oh cool, i still have lots to learn ): btw now that i've think of it i didn't save RM1600 but lost RM400 LOL!
The Suiting Thread V1, Suit/Tuxedo/Sportcoat/Blazer
Feb 23 2009, 11:31 PM
85 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Penang - Perak |
oh cool, i still have lots to learn ): btw now that i've think of it i didn't save RM1600 but lost RM400 LOL!
Feb 23 2009, 11:43 PM
1,507 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
QUOTE(BlueKM @ Feb 23 2009, 11:31 PM) oh cool, i still have lots to learn ): btw now that i've think of it i didn't save RM1600 but lost RM400 LOL! well i started off purchasing ready to wear sport jackets for RM400, then gradually my interest for better fitting clothes grew and i started off altering my clothes, and of course custom made is considered the best fit for any person and recently i was fortunate enough to be able to purchase my first custom made suit.. btw post up a picture of your suit if you have the time =) |
Feb 25 2009, 03:55 PM
1,985 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Penang Island |
heh, looks like i'll have to ask again due to LYN server crash.
was just wondering, will bomber jacket go well wit shirt/collar T? if not, what would? |
Feb 25 2009, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(jind86 @ Feb 23 2009, 11:43 PM) well i started off purchasing ready to wear sport jackets for RM400, then gradually my interest for better fitting clothes grew and i started off altering my clothes, and of course custom made is considered the best fit for any person and recently i was fortunate enough to be able to purchase my first custom made suit.. btw post up a picture of your suit if you have the time =) Here it is reposted with extra pictures![]() ![]() 5 buttons at the middle, 3 buttons on the end of sleeve each side, size of the suit collar is half the size of a normal collar looking very japanese and modern ,very comfortable, mid light weight, real cost RM399.99 at SUBZero. 2nd picture has white spots on the mirror , ignore the white spots |
Feb 25 2009, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(2kia @ Feb 25 2009, 03:55 PM) heh, looks like i'll have to ask again due to LYN server crash. yupp t-shirt wld be a cool look..was just wondering, will bomber jacket go well wit shirt/collar T? if not, what would? http://men.style.com/gq/fashion/slideshow/...play=true&cnt=1 |
Feb 25 2009, 04:48 PM
aww server crashed, as i was mentioning earlier, i visited Granoff in Gardens yesterday and they were glad to just sit down and chat with me, i talked to Mr Mansor, the creative director for the brand in Malaysia for like an hour and the people there are very very friendly, would highly encourage you guys to just go in and have a talk with them even if you're not planning to purchase anything, it would benefit your knowledge..
btw as i mentioned earlier, they refer bespoke as made-to-measure.. ithe reason why could possibly be an italian thing, the word "su misura" refers to the custom made process, but the word translates as made-to-measure.. http://sumisura.zegna.com/ This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 26 2009, 02:01 AM |
Feb 25 2009, 04:55 PM
BlueKM - hmmm where would you wear that to? its quite an odd looking jacket, looks like a changshan, the traditional chinese clothing for males..
This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 25 2009, 04:56 PM |
Feb 25 2009, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(jind86 @ Feb 25 2009, 04:43 PM) actually i was wondering if bomber jack would look good on shirt/collar T and if not, what kinda jacket would look good on shirt/collar T.. hehebut thx for the article anyway! |
Feb 25 2009, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(2kia @ Feb 25 2009, 05:10 PM) actually i was wondering if bomber jack would look good on shirt/collar T and if not, what kinda jacket would look good on shirt/collar T.. hehe yupp why not, you could dress up and pair your dress shirts with a tie or you could also dress it down with a t-shirt/polo-t like in the picture =)but thx for the article anyway! |
Feb 25 2009, 05:43 PM
Feb 25 2009, 06:24 PM
7 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: van city |
QUOTE(BlueKM @ Feb 25 2009, 04:27 PM) Here it is reposted with extra pictures tbh, both ur dress shirt and that blazer should be smaller. looks very roomy to me. look at the sleeve of the shirt.. even when u cuffed them its still long.![]() ![]() 5 buttons at the middle, 3 buttons on the end of sleeve each side, size of the suit collar is half the size of a normal collar looking very japanese and modern ,very comfortable, mid light weight, real cost RM399.99 at SUBZero. 2nd picture has white spots on the mirror , ignore the white spots |
Feb 25 2009, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(THREEPOINTsix @ Feb 25 2009, 06:24 PM) tbh, both ur dress shirt and that blazer should be smaller. looks very roomy to me. look at the sleeve of the shirt.. even when u cuffed them its still long. lol because i lost quite some weight during the spm result waiting, and i'm still waiting for the result, 2 more weeks of intensive excercise for me |
Feb 25 2009, 10:30 PM
Feb 26 2009, 12:07 AM
6,727 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Zion |
Server crashed, everything missing. Here is the Granoff brand told by Jin reviewed in The Star again.
