The Suiting Thread V1, Suit/Tuxedo/Sportcoat/Blazer

TSjind86
post Feb 18 2009, 06:40 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(zariqcools @ Feb 18 2009, 06:37 PM)
well do you like ur jacket to be really fit?like Billie joe Armstrong?
er well i dont exactly know how billie joe armstrong wears his jackets, but i dont want it to be REALLY fitting, of course there must be some some space between the body and the jacket, why?
zariqcools
post Feb 18 2009, 06:40 PM

Kerr
711 posts

no Billie joe Armstrong suit is like really tight.
TSjind86
post Feb 18 2009, 06:42 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(zariqcools @ Feb 18 2009, 06:40 PM)
fitting - yes, really tight - no..
U+FFFD
post Feb 18 2009, 06:42 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(zariqcools @ Feb 18 2009, 06:40 PM)
That's skinny fit.
zariqcools
post Feb 18 2009, 06:44 PM

Kerr
711 posts

well do you like it?i kinda like it though.
U+FFFD
post Feb 18 2009, 06:46 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(zariqcools @ Feb 18 2009, 06:44 PM)
well do you like it?i kinda like it though.
I prefer modern slim fit rather than trendy skinny fit. smile.gif
zariqcools
post Feb 18 2009, 06:48 PM

Kerr
711 posts

nvm though everyone should have their own preference right?
btw u know where i can get it?tried Zara but it doesnt seem to have skinny fit smile.gif
thx

This post has been edited by zariqcools: Feb 18 2009, 06:49 PM
U+FFFD
post Feb 18 2009, 06:52 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(zariqcools @ Feb 18 2009, 06:48 PM)
btw u know where i can get it?tried Zara but it doesnt seem to have skinny fit smile.gif
thx
Yes. Indeed. wink.gif

You won't be able to find skinny fit in Zara. Go to Topman. I saw quite a number of skinny fit blazers last season but very few this season. They have the Skinny Fit tag on them, normally on the sleeve. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Fusion[eX]: Feb 18 2009, 06:54 PM
TSjind86
post Feb 18 2009, 06:54 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(zariqcools @ Feb 18 2009, 06:48 PM)
thx
er well i guess, i think skinny fit and just plain tight is two different things, skinny fit is where the cutting of the suit is very trim, tight on the other hand can be due to the wrong size..

like skinny jeans for example, you can purchase a skinny jeans which is the right size, therefore it wont be tight, however you can also purchase regular cut jeans but the size is too small, making it tight..
TSjind86
post Feb 18 2009, 07:34 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(FusioneX� @ Feb 18 2009, 06:33 PM)
That's a sportcoat with interesting combination of vertical and horizontal stripes, I'd say. Shirt sleeve's length seems fine but it is hard to judge the coat sleeve since the right sleeve appears shorter. It may be a problem of posture or could be because we humans are asymmetrical. Even my right arm seems slightly longer than my left arm.

Anyway, if I were to judge from the right arm, coat's sleeve seems roughly three quarter to an inch too short. Although, I wouldn't bother having that adjusted. Left arm seems fine.
hmmm i kinda get that problem, where the actual measurements are actually the same, but probably due to the difference between the left side of my body to the right side, therefore they both do not seem balanced..
zariqcools
post Feb 18 2009, 07:39 PM

Kerr
711 posts

it is pretty much to look like this
he has many other suit that is very very fit and tight.the recent one is at grammy.
TSjind86
post Feb 18 2009, 07:55 PM

1,507 posts

i think what you are actually looking for are skinny jackets, they are really trim, tight is not the word, tight is just plain wrong when it comes to a suit jacket - they should be easily buttoned and you should not be half suffocating when they are..

here's a picture i found:

as you can see, they button with ease, his jacket is not straining at the chest nor the waist area..

This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 18 2009, 07:57 PM
hanhanhan
post Feb 18 2009, 08:04 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,198 posts

where do u guys wear the suits to ?? =\
U+FFFD
post Feb 18 2009, 08:08 PM

2,356 posts

Tight laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Fusion[eX]: Feb 18 2009, 08:09 PM
zariqcools
post Feb 18 2009, 08:48 PM

Kerr
711 posts

haha yea!i was looking for a skinny jackets thx btw.
i wonder if Mark & Spencer have those?or maybe Giorgio Armani/Emporio?

This post has been edited by zariqcools: Feb 18 2009, 08:54 PM
TSjind86
post Feb 18 2009, 08:57 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Feb 18 2009, 08:04 PM)
where do u guys wear the suits to ?? =\
ive actually not gotten the chance to wear my new suit, both pieces together, however i've worn them separately quite afew times already, i wear the jacket with jeans to the movies, i've worn the jacket to parties, the pants well i wear them like my usual dress pants, with a dress shirt, polo-t =)

Added on February 18, 2009, 9:01 pm
QUOTE(zariqcools @ Feb 18 2009, 08:48 PM)
haha yea!i was looking for a skinny jackets thx btw.
i wonder if Mark & Spencer have those?or maybe Giorgio Armani/Emporio?
hmmm i don't think those brands make skinny jackets, M&S and especially Giorgio Armani makes very classic suits, Emporio Armani makes their suits a little more modern, however i dont think you would find skinny jackets.. as FusionEX mentioned earlier, Topman has them (seasonal), try out Philosophy Men as well..

This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 18 2009, 09:01 PM
TSjind86
post Feb 18 2009, 09:06 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(FusioneX� @ Feb 18 2009, 08:08 PM)
Tight laugh.gif

haha yeah this is what is meant by tight..
netmatrix
post Feb 19 2009, 12:13 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,726 posts

Jin86, why is your outer breast pocket on the right? When normal ones are on the left? Is that part of the design?
TSjind86
post Feb 19 2009, 01:07 AM

1,507 posts

yes its part of the design, its a sport jacket after all, its not too standardized..
netmatrix
post Feb 19 2009, 12:59 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,726 posts

Jind86, the jacket looks odd. For a pin stripe i think the patch pockets should run vertically instead of horizontally. Whats more, the hard corners of the pockets makes it look like an after thought. IMHO should be rounded at the bottom. If you ask me, the design looks much like a seersucker suit. Soft shoulders, patch pockets and slightly lesser bodied.

This post has been edited by netmatrix: Feb 19 2009, 01:00 PM

123 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:01 AM