7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Which is the better institute for Graphic Design?, Help please ..

yong1990
post Mar 25 2009, 11:51 AM

89 posts

I think SAITO is ok, they offer internship too. smile.gif

here's a rough course outline..

Computer Graphic Design
History of Art & Design
Visual Communication
Basic Drawing
Illustration
Typography
Advertising
Publication Design
Entrepreneurship
Advertising & Marketing
Packagin
Photography
BM
Advertising Design
PEngajian Malaysia
Internship
Moral/P.Islam
Basic Animation
Dreamweaver
Digital ANimation

wendywong
post Mar 25 2009, 06:44 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(yong1990 @ Mar 25 2009, 11:51 AM)

Computer Graphic Design
History of Art & Design
Visual Communication
Basic Drawing
Illustration
Typography
Advertising
Publication Design
Entrepreneurship
Advertising & Marketing
Packagin
Photography
BM
Advertising Design
PEngajian Malaysia
Internship
Moral/P.Islam
Basic Animation
Dreamweaver
Digital ANimation
u study there before?
their cert will be useful in future?

how was their teaching? is more on practical or theory?

kareep
post Mar 26 2009, 11:21 AM

23 posts

The most important is your own atitude... not a college school. I'm designer too, studying not famous college.

Be a designer really need hardworking, after graduated, salary designer almost same like normal clerk but work is more than normal people, such as if you successful get in Advertising Firm, sometime really need to work until mid nite or even stay overnight.

The salary designer is depend of your design skill & experience.

For my own opinion, better choose small design firm, more change to work varieties of job & more change to learn the skill such as output, FA, design....

By the way good luck for you!

Hope my own experience can share with you!
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 26 2009, 03:33 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(yong1990 @ Mar 25 2009, 12:51 PM)

Computer Graphic Design
History of Art & Design
Visual Communication
Basic Drawing
Illustration
Typography
Advertising
Publication Design
Entrepreneurship
Advertising & Marketing
Packagin
Photography
BM
Advertising Design
PEngajian Malaysia
Internship
Moral/P.Islam
Basic Animation
Dreamweaver
Digital ANimation
i was thinking abt SAITO too but i saw their showcase on their website..
i have to say it wasnt too impressive..
sorry to say that.

my worst fear is that i cant do well..

Added on March 26, 2009, 3:36 pm
QUOTE(kareep @ Mar 26 2009, 12:21 PM)
The most important is your own atitude... not a college school. I'm designer too, studying not famous college.

Be a designer really need hardworking, after graduated, salary designer almost same like normal clerk but work is more than normal people, such as if you successful get in Advertising Firm, sometime really need to work until mid nite or even stay overnight.

For my own opinion, better choose small design firm, more change to work varieties of job & more change to learn the skill such as output, FA, design....

thanks to all..
=]

things that i concern most is how the lecturer teaches.
i dun really care if the school is famous or not as long as they produce good students. .
im also aware that i need to be hardworking but when they show us the work of the students in their college and the course fee is also expensive then im really scared that i will make the wrong choice.

thanks again to u. .

Added on March 26, 2009, 3:40 pmone more thing. .
if i study multimedia design what are the chances that i can get a job in an advertising agency?

if compared to graphic design ?
or i should study advertising .. ?

This post has been edited by doubleu.why.ass: Mar 26 2009, 03:40 PM
B-Mecha
post Mar 26 2009, 05:34 PM

Mecha collector & Multimedia Designer
1,080 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 26 2009, 03:33 PM)
if i study multimedia design what are the chances that i can get a job in an advertising agency?

if compared to graphic design ?
or i should study advertising .. ?
it depends on the agency & the position u apply for. as i mentioned before, i dont see any problem for multimedia designer to join advertising industry, in fact the chances is higher. multimedia designer have more advantages over graphic designer if both designers have same level of art sense & experience. why dont pick the one who have better skill set?

FYI, multimedia designer are required to do graphic design. but instead of graphic only we also handle the technical execution part (example: simple web coding, flash animation, video editing). other than that u might learn about user interface and interactivity also.

if u choose to learn advertising, most likely u will involve in marketing + media knowledge where u learn a bit of marketing and design. if ur idea is to manage the projects and talk to client, ur focus should be "marketing & advertising". but if u r looking in to design creative art works, "design" is the correct path.

btw, if u want to have good income and spend ur time with family, advertising is not a place for u... i believe most of the designers will agree with this idea.