http://thestar.com.my/lifestyle/story.asp?...&sec=lifeliving BlueKM, saw that type of jacket 3 years ago. It was started by a suit shop Damanchi (I think) in Mid Valley. I forgot the name, they have a lot of non traditional designs like the snap bar buttons. I remember when they put up the suit on the manequin that day, a lot of people was checking it out. Its "almost" revolutionary. SUB seems to use this design since last year. I saw the jacket being worn by some celebs before and some photo shoots by some local lifestyle magazine. The one you have seems to evolved. I noticed there is no lapels. And i think there is a cut away mandarin style collar at the back. Can reference this design to some Sci Fi movies like Star Trek or Battlestar Galactica. Well better late than never! This post has been edited by netmatrix: Feb 26 2009, 12:17 AM |
Feb 27 2009, 02:59 AM
thanks for the link again netmatrix..
BlueKM - the jacket is a little too funky for my taste, maybe next time go for like a suit jacket with lapels and with 3 or 2 buttons.. guys is that even considered a suit jacket btw? |
Feb 27 2009, 04:03 PM
2,446 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
so is granoff better compared to lords tailors?
bleh i havent decided what suit to buy yet |
Feb 27 2009, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Feb 27 2009, 04:03 PM) i cant exactly judge quality of suit for now because ive not had a suit from Granoff.. however what i can tell you, in terms of customer service and interaction with customers, granoff would definitely win on that.. for what purpose are you planning to purchase a suit ? |
Feb 27 2009, 07:28 PM
2,446 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
business and presentations ofcourse
uh i currently have a suit(custom made too) but its not matching with my pants because the pants was torn and it was pretty huge and i was young and didnt bother to patch it back ill take a pic when i do wear the suit n you guys be the judge |
Feb 28 2009, 02:58 AM
2,356 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(jind86 @ Feb 27 2009, 02:59 AM) BlueKM - the jacket is a little too funky for my taste, maybe next time go for like a suit jacket with lapels and with 3 or 2 buttons.. guys is that even considered a suit jacket btw? Looks like a revolutionized nehru suit jacket - slightly cropped and without the mandarin collar.This post has been edited by Fusion[eX]: Feb 28 2009, 02:58 AM |
Feb 28 2009, 11:43 AM
6,727 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Zion |
QUOTE BlueKM - the jacket is a little too funky for my taste, maybe next time go for like a suit jacket with lapels and with 3 or 2 buttons.. guys is that even considered a suit jacket btw? Its a modern take. I like sci-fi movies a lot and you can see the designs from these shows cropping up here and there. The only ultra sharp cut suit i have ever seen is worn by Ben Afleck in PAYCHECK. ![]() The other one is worn by Regis Philbin who is the host of the first America's Got Talent. It is made by Brioni. Its is sharp and the shell looks very hard and metallic. I like it. Its kind of hard to come by the suit pictures he wears on the show. Here is one, but its black! ![]() But in the end we have to admit that these modern non traditional designs will be mainstream down the road. This post has been edited by netmatrix: Feb 28 2009, 11:45 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0326sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:19 PM |