Anyone here using trd's linear throttle system care to give some comments and share the total cost of purchase and installation?
Toyota Club V5
Feb 7 2010, 02:33 AM
1,952 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Anyone here using trd's linear throttle system care to give some comments and share the total cost of purchase and installation?
Feb 7 2010, 09:44 AM
986 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Bangsar |
QUOTE(LanEVOchris @ Feb 7 2010, 01:21 AM) whoa havent been in this thread for ages. nice AE80 u got there... i saw one around my housing area... white and black, kinda like AE86 paint scheme, with 16" rims and best part, driven by a chick. List updated.please update in list, i have 2 toyotas in my house alrdy. have been pampering this corolla AE80 for the past year besides my avanza » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « anyhow there's been a major problem with the avanza. Its a 2005 1.3Auto, mileage 114k kilos, now suffering from gearbox low ATF pressure. Putting P to D will take 5 minutes for the gear to engage LOL Overhaul gearbox estimate 5k Recond gearbox estimate 7k New gearbox from UMW toyota estimate 20 over K GG Hmm, sounds like the inevitable, transmission failure. If u are planning to keep the car running for another few years, u could always source for a recond gearbox. If u do not plan to keep the car for long, well, best choice would be to overhaul and then sell off the car. But low ATF pressure means u could have a small leak, are there any oil spots at your car porch? Have u tried topping up your transmission fluid and how long does it last? |
Feb 7 2010, 10:00 AM
3,943 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: - Johore - |
top up the ATF and drive to 2nd hand car shop and sell it. hehehe
Feb 10 2010, 11:45 PM
51 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
i ask vanquish the same questions. when and when. i lepak with him so much that i see him i wan puke.
after cny u and sonic i will sms. me filled up till 1st march, then kau tim. and i hope he doesnt read this if not he will kill me. This post has been edited by SyedBrix: Feb 10 2010, 11:45 PM |
Feb 11 2010, 12:44 AM
861 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(ston3r @ Feb 7 2010, 09:44 AM) nice AE80 u got there... i saw one around my housing area... white and black, kinda like AE86 paint scheme, with 16" rims and best part, driven by a chick. List updated. nah if its a leak i wouldve known coz im an automotive engineer Hmm, sounds like the inevitable, transmission failure. If u are planning to keep the car running for another few years, u could always source for a recond gearbox. If u do not plan to keep the car for long, well, best choice would be to overhaul and then sell off the car. But low ATF pressure means u could have a small leak, are there any oil spots at your car porch? Have u tried topping up your transmission fluid and how long does it last? you stay in PJ? the ae80 u're describing sounds very familiar |
Feb 11 2010, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(LanEVOchris @ Feb 11 2010, 12:44 AM) nah if its a leak i wouldve known coz im an automotive engineer ahh, looks like u've already got your problem solved. Since u r an automotive engineer, u would know best on what u should be doing to the car.you stay in PJ? the ae80 u're describing sounds very familiar nope, i'm from bangsar. Actually, there are a few of those AE80 with the panda white and black color scheme around klang valley, many follow initial-d style. Added on February 11, 2010, 1:04 am QUOTE(SyedBrix @ Feb 10 2010, 11:45 PM) i ask vanquish the same questions. when and when. i lepak with him so much that i see him i wan puke. ahahaha, how come u lepak with him so often la? nothing else to do ar?after cny u and sonic i will sms. me filled up till 1st march, then kau tim. and i hope he doesnt read this if not he will kill me. ok, wait for your sms This post has been edited by ston3r: Feb 11 2010, 01:04 AM |
Feb 11 2010, 01:49 AM
QUOTE(ston3r @ Feb 11 2010, 01:03 AM) ahh, looks like u've already got your problem solved. Since u r an automotive engineer, u would know best on what u should be doing to the car. yeah a few of the panda ae80s are loaded with 20v BT with hefty upgrades. mine is just an old junk i claim as my wife nope, i'm from bangsar. Actually, there are a few of those AE80 with the panda white and black color scheme around klang valley, many follow initial-d style. Added on February 11, 2010, 1:04 am ahahaha, how come u lepak with him so often la? nothing else to do ar? ok, wait for your sms and sonic ar? i see his wish too damn often hahahahaha |
Feb 11 2010, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(LanEVOchris @ Feb 11 2010, 01:49 AM) yeah a few of the panda ae80s are loaded with 20v BT with hefty upgrades. mine is just an old junk i claim as my wife so u have not done any mods to your AE80? I know a lot put in the AE101 4AG series into AE80. Honestly, I prefer KE70s, though those are even older. So what have u done to your car?and sonic ar? i see his wish too damn often hahahahaha sonic? that fella kena caught for HID. Already tell to remove say dun want. Hahaha, I also kena last yr. |
Feb 11 2010, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(ston3r @ Feb 11 2010, 10:50 AM) so u have not done any mods to your AE80? I know a lot put in the AE101 4AG series into AE80. Honestly, I prefer KE70s, though those are even older. So what have u done to your car? hmm nothing much, its a autocross / track spec car. sonic keep insisting he wants to take pics of my undercarriage to show here LOL sonic? that fella kena caught for HID. Already tell to remove say dun want. Hahaha, I also kena last yr. its one of a kind in malaysia i can say. doubt any other ae80s are like mine hahahaha i too prefer ke70s which is why im looking for a dead one now, strip it down fully and rebuild as non-road car |
Feb 11 2010, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(LanEVOchris @ Feb 11 2010, 02:02 PM) hmm nothing much, its a autocross / track spec car. sonic keep insisting he wants to take pics of my undercarriage to show here LOL ahh, so it's pretty much stripped. So u take part in autocross eh? your car needs a better engine, a little more horses and torque would not hurt its one of a kind in malaysia i can say. doubt any other ae80s are like mine hahahaha i too prefer ke70s which is why im looking for a dead one now, strip it down fully and rebuild as non-road car yea, KE70s are great to play with, closest u can get to a drift car without going overboard with the budget. Problem with finding one now is that all are very bad condition and badly rusted. Can get for around few thousand but condition really needs a lot of work. |
Feb 11 2010, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(ston3r @ Feb 11 2010, 02:13 PM) ahh, so it's pretty much stripped. So u take part in autocross eh? your car needs a better engine, a little more horses and torque would not hurt the car is running 160hp on wheel. should be enough for everything i use it for xDyea, KE70s are great to play with, closest u can get to a drift car without going overboard with the budget. Problem with finding one now is that all are very bad condition and badly rusted. Can get for around few thousand but condition really needs a lot of work. i dont mind in terrible condition, but im looking for one that is totally dead without any engine. chassis + body can be paneled and spot welded since its not gonna see the road tarmac |
Feb 11 2010, 07:40 PM
3,092 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: |{µð£ð £µmPµ® |
anyone of you guys experience the excessive floating in Altezza while driving at 200km/h?
