive liao for peasant like me...
1909 weights more than 1910, pay less to get more, untung lah thumbup.gif
neb
post Aug 9 2009, 09:10 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Aug 9 2009, 06:09 AM)
guy,

below is the speaker real omhs for my logitech z680 speaker so is it safe to used? still noob in audio stuff need all the sifu to helped me out.

* Left/Right: 62 watts RMS x 2 (into 8 ohms, @ 1khz, @ 10% THD)
* Center: 69 watts RMS (into 8 ohms, @ 1kHz, @ 10% THD)
* Rear Left & Right: 62 watts RMS x 2 (into 8 ohms, @ 1kHz, @ 10% THD)
check out the manual, use 8Ω speakers should be OK, don't turn the volume too laud if speaker's wattage is smaller than amplifier's rated output.
neb
post Aug 9 2009, 12:08 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 9 2009, 09:58 AM)
Thanks, Bro Neb, for bringing the comparisons out, really didnt check it out

but same price, rather go for 1909,1910 (than 789,190) for better comestics
3 digit model number denon avr are only available in north america whistling.gif
neb
post Aug 10 2009, 08:38 PM

2,234 posts

went to eng hi-fi just now, very friendly chap, no more 1909 from the supplier, but give me the quote anyway, RM1800.

1910 will be available end of month, around RM2500

neb
post Aug 10 2009, 08:48 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 10 2009, 08:43 PM)
oops... missed the part on no more stock !! rclxub.gif

he could quote at RM1k & it wouldn't make a difference coz no more stock doh.gif
eng in BM

last friday cmy gurney has one 1909 on display, one in the store room

initially quoted me RM2200, then changed the quote to match KL cmy's price of RM1900
neb
post Aug 11 2009, 10:19 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(cloud4822 @ Aug 11 2009, 12:08 AM)
Good price!
Can you let me know where is the Eng HiFi?? BM?? Which part??
Can you give me the shop's phone no??
ENG HI-FI SERVICE CENTRE 2489, Jalan Kulim, 14000 Bukit Mertajam Penang, Malaysia Tel : 04 - 5392 796 (from google search whistling.gif )

but eng don't keep stock for 1909

I called denon distributor wo kee hong pj, confirmed no more restocking of 1909, in fact they are clearing it off the market to make way for 1910, told me that there are still some 1909 available in soundjoy chai leng park.

This post has been edited by neb: Aug 11 2009, 10:20 AM
neb
post Aug 11 2009, 06:37 PM

2,234 posts

we got really low signal to noise ratio over here, deviate way off the denon topic

neb
post Aug 13 2009, 08:33 AM

2,234 posts

there is one, but heard that only for ipod
neb
post Aug 13 2009, 09:23 AM

2,234 posts

http://xs.to/xs.php?h=xs842&d=09333&f=capt...13_09.12401.jpg

this is taken from denon uk, same design except for the main power socket, one lone s-video, apparently for ipod only

but from the user manual(USA version), may be the s-video can be used after all, if ipod contol is not plug in

1910 can upconvert any anolog source anyway, for astro decoder just plug in composite no need s-vide and you will get 1080p full HD drool.gif

This post has been edited by neb: Aug 13 2009, 09:25 AM
neb
post Aug 13 2009, 09:34 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 13 2009, 09:30 AM)
the real panel layout is totally different from 1909, that already means, different boards, and some circuits... but maintaining back features if not better...
sorry to confuse you, in my post I was comparing 1910 between USA and UK version, the only difference is the power socket and some wordings on the back panel

Added on August 13, 2009, 9:35 am
QUOTE(chewkl @ Aug 13 2009, 09:34 AM)
1909 will also convert any source to 1080p. doh.gif

Only reason to get 1910 over 1909 is the ABT vs the Faroudja scaller.

whistling.gif
so why do we need s-video

This post has been edited by neb: Aug 13 2009, 09:35 AM
neb
post Nov 4 2009, 05:50 PM

2,234 posts

how much is the market price for 2310? RM5000?

neb
post Dec 12 2009, 02:49 PM

2,234 posts

since astroB.yond is going to broadcast HD in 1080i and 720p, can dvr1909 de-interlace 1080i?

neb
post Dec 13 2009, 03:25 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Dec 12 2009, 02:49 PM)
since astroB.yond is going to broadcast HD in 1080i and 720p, can dvr1909 de-interlace 1080i?
1909 apparently can only convert analog signal to 1080p, digital signal from HDMI will be passed through without conversion, so no de-interlacing for digital HDMI 1080i signal cry.gif

can 1910 do 1080i de-interlace? hmm.gif
neb
post Jan 11 2010, 05:47 PM

2,234 posts

I think they will adjust the price when avr1911 is released
neb
post Jan 20 2010, 06:29 PM

2,234 posts

denon well known for its insanely expensive price brows.gif