This post has been edited by B-Mecha: Mar 26 2009, 05:41 PM
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 30 2009, 08:10 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Mar 26 2009, 06:34 PM)
it depends on the agency & the position u apply for. as i mentioned before, i dont see any problem for multimedia designer to join advertising industry, in fact the chances is higher. multimedia designer have more advantages over graphic designer if both designers have same level of art sense & experience. why dont pick the one who have better skill set?

FYI, multimedia designer are required to do graphic design. but instead of graphic only we also handle the technical execution part (example: simple web coding, flash animation, video editing). other than that u might learn about user interface and interactivity also.

if u choose to learn advertising, most likely u will involve in marketing + media knowledge where u learn a bit of marketing and design. if ur idea is to manage the projects and talk to client, ur focus should be "marketing & advertising". but if u r looking in to design creative art works, "design" is the correct path.

btw, if u want to have good income and spend ur time with family, advertising is not a place for u... i believe most of the designers will agree with this idea.
oh thanks a lot..

to be honest i doubt i am capable of creating great designs. .

thanks again ..
i will prepare myself ..
lol

kyLL
post Mar 30 2009, 09:18 PM

-=-
1,638 posts

dont doubt ureself! got to always be positive and confident. (:

i guess everyone explained alot of things to you already. and im quite sure a few of them have also told u that the cert isnt very important. whats important is the work you produce while ure studying. your portfolio. thats whats more important.

even if you're not too good at art, as long as u have a decent eye for nice stuff, and have great ideas, you can aim for a art director position or creative director.

to tell u the truth. right now im working as a designer for a small company. and i've never attended any art school. d: same goes for my boss. haha. sometimes its all about passion and the willingness to learn.

bmecha is right. the hours can be very long. but in the end, if u enjoy what you're doing.. it doesnt really matter. (:

but be prepared to put your work before ure loved ones sometimes.. most of us work long days and also during weekends. see our family for an hour a day. your house becomes like a hotel. all u do is shower n sleep. hahah... but eventually you get used to it. and sometimes during offpeak (lol) periods u get some extra time for ureself. ok. i think ive rambled enough. just my 2c's yea. (:
B-Mecha
post Mar 30 2009, 11:49 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 30 2009, 08:10 PM)
oh thanks a lot..

to be honest i doubt i am capable of creating great designs. .
thanks again ..
i will prepare myself ..
lol
dont worry about that, not everyone know how to design when they enter the course, that's why u go there to learn! design and drawing is 2 different skills. drawing skills is a must for illustrator but not for others. each position have their own focus so dont worry about being lost or feeling incapable. be open and explore what are the things that u like during ur foundation / 1st year and start to build ur own skill from there.
bluesky87
post Mar 31 2009, 02:17 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(wendywong @ Mar 25 2009, 06:44 PM)
u study there before?
their cert will be useful in future?

how was their teaching? is more on practical or theory?
What do you mean by 'their cert'? For me, cert is nothing more than a piece of paper. As a designer, talent and passion besides knowledge and skill is the most important thing. Saito is more on practical.

QUOTE(kareep @ Mar 26 2009, 11:21 AM)

Well said. Exactly what is happening on every advertising designer included me myself sweat.gif
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 31 2009, 11:39 AM

66 posts

wow ..

thank you all..
all ur advises helped me alot..

i cant even say how much i appreciate them..

haha ..
hope i can do well ..

thanks again =]
bluesky87
post Mar 31 2009, 11:04 PM

965 posts

Good luck and all the best doubleu.why.ass wink.gif

Keep us updated with what you're doing as well.
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Apr 1 2009, 09:41 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(bluesky87 @ Apr 1 2009, 12:04 AM)
Good luck and all the best doubleu.why.ass  wink.gif

Keep us updated with what you're doing as well.
oh thanks..
im gonna see whether i will be accepted to tarc or not..
if i get accepted then i will go.. (maybe a lil bit reluctantly,lol)
and see how it goes there..after all it still comes down to me whether i can become a good designer or not no matter which college i go to ..
i guess all colleges teach more or less the same things.. i just gotta be extra hardworking..
if tarc really not up to standard than maybe i will have to confront my parents abt it..
borrow a loan to study in another college or something..
i guess i still have time.
even if it doesnt work out in tarc or the whole multimedia/graphic design thing then its alright..
i wont say those 2 and 1/2 years are gone to waste, they are still what i learnt. still mine right,, '

