i thought it was the MEX highway problem, then again, it wasn't the crosswind area.
same problem happened at any road.
anyone can recommend a good shop for a useful bodykit?
Toyota Club V5
Feb 11 2010, 07:40 PM
3,092 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: |{µð£ð £µmPµ® |
anyone of you guys experience the excessive floating in Altezza while driving at 200km/h?
i thought it was the MEX highway problem, then again, it wasn't the crosswind area. same problem happened at any road. anyone can recommend a good shop for a useful bodykit? thanks |
Feb 12 2010, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(ston3r @ Feb 11 2010, 08:48 PM) excessive floating? hmm... what suspension are u using? standard? thanks for the link. stock suspension with only bars / struts installed. no bodykit.i'm using TRD sportivo superlows, no floating when I travel 180km/h on MEX. sorry bro, i've not change any bodykits to my altezza so don't know which ones to recommend. But I heard Nitro's good, they do custom bodykits as well and my friend sent his pajero there. Good quality. Here's the contact and map: http://www.nitro.com.my/contactus.html wondering if a good bodykit will help. perhaps, a simple diffuser. btw, yours was the v6 or 3s-ge? |
Feb 12 2010, 06:11 PM
how i wish i could get the wilder 3S-GE instead.
currently looking for Tein adjustable but might put it on hold since Gong Xi Fa Cai is just around the corner. btw, what is your tire size? |
Feb 17 2010, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(ston3r @ Feb 12 2010, 06:32 PM) u mean your's is a GXE10? That's the IS200 model isn't it? Ahh, that's not an altezza, sorry to say but nevertheless still the same chassis. Well good news is not many ppl can tell the difference if u remove the badges. yepp. IS200. both are identical TEINs are not bad but some complain that it gives a harsher ride. If u don't want too hardcore, TRD ones aren't bad. I'm running stock rims 215/45/R17. yea, the 3S-GE engine is definitely more powerful but it's still weak compared to a lot of cars out there. I'm still wondering whether to mod the engine at a later stage of the car's life. Well here's a clip of a TRD-tuned altezza. currently using TEIN Superstreet on another ride. harsher ride indeed but it eats corner like no tomorrow hardcore tuned 3S-GTE easily crank out more than 300hp but after years with turbo engine, now wanna play around with NA engine. wondering if there is a better V6 engine available out there for the IS200 nice video, btw! |
Feb 18 2010, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(ston3r @ Feb 17 2010, 04:27 PM) i started with playing with turbo engines, then switched to NA. Now feel wanna go back to turbo. Waiting for the right time. there is nothing beat the fun of listening to the 'whoooooshh!!' turbo kick. i really missed the good ol' days.so, what would be your next target? RB26DETT? |
Apr 5 2010, 08:28 PM
Pennywise@
alphard 2.4 variant is quite under power. use to drive a relative's alphard 2.4. with 5 adult on board, the engine struggle to go further even on highway. it lose out to the hyundai starex 2.5td in term of space and power. the v6 variant of alphard is a better option for frequent outstation drive. hyundai starex = practical and sensible + value for money. alphard = more of a statement over practicality. get the v6. |
Apr 10 2010, 08:18 PM
Apr 11 2010, 12:44 PM
Jul 1 2010, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(tengyeow @ Jul 1 2010, 09:56 AM) 185/60R15.. was contemplating on the PS3, but they dun have the right size.. only have 195/55R15.. is this alright? ps3 is the right choice. both are within the same % rate. all you have to do is check with the tyre shop if your rim can take the 195 width.if you're not into spirited driving, falken ze912 or yokohama c.drive is fine. falkenze912 being more comfortable and quiet. |
Jul 2 2010, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(tengyeow @ Jul 2 2010, 11:11 AM) XM1 read reviews which were quite bad.. poor grip in wet conditions, etc.. avoid xm1. poor grip and longer stopping distance in hard braking.may check out the ze912 tho.. prefer not to meddle with the standard tyre size, which is 185/60R15, but if i did and opted for the PS3 which comes in 185/55R15 and 195/55R15 (which the guy at tyre shop recommended).. which should i go for? stay away from ad07. it's an extreme performance tyre with less tread lifespan. not really suitable for daily ride. good grip and traction but noisy. if you rims can take 195/55/r15, why not? more contact with surface means better grip / cornering experience. no worry about aqua planning. with ps3 all round, i could drive 130km/h in karak during rainy day without any worry in term of comfort, falken ze912 win anytime over the ps3 but best bang for bucks goes to ps3. vios suspension is a little bit on the firmer side, so, never settled for a profile less than 55. |
Jul 3 2010, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(MazeLoL @ Jul 3 2010, 10:11 AM) depending on individual preference / driving style. if you're into comfort and quiet ride, ziex912 will be your best bet.i've tried quite a few brand in the market. but since i am more into a spirited driving style, i prefer uhp tyre with harder sidewall. and so far, ps3 was the most impressive at it's price! i noticed it was even slightly better than goodyear gs3! |
Jul 3 2010, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(lazyserv @ Jul 3 2010, 10:25 AM) hi guys.. im a newbies in this forum i own a toyota vios there is only one alphard that matter and it was the v6 version. the 2.4 variant is under power. even more when with 6 person inside.TS, mind to update my name in there? btw im might going to get a second hard.. still wondering which one better between Toyota Wish and Toyota Alphard. i need some advise alphard is more like a statement(status), less practicality. the 11 seater hyundai starex 2.5td is more powerful and practical. if am not mistaken, for the wish, umw only carry the 1.8 variant. 2.0 are mostly grey import. QUOTE(tengyeow @ Jul 3 2010, 11:23 AM) wut would be a good price range for the PS3? i checked out one shop in jln ipoh.. wanted to charge me RM250 per tyre plus RM20 for balancing etc.. but after reading earlier comments, some have managed to get it for RM200 - 220.. any good place around town or PJ u would recommend other than having to drive to klang? i bought 2x of 195/55/r15 ps3 somewhere in pandan jaya the other day. rm240 + free balancing.i think there is a tyre shop in ss2 that selling around rm240.many thanks. check at tyre price list discussion. |
Jul 3 2010, 05:14 PM
alphard v6 is fine but the 2.4 variant is quite hopeless when fully loaded. unless you want something more as a statement / show off and less of practicality.
driven a relative's 2.4 alphard to berjaya hills a few months back. was like..... |
Jul 14 2010, 05:38 PM
3.0 commonrail td was already on sale in uk for ages. even thailand have got 'em.
not sure how it fare on our diesel quality though... |
Jul 15 2010, 07:48 PM
try wing hin auto
Oct 14 2010, 08:00 AM
toyota thread is dying....
Oct 14 2010, 07:48 PM
Nov 14 2010, 11:22 PM
perhaps, the entry level 1.8e altis does not come pre-installed with fog light and rear wiper. saved for it's g variant.
Feb 15 2011, 03:33 PM
thread is dying. most of the gxe10 and sxe10 owner going somewhere in zth.
May 14 2011, 01:03 PM
huh! no discussion on toyota cars?
| Change to: | 0.0358sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:56 AM |