i thought it was the MEX highway problem, then again, it wasn't the crosswind area. same problem happened at any road. anyone can recommend a good shop for a useful bodykit? thanks |
Feb 11 2010, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(yngwie @ Feb 11 2010, 07:40 PM) anyone of you guys experience the excessive floating in Altezza while driving at 200km/h? excessive floating? hmm... what suspension are u using? standard? i thought it was the MEX highway problem, then again, it wasn't the crosswind area. same problem happened at any road. anyone can recommend a good shop for a useful bodykit? thanks i'm using TRD sportivo superlows, no floating when I travel 180km/h on MEX. sorry bro, i've not change any bodykits to my altezza so don't know which ones to recommend. But I heard Nitro's good, they do custom bodykits as well and my friend sent his pajero there. Good quality. Here's the contact and map: http://www.nitro.com.my/contactus.html Added on February 11, 2010, 9:35 pm QUOTE(LanEVOchris @ Feb 11 2010, 06:31 PM) the car is running 160hp on wheel. should be enough for everything i use it for xD 160hp? wahh, not bad for an AE80. So it's not stock isn't it? so what have u done to the engine?i dont mind in terrible condition, but im looking for one that is totally dead without any engine. chassis + body can be paneled and spot welded since its not gonna see the road tarmac it's been so long since i've modified cars This post has been edited by ston3r: Feb 11 2010, 09:35 PM |
Feb 12 2010, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(ston3r @ Feb 11 2010, 08:48 PM) excessive floating? hmm... what suspension are u using? standard? thanks for the link. stock suspension with only bars / struts installed. no bodykit.i'm using TRD sportivo superlows, no floating when I travel 180km/h on MEX. sorry bro, i've not change any bodykits to my altezza so don't know which ones to recommend. But I heard Nitro's good, they do custom bodykits as well and my friend sent his pajero there. Good quality. Here's the contact and map: http://www.nitro.com.my/contactus.html wondering if a good bodykit will help. perhaps, a simple diffuser. btw, yours was the v6 or 3s-ge? |
Feb 12 2010, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(yngwie @ Feb 12 2010, 05:31 PM) thanks for the link. stock suspension with only bars / struts installed. no bodykit. mine's a 3S-GE engine.wondering if a good bodykit will help. perhaps, a simple diffuser. btw, yours was the v6 or 3s-ge? to be honest, stock suspension will not cut it for 200km/h as the original car has a 180km/h limiter and that will explain your floating sensation at high speeds on straights. Instead of getting a bodykit, might I suggest that u get a set of suspension for your SXE10, it would serve it better if u are planning to at run high speeds. Plus custom bodykits here do not have wind tunnel testing and there's no guarantee that it'll improve the aerodynamics of your car. Most of the kits out there are made to look good, not handle. If it's handling u are after, your money will be better invested on changing the suspension |
Feb 12 2010, 06:11 PM
how i wish i could get the wilder 3S-GE instead.
currently looking for Tein adjustable but might put it on hold since Gong Xi Fa Cai is just around the corner. btw, what is your tire size? |
Feb 12 2010, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(yngwie @ Feb 12 2010, 06:11 PM) how i wish i could get the wilder 3S-GE instead. u mean your's is a GXE10? That's the IS200 model isn't it? Ahh, that's not an altezza, sorry to say but nevertheless still the same chassis. Well good news is not many ppl can tell the difference if u remove the badges.currently looking for Tein adjustable but might put it on hold since Gong Xi Fa Cai is just around the corner. btw, what is your tire size? TEINs are not bad but some complain that it gives a harsher ride. If u don't want too hardcore, TRD ones aren't bad. I'm running stock rims 215/45/R17. yea, the 3S-GE engine is definitely more powerful but it's still weak compared to a lot of cars out there. I'm still wondering whether to mod the engine at a later stage of the car's life. Well here's a clip of a TRD-tuned altezza. |
Feb 14 2010, 01:20 AM
7,671 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
See you guys after CNY! I'm coming... Wait for my news!
Feb 14 2010, 01:18 PM
Feb 17 2010, 02:22 AM