no guarantee even if i study design i will end up becoming a designer. who knows i might end up working in a bank?
lol
just saying..
=]
B-Mecha
post Apr 1 2009, 11:08 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Apr 1 2009, 09:41 PM)
oh thanks..
and see how it goes there..after all it still comes down to me whether i can become a good designer or not no matter which college i go to ..
i guess all colleges teach more or less the same things.. i just gotta be extra hardworking..
if tarc really not up to standard than maybe i will have to confront my parents abt it..
even if it doesnt work out in tarc or the whole multimedia/graphic design thing then its alright..
i wont say those 2 and 1/2 years are gone to waste, they are still what i learnt. still mine right,, '

no guarantee even if i  study design i will end up becoming a designer. who knows i might end up working in a bank?
lol
just saying..
=]
glad that u have that insight, actually if u r having financial problem, u work first then self learn design at night time. technical skills is not hard to pick up, with collage or not doesnt make much different. the only big obstacle in self learning is how develop the art sense + ur technical skills and sell it to client. i believe a lot of LYN forumers are willing to give some comment / some guidance of how to self learn design related skills.

actually there are more design student end up working in other field than ever thought of (i suspect 50%). i have friends that went to banking, insurance, sales, marketing, pilot (yes he is working in mas), financial adviser, finance admin.... in some ways it might be a better route where hard work will bring much reasonable income than being a designer where usually dont get overtime pay.
bluesky87
post Apr 2 2009, 07:47 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Apr 1 2009, 09:41 PM)
oh thanks..

no guarantee even if i  study design i will end up becoming a designer. who knows i might end up working in a bank?
lol
just saying..
=]
It's really a good thing that you have a positive thinking and looking forward for obstacle. Just one comment IMO you should try your best to make a wise decision to choose the right college of your choice and to finish the whole course no matter what. From what I see, many design student only manage to last a few semester and leave after that which I think it is not 100% cause by the quality of the college. If you have the money then it is not my concern but if not then better not to waste your parent's hard earned money.
mrs.chokie
post Apr 3 2009, 08:31 PM

why don't u try Lim Kok Wing University....

http://www.limkokwing.net/malaysia/
Cloudsea
post Apr 3 2009, 08:44 PM

48 posts

The One(Multimedia and digital animation recomemded.), But cost a bit~~
U can also choose dasign(illustration recomemded.)
Personal share.

This post has been edited by Cloudsea: Apr 3 2009, 08:46 PM
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Apr 7 2009, 02:45 PM

66 posts

[quote=bluesky87,Apr 2 2009, 08:47 PM]It's really a good thing that you have a positive thinking and looking forward for obstacle. Just one comment IMO you should try your best to make a wise decision to choose the right college of your choice and to finish the whole course no matter what. From what I see, many design student only manage to last a few semester and leave after that which I think it is not 100% cause by the quality of the college. If you have the money then it is not my concern but if not then better not to waste your parent's hard earned money.

[/quote]

thank you
=]

i dont want to waste my parents money thats a sure thing ..
so its better for me to not go to expensive college. . tarc might not be the best choice but their diploma is just around 8k for 2 n 1/2 years. (but without industrial attachment =( )
if i find multimedia design is not for me .. i can change course in tarc ..
but hopefully i wont ..
=]

thanks for ur concern ..
i deeply appreciate..

Added on April 7, 2009, 2:50 pm[quote=Cloudsea,Apr 3 2009, 09:44 PM]
The One(Multimedia and digital animation recomemded.), But cost a bit~~
U can also choose dasign(illustration recomemded.)
Personal share.

[/quote]

[/QUOTE]why don't u try Lim Kok Wing University....

http://www.limkokwing.net/malaysia/[QUOTE]

thanks for the advise but ive already got accepted to tarc ..
the one and lim kok wing for me are too expensive..
but stlll, thanks again

This post has been edited by doubleu.why.ass: Apr 7 2009, 02:50 PM
SUSCelestialChaos
post Apr 8 2009, 10:22 AM

123 posts

hey. share ur experience in tarc if u start tau lol.
post more artworks in LYN.
i wanna c tarc's artworks.

hehe^^
rubbermilk
post Apr 8 2009, 11:25 AM

388 posts

Go toa take multimedia design. multimedians doesnt have to be all multimedians , we do graphic design too ! tongue.gif
spitfire111
post Apr 8 2009, 05:58 PM

295 posts

well, there are Multimedia University, The One Academy, and LimkokWing...

got MMU and TOA thread here...

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry24844015

Hope this is helpful smile.gif

This post has been edited by spitfire111: Apr 8 2009, 05:58 PM

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0252sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:06 AM