5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

SFC/SNES appreciation thread

TSgundamalpha
post Mar 27 2009, 11:38 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Nope, there's nothing you can do about it. My SFC also suffer from the same problem, but luckily both my SNES are still looking good. Although all of them are made from the same material, some turned yellow some not even if placed under the same condition. Very strange. But well the main reason behind this is the cheap plastic + coating material Nintendo used. The hardware can take some beatings but the shell can't even live through the flow of air sweat.gif
TSgundamalpha
post Apr 11 2009, 11:12 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Need opinion which one of these to get:
1. Illusion of Gaia
2. Actraiser
3. Sonic the Blastman
PhatPhunk
post Dec 9 2009, 05:47 PM

13 posts

Awesome thread Gundamalpha! rclxms.gif I'm glad you started this thread as the SFC/SNES is indeed, one of the most important home consoles made by Nintendo. I have since got myself one a few months back and I'm really loving it. The yellowing is due to the plastic retardant Nintendo used back in the day that was easily prone to oxidization when exposed to UV. They fixed this problem in the later models (i'm guessing after 93 or 94). So if you have a yellowed SNES/SFC, chances are, you have an earlier model which also has the soundchip separated from the motherboard smile.gif It's good to know that some of the guys here still have their original SNES back in the 90s!! Groovie!

Btw, does your Super UFO unit still work? That's now a rare piece of hardware man... brows.gif
TSgundamalpha
post Dec 9 2009, 05:48 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Phat!!!! Where have you been? mad.gif
PhatPhunk
post Dec 9 2009, 06:18 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Dec 9 2009, 05:48 PM)
Phat!!!! Where have you been? mad.gif
Been busy... Gaming!! LOL.. Sorry for the long absence man... Glad you guys here are still kicking! smile.gif
dvinez
post Dec 10 2009, 04:50 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

gave to my cousin and i guess its gone.

last time i bought snes for super mario world. eventually i bought dragonballz 3, power ranger the movie, final fight 3, street fighter 2...cant remember anymore..those i remember should be the games i like most.

*miss the feel from those days.

This post has been edited by dvinez: Dec 10 2009, 04:50 PM
emino
post Dec 12 2009, 11:08 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

Ahh... SNES. Love the original SNES Harvest Moon, Chrono Trigger (AWESOME), FF6 (The Best FF in my humble opinion), Lufia series, Tales of Phantasia, Secret of Mana and LOVE LOVE LOVE Earthbound!

This post has been edited by emino: Dec 12 2009, 11:08 AM
apiez88
post Aug 10 2010, 06:46 PM

hello. can someone sell me a snes controller? mine's broke.. plz2..
TSgundamalpha
post Aug 11 2010, 03:35 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Received 7 "new" games today rclxm9.gif

Added on August 11, 2010, 3:35 pm
QUOTE(apiez88 @ Aug 10 2010, 06:46 PM)
hello. can someone sell me a snes controller? mine's broke.. plz2..
Sorry I don't have any more spare sad.gif

This post has been edited by gundamalpha: Aug 11 2010, 03:35 PM
Monkey D
post Aug 12 2010, 01:28 PM

Why no one mentioning SRW in early days where u can own GUNDAMs?
Kyoyagami
post Aug 13 2010, 11:53 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

The closest experience I had with an SNES was during my flight to Singapore on MAS. I had Street Fighter 2 for the whole hour. Pure bliss. smile.gif
TSgundamalpha
post Aug 13 2010, 12:16 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

You played that instead of Hagane? doh.gif
penman
post Aug 13 2010, 12:28 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Aug 13 2010, 11:53 AM)
The closest experience I had with an SNES was during my flight to Singapore on MAS. I had Street Fighter 2 for the whole hour. Pure bliss. smile.gif
WAH!!! Kyo conspefirmed OKK!!! go SG take MAS, so that he can get the closest experience with SNES!!! shocking.gif

orang kurang kaya like me, normally take bus or train only...

anyway... I used to enjoy playing the following SNES games at friend's rumah back then:
01) Life Game (JP) - my friend can read, so he'll guide us all through, if I can remember correctly, the game can support up to 8/10 players. It was total FUN & HILARIOUS EXP!!!

02) 聖劍傳說III – 2P CO-OP on 3 Characters, very few action RPG can provide such fun. I believed this shaped the path of action RPG...

03) Super BOMBERMAN – with 10 controllers hooked on the adapter/convertor... chaos+fun is totally out of control!

TSgundamalpha
post Aug 13 2010, 12:32 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

聖劍傳說 II lah boss, III is solo one tongue.gif
penman
post Aug 13 2010, 03:11 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Aug 13 2010, 12:32 PM)
oops... blush.gif
wt_wang81
post Aug 15 2010, 11:45 PM

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Aug 13 2010, 12:32 PM)
III can multiplayer ler... icon_idea.gif

just play super mario world in Wii...480i give me different feeling... tongue.gif
RX-78-2
post Aug 29 2010, 11:43 AM

790 posts

i bought the SNES when i worked in SG before go in Uni in 1996.
Only got 3 ori catridge:
1. Chrono Triger
2. Zelda3: Link to the past
3. 聖劍傳說 II

After that back to Malaysia no more buying any but this 3 games are still my favorite till now.
Too back now the SNES is not working after many years sitting at my hometown. Don't what is the problem. Totally no output to TV.
Really want to take it out and play again!!
So now only can play it on those emulator.
dave185
post Jan 7 2011, 06:19 PM

52 posts

Wow. seems talk abt SNES brings back a lot of good old memories.

My first game on SNES was a loan game from my couse FF2 ( US ), then Dragonball Z 1 ( fighting game ), then SF2 champion Edition. Afterthat, i saved up enugh money to buy Super WildCard, always go to Sg wang there to copy games. 1 Disk = RM 10 bucks.... A lot of nice games, like you guys mentioned. Yuyu Hakusho, Donkey Kong, Super Mario World, Fatal Fury 2, World Heroes, Ranma 1/2, etc etc.

Wow. Thinking all this , i think i gonna download emulator for those games!! haha biggrin.gif
TrOwA008
post Mar 21 2011, 03:43 PM

136 posts

so many retro stuff here
can i join the bandwagon?
here's my snes collection

my RF converter still ticks

some games found in game shop junk sale just months ago