123 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

The Suiting Thread V1, Suit/Tuxedo/Sportcoat/Blazer

U+FFFD
post Apr 19 2009, 08:31 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Apr 19 2009, 08:09 PM)
As for brands, surely a tailor is allowed to have favorite brands? I mean, there's more to life than suits - wallets, shoes, bags, etc could be from LV, etc. Not to defend Ian as I know he's not perfect but I think to pick on that is slightly petty not to mention irrelevant to his work isn't it?
Yes he is allowed to have his favourite brands but his choices of brands is his downfall in how he presented himself and the image he portrays as a SR-trained tailor. It is about gaining customer's confidence and Ian Chang performs badly in this category. True bespoke tailors with an eye for sartorial elegance will tell you that their favourite brands are Church's, Turnbull & Asser, C&J, Henry Poole. Moreover, experienced tailors respects quality more than brands and knows the difference between bespoke and MTM. If you had followed this thread, you would have come across an excerpt of an email from him (Ian Chang), throwing sarcastic flak at Jin for his own uninitiated mistake of not knowing sartorial terms.

Would you get a bespoke suit from Ian Chang who knows nothing about the difference between bespoke and MTM on top of wearing Gucci shoes or would you use the service of Thomas Mahon who wears his own CMT garments and CJ's shoes in addition to having deep sartorial knowledge?

To a true tailor, bespoke and good quality is life itself.

This post has been edited by Fusion[eX]: Apr 19 2009, 08:51 PM
TSjind86
post Apr 19 2009, 08:32 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Apr 19 2009, 08:09 PM)
The hangers are not flat, perhaps its the photography that makes it look that way. I'm well aware of the need to hang them properly.

Yes, those suits are all made by Ian. I didn't take out all of them, that's about half of the suits.

As for brands, surely a tailor is allowed to have favorite brands? I mean, there's more to life than suits - wallets, shoes, bags, etc could be from LV, etc. Not to defend Ian as I know he's not perfect but I think to pick on that is slightly petty not to mention irrelevant to his work isn't it?
the reason i stated that he mentioned brands like LV and Gucci has nothing to do with the fact that he did not mention his own brand.. the point here is that those who enjoy English attires would stay away from such brands.. i'd expect someone who's a true English tailor to mention brands like Crockett & Jones, Brioni, Turnbull & Asser; instead of highly commercial brands like LV and Gucci.. well just my thought wink.gif
U+FFFD
post Apr 19 2009, 08:55 PM

2,356 posts

Yes. Even gents like us know the difference between a 2x150 cotton by Turnbull & Asser and a designer polyester Prada. wink.gif
calvinloke
post Apr 19 2009, 08:58 PM

383 posts

You do know LV and Gucci suits are NOT high-end. Right?
U+FFFD
post Apr 19 2009, 09:01 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(calvinloke @ Apr 19 2009, 08:58 PM)
You do know LV and Gucci suits are NOT high-end. Right?
*Throws in a Hugo Boss high-end garbage suit into the picture and wait for flaks from gents with proper sartorial know-how* laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Fusion[eX]: Apr 19 2009, 09:03 PM
calvinloke
post Apr 19 2009, 09:07 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Apr 19 2009, 09:01 PM)
*Throws in a Hugo Boss high-end garbage suit into the picture and wait for flaks from gents with proper sartorial know-how*  laugh.gif
You missed the CK and G2000 suit buddy. There you go. rclxms.gif
U+FFFD
post Apr 19 2009, 09:13 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(calvinloke @ Apr 19 2009, 09:07 PM)
You missed the CK and G2000 suit buddy. There you go.  rclxms.gif
At least G2000 suits are still somewhat reasonably-priced for their quality. tongue.gif

Just see how gents on SF poke fun at Hugo Boss by using the analogy - Boss is similar to Bose speakers: "overpriced and overrated"
Have to give my salutations to commercial marketing.

This post has been edited by Fusion[eX]: Apr 19 2009, 09:15 PM
calvinloke
post Apr 19 2009, 09:27 PM

383 posts

Haha. I wonder what about those John Masters and D'urbans usually found in departmental stores. Are they any good? Mind to share their price range?
TSjind86
post Apr 19 2009, 09:28 PM

1,507 posts

[PIMPIN] - i actually have nothing against his workmanship of producing a suit, well i basically have not really seen it, except for the picture below, which is why i'd really like to see you in the suit..

its just i had a bad first experience with the encounter with him, he appeared to be a really arrogant person (same goes for Robert loh, the master tailor from Lord's), there's this vibe he sends out which is like "excuse me, i am a highly qualified tailor which worked at savile row before"..
U+FFFD
post Apr 19 2009, 09:38 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(calvinloke @ Apr 19 2009, 09:27 PM)
Haha. I wonder what about those John Masters and D'urbans usually found in departmental stores. Are they any good? Mind to share their price range?
I have no idea since I never bothered to get near them due to their cutting. shakehead.gif
And I'll never bother to go near them unless my hair turns white and I grow a potbelly. tongue.gif
calvinloke
post Apr 19 2009, 09:48 PM

383 posts

I usually check those out at Jusco almost every time I went there but somehow their price tags are buried deep inside the suit. And so I didn't bother to dig it out. The cut seems pretty decent and contemporary. From the catalogues.
U+FFFD
post Apr 19 2009, 10:15 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(jind86 @ Apr 19 2009, 09:28 PM)
Fixed with a little extra added. Spot the differences:

This post has been edited by Fusion[eX]: Apr 20 2009, 07:49 PM
netmatrix
post Apr 19 2009, 10:19 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,728 posts

calvinloke, from Durban, John Master and such ranges start from RM399 for a suit jacket and add in RM139 or more for the pants. They are somewhat more adventurous now. The design and cut can give those super branded ones a run for their money.
U+FFFD
post Apr 19 2009, 10:19 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(calvinloke @ Apr 19 2009, 09:48 PM)
I usually check those out at Jusco almost every time I went there but somehow their price tags are buried deep inside the suit. And so I didn't bother to dig it out. The cut seems pretty decent and contemporary. From the catalogues.
I prefer checking out those at Robinsons with price tags of RM2k and up since the staffs are always chatting at a corner and pay no attention to me molesting the s150's. laugh.gif
netmatrix
post Apr 19 2009, 10:22 PM

6,728 posts

fusionex, Robinsons ones are usually from those small private start up brands. I don't see no durban or such there. Hence the RM2K price.

Anyway do agree with Jin that Ian should put his own brand up front first before mentioning other brands. But he should have put a little thought that he admires the work of other brands like blah blah. And shouln't put them up on a pedestal. It makes him sound so ameturish. oh yeah i think Tatler and Prestige reads like a self indulgence book. hahaha.

This post has been edited by netmatrix: Apr 19 2009, 10:25 PM
U+FFFD
post Apr 19 2009, 10:25 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Apr 19 2009, 10:22 PM)
fusionex, Robinsons ones are usually from those small private start up brands. I don't see no durban or such there. Hence the RM2K price.
Indeed, no D'urban or whatnot there. : biggrin.gif Just to get the freedom of feeling the fabrics and construction without staffs tailing me since the place is quiet.

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Apr 19 2009, 10:19 PM)
calvinloke, from Durban, John Master and such ranges start from RM399 for a suit jacket and add in RM139 or more for the pants. They are somewhat more adventurous now. The design and cut can give those super branded ones a run for their money.
Have they gone the path of the slimmer and athletic cuts? The last I saw, they were boxed like a sack suits.

This post has been edited by Fusion[eX]: Apr 19 2009, 10:31 PM
TSjind86
post Apr 19 2009, 10:32 PM

1,507 posts

im trying to find links on information regarding horn buttons but cant seem to find any, still cant seem to really tell them apart from plastic ones and would like to know more about them..
U+FFFD
post Apr 19 2009, 10:33 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(jind86 @ Apr 19 2009, 10:32 PM)
im trying to find links on information regarding horn buttons but cant seem to find any, still cant seem to really tell them apart from plastic ones and would like to know more about them..
Try a search in AA. It helped me distinguish genuine MOP from plastic MOP.
netmatrix
post Apr 19 2009, 11:01 PM

6,728 posts

I prefer checking out those at Robinsons with price tags of RM2k and up since the staffs are always chatting at a corner and pay no attention to me molesting the s150's. 

This one i missed! Sometimes i am there looking at their construction work and the fabrics used. But really for RM2K it is way better off than Hugo and such. And you don't have to fight to make people know what kind of brand we wear. Anyway the staff at Robinsons... its either they are afraid to approach people who browse at these unknown brands. I think they are not briefed about the brand and what makes them special. In UK or US there are specific places that lets unknown designers market their work. Robinsons seems to be using this technique.

But Malaysian consumers aren't into such things because to them RM2K means Hugo boss. Which is sad. We are lucky we go to some lengths to find out about our clothes. But still we are very small amount of people.

TSjind86
post Apr 19 2009, 11:20 PM

1,507 posts

stumbled upon this picture in SF, and was really attracted to the way he pulled everything together..

123 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:27 AM